DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action on the merits based on the 18/968,615 application filed on 12/04/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20, as originally filed, are currently pending and considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The claim limitation “display device” present in claims 1-16 and 20 will be treated as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The claim limitation passes the three-prong test for determining invocation, defined in 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
a) Uses the generic placeholder “display device” for performing the claimed function;
b) The term “device” is modified by the functional language “provide feedback based on the performance of the golfer”;
c) No other language in the claim adds sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed functions.
With the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to the claim limitation “display device” present in claims 1-16 and 20, this limitation is taken to describe “the user device 232, the operator interface 48 of the vehicle 10, and/or the golf simulator 310.” (Para. [0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "a golf simulator" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 8-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonito (US Patent Pub. No. 2008/0108456; PD: 05/08/2008).
Regarding claim 1, Bonito discloses a golf infotainment system (See Figure 4 above) comprising: one or more sensors (Stationary transceiver 10, 101, and 220; Figures 1A and 2; i.e., the terminal has GPS, short range transceiver, Bluetooth; Para. [0025] “); wherein at least one sensor of the one or more sensors is configured to be positioned on a golf course (i.e., the mobile terminal is on the user who is disposed on the golf course as seen in Figure 4); a display device (Display 209; Figure 4; i.e., the term “display device” has been interpreted under 112(f) to be a user device 232 such as the display 309 of the mobile terminal 101); and one or more processing circuits (Processing device 205; Figure 2) configured to communicably couple with the one or more sensors and the display device, the one or more processing circuits configured to: receive an initiation of a golf session from a golfer (i.e., the start of a hole can be started by a user; Para. [0038] “The hole number being played can be determined by the mobile terminal 101 from user input or automatically based on signaling received from distributed base transceiver sites. For example, one of the users may enter the current hole number using the user interface 211 of the mobile terminal 101. Alternatively, the mobile terminal software may automatically start with the first hole and then automatically advance the hole number upon determining that the golfers have completed play of the hole (e.g., upon receiving entry of scores from all players assigned to the mobile terminal 101).”); monitor, via the one or more sensors, a performance of the golfer during the golf session (i.e., scores can be recorded, time taken, game results; Para. [0059] “During play of the round of golf, the processing device 205 of the mobile terminal 101 receives and records various inputs entered by the golfer(s) and stores the inputted information in a relational database in memory 207. For example, in one embodiment, all the information selected or inputted by player one (e.g., JIM) or automatically determined by the processing device 205 to relate to player one's play is stored in memory 207 and associated with player one's ID. The information input by player one or automatically determined by the processing device 205 to relate to player one's play may include, without limitation, scores obtained during play of the holes in the round of golf, identifications of advertisements selected by the player, club selections and pin distances, course or play notes, par 3 poker card values, Nassau or match play scores, list of refreshments ordered, list of other players in the player's twosome or foursome, amount of time taken to play the round, video of the player's golf swing, game results, video, team photos, pictures of stance views, driving distance, friendly wagers won or lost, etc.”); and provide, via the display device, feedback based on the performance of the golfer (i.e., the user terminal 101 can receive feedback; Para. [0034] “Also, for use during tournament play, the location of the golf ball, as well as the identification, affiliation, and real-time scores of all golfers playing in the tournament can be transmitted to the mobile terminal 101 to allow a player to obtain instant feedback about his standing in that particular tournament.”).
Regarding claim 2, Bonito discloses the golf session includes at least one of a round of golf at the golf course (Para. [0056]) or a golf simulation on a virtual representation of the golf course (Para. [0055] “In one embodiment, the web portal provides the option of customizing the mobile terminal display 209. Upon selecting a link to this option, the web portal preferably shows a virtual display and default displayed information, including the electronic scorecard 301 and other supplemental information, such as ads 303-312, a hole graphic 314, a club selection drop-down menu 318, and so forth. The golfer can then use his or her own personal computer (PC) 123, the kiosk 107, or other data communication device (e.g., handheld or wireless data terminal, cell phone, PDA, or multipurpose device) to select, via the web portal, which supplemental information to display and to customize the arrangement of such information on the display 209, with the possible exception of the locations of the ads 303-312 which are under the control of the host server 129 or network operator as discussed above.”).
