Detailed Action
Claims 1-18 are pending in this application. This is a response to the Amendments/Remarks filed on 9/17/26. This is a Final Rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recites
As per claims 1,10, A method of controlling a signaling storm, the method
receiving a request for analytics of a signaling storm;
generating analytics information about the signaling storm based on the collected data;
wherein the analytics information comprises one of statistics and predictions regarding control of the signaling storm to mitigate or prevent a network abnormal behavior and wherein the data comprises UE-related context data, and the UE-related context data comprises information regarding: state transition information; and timer information.
As per claims 2,11, the method/server device of claim 1,10, wherein the analytics information is regarding an expected normal level of the signaling storm and deviations indicating the signaling storm.
As per claims 3,12, the method/server device of claim 2,11, wherein the generating comprises identifying whether the signaling storm is due to signaling based on analytics identification (ID) of the signaling storm included in the request.
As per claims 4,13, the method/server device of claim 1,10, wherein the data comprises UE-related context data, and the UE-related context data comprises information regarding: a time duration from receiving a request from a UE to response to the UE; a number of successful responses of the UE; a number of failed responses of the UE; a frequent mobility registration update; a UE context in an NF; state transition information; and timer information.
As per claims 5,14, the method/server device of claim 4, 13, wherein the timer information is timer information set for the UE, and comprises a timer type and a duration.
As per claims 6,15, the method/server device of claim 1,10, wherein the data comprises application function (AF) data indicating application activation time information, and the AF data comprises information regarding: an application ID; user activation time information; a number of UEs; an active time; an inactive time; and a UE type ID.
As per claims 7,16 the method/server device of claim 1,10 wherein an action for the signaling storm is performed based on the analytics information.
As per claims 8,9,17,18, the method of claim 7,16, wherein, the action is setting a timer.
The claims are directed towards analyzing and generating information about a signal storm to mitigate or prevent abnormal network behavior in 5G. Therefore the claims and the specification is drawn to mental processes(the steps of receiving and generating can be performed mentally and/or with the aid of pen and paper; a person can receive a request for analyzing data and generating information about a signal storm based on the analyzing to mitigate or prevent abnormal network behavior). If the claim under broadest reasonable interpretation covers limitation that is drawn to certain methods of organizing human activity and mental processes but for recitation of a generic computer and/or generic computer components described at a high level of generality or linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, then it falls within the grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A, prong 1).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recites additional elements such as
As per claims 1,10, A method of controlling a signaling storm, the method performed by a device,
from a consumer network function (NF);
collecting data for the analytics of the signaling storm from a fifth-generation core (5GC) NF;
transmitting the analytics information to the consumer NF,
As per claims 10. A server device for controlling a signaling storm, the server device comprising: a processor; and a memory electrically connected to the processor and configured to store instructions executable by the processor, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the server device to perform a plurality of operations, the plurality of operations comprising:
As per claims 3,12, the method/server device of claim 2,11, from a predetermined NF or signaling from a user equipment (UE)
As per claims 8,17, the method of claim 7,16, wherein, if the consumer NF is an access and mobility management function (AMF), a mobility management non-access stratum (MM NAS)-related timer.
As per claims 9,18, The method of claim 7,16, wherein, if the consumer NF is a session management function (SMF), a session management non-access stratum (SM NAS)-related timer.
