DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because:
In paragraph 36, "a first cascade assembly 902b of the second aircraft engine 106L" is apparently in error for "a first cascade assembly 902b of the second aircraft engine 106R".
Throughout the disclosure the cascade assemblies are described as positioned at "unique radial positions". However, this language does not appear to accurately describe the invention because the cascade assemblies are positioned at unique circumferential positions (different positions around the circumference of the engine), not radial positions (which would imply different positions along a radius).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because “in the same orientation when the first cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine and the eighth cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine” is apparently in error for “in the same orientation when the fourth eighth cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because “positioned a second side” is apparently in error for “positioned on a second side”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because “the first thrust reverse” is apparently in error for “the first thrust reverser”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because “respective ones first exhaust vectors” is apparently in error for “respective ones of first exhaust vectors”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because “respective ones second exhaust vectors” is apparently in error for “respective ones of second exhaust vectors”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 13, 14, 16, and 19, “a first set of first cascades”, “a second set of first cascades”, “a third set of second cascades”, “a fourth set of second cascades” are indefinite because it is unclear if they are the same or different from the previously defined “first cascades” and “second cascades”.
In claim 17 and 18, “the at least one of the first exhaust vector” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 19, “at least a second exhaust vector” is indefinite because it is unclear if it is the same or different from the “second exhaust vectors” previously defined.
In claim 20, “the at least the first exhaust vector” and “the at least second exhaust vector” lack antecedent basis, or it is unclear how they relate to the first exhaust vectors and second exhaust vectors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0200124 (Chilukuri).
Regarding claim 1, Chilukuri teaches an apparatus comprising: a plurality of first cascades spaced circumferentially along a first portion of an aircraft engine with respect to a first plane and a second plane passing through a longitudinal axis of the aircraft engine extending in a fore-aft direction (Fig 5, 8, 9, 1st and 2nd planes annotated below), the first plane being orthogonal relative to the second plane (annotated below), the first cascades positioned between a first side of the first plane and a first side of the second plane (first cascades on the left side of the 1st plane and above the 2nd plane), respective ones of the first cascades providing corresponding respective ones of first exhaust vectors (Fig 9; cascades C1-C4 provide exhaust vectors), wherein at least a first one of the first exhaust vectors is oriented toward the second plane and at least a second one of the first exhaust vectors is oriented in a direction away from the second plane (Fig 9; C4 has left hand side turning angle; C3 has right hand side turning angle; see also annotated Fig 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0273487 (Vauchel) in view of US 4731991 (Newton), US 2020/0200124 (Chilukuri), and US 2020/0189725 (Jasklowski).
Regarding claim 11, Vauchel teaches an apparatus comprising:
a first thrust reverser (Fig 1, para 14-16) including: a first cascade assembly including a plurality of first cascades spaced circumferentially along a first portion of a first aircraft engine with respect to a first vertical plane and a first horizontal plane passing through a longitudinal axis of the aircraft engine extending in a fore-aft direction, the first cascades positioned on a first side of the first vertical plane, the first cascades collectively providing a first flow characteristic of the first thrust reverser (annotated below; first cascades in the first and second quadrants or on the left side of the vertical plane); a second cascade assembly including a plurality of second cascades spaced circumferentially along a second portion of the first aircraft engine, the second cascades positioned a second side of the first vertical plane opposite the first side, the second cascades collectively providing a second flow characteristic of the first thrust reverser (second cascades in the third and fourth quadrants or on the right side of the vertical plane), the first flow characteristic to be symmetric to the second flow characteristic relative the first vertical plane (as annotated, the cascades are symmetric relative to the vertical plane), the first flow characteristic to be asymmetric to the second flow characteristic relative the first horizontal plane (see annotated figure below; the gap in the cascades at the top of the engine creates an asymmetry relative to the horizontal plane).
Although the first exhaust vectors appear to be symmetric relative to respective ones of the second exhaust vectors with reference to the first vertical plane, Newton is further cited for teaching that the exhaust vectors from the cascades may be symmetric in order to prevent bending loads on the pylon (col 4 ll. 43-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the first exhaust vectors to be symmetric relative to respective ones of the second exhaust vectors with reference to the first vertical plane in order to reduce load on the pylon, as taught by Newton. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the first exhaust vectors to be symmetric relative to respective ones of the second exhaust vectors with reference to the first vertical plane yields predictable results.
Vauchel in view of Newton fails to teach four cascades in the first set and the third set. However, Chilukuri teaches a thrust reverser cascade with four cascades in the first set and four cascades in the third set (in the first quadrant and the third quadrant; see Fig 5; C1-C4 and C13-C16), and further teaches that the number of cascades may vary (para 39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide four cascades in the first set and the third set, as taught by Chilukuri. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, providing four cascades in the first set and the third set yields predictable results.