Regarding claim 3, Bonito discloses the golfer is a first golfer, and wherein the golf session includes a competition between the first golfer and a second golfer (Para. [0061] “In another embodiment of the present invention, players using the local golf scoring system 100 can take advantage of the networked capabilities of the host server 129 to other local systems by having tournament or match play competitions. The competitions may be played against members of the same local system 100, or members of other local systems linked through the host server 129, in real-time or staggered in time. This feature provides a means for golfers to interact easily and accurately in a competitive, social network. For example, one group of players can set up a match play with other players on the network. The two (or more) groups can play simultaneously and each team has instant access to the performance of the other team. The network's host server 129 tracks the location and scores of each member of the group. Logging the scores into the host server 129 for later access provides an automatic standing sheet for each player in a golf-course sponsored event or golfer-initiated league. The outcome of each match, which may include a golfer-defined point system or even friendly wagering, is automatically sent to each member of the league or to those to whom the match point system or wagering pertains. Additionally, the system may track any fees, including friendly wagers, each member owes for league or social play.”).
Regarding claim 5, Bonito discloses the performance is a first performance, wherein the one or more processing circuits are configured to: acquire a second performance of the second golfer; compare the first performance of the first golfer to the second performance of the second golfer; and provide the feedback based on the first performance and the second performance (i.e., the performance of two golfers can be tracked and sent as feedback in the form of a leaderboard; Para. [0034] “Also, for use during tournament play, the location of the golf ball, as well as the identification, affiliation, and real-time scores of all golfers playing in the tournament can be transmitted to the mobile terminal 101 to allow a player to obtain instant feedback about his standing in that particular tournament. This tournament-related information may also be transferred to the clubhouse kiosk 107 and/or to customized web pages that subscriber golfers can access over the Internet.”).
Regarding claim 6, Bonito discloses the at least one sensor is coupled with at least one of a golf ball (Para. [0037] “In another embodiment, the mobile terminal display 209 may display the location 326 of the golfer's golf ball (or the locations of multiple golf balls, such as during a tournament or where two or more players are collectively using the same mobile terminal 101) on the displayed hole 314 or course. For example, each golf ball may include an internal microchip that transmits a location signal either responsive to an external excitation signal (e.g., transmitted by the mobile terminal 101, golf car, or a base transceiver site 103a-103c) or otherwise.”), a golf club, a golf cart, a mobile device (Para. [0032] “Additionally, each mobile terminal 101 or golf car may be configured with an RFID sensor 213 or other applicable detector (e.g., a magnetic swipe detector) to detect the presence of the golfers”), or a fixture (Mobile terminal 101; Figure 4) located on the golf course.
Regarding claim 7, Bonito discloses at least one second of the one or more sensors (i.e., the GPS of the terminal 101) is configured to be positioned at a golf simulator (i.e., the mobile terminal display 209 of the terminal 101 shows the simulated version of the golf game being played as seen in Figure 3 and has the GPS sensor; Para. [0055] “In one embodiment, the web portal provides the option of customizing the mobile terminal display 209. Upon selecting a link to this option, the web portal preferably shows a virtual display and default displayed information, including the electronic scorecard 301 and other supplemental information, such as ads 303-312, a hole graphic 314, a club selection drop-down menu 318, and so forth. The golfer can then use his or her own personal computer (PC) 123, the kiosk 107, or other data communication device (e.g., handheld or wireless data terminal, cell phone, PDA, or multipurpose device) to select, via the web portal, which supplemental information to display and to customize the arrangement of such information on the display 209, with the possible exception of the locations of the ads 303-312 which are under the control of the host server 129 or network operator as discussed above.”).
Regarding claim 8, Bonito discloses the at least one sensor includes a plurality of sensors (Stationary transceiver 10, 101, and 220; Figures 1 and 2A) configured to be positioned about the golf course, and wherein the one or more processing circuits are configured to perform triangulation using the plurality of sensors to determine a location of at least one of a golf ball, a golf club, a golf cart, or the golfer (Para. [0037] “The fixed wireless subsystem 103 or another location-determining system receives the location signal and determines the location of the ball using triangulation or other location-determining techniques. The fixed wireless subsystem 103 may then transmit a message containing the location of the golf ball to the mobile terminal 101 to enable the mobile terminal 101 to indicate the golf ball's location on the display 209.”).
