DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 were previously pending and subject to a non-final office action filed on May 26, 2026 (the “May 26, 2026 Non-Final Office Action”). On August 14, 2026, Applicant amended claims 1, 11, and 20, in an amendment (the “August 14, 2026 Amendment”). As such, claims 1-20, as recited in the August 14, 2026 Amendment, are currently pending and subject to the final office action below.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks
Response to Applicant’s Remarks Concerning Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks, pp. 6-10, Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. § 101 Section, filed August 14, 2026, with respect to rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101, have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Further, in light of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (available at MPEP § 2106) (the “2019 Revised PEG”), the § 101 rejections of claims 1-20 are maintained in this final office action.
First, Applicant argues that the amended claims cannot practically be performed in the human mind, because the claimed sensor data are generated by physical aspiration components during operation of a thrombectomy system. See Applicant’s Remarks, at p. 7. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III). The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation. Id. Nor do the courts distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer. Id. In Applicant’s claims, the steps of determining activation of a clot removal state; accessing sensor data associated with at least some of the one or more aspiration components, wherein the sensor data is associated with a set of timepoints that are temporally subsequent to the activation of the clot removal state; and processing the sensor data to determine, based on the sensor data, whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material, are each forms of an observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion that a person (such as a vascular surgeon or interventional radiologist) can reasonably do either mentally or with the aid of pen and paper, because making determinations related to an aspiration catheter and processing data are existing processes and adding the thrombectomy system, processor, computer-readable recording media and clot engagement analysis module merely uses a computer as a tool to perform these existing processes. Therefore, Applicant’s claims are deemed to be directed to an abstract mental process. For these reasons, this argument is not persuasive.
Next, Applicant argues that the claims improve the operation of thrombectomy systems, because the specification explains that conventional thrombectomy devices lack mechanisms for determining whether an aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material. See Applicant’s Remarks, at p. 18. Examiner respectfully disagrees. When evaluating whether claims recite an improvement to the functioning of a computer or a technical field, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. MPEP § 2106.05(a). The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. An indication that the claimed invention provides an improvement can include a discussion in the specification that identifies a technical problem and explains the details of an unconventional technical solution expressed in the claim, or identifies technical improvements realized by the claim over the prior art. In the present case, Applicant has not identified a technical problem, nor has Applicant explained the details of an unconventional technical solution expressed in the claims. Specifically, Applicant states in a conclusory many that the claimed invention “addresses these technical shortcomings by processing sensor data acquired during operation of the thrombectomy system to determine whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material”. Further, the description in paragraphs [0030]-[0035] of Applicant’s specification does not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer, technology, or technical field. For example, paragraph [0031] in Applicant’s specification states that the thrombectomy system processes data by comparing the sensor data to reference to determine whether the sensor data indicates that the aspiration catheter is engaged with a clot. See Applicant’s specification as filed on December 4, 2024, at paragraph [0031].
These are not technical improvements because Applicant has not identified a technical problem that the claimed invention solves, and Applicant’s claim limitations do not describe a technical solution. Rather, Applicant’s claims merely describe an idea of a solution by stating that the claims compare the sensor data to reference data in order to determine whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material. First, comparing data to a reference of that data is a mental process, such as the equivalent of comparing data to a data in lookup table. Examiner also notes that dependent claims 5 and 15 describe comparing data to reference data, the independent claims do not specifically mention comparing data to reference data. Rather, the independent claims do not describe the specific manner for determining whether aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material. Therefore, the alleged improvement of determining whether aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material does not amount to an improvement to the abstract idea, but rather describes an abstract mental process. For these reasons, this argument is not persuasive.
Next, Applicant argues that the claims are implemented using a particular machine, because the claims are directed to a thrombectomy system including aspiration components that operate in a clot removal state. See Applicant’s Remarks, at p. 8. Examiner respectfully disagrees. When determining whether a machine recited in a claim provides significantly more, the following factors are relevant: (1) the particularity or generality of the elements of the machine or apparatus; (2) whether the machine or apparatus implements the steps of the method; and (3) whether its involvement is extra-solution activity or field-of-use. See MPEP § 2106.05(b).
In the present case, in analyzing the first factor (the particularity or generality of the elements of the machine or apparatus), Applicant describes the thrombectomy system in a generic manner. For example, Applicant’s specification describes these elements as being embodied by “a special purpose or general-purpose computer including computer hardware”. Applicant’s specification as filed on December 4, 2024, paragraph [0155]. Further, Applicant discloses that “the invention may be practiced in network computing environments with many types of computer system configurations, including, personal computers, desktop computers, laptop computers, message processors, hand-held devices, multi-processor systems, microprocessor-based or programmable consumer electronics, network PCs, minicomputers, mainframe computers, mobile telephones, PDAs, pagers, routers, switches, wearable devices, and the like”. Applicant’s specification as filed on December 4, 2024, paragraph [0161]. These descriptions in the specification describe these additional elements as basic computer components and functions, such as well-understood, routine, and conventional computer components. Therefore, the Examiner submits that these computer components and functions represent well-understood, routine, and conventional computer components and functions which are known in the medical industry. As such, under the first factor, the thrombectomy system amounts to the equivalent of adding generic computer components or a programmed computer to perform the abstract idea identified in the claims. See MPEP § 2106.05(b) (citing MPEP § 2016.05(f)).
For the second factor (whether the machine or apparatus implements the steps of the method), the Federal Circuit has held that “integral use of a machine to achieve performance of a method may integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more, in contrast to where the machine is merely an object on which the method operates, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application or provide significantly more.” See MPEP § 2106.05(b) (citing CyberSource v. Retail Decisions). In the present case, thrombectomy system does not implement the steps of the method (i.e., the inventive concept). Rather, thrombectomy system described in claim 11, is mentioned along the abstract idea (i.e., the thrombectomy system is not described as performing any of the method steps in the claims). As described above, adding the thrombectomy system is merely invoking computers or other machinery as a tool to perform the existing process of processing sensor data and determining whether an aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material. Therefore, under the second factor, the thrombectomy system is not implementing the steps of the method described in the claims.
