DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. This application is a continuation-in-part of U.S. patent application Ser. No. 18/101,968 titled “Faster Hybrid Three Pass Encoding for Video Streaming,” filed Jan. 26, 2023, the contents of which are hereby incorporated by reference in their entirety.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 12/04/2024 and 08/19/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation “The method of claim 11” cited in claim 13 is unclear and vague since claim 11 is the system claim. It is suggested to change it to ---- The system of claim 11 -----.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin Sole (US 11,128,869 B1; Date of Patent: Sep. 21, 2021) (hereinafter Sole).
Regarding claim 1, Sole discloses a method for fast hybrid per-title encoding (e.g., see column 1 lines 5-7: encoding of video titles), comprising:
performing a probe encoding on a plurality of representations of a video input in a constant quality mode using a low complex encoder (e.g., see abstract, column 2 lines 47-64: probe encoding; Figs. 2-3, column 6 lines 14-26, lines 61-66: probe encoding);
generating a bitrate table using a plurality of probe results from the probe encoding, the probe results comprising a plurality of output bitrates (e.g. see column 1 lines 47-64, column 4 line 37-40: bitrate table; Fig. 2, step 202, column 6 lines 14-60: bitrate table);
computing a bitrate ladder, by a per-title algorithm, using the bitrate table, the bitrate ladder comprising bitrate and resolution pairs (e.g. see abstract, column 1 lines 47-64, column 4 line 37-40: bitrate ladder; Fig. 2, step 202, column 6 lines 14-60: bitrate ladder); and
encoding the video input using the bitrate ladder and a different encoder (e.g., see Fig. 2, step 204, column 6 lines 14-60: content encoding using bitrate ladder).
Regarding claim 2, Sole discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of output bitrates comprises a set of median bitrates (e.g., see Fig. 3, step 308, column 8 lines 37-47: compute mean bitrate; Fig. 4, lines 63-67: mean bitrates).
Regarding claim 3, Sole discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the low complex encoder comprises one of an H264 codec and a VP9 codec (e.g., see column 3 lines 40-48, column 5 lines 18-25: H.264, VP9).
Regarding claim 4, Sole discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the different encoder comprises a high-performing codec (e.g., see column 3 lines 40-48, column 5 lines 18-25: high-performing codec such as H.265/HEVC).
Regarding claim 5, Sole discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising mapping the bitrate table to an expected set of probe encoder results using a probe encode adaptation (e.g., see abstract, column 2 lines 47-64: mapping the bitrate table and probe encoding) for low complex codecs (e.g., see column 3 lines 40-48, column 5 lines 18-25: low complex codecs such as H.264, VP9).
Regarding claim 6, Sole discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the encoding the video input results in an output of one or two renditions of the video input (e.g., see column 2 lines 2-10: renditions).
Regarding claim 7, Sole discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, prior to performing the probe encoding, that the video input exceeds a threshold length; trimming the video input into trimmings of a given trimmed length; and combining a given number of trimmings into a shortened video input, wherein the probe encoding is performed on the shortened video input instead of the video input in full, and wherein the shortened video input is shorter in length than the video input (e.g., see column 7 line 31 to column 8 line 22: length of input video and sample time; also see column 9 lines 31-52).
Regarding claim 8, Sole discloses the method of claim 7, wherein each of the given number of trimmings are less than one minute in length e.g., see column 7 line 31 to column 8 line 22: length of input video and sample time less than 1 minute; also see column 9 lines 31-52).
Regarding claim 9, Sole discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the shortened video input is less than five minutes in length e.g., see column 7 line 31 to column 8 line 22: length of input video and sample time less than 5 minutes; also see column 9 lines 31-52).
Regarding claim 10, this claim is a system claim of a method version as applied to claim 1 above, wherein the system performs the same limitations cited in claim 1, the rejections of which are incorporated herein. Furthermore, encoding, a memory, and processor (see Fig. 1, column 5 line 3 to column 6 line13; column 11 lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 11, it contains the limitations of claims 7 and 10, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 12, it contains the limitations of claims 3 and 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 13, it contains the limitations of claims 4 and 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Conclusion
/ON S MUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486