Regarding claim 9, Bonito discloses the at least one sensor is configured to communicate using a communication protocol including at least one of radio, cellular, ultra-wideband (UWB), Wi-Fi, or Bluetooth low energy (BLE) (Para. [0023]-[0024] “wireless subscription network 125, such as a cellular data network, may be coupled to the external communication network 113 and used in accordance with the present invention as detailed below.”).
Regarding claim 10, Bonito discloses the at least one sensor includes at least one of a motion detector, a global positioning system (GPS) sensor (Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) system receiver 109; Figure 1), or a camera (Para. [0025] “The mobile terminal 101 may also optionally include the GPS receiver 109 and/or the camera 111 instead of being connected to those devices through external cabling or other connections.”).
Regarding claim 11, Bonito discloses the feedback includes at least one of a club suggestion, a comparison of the performance with a past performance of the golfer, a comparison of the performance with a past performance of another golfer, a green speed, or a yardage determination (Para. [0033] “The mobile terminal's processing device 205 can further use the golfer's personal profile information to function as a sort of "virtual caddie," recommending use of certain golf clubs based on the golfer's current playing circumstances, together with yardage and other course-related information. The recommended clubs would be displayed on the display 209.”).
Regarding claim 12, Bonito discloses the feedback includes the club suggestion (Para. [0033] “The mobile terminal's processing device 205 can further use the golfer's personal profile information to function as a sort of "virtual caddie," recommending use of certain golf clubs based on the golfer's current playing circumstances, together with yardage and other course-related information. The recommended clubs would be displayed on the display 209.”).
Regarding claim 13, Bonito discloses the feedback includes the comparison of the performance with the past performance of the golfer (i.e., the system tracks scores and locations of a golfer which can be compared with past scores; Para. [0061] “The network's host server 129 tracks the location and scores of each member of the group. Logging the scores into the host server 129 for later access provides an automatic standing sheet for each player in a golf-course sponsored event or golfer-initiated league. The outcome of each match, which may include a golfer-defined point system or even friendly wagering, is automatically sent to each member of the league or to those to whom the match point system or wagering pertains. Additionally, the system may track any fees, including friendly wagers, each member owes for league or social play.”).
Regarding claim 14, Bonito discloses the feedback includes the comparison of the performance with the past performance of another golfer (i.e., each score of the golfers is tracked and can be compared; Para. [0061] “The network's host server 129 tracks the location and scores of each member of the group. Logging the scores into the host server 129 for later access provides an automatic standing sheet for each player in a golf-course sponsored event or golfer-initiated league.”).
Regarding claim 15, Bonito discloses the feedback includes at least one of the green speed or the yardage determination (Para. [0036] “In other embodiments, the processing device 205 might also or alternatively display a video fly over of the hole, distances to various locations on the fairway (e.g., lay-up areas), yardages of drives…”; Para. [0059] “The information input by player one or automatically determined by the processing device 205 to relate to player one's play may include, without limitation, scores obtained during play of the holes in the round of golf, identifications of advertisements selected by the player, club selections and pin distances, course or play notes, par 3 poker card values, Nassau or match play scores, list of refreshments ordered, list of other players in the player's twosome or foursome, amount of time taken to play the round…”).
