DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first image display area and second image display area must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 & 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2019/0114458 A1) and further in view of Hong et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2021/0067618 A1).
Claim 1: Cho teaches –
A display device [an electronic device] (Figure 11, Element 1100) comprising:
Examiner’s Note: Element 1100 of Figure 11 is similar to Element 100 of Figure 1A-1E (Para 0170) and thus referencing Figures 1A-1E is not improperly combining of different embodiments.
a display panel [display] (Figure 11, Element 1110) having a display area (Figure 11, Element 1111 & 1112) divided into a plurality of image display areas (Figure 11, Element 1111 & 1112) and a plurality of biometric information measurement areas [second region] (Figure 1D, Element 122) [pixels disposed in an even-numbered column] (Para 0170) [first pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 113) [may divide pixels disposed in an odd-numbered column] (Para 1070) [second pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 1114) [the biometric sensor may be disposed in the first region, and…the biometric sensor disposed in the second region] (Para 0106);
a plurality of display pixels (Figure 1D, Element 150-153 & 160-163) arranged in the plurality of image display areas (Figure 11, Element 1111 & 1112) and the plurality of biometric information measurement areas (Figure 11, Element 1113 & 1114 and Figure 1D, Element 122);
a plurality of light-sensing pixels [light receiving element] (Figure 1D, Element 164) arranged in the plurality of biometric information measurement areas (Figure 11, Element 1113 & 1114 and Figure 1D, Element 122);
a plurality of infrared light-emitting pixels [pixels 153 and 163 may output infrared light] (Para 0057 and Figure 1D, Element 163) arranged in the plurality of biometric information measurement areas (Figure 11, Element 1113 & 1114 and Figure 1D, Element 122);
a display scan driver configured to drive the plurality of display pixels and the plurality of infrared light-emitting pixels to emit light [By providing a data value by each pixel 150 or 160, a data driver 170 may control to display an inherent color and brightness by each pixel 150 or 160] (Para 0058 and Figure 1D, Element 170 and includes infrared pixel 153 & 163);
a light-sensing scan driver configured to drive the plurality of light-sensing pixels to sense light [the light receiving element 164 may recognize light emitting timings…based on power supply information of the gate driver 180] (Para 0060 and Figure 1D, Element 180); and
a main driver circuit configured to detect a signal and measure biometric information using light-sensing signals received from the plurality of light-sensing pixels [Light information collected in the light receiving element 164 may be forwarded to a biometric sensor driver IC 190] (Para 0060 and Figure 1D, Element 190),
wherein the plurality of biometric information measurement areas are disposed in parallel rectangular shapes [second region] (Figure 1D, Element 122) [pixels disposed in an even-numbered column] (Para 0170) [first pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 113) [may divide pixels disposed in an odd-numbered column] (Para 1070) [second pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 1114)
Cho fails to teach to detect a pulse wave signal. However, Hong teaches to detect a pulse wave signal (Abstract) in order to calculate a blood pressure (Para 0096).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of Cho to include the detection of the pulse wave signal as taught by Hong in order to calculate a blood pressure (Para 0096).
Claim 2/1: Cho teaches wherein the main driver circuit is disposed at a side of the display area in a length direction (Figure 1D, Element Y) of the display area (See Figure 1D, Element 190), and receives the light-sensing signals from the plurality of light-sensing pixels [Light information collected in the light receiving element 164 may be forwarded to a biometric sensor driver IC 190] (Para 0060) at the side of the display area (See Figure 1D and arrangement of the parts).
Claim 3/2/1: Cho teaches wherein each of the plurality of biometric information measurement areas [second region] (Figure 1D, Element 122) [pixels disposed in an even-numbered column] (Para 0170) [first pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 113) [may divide pixels disposed in an odd-numbered column] (Para 1070) [second pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 1114) is extended in a length direction (Figure 1D, Element Y) of the display panel toward the main driver circuit (See Figure 1D, Element 190),and has a constant width in a width direction of the display panel (See Figure 11, Element 1113 & 1112 are constant).
Claim 4/3/2/1: Cho teaches wherein the plurality of biometric information measurement areas are equally spaced apart from each other between the plurality of image display areas adjacent to each other (See Figure 11, Element 1112 shows the elements equally spaced apart).