Vauchel teaches a second aircraft engine (para 4; several engines on an aircraft), but fails to describe the second engine. However, Jasklowski teaches that aircraft may be provided with identical engines (Fig 1, para 42, 55; first engine 110, second engine 112). Furthermore, Chilukuri teaches that the cascades are arranged so as to avoid gas impingement on the fuselage, ground, and wings (para 50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the second engine identical to the first engine in order to provide symmetrical thrust and operation, and to avoid gas impingement, as taught by Jasklowski and Chilukuri. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the second engine identical to the first engine (such that flow is directed away from the fuselage, ground, and wings) yields predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would further realize that in order to accomplish this, the cascades would be arranged similarly in the first engine and the second engine, according to the side of the engine adjacent to the fuselage.
When this is done, Vauchel in view of Newton, Chilukuri, and Jasklowski teaches a second thrust reverser including: a third cascade assembly including a plurality of third cascades spaced circumferentially along a third portion of a second aircraft engine with respect to a second vertical plane and a second horizontal plane passing through a second longitudinal axis of the second aircraft engine extending in the fore-aft direction, the third cascades positioned on a third side of the second vertical plane (annotated below; third cascades on the left side of the vertical plane), the third cascades collectively providing a third flow characteristic of the second thrust reverser (annotated below); and a fourth cascade assembly including a plurality of fourth cascades spaced circumferentially along a fourth portion of the second aircraft engine, the fourth cascades positioned on a fourth side of the second vertical plane opposite the third side, the fourth cascades collectively providing a fourth flow characteristic of the second thrust reverser (fourth cascades on the right side of the vertical plane), the third flow characteristic to be symmetric to the fourth flow characteristic relative the second vertical plane (as annotated, the cascades are symmetric relative to the vertical plane), the third flow characteristic to be asymmetric to the fourth flow characteristic relative the second horizontal plane (see annotated figure below; the gap in the cascades at the top of the engine creates an asymmetry relative to the horizontal plane).
Or, alternatively, depending on where the fuselage is:
Although it appears that respective ones of the third exhaust vectors are symmetric relative to respective ones of the fourth exhaust vectors with reference to the second vertical plane, Newton is further cited for teaching that the exhaust vectors from the cascades may be symmetric in order to prevent bending loads on the pylon (col 4 ll. 43-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make respective ones of the third exhaust vectors are symmetric relative to respective ones of the fourth exhaust vectors with reference to the second vertical plane in order to reduce load on the pylon, as taught by Newton. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making respective ones of the third exhaust vectors are symmetric relative to respective ones of the fourth exhaust vectors with reference to the second vertical plane yields predictable results (controlling thrust).
Regarding claim 12, Vauchel in view of Newton, Chilukuri, Jasklowski, and Newton teaches wherein respective ones of the first cascades to provide corresponding ones of first exhaust vectors and respective ones of the second cascades to provide corresponding ones of second exhaust vectors when the first thrust reverser is in a first deployed position, and wherein respective ones of the third cascades to provide corresponding ones of third exhaust vectors and respective ones of the fourth cascades to provide corresponding ones of fourth exhaust vectors when the second thrust reverser is in a second deployed position (as discussed above; each of the first, second, third, and fourth cascades provide respective first, second, third, and fourth exhaust vectors in the deployed positions; Vauchel Fig 1, para 12-16).
Regarding claim 13, Vauchel in view of Newton, Chilukuri, Jasklowski teaches the first cascades includes a first set of first cascades positioned above the first horizontal plane and a second set of first cascades positioned below the first horizontal plane, wherein at least one of the first exhaust vectors of the first set of the first cascades is oriented toward the first horizontal plane, and other ones of the first exhaust vectors of the first set of the first cascades are oriented away from the first horizontal plane (Chilukuri Fig 9; C4 has left hand side turning angle; C3 has right hand side turning angle; see also annotated Fig 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a first set of first cascades positioned above the first horizontal plane and a second set of first cascades positioned below the first horizontal plane, wherein at least one of the first exhaust vectors of the first set of the first cascades is oriented toward the first horizontal plane, and other ones of the first exhaust vectors of the first set of the first cascades are oriented away from the first horizontal plane, as taught by Chilukuri. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, a first set of first cascades positioned above the first horizontal plane and a second set of first cascades positioned below the first horizontal plane, wherein at least one of the first exhaust vectors of the first set of the first cascades is oriented toward the first horizontal plane, and other ones of the first exhaust vectors of the first set of the first cascades are oriented away from the first horizontal plane yields predictable results (controlling thrust direction).
Regarding claim 15, Vauchel in view of Newton, Chilukuri, and Jasklowski teaches wherein respective ones of the first cascades of the first aircraft engine are interchangeable with respective ones of the third cascades of the second aircraft engine, and respective ones of the second cascades of the first aircraft engine are interchangeable with respective ones of the fourth cascades of the second aircraft engine (as discussed above; the first engine and the second engine are identical relative to the fuselage; thus, the first cascades and third cascades are the same, at the same position relative to their respective axis and to the fuselage, e.g. outboard or inboard, and are thus interchangeable; and the second cascades and fourth cascades are the same, at the same position relative to their respective axis and to the fuselage, e.g. outboard or inboard, and are thus interchangeable).