The claim does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations of A server device for controlling a signaling storm, the server device comprising: a processor; and a memory electrically connected to the processor and configured to store instructions executable by the processor, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the server device to perform a plurality of operations; from a predetermined NF or signaling from a user equipment (UE), performed by a device are generic computer components described at a high level of generality and limitations amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer and/or adding the words “apply it”(or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claim does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims recites consumer NF, predetermine NF, 5GC, AMF, MM NAS, SMF, SM NAS which is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, in this case to 5G networks. Such limitation are not enough to add significantly more to the claimed method and/or is an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment for which to apply the underlying abstract concept, which does not add significantly more. The claims is directed to an abstract idea and merely links the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, chat/Instant Messaging,(MPEP 2106.05(h))
The additional limitation(s) of collecting data for the analytics of the signaling storm; transmitting the analytics information, are interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (pre and post-solution activity) to the judicial exception. The steps for collecting is merely the pre-solution activity of data gathering step and the step of transmitting is a post-solution activity. Accordingly, the additional limitation/elements does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Even considering all the additional element in combination, they are just providing a computerized system to perform the invention, but doesn’t improve the computing technology as the additional elements do not integrate the invention into a practical application, rather the claims and the additional limitations are drawn to an abstract idea with the addition of insignificant extra-solution activity, which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims is directed to an abstract idea and with the addition of insignificant extra-solution activity, which is not patent eligible and directed to an abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Therefore the additional limitation/elements does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Even considering all the additional element in combination, they are just providing a computerized system to perform the invention, but doesn’t improve the computing technology as the additional elements do not integrate the invention into a practical application. The claims is directed to an abstract idea and merely reciting generic computer components described at a high level of generality and limitations amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer and/or adding the words “apply it”(or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea MPEP 2106.05(f) and links the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, 5G(MPEP 2106.05(h)) with insignificant extra-solution activity (pre and post-solution activity) to the judicial exception. MPEP 2106.05(g). Therefore the claims are not patent eligible. (Step 2A, prong2).
The claim does not include additional elements/limitations that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements/limitations is drawn to limitations that use a computer as a tool, and includes well-understood, routine, and conventional activities(ie. receiving or transmitting data over a network MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)) that amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system. The claim is not patent eligible(Step 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-12, 14, 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 117527612(Google Patent Translation) issued to Guangzhou Aipu Road Network Technology(Guangzhou) in view of Oracle Communications Networks Data Analytics Function User Guide Release 22.1.0, Dec.2022(Oracle) in view of US 2021/0410107 issued to Park et al.(Park).
As per claims 1,10, Guangzhou teaches a method of controlling a signaling storm, the method/a server device for controlling a signaling storm, the server device comprising: a processor; and a memory electrically connected to the processor and configured to store instructions executable by the processor, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the server device to perform a plurality of operations, the plurality of operations(pg.7-8, Embodiments of the present invention also disclose a computer program product or computer program comprising computer instructions stored in a computer readable storage medium. The computer instructions may be read from a computer-readable storage medium by a processor of a computer device, and executed by the processor, to cause the computer device to perform the method shown in fig. 1.) comprising:
receiving a request for analytics of a signaling storm from a management center(Abstract, pg.3,5, .. s1, receiving a signaling storm prediction request sent by a data management center...);
collecting data for the analytics of the signaling storm from a fifth-generation core (5GC) NF(Abstract, pg.3,5….s2, sending an interface data request to the UPF network element, and receiving interface data information returned by the UPF network element, In the 5G core network, a UPF network element (User Plane Function, user plane network element) is used for realizing routing and forwarding of terminal service data, data and service identification, action and policy execution and the like; therefore, the UPF network element can acquire the interface data information of each network element interface in the core network, such as the number of messages, the length of the messages, the interface failure rate and the like, and further carries out signaling storm prediction according to the interface data information. In this embodiment, after the NWDAF network element starts the 5G signaling storm prediction flow, an interface data request about each network element interface in the core network is sent to the UPF network element; after the UPF network element collects the interface data request, corresponding data information is returned to the NWDAF network element.);
