DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 59-83 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12161195. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent teaches in short, a shoe comprising a body portion with a sole, a molded rivet extending…polymer (see claim 1 of US 12161195) and wherein the head…frustoconical shape (see claims 2-18 of US 12161195). It is noted that applicant should compare claims 59-83 of current application to claims 1-18 of the patent 12161195.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 78 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 78, “barb relief cuts parallel to the pull tab length”, unclear which part of the rivet has this structure? Applicant can see claim 79.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 59-83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu (US.2022125156) in view of Grojean (US. 11959505).
Fu discloses a molded (e.g. this limitation is product by process and given little or no patentable weight in an apparatus claim, see MPEP 2113-2114 and it is noted that the rivet of Franey can be formed by molding since the rivet is a conductive polymeric material as claimed by applicant) conductive rivet for grounding a shoe (e.g. intended use, the rivet of Franey is capable of being used in a shoe, see MPEP 2113-2114) comprising a head (e.g. H, see figure below) having a top and bottom portion (e.g. TP and BP in figure below), wherein the bottom portion of the head is configured to be positioned on a top portion of a sole of the shoe (e.g. intended use, the rivet of Franey is capable of being used in the shoe, see MPEP 2113-2114), a barb (e.g. barb, figure below), wherein the barb is configured to be positioned on the bottom surface of the shoe (e.g. again intended use, the rivet of Franey is capable of being used in the shoe, see MPEP 2113-2114), a barrel (e.g. B, see figure below) connected to and having a narrower section than the head and the barb (see figures), the barrel extending between the head and the bard and having a barrel length (e.g. see figures) and the conductive rivet comprises a conductive polymer (e.g. 0039-0040 and 0103). Regarding claim 60: Wherein the head has a substantially flat, disc-like shape (e.g. see figures 3f). Regarding claim 61: Wherein said head has a geometric shape around the centerline of the rivet and the shape is selected from the group consisting of a circle, an oval, a rectangle, a triangle, a square, a pentagon, a hexagon, a heptagon, an octagon, a nonagon, a decagon and an n-gon (e.g. see figure). Regarding claim 62: Wherein the barrel is configured to entirely traverse the sole of the shoe after insertion into the sole (e.g. again intended use, the rivet of Franey is capable of being used in the shoe, see MPEP 2113-2114). Regarding claim 63: Wherein vertical edges of the barrel are substantially straight, concave or convex (see figure below). Regarding claim 64: Wherein the cross section of the barrel has a geometric shape around the centerline of the rivet and the shape is selected from the group consisting of a circle and an oval (e.g. see figures). Regarding claim 70: The conductive polymer having filler (e.g. paragraph 0040) is compression molded (e.g. this limitation is product by process and given little or no patentable weight in an apparatus claim, see MPEP 2113-2114 and it is noted that the rivet of Franey can be formed by molding since the rivet is a conductive polymeric material as claimed by applicant). Regarding claim 71: Wherein the conductive polymer has a volume resistivity. Regarding claim 72: The conductive polymer is carbon-filled silicone (e.g. paragraph 0039-0040). Regarding claim 73: The conductive polymer is silicone, hence having a hardness. Regarding claim 74: The head has a diameter. The pull tab has a pull tab length. Regarding claim 77: Wherein the rivet is configured to be manually threaded through the sole of the shoe (e.g. again intended use the rivet is capable of been threaded). Regarding claim 82-83: see rejection of claims above.
Fu discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose a pull tab removably connected to a bottom of the barb and which the pull tab has a length greater than the barrel length. Grojean discloses a rivet (e.g. 1) having a head (e.g. 2), a barb (e.g. barb having 22 and 24), a barrel (e.g. barrel having 3 and 104) having a barrel length (e.g. length of section with 3 and 104) and the pull tab (e.g. 6) removably connected to a bottom portion of the barb increases in diameter in a direction from the pull tab to the barrel (e.g. taper or conical or frustoconical 24 of barb), the pull tab has a length greater than the barrel length (e.g. length of 6 relative to the barrel length) and the pull tab has a pointy tip (e.g. 14). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the rivet of Fu to have a pull tab attached to the barb with increasing diameter as taught by Grojean with reasonable expectation of success so one can provide insertion in a member via pull tab and the barb and disconnect of the pull tab (e.g. see description of 14 and 6 in Grojean).