Regarding claim 17, Bonito discloses a golf infotainment system (See Figure 4 above) for a golf course, the golf infotainment system comprising: a first plurality of sensors (Stationary transceiver 10, 101, and 220; Figures 1A and 2) configured to be positioned about the golf course (i.e., the mobile terminal is on the user who is disposed on the golf course as seen in Figure 4); a second plurality of sensors configured to be positioned on at least one of golf balls (Para. [0037] “In another embodiment, the mobile terminal display 209 may display the location 326 of the golfer's golf ball (or the locations of multiple golf balls, such as during a tournament or where two or more players are collectively using the same mobile terminal 101) on the displayed hole 314 or course. For example, each golf ball may include an internal microchip that transmits a location signal either responsive to an external excitation signal (e.g., transmitted by the mobile terminal 101, golf car, or a base transceiver site 103a-103c) or otherwise.”), golf carts (Para. [0032] “Additionally, each mobile terminal 101 or golf car may be configured with an RFID sensor 213 or other applicable detector (e.g., a magnetic swipe detector) to detect the presence of the golfers”), or golf clubs used on the golf course; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors (Processing device 205; Figure 2), cause the one or more processors to: receive an initiation of a golf session from a golfer (i.e., the start of a hole can be started by a user; Para. [0038] “The hole number being played can be determined by the mobile terminal 101 from user input or automatically based on signaling received from distributed base transceiver sites. For example, one of the users may enter the current hole number using the user interface 211 of the mobile terminal 101. Alternatively, the mobile terminal software may automatically start with the first hole and then automatically advance the hole number upon determining that the golfers have completed play of the hole (e.g., upon receiving entry of scores from all players assigned to the mobile terminal 101).”), wherein the golf session includes a round of golf at the golf course; monitor, via the first plurality of sensors and the second plurality of sensors, a performance of the golfer during the golf session; and at least one of (a) store the performance for future reference(i.e., scores can be recorded, time taken, game results; Para. [0059] “During play of the round of golf, the processing device 205 of the mobile terminal 101 receives and records various inputs entered by the golfer(s) and stores the inputted information in a relational database in memory 207. For example, in one embodiment, all the information selected or inputted by player one (e.g., JIM) or automatically determined by the processing device 205 to relate to player one's play is stored in memory 207 and associated with player one's ID. The information input by player one or automatically determined by the processing device 205 to relate to player one's play may include, without limitation, scores obtained during play of the holes in the round of golf, identifications of advertisements selected by the player, club selections and pin distances, course or play notes, par 3 poker card values, Nassau or match play scores, list of refreshments ordered, list of other players in the player's twosome or foursome, amount of time taken to play the round, video of the player's golf swing, game results, video, team photos, pictures of stance views, driving distance, friendly wagers won or lost, etc.”) or (b) transmit the performance to a golf simulator in real-time (i.e., the mobile terminal display 209 shows the simulated version of the golf game being played as seen in Figure 3; Para. [0055] “In one embodiment, the web portal provides the option of customizing the mobile terminal display 209. Upon selecting a link to this option, the web portal preferably shows a virtual display and default displayed information, including the electronic scorecard 301 and other supplemental information, such as ads 303-312, a hole graphic 314, a club selection drop-down menu 318, and so forth. The golfer can then use his or her own personal computer (PC) 123, the kiosk 107, or other data communication device (e.g., handheld or wireless data terminal, cell phone, PDA, or multipurpose device) to select, via the web portal, which supplemental information to display and to customize the arrangement of such information on the display 209, with the possible exception of the locations of the ads 303-312 which are under the control of the host server 129 or network operator as discussed above.”).
Regarding claim 18, Bonito discloses the performance is stored for future reference such that the performance is retrievable for use during at least one of a round of golf at the golf course or a golf simulation on a virtual representation of the golf course at a future point in time (i.e., scores can be recorded, time taken, game results; Para. [0059] “During play of the round of golf, the processing device 205 of the mobile terminal 101 receives and records various inputs entered by the golfer(s) and stores the inputted information in a relational database in memory 207. For example, in one embodiment, all the information selected or inputted by player one (e.g., JIM) or automatically determined by the processing device 205 to relate to player one's play is stored in memory 207 and associated with player one's ID. The information input by player one or automatically determined by the processing device 205 to relate to player one's play may include, without limitation, scores obtained during play of the holes in the round of golf, identifications of advertisements selected by the player, club selections and pin distances, course or play notes, par 3 poker card values, Nassau or match play scores, list of refreshments ordered, list of other players in the player's twosome or foursome, amount of time taken to play the round, video of the player's golf swing, game results, video, team photos, pictures of stance views, driving distance, friendly wagers won or lost, etc.”).
Regarding claim 19, Bonito discloses the performance is transmitted to a golf simulator in real-time, wherein the golfer is a first golfer, and wherein a second golfer engaging with the golf simulator receives the performance in real-time (i.e., the user terminal 101 can receive feedback; Para. [0034] “Also, for use during tournament play, the location of the golf ball, as well as the identification, affiliation, and real-time scores of all golfers playing in the tournament can be transmitted to the mobile terminal 101 to allow a player to obtain instant feedback about his standing in that particular tournament.”).
