CTNF 18/968,777 CTNF 90693 2433 Detailed Action 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This is the initial office action that has been issued in response to patent application, 18/968,777, filed on 12/04/2024. Claims 1-20, as originally filed, are currently pending and have been considered below. Claim 11, 11 and 20 are independent claim. Priority This application claims the priority of KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2023-0174668 filed on 12/05/2023. Drawing The drawings filed on 12/04/2024 are accepted by the examiner. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS's) submitted on 12/04/2024, are in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman (US Patent Application Publication No 2022/0166610 A1) in view of Choi (US Patent Application Publication No 2022/0360435 A1) . Regarding Claim 1 , Rahman discloses a method performed by a first apparatus in a quantum key distribution network (QKDN), the method comprising: transmitting, to a second apparatus, a first subscription message for subscribing to data collection (Rahman, ¶[0038], the software defined networking controller can be configured to implement network management over the quantum key distribution layer. ¶[0043], the quantum edge computing device, the software defined networking controller and the global analytics service can cooperate to provide a closed loop for addressing communication link failures in the quantum key distribution layer); receiving, from the second apparatus, a first notification message for notifying the data collection (Rahman, ¶[0056], the quantum edge computing device can analyze the failure data and the data set to determine a possible replacement communication link. ¶[0057], the quantum edge computing device can be configured to provide the analysis results to the global analytics service); and transmitting an analytics report (Rahman, ¶[0059], the global analytics service can analyze the global data and the analysis results from the quantum edge computing device to determine how to replace the failed communication link based on policies and other global considerations. ¶[0061], the software defined networking controller can analyze the recommendation based on capacities and availabilities of various elements of the quantum key distribution layer by reviewing the network map), wherein the first subscription message includes information indicating a type of a management operation and a correlation identifier uniquely indicating a correlation between the first apparatus and the second apparatus (Rahman, ¶[0070], the quantum edge computing device can generate analysis results and share the analysis results with global analytics service. The global analytics service can analyze global data (security policies, key distribution policies) and generate a recommendation for mitigating the communication link failure. ¶[0077], the quantum edge computing device can detect a communication link failure, where the communication link failure can correspond to a failure of a communication link between two quantum key distribution nodes) and wherein the first notification message includes a correlation identifier (Rahman, ¶[0079], failure data can be obtained by quantum edge computing device from the quantum key distribution nodes. ¶[0090], the recommendation can be sent to the software defined networking controller via a southbound interface of the global analytics service). Rahman does not explicitly discuss the following limitation that Choi teaches: correlation identifier (Choi, ¶[0047], a subsequent operation may be performed after receiving the request for key relay route from the KM layer) Rahman in view of Choi are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “quantum key distribution network”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Rahman in view of Choi to include the idea of key relay control based on software defined networking in a quantum key distribution (Choi, ¶[0002]). Regarding Claim 2 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving an acceptance message for accepting a subscription to the data collection from the second apparatus (Rahman, ¶[0056], the quantum edge computing device can analyze the failure data and the data set to determine a possible replacement communication link. ¶[0057], the quantum edge computing device can be configured to provide the analysis results to the global analytics service). Regarding claim 3, Rahman in view of Choi discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the second apparatus or a third apparatus, a second subscription message for subscribing to data analytics (Rahman, ¶[0038], the software defined networking controller can be configured to implement network management over the quantum key distribution layer. ¶[0043], the quantum edge computing device, the software defined networking controller and the global analytics service can cooperate to provide a closed loop for addressing communication link failures in the quantum key distribution layer); and transmitting, to the second apparatus or the third apparatus, a second notification message for notifying of the data analytics (Rahman, ¶[0038], the software defined networking controller can be configured to implement network management over the quantum key distribution layer. ¶[0043], the quantum edge computing device, the software defined networking controller and the global analytics service can cooperate to provide a closed loop for addressing communication link failures in the quantum key distribution layer). Regarding Claim 4 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the second subscription message includes information indicating a type of a management operation and a correlation identifier, and wherein the second notification message includes a correlation identifier (Rahman, ¶[0070], the quantum edge computing device can generate analysis results and share the analysis results with global analytics service. The global analytics service can analyze global data (security policies, key distribution policies) and generate a recommendation for mitigating the communication link failure. ¶[0077], the quantum edge computing device