The combination of Fu and Grojean teach that the pull tab is configured for removal after insertion (e.g. see removal shown in Grojean), the pull tab has a substantially conical shape with a pointy tip (e.g. 14 in Grojean), the pull tab cross section decreases in diameter in a direction travelling down the pull tab and away from the barb (e.g. see structure of Grojean), the pull tab having a pull tab length (e.g. see figures of Grojean), barb relief cuts parallel to the pull tab length (e.g. see section having corrugations 38, figure 5b-5e), the rivet further comprises a plurality of barb relief cuts extending from at least a portion of the barb (e.g. see 24 and 22), the rivet comprises a cut indicator on the barb (e.g. see tapered surfaces 22 or 24 of the barb in Grojean) and the cut indicator is generally perpendicular to the pull tab length (e.g. 22 or 24 is perpendicular to the pull tab length, see Grojean).
Regarding claim 70: Fu discloses the claimed invention except the conductive filler 1-30% by volume. Discovering an optimum range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Kulling, 895 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ 2d 1056. Without the showing of some unexpected result. Since applicant has not shown some unexpected result the inclusion of this limitation is considered to be a matter of choice in design. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have filler in the amount as stated in claim 70 with reasonable expectation of success as a matter of design choice. Furthermore, different amount of filler will result in predictable result of low or higher conductivity.
Regarding claim 71: Ref A discloses the claimed invention except the resistivity ranging form 101-1012 ohm cm3. Discovering an optimum range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Kulling, 895 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ 2d 1056. Without the showing of some unexpected result. Since applicant has not shown some unexpected result the inclusion of this limitation is considered to be a matter of choice in design. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the range of resistivity as stated in claim 71 with reasonable expectation of success as a matter of design choice. Furthermore, different amount of filler will result in predictable result of low or higher conductivity.
Regarding claim 73: Fu discloses the claimed invention except the hardness of 10-70 shore A. Discovering an optimum range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Kulling, 895 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ 2d 1056. Without the showing of some unexpected result. Since applicant has not shown some unexpected result the inclusion of this limitation is considered to be a matter of choice in design. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have hardness as stated in claim 73 with reasonable expectation of success as a matter of design choice. Providing materials that is too hard result in brittle element and that is too soft results in poor insertion property.
Regarding claim 74: Fu discloses the claimed invention except the diameter of about 9 to 15 mm. Discovering an optimum range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Kulling, 895 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ 2d 1056. Without the showing of some unexpected result. Since applicant has not shown some unexpected result the inclusion of this limitation is considered to be a matter of choice in design. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the range as stated in claim 74 with reasonable expectation of success as a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 75: Fu discloses the claimed invention except the length of about 3 to 17 mm. Discovering an optimum range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Kulling, 895 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ 2d 1056. Without the showing of some unexpected result. Since applicant has not shown some unexpected result the inclusion of this limitation is considered to be a matter of choice in design. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the range as stated in claim 75 with reasonable expectation of success as a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 76: Fu and Grojean disclose the claimed invention except the pull tab length of about 30 to 90mm. Discovering an optimum range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Kulling, 895 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ 2d 1056. Without the showing of some unexpected result. Since applicant has not shown some unexpected result the inclusion of this limitation is considered to be a matter of choice in design. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the range as stated in claim 76 with reasonable expectation of success as a matter of design choice.
Conclusion
To expedite prosecution: It is noted that examiner is using same structure for elements for claims 78-81. If applicant provides claim 59 with structure of all claims 78-81, the claim maybe allowable.
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675