DETAILED ACTION
Specification
TITLE - The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
JUMBO CASE - The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) and their disclosed structure in parenthesis, is/are: a rotator (fixing belt 29), a heat generator (resistive heat generator 31), thermal conductor (thermal equalization plate 28) introduced in claims 1 or 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7-9, 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0153692 to Matsubara et al.
Matsubara teaches:
(claim 1) A heating device (200, Fig.3A) comprising:
a rotator (202);
a heater (300) facing an inner face of the rotator and extending in a longitudinal (x) direction, the heater including: a base (303); and a heat generator (301) having a main heat generation region (section D-E) extending from one (right) end to another (left) end in the longitudinal direction;
a holder (201) holding the heater;
a temperature sensor (211) disposed inside a loop of the rotator, facing the main heat generation region and including a terminal (inherent, not shown);
a thermal conductor (220) on the heater, the thermal conductor extending in the longitudinal direction and having a thermal conductivity higher than the base of the heater [0028], the thermal conductor including:
a main portion having a first cross-sectional area in a cross section orthogonal to the longitudinal direction;
an arm (220a) extending from one end (220b) of the main portion in the longitudinal direction, the arm having a second cross-sectional area in a cross-section orthogonal to the longitudinal direction smaller than the first cross-sectional area of the main portion (Fig.5B, [0034]); and
a projection (end of 220 projects in the z direction) at one end of the arm projecting from one end of the arm in the longitudinal direction, the projection being separated from the terminal of the temperature sensor by an insulation distance or more in the longitudinal direction (Fig.4).
Since the temperature sensor 211 is disclosed as contacting the rear surface of the heater 300 via the thermal conductor 220, it follows that it is disposed within the attachment area H. Therefore, an insulation distance exists between the end portion line 201f and the projection/end of #220 at least within the recessed portion 201d [0028, 0038].
(claim 2) The heating device according to claim 1, wherein the base (303) extends from one end to another end in the longitudinal direction, and a length from a center of the main heat generation region to the one end of the base is shorter than a length from the center of the main heat generation region to said another end of the base (Fig. 3B, [0031]).
(claim 3) The heating device according to claim 1, wherein the arm extending in the longitudinal direction is outside the main heat generation region in the longitudinal direction (Fig.5B).
(claim 4) The heating device according to claim 1, wherein the main portion of the thermal conductor has a first width in a short-side (y) direction orthogonal to the longitudinal (x) direction, and the arm (220a) has a second width smaller than the first width of the main portion in the short-side direction [0034].
(claim 6) The heating device according to claim 1, wherein the thermal conductor is made of one of aluminum alloy, steel, and graphite [0028].
(claim 7) The heating device according to claim 1, wherein the thermal conductor includes a plate, and the projection includes a bent portion formed by bending one end of the plate in the longitudinal direction (Figs. 4, 5B, 8, 9B).
(claim 8) The heating device according to claim 7, wherein the bent portion is formed by bending one end of the plate in the longitudinal direction twice, the holder has a holding hole (201e), the bent portion is inserted into the holding hole, and an end of the bent portion is engaged with the holder in a thickness direction of the base (Fig.4, two inflection points).
(claim 9) The heating device according to claim 1, wherein the temperature sensor includes a temperature detector facing a maximum recording medium passing region through which a maximum recording medium having a maximum width of recording media in the longitudinal direction used in the heating device passes [0028-0029].
(claim 12) A heating device (200) comprising: a rotator (202); a heater (300) facing an inner face of the rotator and extending in a longitudinal direction, the heater including: a base (303); and a heat generator (301) having a main heat generation region (D-E) extending from one end to another end in the longitudinal direction; a holder (201) holding the heater; a temperature sensor (211): disposed inside a loop of the rotator; facing one end of the main heat generation region; and including a terminal; a thermal conductor (220) on the heater, the thermal conductor extending in the longitudinal direction and having a thermal conductivity higher than the base of the heater, the thermal conductor including: a main portion having a first width in a short-side direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction; an arm (220a) extending from one end (220b) of the main portion in the longitudinal direction, the one end closer to the temperature sensor than another end of the main portion, the arm having a second width in the short-side direction smaller than the first width of the main portion [0034]; and a projection projecting from one end of the arm in the longitudinal direction, the projection being separated from the terminal of the temperature sensor by an insulation distance or more in the longitudinal direction (Fig.4).
(claim 13) A fixing device comprising the heating device according to claim 1 [0026].
(claim 14) A fixing device comprising the heating device according to claim 12 [0026].