Regarding claim 16-18, Vauchel in view of Newton, Chilukuri, Jasklowski teaches wherein the first cascades provide respective ones first exhaust vectors that collectively define the first flow characteristic of the first thrust reverser (as discussed above; each of the first, second, third, and fourth cascades provide respective first, second, third, and fourth exhaust vectors in the deployed positions; Vauchel Fig 1, para 12-16), the first cascades include a first set of first cascades positioned on the first side of the first vertical plane and a first side of the first horizontal plane (e.g. in the first quadrant) and a second set of first cascades positioned on the first side of the first vertical plane and a second side of the first horizontal plane opposite the first side (e.g in the second quadrant), wherein at least a first exhaust vector associated with the first set of first cascades is oriented toward the first horizontal plane (Chilukuri Fig 9; C4 has left hand side turning angle; C3 has right hand side turning angle; see also annotated Fig 10), a first cascade of the first set of first cascades providing the at least one of the first exhaust vector is located immediately adjacent the first horizontal plane (as annotated in Fig 10), a first cascade of the first set of first cascades providing the at least one of the first exhaust vector is spaced between the first horizontal plane and a second cascade of the first set of first cascades providing a second one of the first exhaust vectors (e.g. C4 is between the horizontal plane the C3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make at least a first exhaust vector associated with the first set of first cascades is oriented toward the first horizontal plane, a first cascade of the first set of first cascades providing the at least one of the first exhaust vector is located immediately adjacent the first horizontal plane, a first cascade of the first set of first cascades providing the at least one of the first exhaust vector is spaced between the first horizontal plane and a second cascade of the first set of first cascades providing a second one of the first exhaust vectors, as taught by Chilukuri. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, at least a first exhaust vector associated with the first set of first cascades is oriented toward the first horizontal plane, a first cascade of the first set of first cascades providing the at least one of the first exhaust vector is located immediately adjacent the first horizontal plane, a first cascade of the first set of first cascades providing the at least one of the first exhaust vector is spaced between the first horizontal plane and a second cascade of the first set of first cascades providing a second one of the first exhaust vectors yields predictable results (controlling thrust direction).
Double Patenting
Claims 2-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12196156. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of US 12196156 claims “second ones of the first exhaust vectors oriented in a direction away from the second plane” and “second ones of the third exhaust vectors being oriented away from the second plane”; this is not patentably distinct from the claimed “at least a second one of the first exhaust vectors oriented in a direction away from the second plane” and “at least a second one of the third exhaust vectors oriented away from the second plane” because a plurality of the elements would read on “at least one of the elements”.
Claim 1 of US 12196156
Claim 1-4
An apparatus comprising: a first cascade assembly including a plurality of first cascades spaced circumferentially along a first portion of an aircraft engine with respect to a first plane and a second plane passing through a longitudinal axis of the aircraft engine extending in a fore-aft direction, the first plane being orthogonal relative to the second plane, the first cascades positioned between a first side of the first plane and a first side of the second plane, respective ones of the first cascades providing corresponding respective ones of first exhaust vectors, wherein a first one of the first exhaust vectors adjacent the second plane is oriented toward the second plane, second ones of the first exhaust vectors oriented in a direction away from the second plane, the first exhaust vectors of the first cascades collectively providing a first flow characteristic of a thrust reverser
An apparatus comprising: a plurality of first cascades spaced circumferentially along a first portion of an aircraft engine with respect to a first plane and a second plane passing through a longitudinal axis of the aircraft engine extending in a fore-aft direction, the first plane being orthogonal relative to the second plane, the first cascades positioned between a first side of the first plane and a first side of the second plane, respective ones of the first cascades providing corresponding respective ones of first exhaust vectors, wherein at least a first one of the first exhaust vectors is oriented toward the second plane and at least a second one of the first exhaust vectors is oriented in a direction away from the second plane.
a second cascade assembly including a plurality of second cascades spaced circumferentially along a second portion of the aircraft engine, the second cascades positioned between the first side of the first plane and a second side of the second plane opposite the first side of the second plane, respective ones of the second cascades providing corresponding respective ones of second exhaust vectors, the second exhaust vectors of the second cascades collectively providing a second flow characteristic of the thrust reverser;
a plurality of third cascades spaced circumferentially along a third portion of the aircraft engine, the third cascades positioned between the first side of the first plane and a second side of the second plane opposite the first side of the second plane, respective ones of the third cascades providing corresponding respective ones of third exhaust vectors.