generating analytics information about the signaling storm based on the collected data(Abstract, pg.5-6… s3, analyzing the interface data information; carrying out signaling storm prediction by using a gray prediction model which is completed by training according to interface data information to obtain a signaling storm prediction result;); and
transmitting the analytics information to the management center(Abstract, pg.3,5… s4, returning a signaling storm prediction result to the data management center), wherein the analytics information comprises one of statistics and predictions(Abstract, pg.5… s3, analyzing the interface data information; carrying out signaling storm prediction by using a gray prediction model which is completed by training according to interface data information to obtain a signaling storm prediction result;) regarding control of the signaling storm to mitigate or prevent a network abnormal behavior(pg.5, In order to solve the problem that signaling storm in a core network is difficult to predict and cope with, the embodiment of the invention provides a 5G signaling storm predicting method, equipment and medium based on a gray prediction model, and an AI (Artificial Intelligence) technology/ML (Machine Learning) technology is utilized to monitor, predict and other analysis methods for network element loads of different interfaces in the core network so as to prompt the occurrence of the signaling storm, thereby reducing service interruption or other network abnormal behaviors caused by the signaling storm, pg.7, The data management center can obtain different predicted values according to the setting of the parameter K in the gray prediction model, and judges the future signaling change trend by observing the trend of the predicted values. If the signaling change trend tends to decrease or fluctuates in a small range, the condition that no signaling storm occurs is indicated; if the signaling tends to rise, the signaling interaction of the core network is more and more frequent, and a signaling storm is likely to happen; if the predicted trend rises rapidly, indicating that a signaling storm is about to happen, the data management center should send out an alarm in time to inform the user or the operator to make a decision to deal with. Specifically, when the signaling trend is in an ascending trend and a signaling storm may occur, the data management center performs the following steps: and pushing signaling storm warning information to the terminal in the 5G core network. For the user of the personal terminal equipment, after receiving the signaling storm warning message from the data management center, preparation can be made in advance, for example: the method leaves the area as soon as possible, performs corresponding working treatment in advance, informs the family members of the situation in advance, and avoids losing contact with the family members when signaling storm occurs).
Guangzhou teaches 5G and NWDAF, however does not explicitly teach consumer network function (NF) and wherein the data comprises UE-related context data, and the UE-related context data comprises information regarding: state transition information; and timer information.
Oracle explicitly teaches the use of consumer network function (NF) and a fifth-generation core (5GC) NF(pg.44, 7-17; The consumer NF sends an analytics request to the OCNWDAF for NF load analytics of a specific NF).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guangzhou of receiving a request from the management center and sending predication result to the management center to instead substitute the consumer NF as taught by Oracle for Guangzhou’s management center in order to provide the predictable result of receiving a request from the consumer NF and sending prediction result to the consumer NF.
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to predict signal storms in 5G(Guangzhou, Abstract).
Guangzhou in view of Oracle does not explicitly teach data comprises UE-related context data, and the UE-related context data comprises information regarding: state transition information; and timer information.
Park explicitly teaches data comprises UE-related context data, and the UE-related context data comprises information regarding: state transition information [0156] FIG. 15 is an example diagram showing RRC state transitions of a wireless device. In an example, a wireless device may be in at least one RRC state among an RRC connected state (e.g. RRC_Connected 1530, RRC_Connected), an RRC idle state (e.g. RRC_Idle 1510, RRC_Idle), and/or an RRC inactive state (e.g. RRC_Inactive 1520, RRC_Inactive). In an example, in an RRC connected state, a wireless device may have at least one RRC connection with at least one base station (e.g. gNB and/or eNB), which may have a UE context of the wireless device. A UE context (e.g. a wireless device context) may comprise at least one of an access stratum context, one or more radio link configuration parameters, bearer (e.g. data radio bearer (DRB), signaling radio bearer (SRB), logical channel, QoS flow, PDU session, and/or the like) configuration information, security information, PHY/MAC/RLC/PDCP/SDAP layer configuration information, and/or the like configuration information for a wireless device. In an example, in an RRC idle state, a wireless device may not