In regard to the third factor (whether machine’s (or apparatus’) involvement is extra-solution activity or field-of-use), the Supreme Court held that “use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would not integrate a judicial exception or provide significantly more.” See MPEP § 2106.05(b) (citing Bilski v. Kappos). In the present, there is not anything in claims 1, 11, and 20 that requires a potential infringer to use the thrombectomy system to perform the claimed invention. As described above, the thrombectomy system is not implementing the steps of the method described in the claims. Therefore, since the thrombectomy system are not required to perform the claimed method steps, and is merely recited as a generic computer device, the thrombectomy system does not impose meaningful limits on the claim under the third factor and is deemed to contribute only nominally or insignificantly to the claimed invention.
As such, based on this analysis of the three factors, the thrombectomy system described in the claims is not deemed to apply the abstract idea with, or by the use of, a particular machine. For these reasons, this argument is not persuasive.
Lastly, Applicant generally argues that the claims provide significantly more than the exception under Step 2B, by defining “a specific implementation that improves operation of a medical device during an active thrombectomy procedure”. Applicant’s Remarks, at p. 9. Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument. When making a determination of whether the additional elements in a claim amount to significantly more than a judicial exception, the examiner should evaluate whether the elements define only well-understood, routine, conventional activity. MPEP § 2106.05(d). In this respect, the well-understood, routine, conventional consideration overlaps with other Step 2B considerations, particularly the improvement consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)), the mere instructions to apply an exception consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)), and the insignificant extra-solution activity consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). Id. Thus, evaluation of those other considerations may assist examiners in making a determination of whether a particular element or combination of elements is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Id.
In the present case, the additional elements recited in the claims represent well-understood, routine, and conventional activity. Courts have held computer‐implemented processes not to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus ineligible) where the claim as a whole amounts to nothing more than generic computer functions merely used to implement an abstract idea, such as an idea that could be done by a human analog (i.e., manually or by merely thinking). MPEP § 2106.05(d). Applicant’s claims were deemed to recite an abstract mental process, namely, a method for facilitating clot engagement detection in thrombectomy systems, comprising: determining activation of a clot removal state; accessing sensor data associated with at least some of the one or more aspiration components; and processing the sensor data to determine, based on the sensor data, whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material. These steps represent observations, evaluations, judgments, and/or opinions which are capable of being performed in the human mind or encompasses a human performing the step(s) mentally with the aid of a pen and paper. As described in the amended rejections under the Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 101 Section below, the additional elements (the thrombectomy system; one or more processors; one or more computer-readable recording media; clot engagement analysis module; and the steps directed to: “generating an output [of the determination of whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material]” and “after determining that output of the clot engagement analysis module satisfies one or more conditions, (i) present an alert at a user interface or (ii) selectively deactivate the clot removal state”) represent generic computer components and functions for implementing the abstract idea and insignificant extra-solution activity. For example, Applicant has not described the clot engagement analysis module recited in the claims with any specificity, nor do the claims recite the specific steps that the system goes through in order to determine whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material.
Therefore, Applicant’s claims do not recite any additional elements which are deemed to provide significantly more than the abstract idea. For these reasons, this argument is not persuasive. Therefore, the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 are maintained in this office action. Please see the amended rejections under the Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 101 Section below, for further clarification and complete analysis.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks Concerning Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks, pp. 10-12, Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. § 103 Section, filed August 14, 2026, with respect to rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, have been fully considered, but they are moot in light of Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1, 11, and 20. Therefore, the combinations of the references previously cited in the May 26, 2026 Non-Final Office Action, are not relied upon to teach the newly amended claim limitations in claims 1, 11, and 20. Please see amended rejections to claims 1, 11, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 below, for further clarification and complete analysis.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 6 and 16, “AI” should be changed to --artificial intelligence (AI)--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. See MPEP § 2106 (hereinafter referred to as the “2019 Revised PEG”).
Step 1 of the 2019 Revised PEG
Following Step 1 of the 2019 Revised PEG, claims 1-10 are directed to a thrombectomy system, which is within one of the four statutory categories (i.e., a machine or apparatus). See MPEP § 2106.03. Claims 11-19 are directed to a method for facilitating clot engagement detection in thrombectomy systems, which is also within one of the four statutory categories (i.e., a process). See id. Claim 20 is directed to one or more computer-readable recording media, which is also within one of the four statutory categories (i.e., a manufacture). See id. NOTE: Claim Interpretation - In paragraph [0155] of Applicant’s specification as filed on December 4, 2024, Applicant discloses that “computer-readable media that store computer-executable instructions in the form of data are one or more ‘computer-readable recording media’, ‘physical computer storage media’, or ‘hardware storage device(s)’”, versus computer readable media that merely carry computer-executable instructions without storing the instructions are “transmission media”. See Applicant’s specification as filed on December 4, 2024, at paragraph [0155]. Based on Applicant’s description of the computer-readable recording media being the equivalent of physical computer storage or hardware storage device, Examiner is interpreting the computer-readable recording media disclosed in Applicant’s claims to be limited to non-transitory computer-readable recording media (i.e., this interpretation expressly excludes transient signals per se).
Step 2A of the 2019 Revised PEG - Prong One
Following Prong One of Step 2A of the 2019 PEG, the claim limitations are to be analyzed to determine whether they “recite” a judicial exception or in other words whether a judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claims. See MPEP §2106.04. An “abstract idea” judicial exception is subject matter that falls within at least one of the following groupings: (1) Mathematical Concepts; (2) Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, and (3) Mental Processes. See MPEP § 2106.04(a).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101, because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Representative independent claims 1, 11, and 20 include limitations that recite an abstract idea. Note that independent claim 1 is a system claim, while claim 11 covers the matching method claim and claim 20 covers the matching one or more computer-readable recording media claim. Specifically, independent claim 1 recites (and claims 11 and 20 substantially recite) the following limitations:
A thrombectomy system, comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more computer-readable recording media that store instructions that are executable by the one or more processors to configure the thrombectomy system to:
determine activation of a clot removal state, wherein the clot removal state comprises operation of one or more aspiration components to facilitate clot removal;
access sensor data associated with at least some of the one or more aspiration components, wherein the sensor data is associated with a set of timepoints that are temporally subsequent to the activation of the clot removal state;
process the sensor data using a clot engagement analysis module configured to determine, based on the sensor data, whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material and generate an output indicative thereof; and
after determining that output of the clot engagement analysis module satisfies one or more conditions, (i) present an alert at a user interface or (ii) selectively deactivate the clot removal state.
