August 27, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I invention in the reply filed on 08/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “mesh member” in Claims 1, 21, and 26 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). In Claim 1, Applicant defines “a mesh member comprising a set of filaments of a second thermoplastic material….. the mesh member surrounding the plurality of strands.” In claim 21, Applicant defines “a mesh member formed of filaments of a first thermoplastic material, each filament being looped and bonded to at least one other of the filaments, the mesh member defining a central portion and a first bolster and a second bolster on opposite sides of the central portion”. In Claim 26, Applicant defines “ a mesh member comprising filaments of a first thermoplastic material that are randomly looped and bonded to one another”. However, Figures 1-2, never labels the “mesh member”. There is no reference number in the specification that identifies the :mesh member” No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 21, 23-24, 26, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishino et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0060493 A1) in view of Lem et al.(U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0361897 A1).
Lem et al. teach the structure substantially as claimed including an apparatus comprising:
a plurality of strands 130 of a first thermoplastic material, extending from a first surface of the apparatus to a second surface of the apparatus opposite the first surface; and
a mesh member 110,120 comprising a set of filaments of a second thermoplastic material, the mesh member 110,120 surrounding the plurality of strands 130 but does not specify if each member of the set of filaments is looped and bonded to at least one other member of the set of filaments.
However, Lem et al. teach the concept of forming a mesh layer from a set of filaments looped and bonded to at least one other member of the set of filaments (see paragraph [0036] where it reads “In various examples backing layer 154 can be of or can include a bonded filament, a mesh,…..). It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to form the mesh member, as taught by Nishino et al., from a set of filaments looped and bonded to at least one other member of the set of filaments, as taught by Lem et al. since it would the mesh member would possess high porosity allowing maximum fluid, air, and gas passage. It also makes the mesh member easier to bond to the first thermoplastic material, as required in Claim 3.
As for Claims 4-5 and 24, Nishino et al. teach that the first thermoplastic material is the same as the second thermoplastic material; wherein the first thermoplastic material and the second thermoplastic material comprise linear low-density polyethylene (LLDPE) (see paragraph [0085] where it reads “As a material to compose the front mesh layer 110, the back mesh layer 120 or the pile 130, a thermoplastic resin is preferable. The following resins can be used, for example, thermoplastic polyester resins such as polyethylene terephthalate (PET) and polybutylene terephthalate (PBT), polyamide resins such as nylon 6 and nylon 66, polyolefin resins such as polyethylene and polypropylene, or a mixed resin containing two or more kinds of these resins.”).
As for Claims 6-7, 9, and 21, Nishino et al. teach a vehicle seat including a frame(see Fig. 6) and a seat cushion comp[rising the apparatus wherein the strands of the plurality of strands are oriented in a longitudinal or lateral direction; Nishino et al. teach that the seat cushion that comprises two bolsters on either side of a central portion, wherein the plurality of strands are only located in the two bolsters; and Fig. 3 shows that the plurality of strands can be located in the first bolster and the second bolster and absent from the central portion such that the first bolster and the second bolster have a greater crush resistance than the central portion. .
As for Claim 23, Nishino et al. teach that strands of the plurality of strands extend from a front surface of the seat cushion to a rear surface of the seat cushion opposite the front surface.
As for Claim 28, Nishino et al. teach that strand segments of the plurality of discrete strand segments are substantially straight and are mutually parallel within the mesh member.
As for Claim 30, Nishino et al. teach that the cushion is a seat back cushion and strand segments of the plurality of discrete strand segments extend from a bottom surface of the seat back cushion to a top surface of the seat back cushion.
Claims 8 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishino et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0060493 A1) in view of Lem et al.(U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0361897 A1), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Townley et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,247,593 B2).
Nishino et al. in view of Lem et al teaches the structure substantially as claimed but is silent as to whether or not a trim cover adhered to a surface of the mesh member. However, Townley et al. teach a trim cover 20 that can be adhered to a surface of the mesh member. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art for the vehicle seat, as taught by Nishino et al., to include a trim cover adhered to a surface of the mesh member, as taught by Townley et al., since trim covers are added to vehicle seats for aesthetic purposes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 22, 27, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Rodney B White/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636