have an RRC connection with a base station, and a UE context of a wireless device may not be stored in a base station. In an example, in an RRC inactive state, a wireless device may not have an RRC connection with a base station. A UE context of a wireless device may be stored in a base station, which may be called as an anchor base station (e.g. last serving base station).; and timer information([0293] In an example, the at least one condition for the initiation of the registration procedure may comprise at least one of: the wireless device detects entering a tracking area (e.g., the new area, new registration area, new tracking area, new RAN area, etc.) that is not in a list of tracking areas (e.g., area, registration area, RAN area, etc.) that the wireless device previously registered in an AMF and/or a base station (e.g., anchor base station) of the first wireless network, as shown in FIG. 29; a periodic registration updating timer (e.g., area update timer; T3512, t380, T3502, etc.) expires (e.g., a time duration associated with the area update timer since/from a previous area update passes); the wireless device receives a configuration update command message indicating registration requested (e.g., configuration update indication information element); the wireless device (e.g., in 5GMM-REGISTERED.ATTEMPTING-REGISTRATION-UPDATE state) receives a paging (e.g., core network paging, RAN paging, etc.); the wireless device receives a notification message with access type indicating 3GPP access (e.g., the first radio access technology) over a non-3GPP access (e.g., the second radio access technology) (e.g., for PDU sessions associated with 3GPP access); an inter-system change from S1 mode to N1 mode; the wireless device experiences an RRC connection failure and/or does not have signaling or user uplink data pending (e.g., the wireless device receives an indication of an RRC connection failure from lower layers and/or does not have signaling or user uplink data pending) (e.g., when NAS signaling connection recovery and/or RRC connection recovery is needed); the wireless device changes a 5GMM capability and/or S1 UE network capability; the wireless device changes an RRC capability; a usage setting of the wireless device changes; the wireless device needs to change at least one network slice that the wireless device is registered to; the wireless device changes a UE specific DRX parameters; the wireless device (e.g., in 5GMM-REGISTERED.ATTEMPTING-REGISTRATION-UPDATE state) needs to establish an emergency PDU session and/or perform emergency services fallback; the wireless device needs to register for SMS over NAS, indicate a change in requirements to use SMS over NAS, and/or de-register from SMS over NAS; the wireless device needs to indicate a PDU session status to the first wireless network after local release of at least one PDU session; the wireless device (e.g., in 5GMM-IDLE mode, RRC idle state, RRC inactive state, etc.) changes a radio capability for NG-RAN; the wireless device receives a fallback indication from a lower layer without resume request from NAS (i.e. when the lower layer requests NAS signaling connection recovery); the wireless device experiences an RRC connection failure and/or has user uplink data pending (the wireless device receives an indication of an RRC connection failure from a lower layer and/or has user uplink data pending) (e.g., when the lower layer requests NAS signaling connection recovery); the wireless device needs to request new LADN information; the wireless device needs to request a use of (e.g., transition to) MICO mode and/or needs to stop a use of (e.g., transition from) MICO mode; the wireless device (e.g., in 5GMM-CONNECTED mode with RRC inactive indication) enters a shared network cell in a current registration area belonging to an equivalent PLMN of a registered PLMN and/or not belonging to the registered PLMN; the wireless device receives a service reject message with a 5GMM cause value set to a restricted service area (e.g., #28); and/or the like. The at least one condition may comprise expiration of a timer (e.g., T3512) for a periodic registration update. The at least one condition may comprise that a time duration (e.g., corresponding to the timer, T3512) passes since/from a previous (periodic) registration update (e.g., a latest registration update, a latest periodic registration update, etc.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guangzhou in view of Oracle of receiving a request from the consumer NF and sending prediction result to the consumer NF to use the state transition and timer information as taught by Park in order to provide the predictable result of receiving a request from the consumer NF and sending prediction result to the consumer NF based on state transition and timer information.
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to predict signal storms in 5G(Guangzhou, Abstract).
As per claims 2,11, Guangzhou in view of Oracle in view of Park teaches the method/server device of claim 1,10, wherein the analytics information is regarding an expected normal level of the signaling storm and deviations indicating the signaling storm(Guangzhou, pg.5 The data management center can obtain different predicted values according to the setting of the parameter K in the gray prediction model, and judges the future signaling change trend by observing the trend of the predicted values. If the signaling change trend tends to decrease or fluctuates in a small range, the condition that no signaling storm occurs is indicated; if the signaling tends to rise, the signaling interaction of the core network is more and more frequent, and a signaling storm is likely to happen; if the predicted trend rises rapidly, indicating that a signaling storm is about to happen, the data management center should send out an alarm in time to inform the user or the operator to make a decision to deal with).