However, the Examiner submits that the foregoing underlined limitations constitute a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. See 2019 Revised PEG. The Mental Processes category covers concepts which are capable of being performed in the human mind or encompasses a human performing the step(s) mentally with the aid of a pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion) (i.e., a method for facilitating clot engagement detection in thrombectomy systems, comprising: determining activation of a clot removal state; accessing sensor data associated with at least some of the one or more aspiration components; and processing the sensor data to determine, based on the sensor data, whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III). That is, other than reciting some computer components and functions (the foregoing limitations in claims 1, 11, and 20 which are not underlined), the context of claims 1, 11, and 20 encompass concepts that are capable of being performed in the human mind or encompasses a human performing the step(s) mentally with the aid of a pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion) (i.e., a method for facilitating clot engagement detection in thrombectomy systems, comprising: determining activation of a clot removal state; accessing sensor data associated with at least some of the one or more aspiration components; and processing the sensor data to determine, based on the sensor data, whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material).
The aforementioned claim limitations described in claims 1, 11, and 20 are analogous to claim limitations directed toward concepts which are capable of being performed in the human mind or encompasses a human performing the step(s) mentally with the aid of a pen and paper, because they merely recite limitations which encompasses a person mentally and/or manually observing, evaluating, making judgments, opinions related to: (1) determining activation of a clot removal state (i.e., a type of observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion where a person could mentally and/or manually determine when activation of a clot removal state begins); (2) ; accessing sensor data associated with at least some of the one or more aspiration components (i.e., a type of observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion where a person could mentally look-up or view sensor data associated with at least some of the one or more aspiration components); and (3) processing the sensor data to determine, based on the sensor data, whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material (i.e., a type of observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion where a person could mentally and/or manually process the sensor data, such as, comparing the sensor data to reference sensor data, in order to mentally determine whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material). Therefore, the aforementioned underlined claim limitations may reasonably be interpreted as mental/manual observations, evaluations, judgments, and/or opinions made by a person. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts which are capable of being performed in the human mind or encompasses a human performing the step(s) mentally with the aid of a pen and paper, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. See 2019 Revised PEG. Accordingly, claims 1, 11, and 20 recite an abstract idea that falls within the Mental Processes category.
Furthermore, Examiner notes that dependent claims 3-5, 10, and 13-15 include limitations that further define the at least one abstract idea (and thus fail to make the abstract idea any less abstract) as set forth below. Examiner notes that: (1) dependent claims 2, 6-10, 12, and 16-19 include limitations that are deemed to be additional elements, and require further analysis under Prong Two of Step 2A; and (2) dependent claims 3-5 and 13-15 do not provide any limitations that are deemed to be additional elements which require further analysis under Prong Two of Step 2A.
- For example, claims 3 and 13 describe further limits on the type of sensor data being comprised of pressure data associated with the vacuum canister and/or the suction tubing. This is deemed to be part of the abstract mental process, because this limitation merely modifies the sensor data that is accessed.
- Next, claims 4 and 14 describe further mental concepts directed to comparing the pressure data to reference preference data associated with clot engagement or clot removal. This is deemed to be part of the abstract mental process, because comparing two types of data is a form of a mental observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion.
- Claims 5 and 15 describe further mental concepts directed to (i) limiting the pressure data to indicating a change in pressure over time, and (ii) comparing the change in pressure over time to a reference change in pressure over time associated with clot engagement or clot removal (as described in claim 5)/comparing the change in pressure over time to a reference change in pressure over time associated with clot removal (as described in claim 15). This is deemed to be part of the abstract mental process, because comparing two types of data is a form of a mental observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion.
- Claim 10 includes a further mental/manual steps for a monitoring (i) a duration of operation; and/or (ii) flow data obtained by a flow sensor associated with the thrombectomy system. This step is deemed to be part of the abstract mental process, because this monitoring data is a form of a mental and/or manual observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion. However, Examiner notes that claim 10 includes a limitation that is deemed to be an additional element and requires further analysis under Prong Two of Step 2A.
Step 2A of the 2019 Revised PEG – Prong Two
Regarding Prong Two of Step 2A of the 2019 Revised PEG, it must be determined whether the claim as a whole integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 Revised PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claims are indicative of integrating the abstract idea into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.” See MPEP §§ 2106.05 (f)-(h).
In the present case, for independent claim 1, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted at least one abstract idea are as follows (where the bolded portions are the “additional limitations” while the underlined portions continue to represent the at least one “abstract idea”):
A thrombectomy system (the Examiner submits that this additional element amounts to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)), comprising:
one or more processors (the Examiner submits that this additional element amounts to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)); and
one or more computer-readable recording media that store instructions that are executable by the one or more processors to configure the thrombectomy system to (the Examiner submits that this additional element amounts to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)):
determine activation of a clot removal state, wherein the clot removal state comprises operation of one or more aspiration components to facilitate clot removal (the Examiner submits that this additional element amounts to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, see MPEP § 2106.05(f));
access sensor data associated with at least some of the one or more aspiration components, wherein the sensor data is associated with a set of timepoints that are temporally subsequent to the activation of the clot removal state;
process the sensor data using a clot engagement analysis module configure to (the Examiner submits that this additional element amounts to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) determine, based on the sensor data, whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material and generate an output indicative thereof (the Examiner submits that this additional element amounts adding insignificant extra-solution activity as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(g); and the Examiner further submits that such steps are not unconventional as they merely consist of receiving data over a network, as evidenced by the Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec case, as noted below in the Step 2B Analysis Section, see MPEP § 2106.05(d)); and
after determining that output of the clot engagement analysis module satisfies one or more conditions, (i) present an alert at a user interface or (ii) selectively deactivate the clot removal state (the Examiner submits that this additional element amounts adding insignificant extra-solution activity as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(g); and the Examiner further submits that such steps are not unconventional as they merely consist of receiving data over a network, as evidenced by the Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec case, as noted below in the Step 2B Analysis Section, see MPEP § 2106.05(d)).