Claim 5/4/3/2/1: Cho teaches –
wherein a first biometric information measurement area among the plurality of biometric information measurement areas is extended in the length direction of the display area between a first image display area and a central image display area,
which are extended in the length direction of the display panel, and
wherein a second biometric information measurement area among the plurality of biometric information measurement areas is extended in the length direction of the display area between the central image display area and a second image display area,
which are extended in the length direction of the display panel,
wherein the first image display area and the second image display area are disposed on opposite sides of the central image display area (See Figure 11 and compare the layout of the elements to Figure 11 of the Drawing of the Applicant which shows a similar layout of elements).
Claim 6/5/4/3/2/1: Cho teaches wherein the first image display area, the first biometric information measurement area, the central image display area, the second biometric information measurement area, and the second image display area are formed in the display area such that they are parallel to one another in the width direction and extended in the length direction of the display area (See Figure 11 and compare the layout of the elements to Figure 11 of the Drawing of the Applicant which shows a similar layout of elements).
Claim 7/3/2/1: Cho teaches wherein the plurality of image display areas and the plurality of biometric information measurement areas are arranged in the display area of the display panel such that they are arranged alternately in a first direction, and are arranged in parallel in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction in the display area of the display panel (See Figure 11 and compare the layout of the elements to Figure 11 of the Drawing of the Applicant which shows a similar layout of elements and See Figure 1D and the arrangement of parts).
Claim 8/7/3/2/1: Cho teaches –
wherein the plurality of biometric information measurement areas each include a plurality of first unit pixels each comprising a plurality of display pixels and a light-sensing pixel (Figure 1D, Element 160-164), and
wherein the plurality of first unit pixels are arranged in the plurality of biometric information measurement areas in a matrix pattern in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction (See Figure 1D and the arrangement of parts).
Claim 9/7/3/2/1: Cho teaches wherein the biometric information measurement areas each comprise:
a plurality of first unit pixels each comprising a plurality of display pixels and a light-sensing pixel (Figure 1D, Element 160-164 and See Figure 11); and
a plurality of second unit pixels each comprising a plurality of display pixels and an infrared light-emitting pixel (Figure 1D, Element 160-164 and See Figure 11),
wherein the plurality of first unit pixels and the plurality of second unit pixels are arranged alternately in the first direction and the second direction such that they are arranged in a matrix pattern in the biometric information measurement areas (See Figure 11 and compare the layout of the elements to Figure 11 of the Drawing of the Applicant which shows a similar layout of elements and See Figure 1D and the arrangement of parts).
Examiner’s Note: It is understood that Figure 11 has the details of the groups shown in Figure 1D.
Claim 10: Cho teaches –
A display device [an electronic device] (Figure 11, Element 1100) comprising:
Examiner’s Note: Element 1100 of Figure 11 is similar to Element 100 of Figure 1A-1E (Para 0170) and thus referencing Figures 1A-1E is not improperly combining of different embodiments.
a display panel [display] (Figure 11, Element 1110) having a display area (Figure 11, Element 1111 & 1112) divided into a plurality of image display areas (Figure 11, Element 1111 & 1112) and a plurality of biometric information measurement areas [second region] (Figure 1D, Element 122) [pixels disposed in an even-numbered column] (Para 0170) [first pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 113) [may divide pixels disposed in an odd-numbered column] (Para 1070) [second pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 1114) [the biometric sensor may be disposed in the first region, and…the biometric sensor disposed in the second region] (Para 0106);
a plurality of display pixels (Figure 1D, Element 150-153 & 160-163) arranged in the plurality of image display areas (Figure 11, Element 1111 & 1112) and the plurality of biometric information measurement areas (Figure 11, Element 1113 & 1114 and Figure 1D, Element 122);
a plurality of light-sensing pixels [light receiving element] (Figure 1D, Element 164) arranged in the plurality of biometric information measurement areas (Figure 11, Element 1113 & 1114 and Figure 1D, Element 122);
a plurality of infrared light-emitting pixels [pixels 153 and 163 may output infrared light] (Para 0057 and Figure 1D, Element 163) arranged in the plurality of biometric information measurement areas (Figure 11, Element 1113 & 1114 and Figure 1D, Element 122);