As per claims 3,12, Guangzhou in view of Oracle in view of Park teaches the method/server device of claim 2,11, wherein the generating comprises identifying whether the signaling storm is due to signaling from a predetermined NF or signaling from a user equipment (UE) based on analytics identification (ID) of the signaling storm included in the request(Guangzhou, pg.6, In the embodiment of the invention, the signaling storm prediction request is sent to the NWDAF network element, and the signaling storm prediction request comprises a timing sending flow and an active sending flow. The timing sending flow is a passive signaling storm checking flow set by an operator and has the characteristic of automatic triggering in a normalized mode. In the timing transmission flow, after a predetermined time passes by the data management center, a signaling storm prediction request is transmitted to the NWDAF network element. The active sending process is a signaling storm prediction request actively initiated by the operator through the data center, and usually needs to be actively triggered by the operator based on temporary requirements. In the active sending process, when the data management center receives the third-party signaling storm prediction request, the signaling storm prediction request is sent to the NWDAF network element, Oracle, pg.45, 7-17 The request is authorized and then the OCNWDAF subscribes to the NRF to receive notifications about load and status changes of NF instances identified by the NF ids. The Nnrf_NFManagement_NFStatusSubscribe service is used to subscribe for each NF instance.). Motivation to combine set forth in claim 1,10 above.
As per claims 5,14, Guangzhou in view of Oracle in view of Park teaches the method/server device of claim 1,10, wherein the timer information is timer information set for the UE, and comprises a timer type and a duration(Park, [0293] In an example, the at least one condition for the initiation of the registration procedure may comprise at least one of: the wireless device detects entering a tracking area (e.g., the new area, new registration area, new tracking area, new RAN area, etc.) that is not in a list of tracking areas (e.g., area, registration area, RAN area, etc.) that the wireless device previously registered in an AMF and/or a base station (e.g., anchor base station) of the first wireless network, as shown in FIG. 29; a periodic registration updating timer (e.g., area update timer; T3512, t380, T3502, etc.) expires (e.g., a time duration associated with the area update timer since/from a previous area update passes); the wireless device receives a configuration update command message indicating registration requested (e.g., configuration update indication information element); the wireless device (e.g., in 5GMM-REGISTERED.ATTEMPTING-REGISTRATION-UPDATE state) receives a paging (e.g., core network paging, RAN paging, etc.); the wireless device receives a notification message with access type indicating 3GPP access (e.g., the first radio access technology) over a non-3GPP access (e.g., the second radio access technology) (e.g., for PDU sessions associated with 3GPP access); an inter-system change from S1 mode to N1 mode…..). Motivation to combine set forth in claim 1,10 above.
As per claims 7,16, Guangzhou in view of Oracle in view of Park teaches the method/server device of claim 1,10, wherein an action for the signaling storm is performed based on the analytics information(Guangzhou, pg.5… s3, analyzing the interface data information; carrying out signaling storm prediction by using a gray prediction model which is completed by training according to interface data information to obtain a signaling storm prediction result;) regarding control of the signaling storm to mitigate or prevent a network abnormal behavior(pg.5, In order to solve the problem that signaling storm in a core network is difficult to predict and cope with, the embodiment of the invention provides a 5G signaling storm predicting method, equipment and medium based on a gray prediction model, and an AI (Artificial Intelligence) technology/ML (Machine Learning) technology is utilized to monitor, predict and other analysis methods for network element loads of different interfaces in the core network so as to prompt the occurrence of the signaling storm, thereby reducing service interruption or other network abnormal behaviors caused by the signaling storm, pg.7, The data management center can obtain different predicted values according to the setting of the parameter K in the gray prediction model, and judges the future signaling change trend by observing the trend of the predicted values. If the signaling change trend tends to decrease or fluctuates in a small range, the condition that no signaling storm occurs is indicated; if the signaling tends to rise, the signaling interaction of the core network is more and more frequent, and a signaling storm is likely to happen; if the predicted trend rises rapidly, indicating that a signaling storm is about to happen, the data management center should send out an alarm in time to inform the user or the operator to make a decision to deal with. Specifically, when the signaling trend is in an ascending trend and a signaling storm may occur, the data management center performs the following steps: and pushing signaling storm warning information to the terminal in the 5G core network. For the user of the personal terminal equipment, after receiving the signaling storm warning message from the data management center, preparation can be made in advance, for example: the method leaves the area as soon as possible, performs corresponding working treatment in advance, informs the family members of the situation in advance, and avoids losing contact with the family members when signaling storm occurs ).