However, the recitation of these generic computer components and functions in claims 1, 11, and 20 are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., using generic computer devices to perform the abstract mental process of a method for facilitating clot engagement detection in thrombectomy systems, comprising: determining activation of a clot removal state; accessing sensor data associated with at least some of the one or more aspiration components; and processing the sensor data to determine, based on the sensor data, whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material), such that it amounts to no more than: (1) adding the words “apply it” (or is the equivalent of) with the judicial exception; mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer; or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea; (2) adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and (3) generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP § 2106.05(f)-(h). For the following reasons, the Examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
- The following are examples of court decisions that demonstrate merely applying instructions by reciting the computer structure as a tool to implement the claimed limitations (e.g., see MPEP § 2106.05(f)):
- Invoking computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process, e.g. see, Affinity Labs v. DirecTV – similarly, the current invention invokes computers (i.e., the thrombectomy system; one or more processors; one or more computer-readable recording that store instructions that are executable by the one or more processors to configure the thrombectomy system; one or more aspiration components; and clot engagement analysis module) and other machinery to perform the existing process of accessing and processing sensor data; and
- Requiring the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer, e.g. see, Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank – similarly, the current invention merely requires the (i) one or more computer-readable recording that store instructions that are executable by the one or more processors; and (ii) clot engagement analysis module, to ultimately perform the abstract mental process of accessing and processing sensor data, as described in claim 1, 11, and 20.
- The following is an example of an insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., see MPEP § 2106.05(g)):
- Examples of Mere Data Gathering/Mere Data Outputting:
- Obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify credit card transactions, e.g., see CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc. – similarly, the steps directed to: “generate an output indicative thereof” and “after determining that output of the clot engagement analysis module satisfies one or more conditions, (i) present an alert at a user interface or (ii) selectively deactivate the clot removal state”, described in claims 1, 11, and 20, is deemed to be necessary data outputting, because this steps does not add any meaningful limits to the process of accessing and processing the sensor data.
Thus, the additional elements in independent claims 1, 11, and 20 are not indicative of integrating the judicial exception into a practical application. Similarly, dependent claims 3-5 and 13-15 do not recite any additional elements outside of those identified as being directed to the abstract idea (or those additional elements which were already identified and analyzed in claims 1 and 11), described above. Examiner notes that dependent claims 2, 6-10, 12, and 16-19 recite the following additional elements identified in bold font below (with limitations deemed to be part of the above identified abstract idea identified in underlined font):
wherein the one or more aspiration components comprise a vacuum pump, a vacuum canister, and suction tubing (the Examiner submits that this additional element amounts to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) (as described in claims 2 and 12);
wherein the clot engagement analysis module comprises one or more Al modules trained on pressure data of vacuum canisters and/or suction tubing during clot engagement or clot removal (the Examiner submits that this additional element amounts to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, see MPEP § 2106.05(f); and generally linking the abstract idea to a particular field of use, as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) (as described in claims 6 and 16);
wherein the one or more Al modules are configured to utilize the pressure data as input and output a label indicating clot engagement status (the Examiner submits that this additional element amounts to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, see MPEP § 2106.05(f); and generally linking the abstract idea to a particular field of use, as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) (as described in claims 7 and 17);
wherein selectively deactivating the clot removal state comprises selectively deactivating or modifying operation of the vacuum pump (the Examiner submits that this additional element amounts to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) (as described in claims 8 and 18);
wherein the alert comprises an audible or visual alert (the Examiner submits that this additional element amounts adding insignificant extra-solution activity as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(g); and the Examiner further submits that such steps are not unconventional as they merely consist of receiving data over a network, as evidenced by the Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec case, as noted below in the Step 2B Analysis Section, see MPEP § 2106.05(d)) (as described in claims 9 and 19); and
wherein the instructions are executable by the one or more processors to further configure the thrombectomy system to: during operation of the clot removal state, monitor (i) a duration of operation and/or (ii) flow data obtained by a flow sensor associated with the thrombectomy system; and after determining that the duration of operation or the flow data satisfy one or more conditions, selectively deactivate the clot removal state (the Examiner submits that this additional element amounts to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) (as described in claim 10).
As such, the additional elements in claims 1, 2, 6-12, and 16-20 are not indicative of integrating the judicial exception into a practical application. Looking at the additional limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, unlike the claims that have been held as a whole to be directed to an improvement or otherwise directed to something more than the abstract idea, claims 1-20: (1) are not directed to improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field similar to the Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp. case (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)); (2) do not apply or use a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (see MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2)); (3) do not apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine (see MPEP § 2106.05(b)); (4) do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (see MPEP § 2106.05(c)); nor do they (5) apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(e) and MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2)). For these reasons, claims 1-20 do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B of the 2019 Revised PEG
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 Revised PEG, claims 1-20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, with respect to integration of abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of claims 1-20 amount to no more than: (1) adding the words “apply it” (or is the equivalent of) with the judicial exception; mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer; or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea; (2) adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and (3) generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP §§ 2106.05(f)-(h). Further the additional elements, other than the abstract idea per se, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, amount to no more than limitations consistent with what the courts recognize, or those having ordinary skill in the art would recognize, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional computer components. See MPEP § 2106.05 (d).
Specifically, the Examiner submits that the additional elements of claims 1-20, as recited, the thrombectomy system; one or more processors; one or more computer-readable recording that store instructions that are executable by the one or more processors to configure the thrombectomy system; one or more aspiration components; clot engagement analysis module; and the steps directed to: “generate an output indicative thereof”; “after determining that output of the clot engagement analysis module satisfies one or more conditions, (i) present an alert at a user interface or (ii) selectively deactivate the clot removal state”; “wherein the one or more aspiration components comprise a vacuum pump, a vacuum canister, and suction tubing”; “wherein the clot engagement analysis module comprises one or more Al modules trained on pressure data of vacuum canisters and/or suction tubing during clot engagement or clot removal”; “wherein the one or more Al modules are configured to utilize the pressure data as input and output a label indicating clot engagement status”; “wherein selectively deactivating the clot removal state comprises selectively deactivating or modifying operation of the vacuum pump”; “wherein the alert comprises an audible or visual alert”; and “after determining that the duration of operation or the flow data satisfy one or more conditions, selectively deactivate the clot removal state”, are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II).
