DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 12/04/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 recites “wherein and wherein” which appears to be a minor typographical mistake. The Examiner will interpret “wherein and wherein” as “and wherein”, similar to claim 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9-10, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Graube (US 20220051310 A1), hereinafter Graube.
Regarding claim 1, Graube discloses a device for wireless communication (See at least Fig. 1B, [0101] “User mobile devices 120 used by store pickers”), comprising:
at least one processor (See at least Fig. 23, [0063] “A store picker wireless device may include a processor, memory”); and
a memory coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to (See at least Fig. 23, [0063] “A store picker wireless device may include a processor, memory”):
receive a plurality of electronic tag (eTag) beacons at one or more wireless radios of a stocking device (See at least Fig. 1B, [0101] “User mobile devices 120 used by store pickers may receive beacon signals (e.g., BT or BLE) from each of the ESLs 110 but also communicate received beacon information (e.g., identity code and RSS I information) directly to the store management entity server 150 via separate communications 122” The examiner notes that ESL beacons act as eTag beacons and user mobile devices (also written as store picker wireless devices) are stocking devices.);
generate eTag measurement information based on measuring the plurality of eTag beacons (See at least Fig. 1B, [0101] “User mobile devices 120 used by store pickers may receive beacon signals (e.g., BT or BLE) from each of the ESLs 110 but also communicate received beacon information (e.g., identity code and RSS I information) directly to the store management entity server 150 via separate communications 122”); and
transmit the eTag measurement information to an electronic shelf label (ESL) server (See at least Fig. 1B, [0101] “User mobile devices 120 used by store pickers may receive beacon signals (e.g., BT or BLE) from each of the ESLs 110 but also communicate received beacon information (e.g., identity code and RSS I information) directly to the store management entity server 150 via separate communications 122”), wherein the eTag measurement information is indicative of whether a particular eTag has been removed from the stocking device. (See at least [0105] “With reference to FIGS. 1A-2A, the first phase of onboarding, […] management entity server (e.g., 150) may receive product information in terms of product codes, price, quantity and record that information in an inventory system” See also [0110], [0115]).
Regarding claim 3, Graube, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Graube additionally discloses
the eTag beacons are associated with one or more eTags attached (See at least [0061] “ESLs may be battery powered to enable placement on or near products”) to cases or cartons on the stocking device that include products (See at least Figs. 28A-28B, Items 2890, 2800, [0247] “The ESL cartridge 2800 may house a limited number of ESLs”).
Regarding claim 6, Graube, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Graube additionally discloses
the eTag measurement information includes signal strength information, signal quality information, timing information, beam angle information, or a combination thereof (See at least [0075] “the user mobile device can estimate its proximity to the emitting ESL using measured RSSI of the detected signal”).
Regarding claim 7, Graube, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Graube additionally discloses
the eTag measurement information includes received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), angle-of-arrival (AoA), time-of-arrival (TOA), round-trip time (RTT), beacon interval timing, or a combination thereof (See at least [0075] “the user mobile device can estimate its proximity to the emitting ESL using measured RSSI of the detected signal”)
Regarding claim 9, Graube, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Graube additionally discloses
the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: determine whether the stocking device is stationary or at a stocking speed; and determine to report the eTag measurement information responsive to a determination that the stocking device is stationary or at the stocking speed (See at least [0110] “As a further alternative, items may be automatically checked off a shopping list in response to a store picker stopping in front of shelf and then walking away” Graube discloses reporting measurement information as a ‘checked off’ item of a shopping list).
Regarding claim 10, Graube, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Graube additionally discloses
determine whether the stocking device is stationary or at a stocking speed; determine whether eTag has been removed from the stocking device based on the eTag measurement information and responsive to a determination that the stocking device is stationary or at the stocking speed; and determine to report the eTag measurement information responsive to a determination that an eTag has been removed from the stocking device (See at least [0110] “As a further alternative, items may be automatically checked off a shopping list in response to a store picker stopping in front of shelf and then walking away” See also [0226]-[0229], [0237]. . Graube further discloses an onboarding process where eTags (ESLs) are dispensed and validated by location).
Regarding claim 14, Graube, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Graube additionally discloses
the eTag measurement information is transmitted outside of an ESL system associated with the ESL server (See at least [0102] “ESL 110a is transmitting a BLE signal 112a (i.e., a beacon) that is received by the user mobile device 120” Graube discloses receiving a transmission at a mobile device from an ESL then relaying to an ESL server).
Regarding claim 15, Graube, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Graube additionally discloses
the eTag measurement information is transmitted via an ESL system associated with the ESL server (See at least [0102] “ESL 110a is transmitting a BLE signal 112a (i.e., a beacon) that is received by the user mobile device 120” Graube discloses receiving a transmission at a mobile device from an ESL then relaying to an ESL server).
Regarding claim 16, Graube, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Graube additionally discloses
transmit, to an ESL AP, the eTag measurement information via Bluetooth or Wi-Fi and configured to cause the ESL AP to relay the eTag measurement information to the ESL server (See at least [0070] “the user mobile device can pass by selected ESLs to gather information as a mobile access point and communicate information to the store management entity server”, [0071] “a store management entity server within a store that is coupled to a plurality of wireless access points (e.g., Wi-Fi, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) access points” Graube discloses receiving a transmission at a mobile device from an ESL then relaying to an ESL server).