a third cascade assembly including a plurality of third cascades spaced circumferentially along a third portion of the aircraft engine, the third cascades positioned between a second side of the first plane opposite the first side of the first plane and the first side of the second plane, respective ones of the third cascades providing corresponding respective ones of third exhaust vectors, wherein a first one of the third exhaust vectors adjacent the second plane is oriented toward the second plane, second ones of the third exhaust vectors being oriented away from the second plane, the third exhaust vectors of the third cascades collectively providing a third flow characteristic of the thrust reverser;
a plurality of second cascades spaced circumferentially along a second portion of the aircraft engine, the second cascades positioned between the first side of the second plane and a second side of the first plane opposite the first side of the first plane, respective ones of the second cascades providing corresponding respective ones of second exhaust vectors, wherein at least a third one of the second exhaust vectors is oriented toward the second plane and at least a fourth one of the second exhaust vectors is oriented away from the second plane, the first exhaust vectors to be respectively symmetric to the second exhaust vectors relative the first plane.
and a fourth cascade assembly including a plurality of fourth cascades spaced circumferentially along a fourth portion of the aircraft engine, the fourth cascades positioned between the second side of the first plane and the second side of the second plane, respective ones of the fourth cascades providing corresponding respective ones of fourth exhaust vectors, the fourth exhaust vectors of the fourth cascades collectively providing a fourth flow characteristic of the thrust reverser, the first and second flow characteristics to be respectively symmetric to the third and fourth flow characteristics relative the first plane, the first and third flow characteristics to be respectively asymmetric to the second and fourth flow characteristics relative the second plane.
a plurality of fourth cascades spaced circumferentially along a fourth portion of the aircraft engine, the fourth cascades positioned between the second side of the first plane and the second side of the second plane, respective ones of the fourth cascades providing corresponding respective ones of fourth exhaust vectors, the fourth exhaust vectors to be symmetric relative to respective ones of the third exhaust vectors relative to the first plane, and, the first and second exhaust vectors to be respectively asymmetric to the third and fourth exhaust vectors relative the second plane.
Claim 1 of US 12196156
Claim 5
An apparatus comprising: a first cascade assembly including a plurality of first cascades spaced circumferentially along a first portion of an aircraft engine with respect to a first plane and a second plane passing through a longitudinal axis of the aircraft engine extending in a fore-aft direction, the first plane being orthogonal relative to the second plane, the first cascades positioned between a first side of the first plane and a first side of the second plane, respective ones of the first cascades providing corresponding respective ones of first exhaust vectors, wherein a first one of the first exhaust vectors adjacent the second plane is oriented toward the second plane, second ones of the first exhaust vectors oriented in a direction away from the second plane, the first exhaust vectors of the first cascades collectively providing a first flow characteristic of a thrust reverser
An apparatus comprising: a first cascade assembly including a plurality of first cascades spaced circumferentially along a first portion of an aircraft engine with respect to a first plane and a second plane passing through a longitudinal axis of the aircraft engine extending in a fore-aft direction, the first plane being orthogonal relative to the second plane, the first cascades positioned between a first side of the first plane and a first side of the second plane, respective ones of the first cascades providing corresponding respective ones of first exhaust vectors, wherein at least a first one of the first exhaust vectors is oriented toward the second plane and at least a second one of the first exhaust vectors is oriented in a direction away from the second plane, the first exhaust vectors of the first cascades collectively providing a first flow characteristic of a thrust reverser;
a second cascade assembly including a plurality of second cascades spaced circumferentially along a second portion of the aircraft engine, the second cascades positioned between the first side of the first plane and a second side of the second plane opposite the first side of the second plane, respective ones of the second cascades providing corresponding respective ones of second exhaust vectors, the second exhaust vectors of the second cascades collectively providing a second flow characteristic of the thrust reverser;
a second cascade assembly including a plurality of second cascades spaced circumferentially along a second portion of the aircraft engine, the second cascades positioned between the first side of the first plane and a second side of the second plane opposite the first side of the second plane, respective ones of the second cascades providing corresponding respective ones of second exhaust vectors, the second exhaust vectors of the second cascades collectively providing a second flow characteristic of the thrust reverser;
a third cascade assembly including a plurality of third cascades spaced circumferentially along a third portion of the aircraft engine, the third cascades positioned between a second side of the first plane opposite the first side of the first plane and the first side of the second plane, respective ones of the third cascades providing corresponding respective ones of third exhaust vectors, wherein a first one of the third exhaust vectors adjacent the second plane is oriented toward the second plane, second ones of the third exhaust vectors being oriented away from the second plane, the third exhaust vectors of the third cascades collectively providing a third flow characteristic of the thrust reverser;
a third cascade assembly including a plurality of third cascades spaced circumferentially along a third portion of the aircraft engine, the third cascades positioned between a second side of the first plane opposite the first side of the first plane and the first side of the second plane, respective ones of the third cascades providing corresponding respective ones of third exhaust vectors, wherein at least a first one of the third exhaust vectors is oriented toward the second plane and at least a second one of the third exhaust vectors is oriented away from the second plane, the third exhaust vectors of the third cascades collectively providing a third flow characteristic of the thrust reverser;
and a fourth cascade assembly including a plurality of fourth cascades spaced circumferentially along a fourth portion of the aircraft engine, the fourth cascades positioned between the second side of the first plane and the second side of the second plane, respective ones of the fourth cascades providing corresponding respective ones of fourth exhaust vectors, the fourth exhaust vectors of the fourth cascades collectively providing a fourth flow characteristic of the thrust reverser, the first and second flow characteristics to be respectively symmetric to the third and fourth flow characteristics relative the first plane, the first and third flow characteristics to be respectively asymmetric to the second and fourth flow characteristics relative the second plane.