- In regard to the thrombectomy system; one or more processors; one or more computer-readable recording that store instructions that are executable by the one or more processors to configure the thrombectomy system; one or more aspiration components; clot engagement analysis module; and the steps directed to: “wherein the one or more aspiration components comprise a vacuum pump, a vacuum canister, and suction tubing”; “wherein the clot engagement analysis module comprises one or more Al modules trained on pressure data of vacuum canisters and/or suction tubing during clot engagement or clot removal”; “wherein the one or more Al modules are configured to utilize the pressure data as input and output a label indicating clot engagement status”; “wherein selectively deactivating the clot removal state comprises selectively deactivating or modifying operation of the vacuum pump”; and “after determining that the duration of operation or the flow data satisfy one or more conditions, selectively deactivate the clot removal state”, these additional elements or combination of elements in the claims, other than the abstract idea per se, amount to no more than well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry, because:
- Applicant’s disclosure supports this assertion. For example, Applicant discloses that: (1) “the processor(s) may comprise one or more sets of electronic circuitries that
include any number of logic units, registers, and/or control units to facilitate the
execution of computer-readable instructions” (see Applicant’s specification as filed on December 4, 2024, paragraph [0150]); (2) “the processor(s) may comprise or be configurable
to execute any combination of software and/or hardware components that are operable
to facilitate processing using machine learning models or other artificial intelligence-based
structures/architectures” (see Applicant’s specification as filed on December 4, 2024, paragraph [0151]); (3) the “[d]isclosed embodiments may comprise or utilize a special purpose or general-purpose computer including computer hardware” (see Applicant’s specification as filed on December 4, 2024, paragraph [0155]); and (4) “the invention may be practiced in
network computing environments with many types of computer system configurations, including, personal computers, desktop computers, laptop computers, message processors, hand-held devices, multi-processor systems, microprocessor-based or programmable consumer electronics, network PCs, minicomputers, mainframe computers, mobile telephones, PDAs, pagers, routers, switches, wearable devices, and the like” (see Applicant’s specification as filed on December 4, 2024, paragraph [0161]). These descriptions in the specification describe these additional elements as basic computer components and functions, such as well-understood, routine, and conventional computer components. Therefore, the Examiner submits that these computer components and functions represent well-understood, routine, and conventional computer components and functions which are known in the medical industry.
- The Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools for performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f) and analysis of these limitations under Step 2A, Prong Two above).
- The Examiner submits that these limitations generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – for example, the limitations directed to: “wherein the clot engagement analysis module comprises one or more Al modules trained on pressure data of vacuum canisters and/or suction tubing during clot engagement or clot removal”; and “wherein the one or more Al modules are configured to utilize the pressure data as input and output a label indicating clot engagement status”, amount to limiting the abstract idea to the field of artificial intelligence technologies (see MPEP § 2106.05(h) and analysis of these limitations under Step 2A, Prong Two above).
- Regarding the steps directed to: “generate an output indicative thereof”; “after determining that output of the clot engagement analysis module satisfies one or more conditions, (i) present an alert at a user interface or (ii) selectively deactivate the clot removal state”; and “wherein the alert comprises an audible or visual alert” - The following represents an example that courts have identified to be well-understood, routine, and conventional activities (e.g., see MPEP § 2106.05(d)):
- Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., see Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec – similarly the limitations directed to: “generate an output indicative thereof”; “after determining that output of the clot engagement analysis module satisfies one or more conditions, (i) present an alert at a user interface or (ii) selectively deactivate the clot removal state”; and “wherein the alert comprises an audible or visual alert”, are similarly deemed to be well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the medical field, because they also represent mere transmission of various data over a network (i.e., generating an output [of a determination of whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material]; and presenting an alert at a user interface, where the alert could be a visual or an audible alert, are the equivalent of receiving and transmitting data (i.e., the determination and the alert) over a network).
Therefore, the additional elements described in claims 1-20 are deemed to be additional elements which do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements of claims 1-20 do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functionality of a computer or improves any other technology, and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination, claims 1-20 are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
- Culbert et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0381223); in view of
- Saadat et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0409857).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20,
- Culbert et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0381223) teaches:
- a thrombectomy system, comprising (as described in claim 1) (Culbert, paragraph [0094]; Paragraph [0094] generally teaches that the disclosure relates to aspiration catheter systems and monitoring, warning and communication systems for aspiration catheter systems, including aspiration systems for removing thrombus from the vasculature of patients (i.e., a thrombectomy system).):
- one or more processors (as described in claim 1) (Culbert, paragraph [0237], Reference Number 1810; a processor 1810, which may comprise a microprocessor.); and
- one or more computer-readable recording media that store instructions that are executable by the one or more processors to configure the thrombectomy system to (as described in claim 1) (Culbert, paragraph [0100]; Paragraph [0100] teaches that the measure device includes a memory module 56 (i.e., one or more computer-readable recording media) which information is stored that may be used by the measurement device (i.e., one or more computer-readable recording media store instructions that are executable by the one or more processors to configured the thrombectomy system). NOTE: Claim Interpretation - In paragraph [0155] of Applicant’s specification as filed on December 4, 2024, Applicant discloses that “computer-readable media that store computer-executable instructions in the form of data are one or more ‘computer-readable recording media’, ‘physical computer storage media’, or ‘hardware storage device(s)’”, versus computer readable media that merely carry computer-executable instructions without storing the instructions are “transmission media”. See Applicant’s specification as filed on December 4, 2024, at paragraph [0155]. Based on Applicant’s description of the computer-readable recording media being the equivalent of physical computer storage or hardware storage device, Examiner is interpreting the computer-readable recording media disclosed in Applicant’s claims to be limited to non-transitory computer-readable recording media (i.e., this interpretation expressly excludes transient signals per se).):
- a method for facilitating clot engagement detection in thrombectomy systems (Culbert, paragraph [0005]; Paragraph [0005] teaches a method for performing a thrombectomy procedure.), comprising (as described in claim 11):
