Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-10, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2022/0127543).
In paragraphs 11-16, Masuda discloses a lubricating oil composition comprising a mineral and/or synthetic base oil and a poly(meth)acrylate. In paragraph 78 Masuda discloses that the composition comprises 70 to 98% by weight of the base oil, and in paragraph 77 discloses that the base oil can comprise 50 to 100% by weight of a Group II or Group III base oil (mineral oil) and 0 to 50% by weight of a Group IV base oil (synthetic oil, more specifically polyalphaolefin). The composition of Masuda therefore comprises 35 to 98% by weight of the mineral oil and up to 49% by weight of the synthetic oil, encompassing the ranges recited for the mineral and PAO-based synthetic oils of claim 1. In paragraphs 83 and 95-101 Masuda discloses that the poly(meth)acrylate can be a poly (alkyl methacrylate). While Masuda does not specifically disclose the poly(alkyl methacrylate) as a viscosity index improver, it meets the structural limitations of the poly(alkyl methacrylate) viscosity index improver specifically recited in amended claim 1, and has a weight average molecular weight of up to 25,000, overlapping the range recited for the viscosity index improver of amended claim 1. The poly(alkyl methacrylate) of Masuda will therefore be effective as a viscosity index improver, as recited in amended claim 1. In paragraph 105 Masuda discloses that the poly (alkyl methacrylate) can be present in an amount of 0.01 to 5% by weight of the composition, overlapping the range recited in amended claim 1. In paragraphs 114, 127, 139, 141, 144, and 146-151, Masuda indicates that the composition comprises additional additives in a total amount overlapping the range recited for the additive of claim 1. In paragraph 154 Masuda discloses that the composition preferably has a kinematic viscosity of no less than 2.9 mm2/s and more preferably no more than 3.9 mm2/s at 100° C, within the range recited in amended claim 1.
Polyalphaolefin (PAO), as in the Group IV base oil of Masuda, meets the limitations of the synthetic oil of claim 1. In paragraph 67 Masuda discloses that the base oil has a viscosity of 2.0 to 3.8 mm2/s at 100° C, indicating that the PAO component can have a viscosity in a range overlapping or encompassing the range recited in amended claim 1, and the mineral oil component can have a viscosity in a range within or overlapping the range recited in claim 9.
In paragraph 64 Masuda discloses that the aromatic content of the mineral base oil can be 0, meeting the limitations of claim 8. A Group III base oil, as disclosed by Masuda, by definition has a viscosity index of greater than 120, within the range recited in claim 10. A group II base oil, also disclosed by Masuda, by definition has a viscosity index of 80 to 120, overlapping the range recited in claim 10. In paragraphs 107-152 Masuda discloses that the composition can comprise various additives recited in claim 13, including a sulfonate detergent (paragraphs 107-114) as recited in claim 14, a hindered phenolic or aromatic amine antioxidant (paragraph 145) as recited in claim 15, and a pour point depressant (paragraph 146) and antifoaming agent (paragraph 150), as recited in claim 16.
The difference between Masuda and the currently presented claims is that some of the ranges of Masuda overlap or encompass the claimed ranges rather than falling within them. See MPEP 2144.05(I): “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976);” "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
In light of the above, claims 1, 8-10, and 13-16 are rendered obvious by Masuda.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Masuda does not teach a PAO-based synthetic oil having the viscosity recited in the amended claims, and that Masuda’s teaching that the overall base oil blend has a viscosity of 2.0 to 3.8 mm2/s at 100°C does not render obvious a PAO component having the claimed viscosity. Applicant notes that the exemplified PAO A-4 in paragraph 164 of Masuda has a viscosity of 1.78 mm2/s at 100°C.
The examiner maintains the positions taken in the rejection and tin previous office actions. Masuda discloses that the overall base oil blend has a viscosity of 2.0 to 3.8 mm2/s at 100° C, and does not provide any indication that the synthetic oil, or the PAO synthetic oil specifically, must have a viscosity below 2.0 at 100° C. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore understand that the individual components of the base oil, including the PAO can have a viscosity in the disclosed range. While Example 5 of Masuda uses a PAO having a viscosity of less than 2.0 cSt, this does not constitute a teaching away from the broader disclosure of Masuda, and Example 5 of Masuda has an overall base oil viscosity near the low end of the broader viscosity range disclosed by Masuda, which that a PAO with a higher viscosity would still produce an overall viscosity within the range disclosed by Masuda. It is also noted that base oil A-5 of Masuda (paragraph 165) is a synthetic ester oil having a viscosity of 2.9 mm2/s at 100° C, within the claimed range; as PAO and ester oils are disclosed in paragraph 62 of Masuda as having equivalent use as synthetic base oils in the composition of Masuda. Applicant argues that ester oils have different properties than PAO oils, but there is no basis in Masuda, or in applicant’s remarks for reading into Masuda a requirement that the synthetic oil have a different viscosity when it is a PAO than when it is an ester.
Conclusion
/JAMES C GOLOBOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771