Regarding claim 18, Graube, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Graube additionally discloses
determine whether a particular eTag has been removed from the stocking device based on the eTag measurement information; and transmit eTag indication information to the ESL server responsive to a determination that the particular eTag has been removed from the stocking device, wherein the eTag indication information indicates that the particular eTag has been removed from the stocking device (See at least [0105] “The ESLs placed on the shelf may exchange BLE advertising reports (e.g., via wireless links 112) that may be individually processed by ESLs as well as access points in order to determine the location of each ESL. In a third phase, the ESLs, access points, and management entity server may perform operations to associate individual products with ESLs” Graube discloses an onboarding process, followed by a measuring of the ESL (eTag). Because the ESL (eTag) is not activated prior to stocking, the measurement is a determination which is further relayed to the ESL server, responsive to the measurement.).
Regarding claim 19, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 1. Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 1, shown above.
Regarding claim 20, Graube discloses a device for wireless communication (See at least Fig. 1B, [0101] “User mobile devices 120 used by store pickers”), comprising:
at least one processor (See at least Fig. 23, [0063] “A store picker wireless device may include a processor, memory”); and
a memory coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to (See at least Fig. 23, [0063] “A store picker wireless device may include a processor, memory”):
receive a plurality of electronic tag (eTag) beacons at one or more wireless radios of a stocking device (See at least Fig. 1B, [0101] “User mobile devices 120 used by store pickers may receive beacon signals (e.g., BT or BLE) from each of the ESLs 110 but also communicate received beacon information (e.g., identity code and RSS I information) directly to the store management entity server 150 via separate communications 122” The examiner notes that ESL beacons act as eTag beacons and user mobile devices (also written as store picker wireless devices) are stocking devices.);
generate eTag measurement information based on measuring the plurality of eTag beacons (See at least Fig. 1B, [0101] “User mobile devices 120 used by store pickers may receive beacon signals (e.g., BT or BLE) from each of the ESLs 110 but also communicate received beacon information (e.g., identity code and RSS I information) directly to the store management entity server 150 via separate communications 122”);
determine whether a particular eTag has been removed from the stocking device based on the eTag measurement information; and transmit eTag indication information to an electronic shelf label (ESL) server responsive to a determination that the particular eTag has been removed from the stocking device, wherein the eTag indication information indicates that the particular eTag has been removed from the stocking device (See at least [0105] “The ESLs placed on the shelf may exchange BLE advertising reports (e.g., via wireless links 112) that may be individually processed by ESLs as well as access points in order to determine the location of each ESL. In a third phase, the ESLs, access points, and management entity server may perform operations to associate individual products with ESLs” Graube discloses an onboarding process, followed by a measuring of the ESL (eTag). Because the ESL (eTag) is not activated prior to stocking, the measurement is a determination which is further relayed to the ESL server, responsive to the measurement.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graube, in view of Bacallao (US 20180165670 A1), Bacallao.
Regarding claim 2, Graube, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Graube further discloses
the eTag beacons are associated with one or more eTags attached to products (See at least [0061] “ESLs may be battery powered to enable placement on or near products”)
Graube does not explicitly disclose on the stocking device. However, Bacallao, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
on the stocking device (See at least [0005] “the retail store mobile computing device is coupled to or integrated with a shopping cart or basket”)
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wireless communication system disclosed by Graube with the stocking device disclosed by Bacallao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously enable secure and accurate connections, thereby improving data processing (See at least [0044] “The electronic pairing includes a secure connection for transaction processing”).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graube, in view of Neugebauer (US 20060163349 A1), Neugebauer.
Regarding claim 4, Graube, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Graube further discloses
the eTag beacons are associated with one or more eTags (See at least [0061] “ESLs may be battery powered to enable placement on or near products”),
Graube does not explicitly disclose
(See at least [0130] “the employee may activate the button 454 to generate an "item re-stocked" message. The server 105 may then utilize this information to update a database”)
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wireless communication system disclosed by Graube with the button system disclosed by Neugebauer. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously efficiently manage inventory (See at least [0031] “the one or more wireless tags may comprise battery-powered, wireless electronic shelf labels (ESLs) that may be advantageously utilized to display product prices, minimize labor costs and/or provide virtual coupon offers.”).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graube, in view of Hou (EP 3287980 A1), hereinafter Hou.