a display scan driver configured to drive the plurality of display pixels and the plurality of infrared light-emitting pixels to emit light [By providing a data value by each pixel 150 or 160, a data driver 170 may control to display an inherent color and brightness by each pixel 150 or 160] (Para 0058 and Figure 1D, Element 170 and includes infrared pixel 153 & 163);
a light-sensing scan driver configured to drive the plurality of light-sensing pixels to sense light [the light receiving element 164 may recognize light emitting timings…based on power supply information of the gate driver 180] (Para 0060 and Figure 1D, Element 180); and
a main driver circuit configured to detect signals and measure biometric information using light-sensing signals received from the plurality of light-sensing pixels [Light information collected in the light receiving element 164 may be forwarded to a biometric sensor driver IC 190] (Para 0060 and Figure 1D, Element 190),
wherein the plurality of image display areas and the plurality of biometric information measurement areas are arranged in the display area alternately in a first direction [second region] (Figure 1D, Element 122) [pixels disposed in an even-numbered column] (Para 0170) [first pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 113) [may divide pixels disposed in an odd-numbered column] (Para 1070) [second pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 1114), and
are arranged in parallel in the display area in a second direction intersecting the first direction (See Figure 1D)
Cho fails to teach to detect a pulse wave signal. However, Hong teaches to detect a pulse wave signal (Abstract) in order to calculate a blood pressure (Para 0096).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of Cho to include the detection of the pulse wave signal as taught by Hong in order to calculate a blood pressure (Para 0096).
Claim 11/10: Cho teaches wherein the main driver circuit is disposed at a side of the display area in a length direction (Figure 1D, Element Y) of the display area (See Figure 1D, Element 190), and receives the light-sensing signals from the plurality of light-sensing pixels [Light information collected in the light receiving element 164 may be forwarded to a biometric sensor driver IC 190] (Para 0060) at the side of the display area (See Figure 1D and arrangement of the parts).
Claim 12/11/10: Cho teaches wherein each of the plurality of biometric information measurement areas [second region] (Figure 1D, Element 122) [pixels disposed in an even-numbered column] (Para 0170) [first pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 113) [may divide pixels disposed in an odd-numbered column] (Para 1070) [second pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 1114) is extended in a length direction (Figure 1D, Element Y) of the display panel toward the main driver circuit (See Figure 1D, Element 190),and has a constant width in a width direction of the display panel (See Figure 11, Element 1113 & 1112 are constant), and is formed in a rectangular shape that has a constant width in a width direction of the display panel (See Figure 11, Element 1113 & 1112 are constant and rectangular shaped).
Claim 13/12/11/10: Cho teaches wherein the plurality of biometric information measurement areas are disposed in parallel in the length direction of the display panel toward the main driver circuit (See Figure 1D), and are equally spaced apart from each other between the plurality of image display areas (See Figure 11, Element 1112 shows the elements equally spaced apart).
Claim 14/13/12/11/10: Cho teaches –
wherein a first biometric information measurement area among the plurality of biometric information measurement areas is extended in the length direction of the display area between a first image display area and a central image display area,
which are extended in the length direction of the display panel, and
wherein a second biometric information measurement area among the plurality of biometric information measurement areas is extended in the length direction of the display area between the central image display area and a second image display area,
which are extended in the length direction of the display panel,
wherein the first image display area and the second image display area are disposed on opposite sides of the central image display area (See Figure 11 and compare the layout of the elements to Figure 11 of the Drawing of the Applicant which shows a similar layout of elements).
Claim 15/11: Cho teaches –
wherein the plurality of biometric information measurement areas each include a plurality of first unit pixels each comprising a plurality of display pixels and a light-sensing pixel (Figure 1D, Element 160-164), and
wherein the plurality of first unit pixels are arranged in the plurality of biometric information measurement areas in a matrix pattern in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction (See Figure 1D).
Claim 16/15/11: Cho teaches –
wherein the plurality of biometric information measurement areas each include a plurality of first unit pixels each comprising a plurality of display pixels and a light-sensing pixel (Figure 1D, Element 160-164), and
wherein the plurality of first unit pixels are arranged in the plurality of biometric information measurement areas in a matrix pattern in the first direction and the second direction (See Figure 1D and Figure 11).
