DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 9, 13, 16, 18 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
-Claim 3 on page 1 in line 1 the spelling should be changed from “data data” to “data”.
-Claim 9 on page 2 in line 1 the spelling should be changed from “the the” to “the”.
-Claim 13 on page 2 in line 1 the spelling should be changed from “wherein wherein” to “wherein”.
-Claim 16 on page 3 in line 2 the spelling should be changed from “the the” to “the”.
-Claim 18 on page 3 in line 2 the spelling should be changed from “The he” to “The”.
-Claim 19 on page 3 in line 1 the spelling should be changed from “wherein wherein” to “wherein”.
Lines are counted from the beginning of each claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of conflicting Patent No. 12,212,817 B2 in view of US Pub. No. 20180048921 A to Sood. Look below for example.
Table 1 illustrates the conflicting claim pairs:
Conflicting Patent No. 12,212,817 B2
1
1
1
Pending Application 18/968605
1
8
15
Table 2 illustrates a mapping between the limitations claim 1 of the pending application and claim 1 of the conflicting Patent No. 12,212,817 B2. Claim 8 and 15 of pending application and claim 1 in the conflicting Patent No. 12,212,817 B2, respectively, are analyzed similarly. Additionally, the dependent claims are analyzed similarly.
Conflicting Patent No. 12,212,817 B2
Claim 1 of Conflicting Application
Serial Number (18/968605)
Claim 1 of Pending Application
1. A method comprising:
receiving, based on a plurality of requests for a content item from a plurality of user devices, telemetry data, wherein the telemetry data comprise a plurality of indications of events and associated timing information;
determining, based on the plurality of indications of events, one or more events satisfying a first threshold indicative of a quality of the one or more events;
determining, based on a quantity of the one or more events satisfying a second threshold and based on the associated timing information, adjustment data; and
causing, based on a subsequent request for the content item and based on the adjustment data, a second output of the content item.
1.A method comprising:
sending, based on a first output of a content item, telemetry data indicative of an event;
receiving, based on the telemetry data, adjustment data configured to adjust a second output of the content item; and
causing, based on the adjustment data, an adjusted second output of the content item.
As Table 2 clearly illustrates, the only limitation not taught by claim 1 of the conflicting patent No. 12,212,817 B2 is:
sending, based on a first output of a content item, telemetry data indicative of an event; receiving, based on the telemetry data, adjustment data configured to adjust a second output of the content item.
However, Sood discloses sending, based on a first output of a content item, telemetry data indicative of an event (Sood Fig. 1-3, ¶0015, 0019, 0025, 0028-0033, 0042-0043, 0048, 0053, transmitting the playback experience data having data indicative of events occurring in the video, e.g. different factors affecting playback experience or quality); and receiving, based on the telemetry data, adjustment data configured to adjust a second output of the content item (Sood Fig.1-3, ¶0037, 0049-0050, 0097-0099, receiving, based on the playback experience data, playback instructions/adjustments to adjust the playback e.g. change quality of the playback mid-stream).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify conflicting Patent No. 12,212,817 B2 by sending, based on a first output of a content item, telemetry data indicative of an event; receiving, based on the telemetry data, adjustment data configured to adjust a second output of the content item as disclosed by Sood. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to adjust the video to improve the quality of experience thereby enhancing the user’s viewing experience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8, 11, 12, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 20180048921 A1 to Sood.
As to claims 1, 8 and 15, Sood discloses a method comprising:
sending, based on a first output of a content item, telemetry data indicative of an event (Sood Fig. 1-3, ¶0015, 0019, 0025, 0028-0033, 0042-0043, 0048, 0053, transmitting the playback experience data having data indicative of events occurring in the video, e.g. different factors affecting playback experience or quality);
receiving, based on the telemetry data, adjustment data configured to adjust a second output of the content item (Sood Fig.1-3, ¶0037, 0049-0050, 0097-0099, receiving, based on the playback experience data, playback instructions/adjustments to adjust the playback e.g. change quality of the playback mid-stream); and
causing, based on the adjustment data, an adjusted second output of the content item (Sood Fig.1-3, ¶0037, 0049-0050, 0097-0099, displaying the video based on the playback adjustment e.g. change quality of the playback mid-stream).