and a fourth cascade assembly including a plurality of fourth cascades spaced circumferentially along a fourth portion of the aircraft engine, the fourth cascades positioned between the second side of the first plane and the second side of the second plane, respective ones of the fourth cascades providing corresponding respective ones of fourth exhaust vectors, the fourth exhaust vectors of the fourth cascades collectively providing a fourth flow characteristic of the thrust reverser, the first and second flow characteristics to be respectively symmetric to the third and fourth flow characteristics relative the first plane, the first and third flow characteristics to be respectively asymmetric to the second and fourth flow characteristics relative the second plane.
Claim 3 of 12196156
Claim 6
wherein the aircraft engine is a first aircraft engine and the thrust reverser is a first thrust reverser, and further including: a fifth cascade assembly including a plurality of fifth cascades spaced circumferentially along a first portion of a second aircraft engine with respect to a third plane and a fourth plane passing through a second longitudinal axis of the second aircraft engine extending in a fore-aft direction, the third plane being orthogonal relative to the fourth plane, the fifth cascades positioned between a first side of the third plane and a first side of the fourth plane, respective ones of the fifth cascades providing corresponding respective ones of fifth exhaust vectors, wherein a first one of the fifth exhaust vectors adjacent the fourth plane is oriented toward the fourth plane, second ones of the fifth exhaust vectors oriented in a direction away from the fourth plane, the fifth exhaust vectors of the fifth cascades collectively providing a fifth flow characteristic of a second thrust reverser;
wherein the aircraft engine is a first aircraft engine and the thrust reverser is a first thrust reverser, and further including: a fifth cascade assembly including a plurality of fifth cascades spaced circumferentially along a first portion of a second aircraft engine with respect to a third plane and a fourth plane passing through a second longitudinal axis of the second aircraft engine extending in a fore-aft direction, the third plane being orthogonal relative to the fourth plane, the fifth cascades positioned between a first side of the third plane and a first side of the fourth plane, respective ones of the fifth cascades providing corresponding respective ones of fifth exhaust vectors, wherein at least a first one of the fifth exhaust vectors is oriented toward the fourth plane and at least a second one of the fifth exhaust vectors is oriented in a direction away from the fourth plane, the fifth exhaust vectors of the fifth cascades collectively providing a fifth flow characteristic of a second thrust reverser;
a sixth cascade assembly including a plurality of sixth cascades spaced circumferentially along a second portion of the second aircraft engine, the sixth cascades positioned between the first side of the third plane and a second side of the fourth plane opposite the first side of the fourth plane, respective ones of the sixth cascades providing corresponding respective ones of sixth exhaust vectors, the sixth exhaust vectors of the sixth cascades collectively providing a sixth flow characteristic of the second thrust reverser;
a sixth cascade assembly including a plurality of sixth cascades spaced circumferentially along a second portion of the second aircraft engine, the sixth cascades positioned between the first side of the third plane and a second side of the fourth plane opposite the first side of the fourth plane, respective ones of the sixth cascades providing corresponding respective ones of sixth exhaust vectors, the sixth exhaust vectors of the sixth cascades collectively providing a sixth flow characteristic of the second thrust reverser;
a seventh cascade assembly including a plurality of seventh cascades spaced circumferentially along a third portion of the second aircraft engine, the seventh cascades positioned between a second side of the third plane opposite the first side of the third plane and the first side of the fourth plane, respective ones of the seventh cascades providing corresponding respective ones of seventh exhaust vectors, wherein a first one of the seventh exhaust vectors adjacent the fourth plane is oriented toward the fourth plane, second ones of the seventh exhaust vectors being oriented away from the fourth plane, the seventh exhaust vectors of the seventh cascades collectively providing a seventh flow characteristic of the second thrust reverser;
a seventh cascade assembly including a plurality of seventh cascades spaced circumferentially along a third portion of the second aircraft engine, the seventh cascades positioned between a second side of the third plane opposite the first side of the third plane and the first side of the fourth plane, respective ones of the seventh cascades providing corresponding respective ones of seventh exhaust vectors, wherein a first one of the seventh exhaust vectors is oriented toward the fourth plane and at least a second one of the seventh exhaust vectors is oriented away from the fourth plane, the seventh exhaust vectors of the seventh cascades collectively providing a seventh flow characteristic of the second thrust reverser;
and an eighth cascade assembly including a plurality of eight cascades spaced circumferentially along a fourth portion of the second aircraft engine, the eighth cascades positioned between the second side of the first-third plane and the second side of the fourth plane, respective ones of the eighth cascades providing corresponding respective ones of eighth exhaust vectors, the eighth exhaust vectors of the eighth cascades collectively providing an eighth flow characteristic of the second thrust reverser, the fifth and sixth flow characteristics to be respectively symmetric to the seventh and eighth flow characteristics relative the third plane, the fifth and seventh flow characteristics to be respectively asymmetric to the sixth and eighth flow characteristics relative the fourth plane.