Regarding claim 5, Graube, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Graube does not explicitly disclose the eTag beacons are associated with one or more eTags, wherein and wherein at least one eTag of the one or more eTags includes a magnetic switch configured to disable beacon transmissions, and wherein removing a magnet attached to the eTag deactivates the magnetic switch. However, Hou, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
the eTag beacons are associated with one or more eTags, wherein and wherein at least one eTag of the one or more eTags includes a magnetic switch configured to disable beacon transmissions, and wherein removing a magnet attached to the eTag deactivates the magnetic switch (See at least “the first kind of electronic shelf label (as illustrated in Fig. 1) uses the magnetic control switch to trigger the MCU to start or stop running […] the magnetic control switch will close or open immediately, and then transmit a trigger signal to the MCU so that the MCU starts or stops running at once”, “as to the first kind of electronic shelf label, when the MCU is triggered to start running through the magnetic control switch, […] transmit the electronic shelf label display information to the MCU” Hou discloses by magnetic contact switch (removal), enabling or disabling ESL (eTag) beacon transmissions).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wireless communication system disclosed by Graube with the magnet system disclosed by Hou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously reduce maintenance difficulty (See at least “the maintenance difficulty are very high, which increases the cost. Based on the above problems existing in the prior art, the embodiments of the present disclosure propose an electronic shelf label to solve the above problems existing in the prior art”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graube, in view of Kovacs (US 20240094005 A1), hereinafter Kovacs.
Regarding claim 8, Graube, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Graube further discloses
the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: determine whether the stocking device is stationary or at a stocking speed (See at least [0110] “As a further alternative, items may be automatically checked off a shopping list in response to a store picker stopping in front of shelf and then walking away”); and
Graube does not explicitly disclose determine to measure eTag beacons responsive to a determination that the stocking device is stationary or at the stocking speed. However, Kovacs, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
determine to measure eTag beacons responsive to a determination that the stocking device is stationary or at the stocking speed (See at least [0121] “beacon signal is received from the same asset in another zone with a timestamp prior to the consecutive timestamps of beacon signals received in the staging area” [0124] “the shipping vessel 1918 is detected at a zone 202 for a predetermined period of time (e.g., is detected at the same zone 202 for a predetermined number of beacon signal detections), then the shipping vessel 1918 may be determined to be in the stocking phase” Kovacs discloses continuous or repeated gathering of beacon signals, and determining a stocking phase based on a pause in movement. Further, Kovacs discloses continued measurement to determine a change in state.).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wireless communication system disclosed by Graube with the stocking system disclosed by Kovacs. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously enhance efficiency (See at least [0126] “such as enhancing routing efficiency, analyzing team member performance, or enhancing unloading efficiency”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graube, in view of Wesley (US 20260127729 A1), hereinafter Wesley.
Regarding claim 11, Graube, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10. Graube does not explicitly disclose determine a speed of the stocking device based on sensor information generated by sensors of the stocking device, ESL positioning operations, or a combination thereof; compare the speed to a speed threshold; and determine the stocking device is stationary or at the stocking speed based on the speed being less than or equal to the speed threshold. However, Wesley, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
determine a speed of the stocking device based on sensor information generated by sensors of the stocking device, ESL positioning operations, or a combination thereof; compare the speed to a speed threshold; and determine the stocking device is stationary or at the stocking speed based on the speed being less than or equal to the speed threshold. (See at least [0028] “indicate whether the shopping cart 150 is moving less than a threshold speed, […] the sensors 158 may be mounted on the shopping cart 150”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wireless communication system disclosed by Graube with the speed sensing system disclosed by Wesley. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously aid organization and thereby improve efficiency (See at least [0027] “In some embodiments, the sensors 158 have various capabilities to help identify items, organizational elements, and/or building elements within a physical retail store”).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Allowance of claims 12-13 and 17 is indicated because:
None of the prior art of record teach or suggest the subject matter of dependent claims 12-13 and 17. The prior art of record does not anticipate or render fairly obvious in combination to teach all of the additional limitations of the claimed invention, as best understood within the context of Applicant’s claimed invention as a whole, such as in claim 12, determine a current position for a first eTag based on the eTag measurement information; determine a prior position for the first eTag based on historical eTag measurement information; generate a position difference based on the current position and the prior position; compare the position difference to a position difference threshold; and determine the first eTag has been removed from the stocking device based on the position difference being greater than or equal to the position difference threshold; and in claim 13, determine a first measurement value for a first eTag based on the eTag measurement information; determine a second measurement value for the first eTag based on historical eTag measurement information; generate a measurement difference value based on the first measurement value and the second measurement value; compare the measurement difference value to a measurement difference threshold; and determine the first eTag has been removed from the stocking device based on the measurement difference value being greater than or equal to the measurement difference threshold; and in claim 17, determine a speed of the stocking device based on sensor information generated by sensors of the stocking device, ESL positioning operations, or a combination thereof; and transmit speed information to the ESL server based on the speed of the stocking device, the speed information indicative of whether the particular eTag has been removed from the stocking device.
Accordingly, claims 12-13 and 17 are deemed to have allowable subject matter.
Claims 12-13 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Todeschini (US 20180324550 A1) - An inventory tracking system includes a plurality of emitters that each emit a wireless signal and are placed at known locations relative to a plurality of storage areas in a warehouse, including a first storage area for storage of a specified item. The system further includes a mobile device that travels with a material handler. The mobile device: receives a first wireless signal from a first emitter that is one of the plurality of emitters; calculates a first distance between the material handler and the first emitter based on the first wireless signal; determines that the material handler is located at a stocking location for the first storage area based on the first distance and the known location of the first emitter; and sends a message indicating that the material handler is at the stocking location for the first storage area.
/KENNETH W GOOD/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648