Claim 1715/11: Cho teaches –
wherein the plurality of biometric information measurement areas each comprise:
a plurality of first unit pixels each comprising a plurality of display pixels and a light-sensing pixel (Figure 1D, Element 160-164 and See Figure 11); and
a plurality of second unit pixels each comprising a plurality of display pixels and an infrared light-emitting pixel (Figure 1D, Element 160-164 and See Figure 11),
wherein the plurality of first unit pixels and the plurality of second unit pixels are arranged alternately in the first direction and the second direction such that they are arranged in a matrix pattern in the plurality of biometric information measurement areas (See Figure 11 and compare the layout of the elements to Figure 11 of the Drawing of the Applicant which shows a similar layout of elements and See Figure 1D and the arrangement of parts).
Examiner’s Note: It is understood that Figure 11 has the details of the groups shown in Figure 1D.
Claim 21: Cho teaches –
An electronic device including a display device [an electronic device] (Figure 11, Element 1100), wherein the display device comprising:
a display panel [display] (Figure 11, Element 1110) having a display area (Figure 11, Element 1111 & 1112) divided into a plurality of image display areas (Figure 11, Element 1111 & 1112) and a plurality of biometric information measurement areas [second region] (Figure 1D, Element 122) [pixels disposed in an even-numbered column] (Para 0170) [first pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 113) [may divide pixels disposed in an odd-numbered column] (Para 1070) [second pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 1114) [the biometric sensor may be disposed in the first region, and…the biometric sensor disposed in the second region] (Para 0106);
a plurality of display pixels (Figure 1D, Element 150-153 & 160-163) arranged in the plurality of image display areas (Figure 11, Element 1111 & 1112) and the plurality of biometric information measurement areas (Figure 11, Element 1113 & 1114 and Figure 1D, Element 122);
a plurality of light-sensing pixels [light receiving element] (Figure 1D, Element 164) arranged in the plurality of biometric information measurement areas (Figure 11, Element 1113 & 1114 and Figure 1D, Element 122);
a plurality of infrared light-emitting pixels [pixels 153 and 163 may output infrared light] (Para 0057 and Figure 1D, Element 163) arranged in the plurality of biometric information measurement areas (Figure 11, Element 1113 & 1114 and Figure 1D, Element 122);
a display scan driver configured to drive the plurality of display pixels and the plurality of infrared light-emitting pixels to emit light [By providing a data value by each pixel 150 or 160, a data driver 170 may control to display an inherent color and brightness by each pixel 150 or 160] (Para 0058 and Figure 1D, Element 170 and includes infrared pixel 153 & 163);
a light-sensing scan driver configured to drive the plurality of light-sensing pixels to sense light [the light receiving element 164 may recognize light emitting timings…based on power supply information of the gate driver 180] (Para 0060 and Figure 1D, Element 180); and
a main driver circuit configured to detect a signal and measure biometric information using light-sensing signals received from the plurality of light-sensing pixels [Light information collected in the light receiving element 164 may be forwarded to a biometric sensor driver IC 190] (Para 0060 and Figure 1D, Element 190),
wherein the plurality of biometric information measurement areas are disposed in parallel rectangular shapes.
[second region] (Figure 1D, Element 122) [pixels disposed in an even-numbered column] (Para 0170) [first pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 113) [may divide pixels disposed in an odd-numbered column] (Para 1070) [second pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 1114)
Cho fails to teach to detect a pulse wave signal. However, Hong teaches to detect a pulse wave signal (Abstract) in order to calculate a blood pressure (Para 0096).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of Cho to include the detection of the pulse wave signal as taught by Hong in order to calculate a blood pressure (Para 0096).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2019/0114458 A1).
Claim 18: Cho teaches –
A display device [an electronic device] (Figure 11, Element 1100) comprising:
Examiner’s Note: Element 1100 of Figure 11 is similar to Element 100 of Figure 1A-1E (Para 0170) and thus referencing Figures 1A-1E is not improperly combining of different embodiments.