and an eighth cascade assembly including a plurality of eight cascades spaced circumferentially along a fourth portion of the second aircraft engine, the eighth cascades positioned between the second side of the third plane and the second side of the fourth plane, respective ones of the eighth cascades providing corresponding respective ones of eighth exhaust vectors, the eighth exhaust vectors of the eighth cascades collectively providing an eighth flow characteristic of the second thrust reverser, the fifth and sixth flow characteristics to be respectively symmetric to the seventh and eighth flow characteristics relative the third plane, the fifth and seventh flow characteristics to be respectively asymmetric to the sixth and eighth flow characteristics relative the fourth plane.
Claim 4 of 12196156
Claim 7
wherein the first cascade assembly of the first aircraft engine is interchangeable with the fifth cascade assembly of the second aircraft engine, the second cascade assembly of the first aircraft engine is interchangeable with the sixth cascade assembly of the second aircraft engine, the third cascade assembly of the first aircraft engine is interchangeable with the seventh cascade assembly of the second aircraft engine, and the fourth cascade assembly of the first aircraft engine is interchangeable with the eighth cascade assembly of the second aircraft engine.
wherein the first cascade assembly of the first aircraft engine is interchangeable with the fifth cascade assembly of the second aircraft engine, the second cascade assembly of the first aircraft engine is interchangeable with the sixth cascade assembly of the second aircraft engine, the third cascade assembly of the first aircraft engine is interchangeable with the seventh cascade assembly of the second aircraft engine, and the fourth cascade assembly of the first aircraft engine is interchangeable with the eighth cascade assembly of the second aircraft engine.
Cl 5 of 12196156
Claim 8
wherein the first cascade assembly and the fifth cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the first cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine and the fifth cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine, the second cascade assembly and the sixth cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the second cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine and the sixth cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine,
wherein the first cascade assembly and the fifth cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the first cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine and the fifth cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine, the second cascade assembly and the sixth cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the second cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine and the sixth cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine,
the third cascade assembly and the seventh cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the third cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine and the seventh cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine, and the fourth cascade assembly and the eighth cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the first cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine and the eighth cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine.
the third cascade assembly and the seventh cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the third cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine and the seventh cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine, and the fourth cascade assembly and the eighth cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the first cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine and the eighth cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine.
Cl 5 of 12196156
Claim 9
wherein the first cascade assembly and the fifth cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the first cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine and the fifth cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine, the second cascade assembly and the sixth cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the second cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine and the sixth cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine,
wherein the first cascade assembly and the fifth cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the first cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine and the fifth cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine, the second cascade assembly and the sixth cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the second cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine and the sixth cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine,
the third cascade assembly and the seventh cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the third cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine and the seventh cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine, and the fourth cascade assembly and the eighth cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the first cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine and the eighth cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine.
the third cascade assembly and the seventh cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the third cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine and the seventh cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine, and the fourth cascade assembly and the eighth cascade assembly are positioned in the same orientation when the fourth cascade assembly is coupled to the second aircraft engine and the eighth cascade assembly is coupled to the first aircraft engine.
Cl 2 of 12196156
Claim 10
wherein each of the first cascade assembly, the second cascade assembly, the third cascade assembly, and the fourth cascade assembly has a unique mounting bolt pattern.
wherein each of the first cascades, the second cascades, the third cascades, and the fourth cascades have a unique mounting bolt pattern.
Claims 11-14, 16, 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12196156.