As per claims 8, Guangzhou in view of Oracle in view of Park teaches the method/server device of claim 7,16, wherein, if the consumer NF is an access and mobility management function (AMF), the action is setting a mobility management non-access stratum (MM NAS)-related timer.(The claim is a conditional limitation therefore not given patentable weight, MPEP 2111.04. II, See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 201)
As per claims 9, Guangzhou in view of Oracle in view of Park teaches the method/server device of claim 7,16, wherein, if the consumer NF is a session management function (SMF), the action is setting a session management non-access stratum (SM NAS)-related timer(The claim is a conditional limitation therefore not given patentable weight, MPEP 2111.04. II, See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 201)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 13, 15, 17, 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable over the prior art if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the double patenting and 101 rejection set forth above.
Response to Arguments
The applicant filed a Terminal Disclaimer to overcome the Double Patenting Rejection, therefore that rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the prior art/103 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made.
Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the 101 rejection have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The applicant argues in substance that claim 1 is performed by a device and that claim 1 is not merely directed to processing data by a computer but directly improves the operational performance of a communication system itself by addressing the problem of abnormal overload in the network system.
In reply, The Office disagrees that the amended claim 1 of “performed by a device” overcomes the 101 rejection because using a device to perform the method is merely the additional limitation of implementing the abstract idea on a computer and/or adding the words “apply it”(or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. MPEP 2106.05(f).
The applicants arguments pertaining to improvement to the operational performance of a communication system by addressing the problem of abnormal overload in the network system is also unpersuasive, the claim merely recites collecting data, analyzing the data, and transmitting the data which is akin to Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016) of selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display.
The claim limitation(s) does not improve the operational performance of the communication system, rather the claims is directed to processing data by a computer. In further, it is unclear how receiving a request, collecting data, generating analytics, and transmitting the analytics improves the operation performance of the communication system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
US 2021/0352484 issued to Pandit et al., teaches detection and mitigation of malicious wireless devices, in a wireless communication network including a radio access network (RAN) and a core network (CN), in a manner for selectively preventing the malicious wireless devices from using the wireless communication network based on identification of the malicious wireless devices in the wireless communication network.
US 2017/0303259 issued to Lee et al., teaches performing communication with a user equipment receives a predetermined request from the user equipment, selects a single network slice instance to be allocated to the user equipment from among a plurality of network slice instances in the communication apparatus in response to the request, selects a single network function instance to be allocated to the user equipment from among a plurality of network function instances included in the selected network slice instance. The network slice instance is in an instantiated form of a network slice that includes at least one network function and resource for providing a network service having a predetermined capability and characteristic to the user equipment.
US 2016/0029246 issued to Mishra et al., teaches signaling storm reduction is disclosed, comprising concentrating a plurality of signaling messages from a radio access network node to a core network node at a signaling concentrator; and processing the plurality of signaling messages with a mobile device identifier rule, at a rate equal to or greater than a line rate of a link from the radio access network to the signaling concentrator, wherein processing the plurality of signaling messages further comprises determining whether to drop each of the plurality of signaling messages.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BACKHEAN TIV/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2459