- one or more computer-readable recording media that store instructions that are executable by one or more processors to configure a thrombectomy system to (as described in claim 20) (Culbert, paragraph [0100]; Paragraph [0100] teaches that the measure device includes a memory module 56 (i.e., one or more computer-readable recording media) which information is stored that may be used by the measurement device (i.e., one or more computer-readable recording media store instructions that are executable by the one or more processors to configured the thrombectomy system). NOTE: Claim Interpretation - In paragraph [0155] of Applicant’s specification as filed on December 4, 2024, Applicant discloses that “computer-readable media that store computer-executable instructions in the form of data are one or more ‘computer-readable recording media’, ‘physical computer storage media’, or ‘hardware storage device(s)’”, versus computer readable media that merely carry computer-executable instructions without storing the instructions are “transmission media”. See Applicant’s specification as filed on December 4, 2024, at paragraph [0155]. Based on Applicant’s description of the computer-readable recording media being the equivalent of physical computer storage or hardware storage device, Examiner is interpreting the computer-readable recording media disclosed in Applicant’s claims to be limited to non-transitory computer-readable recording media (i.e., this interpretation expressly excludes transient signals per se).):
- determine activation of a clot removal state, wherein the clot removal state comprises operation of one or more aspiration components to facilitate clot removal (as described in claims 1, 11, and 20) (Culbert, paragraphs [0217] and [0227]; Paragraph [0217] teaches that the controller 1484 controls the initiation of both the peristaltic pump 1408 and the pump 1412 at substantially the same time (i.e., operation of one or more aspiration components to facilitate clot removal), where activation of the aspiration flow applied by the peristatic pump 1408 on the aspiration lumen 1404’ may be done by leaving the peristatic pump in a running condition while the user opens and closes the stopcock. Paragraph [0227] teaches that the pulse count above/below one or more pre-determined thresholds is ultimately what determines whether the overall system is in a clot removal state (i.e., determining activation of a clot removal state).).;
- access sensor data associated with at least some of the one or more aspiration components, wherein the sensor data is associated with a set of time points that are temporally subsequent to the activation of the clot removal state (as described in claims 1, 11, and 20) (Culbert, paragraphs [0257] and [0261]; Paragraph [0257] teaches that signals from the pressure transducer 216 may be carried wirelessly or by cable to the controller, where data from the pressure transducer 216 and the scale 1802 (i.e., accessing sensor data associated with at least some of the one or more aspiration components) can be used together to optimize or create a more correct signal indicative of aspiration flow, or indicative of the presence of clot/thrombus (i.e., the sensor data is associated with data from time points that are temporally subsequent to the activation of the clot removal state), or the presence of a clog, or the presence of a burst or disconnection in the fluid circuit. Paragraph [0261] also teaches that the processor 1810, which may comprise a microprocessor, includes a clock that allows the combination of time data with weight or mass values from the signal (i.e., the sensor data is associated with data from time points that are temporally subsequent to the activation of the clot removal state).);
- process the sensor data … (as described in claims 1, 11, and 20) (Culbert, paragraph [0237]; Paragraph [0237] generally teaches that the signals are sent to a processor and the processed signal 1812 is output to a graphic display 1814 for viewing by a user (i.e., the sensor data is processed).); and
- after determining that output … satisfies one or more conditions, (i) present an alert at a user interface or (ii) selectively deactivate the clot removal state (as described in claims 1, 11, and 20) (Culbert, paragraph [0227]; Paragraph [0227] teaches that a pseudo-digital on/off occurs (i.e., deactivation of the clot removal state) when flow rates exceed a particular value (i.e., after determining that output satisfies one or more conditions, the system deactivates the clot removal state).).
- While Culbert teaches a system and method, comprising processing the sensor data (see Culbert, paragraph [0237] and analysis above of the step directed to “process the sensor data”): Culbert does not explicitly teach, however, in analogous art of systems and methods for tracking obstructive material within a suction catheter, Saadat et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0409857) teaches a system, method, and one or more computer-readable recording media, configured to:
- process the sensor data using a clot engagement analysis module (Saadat, paragraph [0320]; Paragraph [0320] teaches that the controller may include one or more software and/or firmware (i.e., a clot engagement analysis module) for processing and analyzing the sensor data received from the sensors (i.e., processing sensor data using the clot engagement analysis module).) configured to determine, based on the sensor data, whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material and generate an output indicative thereof (as described in claims 1, 11, and 20) (Saadat, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]; Paragraphs [0061] and [0062] teach that the sensor may comprise a contact sensor that determines if the obstruction is a vessel wall or a clot material (i.e., determining, based on the sensor data, whether the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material). Paragraph [0063] teaches that these methods and apparatuses may comprise emitting a signal that a clot material is (or was) in the suction catheter (i.e., generating an output indicative of the determination that the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material). Paragraph [0063] teaches that this feature is beneficial for providing an alert that the suction catheter is clogged and/or where in the lumen of the catheter the clog is present (e.g., distal end region, proximal end region or one or more intermediate regions).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of systems and methods for tracking obstructive material within a suction catheter at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aspiration catheter system, method, and computer-readable recording medium taught by Culbert, to incorporate a steps and features directed to: (i) processing the sensor data with a clot engagement analysis module configured to determine whether the catheter is engaged with clot material and (ii) generate an output indicative of the determination that the aspiration catheter is engaged with clot material, as taught by Saadat, in order to provide an alert that the suction catheter is clogged and/or where in the lumen of the catheter the clog is present (e.g., distal end region, proximal end region or one or more intermediate regions). See Saadat, paragraph [0063]; see also MPEP § 2143 G.
Regarding claims 2 and 12,
- The combination of: Culbert, as modified in view of Saadat, teaches the limitations of: claim 1 (which claim 2 depends on); and claim 11 (which claim 12 depends on), as described above.
- Culbert further teaches a system and method, wherein:
- the one or more aspiration components comprise a vacuum pump, a vacuum canister, and suction tubing (as described in claims 2 and 12) (Culbert, paragraph [0117]; Paragraph [0117] teaches that the method is performed with a vacuum source or pump 12 (i.e., the one or more aspiration components comprise a vacuum pump), a collection canister 14 (i.e., the one or more aspiration components comprise a vacuum canister), a vacuum tube or extension line 17 (i.e., the one or more aspiration components comprise a suction tubing), and a catheter 18 for removal of a thrombus 2.).
Regarding claims 3 and 13,
- The combination of: Culbert, as modified in view of Saadat, teaches the limitations of: claim 2 (which claim 3 depends on); and claim 12 (which claim 13 depends on), as described above.
- Culbert further teaches a system and method, wherein:
- the sensor data comprises pressure data associated with the vacuum canister and/or the suction tubing (as described in claims 3 and 13) (Culbert, paragraph [0100]; Paragraph [0100] teaches that the vacuum sensor 50 may be used in some cases for detecting the presence or amount of vacuum or negative pressure alone (i.e., the sensor data comprises pressure data), for the purpose of monitoring whether the vacuum source 6 (e.g., syringe) is significantly full (i.e., the sensor data comprises pressure data associated with the vacuum canister), and thus needs to be changed. The vacuum sensor 50 may be used in some cases for detecting whether there is a vacuum or negative pressure in the system of not.).