(claim 15) An image forming apparatus (100, Fig.1) comprising the fixing device according to claim 13.
(claim 16) An image forming apparatus (100, Fig.1) comprising the fixing device according to claim 14.
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 10, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0367252 to Matsumoto.
Matsumoto teaches:
(claim 1) A heating device (9, 9A-9K, Fig.31) comprising:
a rotator (20);
a heater (22) facing an inner face of the rotator and extending in a longitudinal (X) direction, the heater including: a base (30); and a heat generator (31) having a main heat generation region (D) extending from one end to another end in the longitudinal direction;
a holder (23) holding the heater;
a temperature sensor (25A/24AA/25AB) disposed inside a loop of the rotator, facing the main heat generation region and including a terminal (inherent, not shown);
a thermal conductor (28) on the heater, the thermal conductor extending in the longitudinal direction and having a thermal conductivity higher than the base of the heater [0156], the thermal conductor including:
a main portion (length corresponding to #31) having a first cross-sectional area in a cross section orthogonal to the longitudinal direction;
an arm extending from one end of the main portion in the longitudinal direction (#28 extends beyond #31), the arm having a second cross-sectional area in a cross-section (through vertical dash-line shown below) orthogonal to the longitudinal direction smaller than the first cross-sectional area of the main portion (section shown in annotated Fig.31 below meets the features of a second cross-sectional area; and
a projection (circled below) at one end of the arm projecting from one end of the arm in the longitudinal direction, the projection being separated from the terminal of the temperature sensor by an insulation distance (solid horizontal line annotated below) or more in the longitudinal direction (#28 is separated from #23a by at least a length of insulation layer #39, [0195]).
(claim 2) The heating device according to claim 1, wherein the base (30) extends from one (right) end to another (left) end in the longitudinal direction, and a length from a center (D0) of the main heat generation region (D) to the one end of the base is shorter than a length from the center of the main heat generation region to said another end of the base (Figs. 7 & 11).
(claim 3) The heating device according to claim 1, wherein the arm extending in the longitudinal direction is outside the main heat generation region in the longitudinal direction (Fig.31).
(claim 9) The heating device according to claim 1, wherein the temperature sensor (25A) includes a temperature detector (253) facing a maximum recording medium passing region (E3) through which a maximum recording medium (P3) having a maximum width of recording media in the longitudinal direction used in the heating device passes (Fig.11).
(claim 10) The heating device according to claim 1, wherein the temperature sensor (e.g. 25AA) includes a temperature detector (253) disposed at a position in the longitudinal direction that is inside the main heat generation region (D) and outside a maximum recording medium passing region (E3) through which a maximum recording medium (P3) having a maximum width of recording media in the longitudinal direction used in the heating device passes (Fig.12 in view of Fig.11).
(claim 13) A fixing device comprising the heating device according to claim 1 [0063].
(claim 15) An image forming apparatus (100, Fig.1) comprising the fixing device according to claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0367252 to Matsumoto et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2023/0288852 to Ishigaya et al.
Regarding claim 5, Matsumoto teaches a heating device according to claim 1 but appears silent about the thermal conductor having a detector insertion hole. Ishigaya discloses a heating device comprising a thermal conductor 28D including a hole 29; inside the hole 29 is a temperature sensor 27 that detects the temperature of a heater 23 (Fig.15-16). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating device of claim 1 such that the thermal conductor has a detector insertion hole, adjacent to the arm, to insert the temperature sensor, and the detector insertion hole extends outside the temperature sensor in the longitudinal direction, for at the purpose of improving detection accuracy of heater temperature.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0153692 to Matsubara et al.
Regarding claim 11, Matsubara teaches a heating device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach the insulation distance is 2.5 mm or more. Matsubara discloses the placement of the attachment surfaces 201a/201a and the back clearance portion 201d, that define the insulation distance, as variables affecting a pressure applied to secure a position of the thermal conductor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to discover the optimum or workable range of the insulation distance, as a recognized result-effective variable, by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9,217,972 to Taguchi discloses a fixing device including a heat conductive member that contacts the heater in a region extending across the first region and the second region, and an amount of heat generated by the heat generating resistor at its end portion is greater than that at its middle portion in the longitudinal direction.
JP 2001-356623 to Niimura discloses an image forming device provided with the heating body, the holding member supporting the heating body, a film sliding on the heating body and a pressure member forming a nip with the heating body via the film. The heating body is equipped with an elastic part which is elastically deformed and attached to the holding member so as to support the heating body.
/Arlene Heredia Ocasio/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852