.
Regarding claim 20, Bonito discloses a golf infotainment system (See Figure 4 above) for a golf course, the golf infotainment system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors (Processing device 205; Figure 2), cause the one or more processors to: receive an initiation of a golf session from a first golfer (i.e., the start of a hole can be started by a user; Para. [0038] “The hole number being played can be determined by the mobile terminal 101 from user input or automatically based on signaling received from distributed base transceiver sites. For example, one of the users may enter the current hole number using the user interface 211 of the mobile terminal 101. Alternatively, the mobile terminal software may automatically start with the first hole and then automatically advance the hole number upon determining that the golfers have completed play of the hole (e.g., upon receiving entry of scores from all players assigned to the mobile terminal 101).”), wherein the initiation of the golf session includes at least one of (a) a request for instruction or (b) an initiation of a competition between the first golfer and a second golfer during the golf session (i.e., the system determines a competition and the start of a hole of a competition (Para. [0061] “In another embodiment of the present invention, players using the local golf scoring system 100 can take advantage of the networked capabilities of the host server 129 to other local systems by having tournament or match play competitions. The competitions may be played against members of the same local system 100, or members of other local systems linked through the host server 129, in real-time or staggered in time. This feature provides a means for golfers to interact easily and accurately in a competitive, social network. For example, one group of players can set up a match play with other players on the network. The two (or more) groups can play simultaneously and each team has instant access to the performance of the other team. The network's host server 129 tracks the location and scores of each member of the group. Logging the scores into the host server 129 for later access provides an automatic standing sheet for each player in a golf-course sponsored event or golfer-initiated league.”); monitor, via one or more sensors, a first performance of the first golfer during the golf session (i.e., scores can be recorded, time taken, game results; Para. [0059] “During play of the round of golf, the processing device 205 of the mobile terminal 101 receives and records various inputs entered by the golfer(s) and stores the inputted information in a relational database in memory 207. For example, in one embodiment, all the information selected or inputted by player one (e.g., JIM) or automatically determined by the processing device 205 to relate to player one's play is stored in memory 207 and associated with player one's ID. The information input by player one or automatically determined by the processing device 205 to relate to player one's play may include, without limitation, scores obtained during play of the holes in the round of golf, identifications of advertisements selected by the player, club selections and pin distances, course or play notes, par 3 poker card values, Nassau or match play scores, list of refreshments ordered, list of other players in the player's twosome or foursome, amount of time taken to play the round, video of the player's golf swing, game results, video, team photos, pictures of stance views, driving distance, friendly wagers won or lost, etc.”); and provide, via a display device (Display 209; Figure 4; i.e., the term “display device” has been interpreted under 112(f) to be a user device 232 such as the display 309 of the mobile terminal 101), feedback based on the performance of the first golfer, wherein the feedback includes at least one of: an instruction for improving the first performance of the first golfer in response to the request for instruction (Para. [0073] “Communication of the scores and other information to the golfer enables the golfer to more readily track and analyze his or her play, thereby providing data upon which to base actions for improving play.”); or a determination of a winner in response to the initiation of the competition between the first golfer and the second golfer (i.e., the user terminal 101 can receive feedback; Para. [0034] “Also, for use during tournament play, the location of the golf ball, as well as the identification, affiliation, and real-time scores of all golfers playing in the tournament can be transmitted to the mobile terminal 101 to allow a player to obtain instant feedback about his standing in that particular tournament.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record Hofmann (US Patent Pub. No. 2004/0243262; PD: 12/02/2004),
Tawwater (US Patent Pub. No. 2016/0001158; PD: 01/07/2016), and Lee (US Patent Pub. No. 2019/0022509; PD: 01/24/2019), and Tuxen (US Patent Pub. No. 2025/0195950; PD: 06/19/2025) fail to teach or render obvious claims 4 and 16. The Examiner notes that the prior art of record does not explicitly claim a golf simulator used in conjunction with a golf course as described as described within claims 4 and 16.
Conclusion
/ANDREW M KOBYLARZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3784