Regarding claims 8 and 18,
- The combination of: Culbert, as modified in view of Saadat, teaches the limitations of: claim 2 (which claim 8 depends on); and claim 12 (which claim 18 depends on), as described above.
- Culbert further teaches a system and method, wherein:
- selectively deactivating the clot removal state comprises selectively deactivating or modifying operation of the vacuum pump (as described in claims 8 and 18) (Culbert, paragraph [0004]; Paragraph [0004] teaches that a controller configured to receive a first signal from the first sensor and configured to vary the operation of the peristaltic pump (i.e., modifying operation of the vacuum pump) based at least in part on the first signal received from the first sensor related to a change in the characteristic of flow.).
Regarding claims 9 and 19,
- The combination of: Culbert, as modified in view of Saadat, teaches the limitations of: claim 1 (which claim 9 depends on); and claim 11 (which claim 19 depends on), as described above.
- Culbert further teaches a system and method, wherein:
- the alert comprises an audible or visual alert (as described in claims 9 and 19) (Culbert, paragraph [0101]; Paragraph [0101] teaches that the one or more communication devices 58a-c are configured to generate a type of alert comprising an alert signal 60a-c, in response at least in part to activity and output of the measurement device 54. In some embodiments, the communication device 58a may include one or more LEDs (light emitting diodes) configured to generate a visible alert (i.e., the alert comprises a visual alert) via a visible alert signal 60a, such as light that is continuously illuminated, or is illuminated in a blinking pattern. Further, paragraph [0101] teaches that the in some embodiments, the communication device 58c may include one or more sound generating devices configured to generate an audible alert (i.e., the alert comprises an audible alert) via an audible alert signal 60c, such as a continuous noise, or a repeating noise.).
Regarding claim 10,
- The combination of: Culbert, as modified in view of Saadat, teaches the limitations of claim 1 (which claim 10 depends on), as described above.
- Culbert further teaches a system, wherein the instructions are executable by the one or more processors to further configure the thrombectomy system to:
- during operation of the clot removal state, monitor (i) a duration of operation (Culbert, paragraph [0116]; Paragraph [0116] teaches that the measurement device 54, 64 may also be configured to make a comparison, for example by using an algorithm, between a stored differential time ti and a duration 65 of a single one of the more or more decreases and increases in pressure in the deviation 77 (i.e., during operation of the clot removal state, the system monitors a duration of operation).) and/or (ii) flow data obtained by a flow sensor associated with the thrombectomy system (Culbert, paragraph [0103]; Paragraph [0103] teaches that pressure transducer 12 of the aspiration monitoring system 48 is configured to continuously measure and monitor the absolute pressure amplitude within the closed system of the aspiration system 2 (i.e., during operation of the clot removal state, the system monitors flow data obtained by a flow sensor associated with the thrombectomy system), and also is configured to measure and monitor the relative pressure over time to detect noteworthy flow changes within the flow circuit of the aspiration system 2.); and
- after determining that the duration of operation or the flow data satisfy
one or more conditions, selectively deactivate the clot removal state (Culbert, paragraph [0202]; Paragraph [0202] teaches that in response to changes in the signal received from the pressure transducer 1416, the controller 1484 is configured to change the rotational speed of the rotatable head 1430 of the peristaltic pump 1408, for example, increase the speed or decrease the speed; change the flow rate (injection rate) of the pump 1412, for example, increase the injection rate or decrease the injection rate; change the speed/rate of both pumps 1408, 1412 at the same time; or change the speed/rate of one of the pumps 1408, 1412 and then change the speed/rate of the other of the pumps 1408, 1412 after a particular delay (i.e., examples of selectively deactivating the clot removal state based on the determination that the duration of operation or the flow data satisfy one or more conditions).).
Claims 4, 5, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
- The combination of: Culbert et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0381223), as modified in view of Saadat et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0409857), as applied to claims 3 and 13 above, and further in view of:
- Calderon et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0245414).
Regarding claims 4 and 14,
- The combination of: Culbert, as modified in view of Saadat, teaches the limitations of: claim 3 (which claim 4 depends on); and claim 13 (which claim 14 depends on), as described above.
- The combination of: Culbert, as modified in view of Saadat, does not explicitly teach, however, in analogous art of aspiration thrombectomy systems and methods for thrombus removal with aspiration catheters, Calderon et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0245414) teaches a system and method, wherein:
- the clot engagement analysis module is configured to compare the pressure data to reference pressure data associated with clot engagement or clot removal (as described in claim 4); and the clot engagement analysis module is configured to compare the pressure data to reference pressure data associated with clot removal (as described in claim 14) (Calderon, paragraphs [0255], [0261], and [0265]; Paragraph [0255] teaches that clots of differing firmness are used to generate a spectrum of waveforms representing soft to hard clots. These waveforms are pre-loaded into the controller 108 and compared to real time data during a procedure (i.e., the clot engagement analysis module compares the pressure data to reference pressure data associated with clot removal) to determine which algorithm would be most effective. Paragraph [0261] also teaches that a pulse [pressure wave] is generated and the returning waveform is analyzed and compared to a known waveform (i.e., the clot engagement analysis module compares the pressure data to reference pressure data associated with clot removal). Paragraph [0265] teaches that this feature is beneficial for determining whether the aspiration thrombectomy system has any compressible matter, such as air or a clot, within the fluid vacuum.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of aspiration thrombectomy systems and methods for thrombus removal with aspiration catheters at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aspiration catheter system, method, and computer-readable recording medium taught by Culbert, to incorporate a step and feature directed to comparing the pressure data to reference pressure data associated with a clot removal, as taught by Calderon, in order to determine whether the aspiration thrombectomy system has any compressible matter, such as air or a clot, within the fluid vacuum. See Calderon, paragraph [0265]; see also MPEP § 2143 G.
Regarding claims 5 and 15,
- The combination of: Culbert, as modified in view of Saadat, teaches the limitations of: claim 3 (which claim 5 depends on); and claim 13 (which claim 15 depends on), as described above.