Claim 6-7 of 12196156
Claim 11-14
An apparatus comprising: a first aircraft engine including a first thrust reverser system, the first thrust reverser system including: a plurality of first cascades spaced relative to a first longitudinal axis of the first aircraft engine, respective ones of the first cascades to provide corresponding ones of first exhaust vectors when the first thrust reverser system is in a deployed position, the first exhaust vectors provided relative to a first half of the first thrust reverser system relative to a first vertical plane passing through the first longitudinal axis of the first aircraft engine and extending in a fore-aft direction of the first aircraft engine, the first cascades including a first set of four cascades and a second set of four cascades, the first set of four cascades positioned in a first quadrant of the first aircraft engine defined by a first side of the first vertical plane and a first side of a first horizontal plane passing through the first longitudinal axis and orthogonal to the first vertical plane, a first one of the first exhaust vectors provided by a first one of the first set of the first cascades immediately adjacent the first horizontal plane is oriented toward the first horizontal plane, second ones of the first exhaust vectors provided by other ones of the first set of the first cascades oriented opposite relative to the first one of the first exhaust vectors, the second set of four cascades positioned in a second quadrant of the first aircraft engine defined by the first side of the first vertical plane and a second side of the first horizontal plane, the first exhaust vectors provided by the first set of four cascades of the first quadrant and the first exhaust vectors provided by the second set of four cascades of the second quadrant to be asymmetric relative to the first horizontal plane;
An apparatus comprising: a first thrust reverser including: a first cascade assembly including a plurality of first cascades spaced circumferentially along a first portion of a first aircraft engine with respect to a first vertical plane and a first horizontal plane passing through a longitudinal axis of the aircraft engine extending in a fore-aft direction, the first cascades positioned on a first side of the first vertical plane, the first cascades collectively providing a first flow characteristic of the first thrust reverser; the first flow characteristic to be symmetric to the second flow characteristic relative the first vertical plane, the first flow characteristic to be asymmetric to the second flow characteristic relative the first horizontal plane; wherein the first cascades includes a first set of first cascades positioned above the first horizontal plane and a second set of first cascades positioned below the first horizontal plane, wherein at least one of the first exhaust vectors of the first set of the first cascades is oriented toward the first horizontal plane, and other ones of the first exhaust vectors of the first set of the first cascades are oriented away from the first horizontal plane.
and a plurality of second cascades spaced relative to the first longitudinal axis of the first aircraft engine, respective ones of the second cascades to provide corresponding ones of second exhaust vectors when the first thrust reverser system is in the deployed position, the second exhaust vectors provided relative to a second half of the first thrust reverser system opposite the first half relative to the first vertical plane, the second cascades including a third set of four cascades and a fourth set of four cascades, the third set of four cascades positioned in a third quadrant of the first aircraft engine defined by a second side of the first vertical plane opposite the first side of the first vertical plane and the first side of the first horizontal plane, a first one of the second exhaust vectors provided by a first one of the third set of the second cascades immediately adjacent the first horizontal plane is oriented toward the first horizontal plane, second ones of the second exhaust vectors provided by other ones of the third set of the second cascades are oriented opposite relative to the first one of the second exhaust vectors, the fourth set of four cascades positioned in a fourth quadrant of the first aircraft engine defined by the second side of the first vertical plane and the second side of the first horizontal plane, the second exhaust vectors provided by the third set of four cascades and the second exhaust vectors provided by the fourth set of four cascades to be asymmetric relative to the first horizontal plane, respective ones of the first exhaust vectors to be symmetric relative to respective ones of the second exhaust vectors with reference to the first vertical plane.
a second cascade assembly including a plurality of second cascades spaced circumferentially along a second portion of the first aircraft engine, the second cascades positioned a second side of the first vertical plane opposite the first side, the second cascades collectively providing a second flow characteristic of the first thrust reverser, the second cascades includes a third set of second cascades positioned above the first horizontal plane and a fourth set of second cascades positioned below the first horizontal plane, wherein at least one of the second exhaust vectors of the third set of the second cascades is oriented toward the first horizontal plane, and other ones of the second exhaust vectors of the third set of the second cascades are oriented away from the first horizontal plane.
a second aircraft engine including a second thrust reverser system, the second thrust reverser system including: a plurality of third cascades spaced relative to a second longitudinal axis of the second aircraft engine, respective ones of the third cascades to provide corresponding ones of third exhaust vectors when the second thrust reverser system is in a deployed position, the third exhaust vectors provided relative to a first half of the second thrust reverser system relative to a second vertical plane passing through the second longitudinal axis of the second aircraft engine and extending in a fore-aft direction of the second aircraft engine, the third cascades defined by the first side of the second vertical plane and a second side of the second horizontal plane, the third exhaust vectors provided by the fifth set of four cascades and the third exhaust vectors provided by the sixth set of four cascades to be asymmetric relative to the second horizontal plane; and a plurality of fourth cascades spaced relative to the second longitudinal axis of the second aircraft engine, respective ones of the fourth cascades to provide corresponding ones of fourth exhaust vectors when the second thrust reverser system is in the deployed position, the fourth exhaust vectors provided relative to a second half of the second thrust reverser system opposite the first half relative to the second vertical plane, the fourth exhaust vectors provided by the seventh set of four cascades in the seventh quadrant and the fourth exhaust vectors provided by the eighth set of four cascades in the eight quadrant to be asymmetric relative to the first horizontal plane, respective ones of the third exhaust vectors to be symmetric relative to respective ones of the fourth exhaust vectors with reference to the second vertical plane.