As to claims 4, 11, Sood discloses wherein the telemetry data indicative of the event is sent periodically during the first output of the content item (Sood Fig. 1-3, ¶0015, 0019, 0025, 0028-0033, 0042-0044, 0048, 0053, playback experience data may be automatically provided on a periodic basis by the media player).
As to claims 5, 12 and 18, Sood discloses wherein the adjustment data configured to adjust the second output of the content item comprises instructions to adjust a bitrate of the content item (Sood Fig.1-3, ¶0037, 0049-0050, 0097-0099, adjusting bit rate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 6, 9, 10, 13, 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20180048921 A1 to Sood in view of US Pub. No. 20120054664 A1 to Dougall.
As to claims 2, 9 and 16, Sood discloses wherein the telemetry data indicative of the event is sent to an aggregator (Sood Fig.1-3, ¶0037, 0048-0050, 0097-0099, playback experience data transmitted to the server).
Sood does not expressly disclose the adjustment data configured to adjust the second output of the content item is received from the aggregator
Dougall discloses the adjustment data configured to adjust the second output of the content item is received from the aggregator (Dougall Fig. 2, 4, ¶0051, server transmitting display parameters to adjust the video).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sood by the adjustment data configured to adjust the second output of the content item is received from the aggregator as disclosed by Dougall. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to remotely receive from the server the adjustments for the video thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
As to claims 3, 10 and 17, Sood discloses wherein receiving the adjustment data configured to adjust the second output of the content item is further based on the aggregator receiving a plurality of telemetry data indicative of events similar to the event (Sood Fig.1-3, ¶0092-0095, playback adjustment based on the server receiving a plurality of reports of the playback issue data similar/repeated playback issues).
As to claims 6, 13 and 19, Sood does not express disclose wherein the adjustment data configured to adjust the second output of the content item comprises instructions to adjust a volume of the content item.
Dougall discloses wherein the adjustment data configured to adjust the second output of the content item comprises instructions to adjust a volume of the content item (Dougall Fig. 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, ¶0032, 0034, 0075, volume adjustment for the content).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sood by wherein the adjustment data configured to adjust the second output of the content item comprises instructions to adjust a volume of the content item as disclosed by Dougall. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to optimize the playback of the content by adjusting the volume thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20180048921 A1 to Sood in view of US Pub. No. 20170185616 A1 to Jakobowski.
As to claims 7, 14 and 20, Sood does not expressly disclose receiving a first portion of the content item from a first content server; receiving, based on the adjustment data, a second portion of the content item from a second content server; and
wherein causing the adjusted second output of the content item further comprises outputting the first portion of the content item and the second portion of the content item.
Jakobowski discloses receiving a first portion of the content item from a first content server; receiving, based on the adjustment data, a second portion of the content item from a second content server (Jakobowski ¶0020-0022, receiving the first segment from a first content server and a second segment from a second content server based on the manifest file specifying different bit rates); and
wherein causing the adjusted second output of the content item further comprises outputting the first portion of the content item and the second portion of the content item (Jakobowski ¶0019-0022, adjusting the output of content by outputting the first segment and the second segment based on the manifest specifying different bit rates).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sood by receiving a first portion of the content item from a first content server; receiving, based on the adjustment data, a second portion of the content item from a second content server; and wherein causing the adjusted second output of the content item further comprises outputting the first portion of the content item and the second portion of the content item as disclosed by Jakobowski. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to retrieve content segments located on different servers reducing network loads, free capacity, lower delivery costs, and/or reduce content download time.
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 have been rejected.
Correspondence Information
/KYU CHAE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426