can detect a communication link failure, where the communication link failure can correspond to a failure of a communication link between two quantum key distribution nodes. Choi, ¶[0047], a subsequent operation may be performed after receiving the request for key relay route from the KM layer). Regarding Claim 5 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the third apparatus performs a function of orchestrating management for multiple layers (Rahman, ¶[0026], ¶[0042], the quantum edge computing device can be configured (e.g., via execution of the monitoring and analysis module and the orchestration module) to support edge computing and to obtain and generate surveillance statistics). Regarding Claim 6 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein when the information indicating the type of the management operation indicates fault management, the analytics report includes a link status based on quantum key distribution (QKD) link diagnostic information or a key relay fault generated based on key manager (KM) relay diagnostic information (Rahman, ¶[0070], the quantum edge computing device can generate analysis results and share the analysis results with global analytics service. The global analytics service can analyze global data (security policies, key distribution policies) and generate a recommendation for mitigating the communication link failure. ¶[0077], the quantum edge computing device can detect a communication link failure, where the communication link failure can correspond to a failure of a communication link between two quantum key distribution nodes. Choi, ¶[0078], a first control entity may receive a key relay route request from a key management (KM) layer). Regarding Claim 7 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein when the information indicating the type of the management operation indicates accounting management, the analytics report includes a charging data record based on metered accounting information (Choi, ¶[0041], QKDN manager may include not only the functions of fault, configuration, accounting, performance and security (FACPS) but also control layer management, key management layer management, quantum layer management, and cross-layer management orchestration). Regarding Claim 8 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein when the information indicating the type of the management operation indicates configuration management, the analytics report includes a report including a topology and resource inventory (Rahman, ¶[0070], the quantum edge computing device can generate analysis results and share the analysis results with global analytics service. The global analytics service can analyze global data (security policies, key distribution policies) and generate a recommendation for mitigating the communication link failure. ¶[0077], the quantum edge computing device can detect a communication link failure, where the communication link failure can correspond to a failure of a communication link between two quantum key distribution nodes). Regarding Claim 9 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein when the information indicating the type of the management operation indicates performance management, the analytics report analysis result includes a report generated by analyzing performance information (Rahman, ¶[0070], the quantum edge computing device can generate analysis results and share the analysis results with global analytics service. The global analytics service can analyze global data (security policies, key distribution policies) and generate a recommendation for mitigating the communication link failure. ¶[0077], the quantum edge computing device can detect a communication link failure, where the communication link failure can correspond to a failure of a communication link between two quantum key distribution nodes). Regarding Claim 10 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein when the information indicating the type of the management operation indicates security management, the analytics report includes analysis of security information (Rahman, ¶[0070], the quantum edge computing device can generate analysis results and share the analysis results with global analytics service. The global analytics service can analyze global data (security policies, key distribution policies) and generate a recommendation for mitigating the communication link failure. ¶[0077], the quantum edge computing device can detect a communication link failure, where the communication link failure can correspond to a failure of a communication link between two quantum key distribution nodes). Regarding Claim 11 , Rahman discloses the A first apparatus operating in a quantum key distribution network (QKDN), the apparatus comprising: at least one processor (Rahman, Fig-8); and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising (Rahman, Fig-8): transmitting, to a second apparatus, a first subscription message for subscribing to data collection (Rahman, ¶[0038], the software defined networking controller can be configured to implement network management over the quantum key distribution layer. ¶[0043], the quantum edge computing device, the software defined networking controller and the global analytics service can cooperate to provide a closed loop for addressing communication link failures in the quantum key distribution laye); receiving, from the second apparatus, a first notification message for notifying the data collection (Rahman, ¶[0056], the quantum edge computing device can analyze the failure data and the data set to determine a possible replacement communication link. ¶[0057], the quantum edge computing device can be configured to provide the analysis results to the global analytics service); and transmitting an analytics report (Rahman, ¶[0059], the global analytics service can analyze the global data and the analysis results from the quantum edge computing device to determine how to replace the failed communication link based on policies and other global considerations. ¶[0061], the software defined networking controller can analyze the recommendation based on capacities and availabilities of various elements