a display panel [display] (Figure 11, Element 1110) having a display area (Figure 11, Element 1111 & 1112) divided into a plurality of image display areas (Figure 11, Element 1111 & 1112) and a plurality of biometric information measurement areas [second region] (Figure 1D, Element 122) [pixels disposed in an even-numbered column] (Para 0170) [first pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 113) [may divide pixels disposed in an odd-numbered column] (Para 1070) [second pixel group] (Figure 11, Element 1114) [the biometric sensor may be disposed in the first region, and…the biometric sensor disposed in the second region] (Para 0106);
a plurality of display pixels (Figure 1D, Element 150-153 & 160-163) arranged in the plurality of image display areas (Figure 11, Element 1111 & 1112) and the plurality of biometric information measurement areas (Figure 11, Element 1113 & 1114 and Figure 1D, Element 122);
a plurality of light-sensing pixels [light receiving element] (Figure 1D, Element 164) arranged in the plurality of biometric information measurement areas (Figure 11, Element 1113 & 1114 and Figure 1D, Element 122);
a plurality of infrared light-emitting pixels [pixels 153 and 163 may output infrared light] (Para 0057 and Figure 1D, Element 163) arranged in the plurality of biometric information measurement areas (Figure 11, Element 1113 & 1114 and Figure 1D, Element 122);
a display scan driver configured to drive the plurality of display pixels and the plurality of infrared light-emitting pixels to emit light [By providing a data value by each pixel 150 or 160, a data driver 170 may control to display an inherent color and brightness by each pixel 150 or 160] (Para 0058 and Figure 1D, Element 170 and includes infrared pixel 153 & 163);
a light-sensing scan driver configured to drive the plurality of light-sensing pixels to sense light [the light receiving element 164 may recognize light emitting timings…based on power supply information of the gate driver 180] (Para 0060 and Figure 1D, Element 180); and
a main driver circuit configured to receive light-sensing signals from the plurality of light-sensing pixels [Light information collected in the light receiving element 164 may be forwarded to a biometric sensor driver IC 190] (Para 0060 and Figure 1D, Element 190),
wherein a first biometric information measurement area among the plurality of biometric information measurement areas is extended in a length direction of the display area between a first image display area and a central image display area, which are extended in a length direction of the display panel, and
wherein a second biometric information measurement area among the plurality of biometric information measurement areas is extended in the length direction of the display area between the central image display area and a second image display area, which are extended in the length direction of the display panel,
wherein the first image display area and the second image display area are disposed on opposite sides of the central image display area (See Figure 11 and compare the layout of the elements to Figure 11 of the Drawing of the Applicant which shows a similar layout of elements).
Claim 19/18: Cho teaches wherein the first image display area, the first biometric information measurement area, the central image display area, the second biometric information measurement area, and the second image display area are formed in the display area such that they are parallel to one another in a width direction of the display panel and extended in the length direction of the display area (See Figure 11).
Claim 20/18: Cho teaches wherein the plurality of light-sensing pixels and the plurality of infrared light-emitting pixels are entirely disposed outside of the central image display area (See Figure 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Moon et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2024/0032806 A1) – Moon teaches a pulse wave generation apparatus includes a pressure sensor sensing an external pressure, an optical adjustment unit configured to change a transmissivity of light, a reflection unit reflecting the light, and a control unit outputting an optical adjustment signal for changing the transmissivity based on a pressure measurement value received from the pressure sensor to the optical adjustment unit.
Cha et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2021/0158751 A1) – Cha teaches an OLED display panel has multiple light emitting pixels for emitting light in response to first scan signal, second scan signal and light emission control signal. Multiple light sensing pixels output sensing signal corresponding to external light in response to the first scan signal and the second scan signal. Multiple light emitting pixels comprise an organic light emitting diode, where the organic light emitting diode includes an anode and a cathode. The cathode obtains first driving voltage. Multiple light sensing pixels comprise an organic photodiode, where the organic photodiode includes a first electrode and a second electrode. The second electrode of the organic photodiode is electrically connected to the cathode of the organic light emitting diode to obtain first driving voltage.
Bhat et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2017/0337412 A1) – Bhat teaches a bio-sensor device has a light source that emits light through the first surface to be partially absorbed by a person's body part proximate to the first surface. The light source emits light that penetrates a distance into the body portion. An array of photodetectors are arranged to detect light reflected back by the body portion. The photodetectors are arranged for generating signals corresponding to light reflected back. The detection circuitry is coupled to array of photodetectors for analyzing signals to determine characteristic which is below a skin depth into body portion.
/Helene Bor/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/CHRISTOPHER KOHARSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797