a second thrust reverser including: a third cascade assembly including a plurality of third cascades spaced circumferentially along a third portion of a second aircraft engine with respect to a second vertical plane and a second horizontal plane passing through a second longitudinal axis of the second aircraft engine extending in the fore-aft direction, the third cascades positioned on a third side of the second vertical plane, the third cascades collectively providing a third flow characteristic of the second thrust reverser; and a fourth cascade assembly including a plurality of fourth cascades spaced circumferentially along a fourth portion of the second aircraft engine, the fourth cascades positioned on a fourth side of the second vertical plane opposite the third side, the fourth cascades collectively providing a fourth flow characteristic of the second thrust reverser, the third flow characteristic to be symmetric to the fourth flow characteristic relative the second vertical plane, the third flow characteristic to be asymmetric to the fourth flow characteristic relative the second horizontal plane.
Claim 6-7 of 12196156
Claim 16, 19-20
An apparatus comprising: a first aircraft engine including a first thrust reverser system, the first thrust reverser system including: a plurality of first cascades spaced relative to a first longitudinal axis of the first aircraft engine, respective ones of the first cascades to provide corresponding ones of first exhaust vectors when the first thrust reverser system is in a deployed position, the first exhaust vectors provided relative to a first half of the first thrust reverser system relative to a first vertical plane passing through the first longitudinal axis of the first aircraft engine and extending in a fore-aft direction of the first aircraft engine, the first cascades including a first set of four cascades and a second set of four cascades, the first set of four cascades positioned in a first quadrant of the first aircraft engine defined by a first side of the first vertical plane and a first side of a first horizontal plane passing through the first longitudinal axis and orthogonal to the first vertical plane, a first one of the first exhaust vectors provided by a first one of the first set of the first cascades immediately adjacent the first horizontal plane is oriented toward the first horizontal plane, second ones of the first exhaust vectors provided by other ones of the first set of the first cascades oriented opposite relative to the first one of the first exhaust vectors, the second set of four cascades positioned in a second quadrant of the first aircraft engine defined by the first side of the first vertical plane and a second side of the first horizontal plane, the first exhaust vectors provided by the first set of four cascades of the first quadrant and the first exhaust vectors provided by the second set of four cascades of the second quadrant to be asymmetric relative to the first horizontal plane;
the first cascades provide respective ones first exhaust vectors that collectively define the first flow characteristic of the first thrust reverser, the first cascades include a first set of first cascades positioned on the first side of the first vertical plane and a first side of the first horizontal plane and a second set of first cascades positioned on the first side of the first vertical plane and a second side of the first horizontal plane opposite the first side, wherein at least a first exhaust vector associated with the first set of first cascades is oriented toward the first horizontal plane.
and a plurality of second cascades spaced relative to the first longitudinal axis of the first aircraft engine, respective ones of the second cascades to provide corresponding ones of second exhaust vectors when the first thrust reverser system is in the deployed position, the second exhaust vectors provided relative to a second half of the first thrust reverser system opposite the first half relative to the first vertical plane, the second cascades including a third set of four cascades and a fourth set of four cascades, the third set of four cascades positioned in a third quadrant of the first aircraft engine defined by a second side of the first vertical plane opposite the first side of the first vertical plane and the first side of the first horizontal plane, a first one of the second exhaust vectors provided by a first one of the third set of the second cascades immediately adjacent the first horizontal plane is oriented toward the first horizontal plane, second ones of the second exhaust vectors provided by other ones of the third set of the second cascades are oriented opposite relative to the first one of the second exhaust vectors, the fourth set of four cascades positioned in a fourth quadrant of the first aircraft engine defined by the second side of the first vertical plane and the second side of the first horizontal plane, the second exhaust vectors provided by the third set of four cascades and the second exhaust vectors provided by the fourth set of four cascades to be asymmetric relative to the first horizontal plane, respective ones of the first exhaust vectors to be symmetric relative to respective ones of the second exhaust vectors with reference to the first vertical plane.
wherein the second cascades provide respective ones second exhaust vectors that collectively define the second flow characteristic of the first thrust reverser, the second cascades include a third set of second cascades positioned on the second side of the first vertical plane and a first side of the first horizontal plane and a fourth set of second cascades positioned on the second side of the first vertical plane and a second side of the first horizontal plane opposite the first side, wherein at least a second exhaust vector associated with the third set of second cascades is oriented toward the first horizontal plane, wherein the at least the first exhaust vector and the at least second exhaust vector are oriented in a downward direction toward the second horizontal plane.
Conclusion
/ANDREW H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741