of the quantum key distribution layer by reviewing the network map), wherein the first subscription message includes information indicating a type of a management operation and a correlation identifier uniquely indicating a correlation between the first apparatus and the second apparatus (Rahman, ¶[0070], the quantum edge computing device can generate analysis results and share the analysis results with global analytics service. The global analytics service can analyze global data (security policies, key distribution policies) and generate a recommendation for mitigating the communication link failure. ¶[0077], the quantum edge computing device can detect a communication link failure, where the communication link failure can correspond to a failure of a communication link between two quantum key distribution nodes), and wherein the first notification message includes a correlation identifier (Rahman, ¶[0079], failure data can be obtained by quantum edge computing device from the quantum key distribution nodes. ¶[0090], the recommendation can be sent to the software defined networking controller via a southbound interface of the global analytics service). Rahman does not explicitly discuss the following limitation that Choi teaches: correlation identifier (Choi, ¶[0047], a subsequent operation may be performed after receiving the request for key relay route from the KM layer) Rahman in view of Choi are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “quantum key distribution network”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Rahman in view of Choi to include the idea of key relay control based on software defined networking in a quantum key distribution (Choi, ¶[0002]). Regarding Claim 12 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the first apparatus of claim 11, the operations further comprising: receiving an acceptance message for accepting a subscription to the data collection from the second apparatus (Rahman, ¶[0056], the quantum edge computing device can analyze the failure data and the data set to determine a possible replacement communication link. ¶[0057], the quantum edge computing device can be configured to provide the analysis results to the global analytics service). Regarding Claim 13 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the first apparatus of claim 11, the operations further comprising: receiving, from the second apparatus or a third apparatus, a second subscription message for subscribing to data analytics (Rahman, ¶[0038], the software defined networking controller can be configured to implement network management over the quantum key distribution layer. ¶[0043], the quantum edge computing device, the software defined networking controller and the global analytics service can cooperate to provide a closed loop for addressing communication link failures in the quantum key distribution layer); and transmitting, to the second apparatus or the third apparatus, a second notification message for notifying of the data analytics (Rahman, ¶[0038], the software defined networking controller can be configured to implement network management over the quantum key distribution layer. ¶[0043], the quantum edge computing device, the software defined networking controller and the global analytics service can cooperate to provide a closed loop for addressing communication link failures in the quantum key distribution layer). Regarding Claim 14 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the first apparatus of claim 13, wherein the second subscription messages include information indicating a type of a management operation and a correlation identifier, and wherein the second notification message includes a correlation identifier (Rahman, ¶[0070], the quantum edge computing device can generate analysis results and share the analysis results with global analytics service. The global analytics service can analyze global data (security policies, key distribution policies) and generate a recommendation for mitigating the communication link failure. ¶[0077], the quantum edge computing device can detect a communication link failure, where the communication link failure can correspond to a failure of a communication link between two quantum key distribution nodes. Choi, ¶[0047], a subsequent operation may be performed after receiving the request for key relay route from the KM layer). Regarding Claim 15 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the first apparatus of claim 11, wherein when the information indicating the type of the management operation indicates fault management, the analytics report includes a link status based on quantum key distribution (QKD) link diagnostic information or a key relay fault generated based on key manager (KM) relay diagnostic information (Rahman, ¶[0070], the quantum edge computing device can generate analysis results and share the analysis results with global analytics service. The global analytics service can analyze global data (security policies, key distribution policies) and generate a recommendation for mitigating the communication link failure. ¶[0077], the quantum edge computing device can detect a communication link failure, where the communication link failure can correspond to a failure of a communication link between two quantum key distribution nodes. Choi, ¶[0078], a first control entity may receive a key relay route request from a key management (KM) layer). Regarding Claim 16 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the first apparatus of claim 11, wherein when the information indicating the type of the management operation indicates accounting management, the analytics report includes a charging data record based on metered accounting information (Choi, ¶[0041], QKDN manager may include not only the functions of fault, configuration, accounting, performance and security (FACPS) but also control layer management, key management layer management, quantum layer management, and cross-layer management orchestration). Regarding Claim 17 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the first apparatus of claim 11, wherein when the information indicating the type of the management operation