- The combination of: Culbert, as modified in view of Saadat, does not explicitly teach, however, in analogous art of aspiration thrombectomy systems and methods for thrombus removal with aspiration catheters, Calderon et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0245414) teaches a system and method, wherein:
- the pressure data indicates a change in pressure over time, and wherein the clot engagement analysis module is configured to compare the change in pressure over time to a reference change in pressure over time associated with clot removal (as described in claims 5 and 15) (Calderon, paragraphs [0139], [0202], [0255], and [0265]; Paragraph [0139] teaches that the controller 108 is programmed to detect when the catheter 18 is engage with the clot 2 utilizing a pressure change (i.e., the pressure data indicates a change in pressure) and paragraph [0202] teaches that after a period of time in an occluded state, drastic changes in pressure associated with pulsed aspiration action start to diminish (i.e., the pressure data indicates a change in pressure over time), which reduction is able to be represented in a waveform that is displayed by the controller 108 on a fluoroscopy monitor or a user interface (i.e., the pressure data indicates a change in pressure over time), such as a visual display 109 (e.g., a computer screen shown in FIGS. 4A-4C). Paragraph [0255] teaches that clots of differing firmness are used to generate a spectrum of waveforms representing soft to hard clots. These waveforms are pre-loaded into the controller 108 and compared to real time data during a procedure (i.e., the clot engagement analysis module compares the change in pressure over time to a reference change in pressure over time associated with clot removal) to determine which algorithm would be most effective. Paragraph [0261] also teaches that a pulse [pressure wave] is generated and the returning waveform is analyzed and compared to a known waveform (i.e., the clot engagement analysis module compares the change in pressure over time to a reference change in pressure over time associated with clot removal). Paragraph [0265] teaches that this feature is beneficial for determining whether the aspiration thrombectomy system has any compressible matter, such as air or a clot, within the fluid vacuum.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of aspiration thrombectomy systems and methods for thrombus removal with aspiration catheters at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aspiration catheter system, method, and computer-readable recording medium taught by Culbert, to incorporate a step and feature directed to comparing a change in pressure over time to reference change in pressure over time associated with a clot removal, as taught by Calderon, in order to determine whether the aspiration thrombectomy system has any compressible matter, such as air or a clot, within the fluid vacuum. See Calderon, paragraph [0265]; see also MPEP § 2143 G.
Claims 6, 7, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
- The combination of: Culbert et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0381223), as modified in view of Saadat et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0409857), as applied to claims 3 and 13 above, and further in view of:
- Trosper et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0341784).
Regarding claims 6 and 16,
- The combination of: Culbert, as modified in view of Saadat, teaches the limitations of: claim 3 (which claim 6 depends on); and claim 13 (which claim 16 depends on), as described above.
- The combination of: Culbert, as modified in view of Saadat, does not explicitly teach, however, in analogous art of computer-aided vacuum thrombectomy systems and methods for controlled clot aspiration, Trosper et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0341784) teaches a system and method, wherein:
- the clot engagement analysis module comprises one or more Al modules (Trosper, paragraphs [0225]-[0227]; Paragraph [0226] generally teaches that an artificial neural network (ANN) may be utilized (i.e., the clot engagement analysis module comprises one or more AI modules).) trained on pressure data of vacuum canisters and/or suction tubing during clot removal or clot engagement (as described in claims 6 and 16) (Trosper, paragraphs [0225] and [0226]; Paragraph [0225] teaches that training data sets may be assembled from detected pressure profile data taken over a broad range of scenarios (i.e., the trained data sets comprise pressure data of the vacuum canisters and/or suction tubing during clot removal or clot engagement), and paragraph [0226] teaches that the ANN [artificial neural network] may be trained to predict answers by considering numerous training data sets (i.e., the one or AI modules are trained on the pressure data of the vacuum canisters and/or suction tubing during clot removal or clot engagement). By way of example and not limitation, the training data may include both observed data as inputs and the actual outputs. Paragraph [0227] teaches that this feature is beneficial for enabling the system to accurately predict catheter size, and/or whether a catheter’s contents may be classified as unrestricted, restricted, clogged, and/or particular intermediate states.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of computer-aided vacuum thrombectomy systems and methods for controlled clot aspiration at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the aspiration catheter system and method taught by Culbert, as modified in view of Saadat to incorporate a step and feature directed to processing the sensor data with an artificial intelligence model that has been trained on detected pressure profile data taken over a broad range of scenarios, as taught by Trosper, in order to enable the system to accurately predict catheter size, and/or whether a catheter’s contents may be classified as unrestricted, restricted, clogged, and/or particular intermediate states. See Trosper, paragraph [0227]; see also MPEP § 2143 G.
Regarding claims 7 and 17,
- The combination of: Culbert, as modified in view of: Saadat and Trosper, teaches the limitations of: claim 6 (which claim 7 depends on); and claim 16 (which claim 17 depends on), as described above.
- Trosper further teaches a system and method, wherein:
- the one or more Al modules are configured to utilize the pressure data as input and output a label indicating clot engagement status (as described in claims 7 and 17) (Trosper, paragraph [0227]; Paragraph [0227] teaches that the trained or learned ANN may take novel pressure sensor data inputs (i.e., the one or more AI modules are configured to utilize the pressure data as input) and accurately predict catheter size, and/or whether a catheter’s contents may be classified as unrestricted, restricted, clogged, and/or particular intermediate states (i.e., the one or more AI modules are configured to output a label indicating clot engagement status).).
The motivations and rationales for modifying the aspiration catheter system, method, and computer-readable recording medium taught by Culbert, in view of: Saadat and Trosper, described in the analysis of the obviousness rejection of claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 above similarly apply to this obviousness rejection, and are incorporated herein by reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Official replies to this Office action may now be submitted electronically by registered
users of the EFS-Web system. Information on EFS-Web tools is available on the Internet at:
http://www.uspto.gov/patents/processlfi!elefslguidance/index.isp. An EFS-Web Quick-Start
Guide is available at: http://www.uspto.gov/ebc/portallefslquick-start.pdf.
Alternatively, official replies to this Office Action may still be submitted by any one of fax, mail, or hand delivery.
Faxed replies should be directed to the central fax at (571) 273-8300.
Mailed replies should be addressed to:
United States Patent and Trademark Office:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand delivered responses should be brought to the United States Patent and Trademark Office Customer Service Window:
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314-1450
/N.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3686
/JONATHON A. SZUMNY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686