indicates configuration management, the analytics report includes a report including a topology and resource inventory (Rahman, ¶[0070], the quantum edge computing device can generate analysis results and share the analysis results with global analytics service. The global analytics service can analyze global data (security policies, key distribution policies) and generate a recommendation for mitigating the communication link failure. ¶[0077], the quantum edge computing device can detect a communication link failure, where the communication link failure can correspond to a failure of a communication link between two quantum key distribution nodes). Regarding Claim 18 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the first apparatus of claim 11, wherein when the information indicating the type of the management operation indicates performance management, the analytics report includes a report generated by analyzing performance information (Rahman, ¶[0070], the quantum edge computing device can generate analysis results and share the analysis results with global analytics service. The global analytics service can analyze global data (security policies, key distribution policies) and generate a recommendation for mitigating the communication link failure. ¶[0077], the quantum edge computing device can detect a communication link failure, where the communication link failure can correspond to a failure of a communication link between two quantum key distribution nodes). Regarding Claim 19 , Rahman in view of Choi discloses the first apparatus of claim 11, wherein when the information indicating the type of the management operation indicates security management, the analytics report includes analysis of security information (Rahman, ¶[0070], the quantum edge computing device can generate analysis results and share the analysis results with global analytics service. The global analytics service can analyze global data (security policies, key distribution policies) and generate a recommendation for mitigating the communication link failure. ¶[0077], the quantum edge computing device can detect a communication link failure, where the communication link failure can correspond to a failure of a communication link between two quantum key distribution nodes). Regarding Claim 20 , Rahman discloses at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium storing at least one instruction, wherein the at least one instruction executable by at least one processor controls a first apparatus operating in a quantum key distribution network (QKDN) to: transmit, to a second apparatus, a first subscription message for subscribing to data collection (Rahman, ¶[0038], the software defined networking controller can be configured to implement network management over the quantum key distribution layer. ¶[0043], the quantum edge computing device, the software defined networking controller and the global analytics service can cooperate to provide a closed loop for addressing communication link failures in the quantum key distribution layer); receive, from the second apparatus, a first notification message for notifying the data collection (Rahman, ¶[0056], the quantum edge computing device can analyze the failure data and the data set to determine a possible replacement communication link. ¶[0057], the quantum edge computing device can be configured to provide the analysis results to the global analytics service); and transmit an analytics report (Rahman, ¶[0059], the global analytics service can analyze the global data and the analysis results from the quantum edge computing device to determine how to replace the failed communication link based on policies and other global considerations. ¶[0061], the software defined networking controller can analyze the recommendation based on capacities and availabilities of various elements of the quantum key distribution layer by reviewing the network map), wherein the first subscription message includes information indicating a type of a management operation and a correlation identifier uniquely indicating a correlation between the first apparatus and the second apparatus (Rahman, ¶[0070], the quantum edge computing device can generate analysis results and share the analysis results with global analytics service. The global analytics service can analyze global data (security policies, key distribution policies) and generate a recommendation for mitigating the communication link failure. ¶[0077], the quantum edge computing device can detect a communication link failure, where the communication link failure can correspond to a failure of a communication link between two quantum key distribution nodes), and wherein the first notification message includes a correlation identifier (Rahman, ¶[0079], failure data can be obtained by quantum edge computing device from the quantum key distribution nodes. ¶[0090], the recommendation can be sent to the software defined networking controller via a southbound interface of the global analytics service). Rahman does not explicitly discuss the following limitation that Choi teaches: correlation identifier (Choi, ¶[0047], a subsequent operation may be performed after receiving the request for key relay route from the KM layer) Rahman in view of Choi are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “quantum key distribution network”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Rahman in view of Choi to include the idea of key relay control based on software defined networking in a quantum key distribution (Choi, ¶[0002]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-Form 892) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WASIKA NIPA whose telephone number is (571)272-8923. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F, 8 am to 5 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey Pwu can be reached on 571-272-6798. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /WASIKA NIPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433 Application/Control Number: 18/968,777 Page 2 Art Unit: 2433 Application/Control Number: 18/968,777 Page 3 Art Unit: 2433 Application/Control Number: 18/968,777 Page 4 Art Unit: 2433