Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown, Jr. (US 4,601,124).
Re claims 1-2, Brown, Jr. (Fig 1) discloses a firearm receiver, comprising: a reinforcing feature (27) integral with the receiver below the ejection port (17). Brown, Jr. does not disclose that the receiver fabricated via 3d printing, but the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. MPEP 2113.
Re claims 3-5, 7, and 9-12, Brown, Jr. (Fig 1) discloses a receiver for a firearm, comprising: a reinforcing feature (27) integrally formed with the receiver below an ejection port (17), wherein the reinforcing feature extends longitudinally from a proximal receiver bridge to a distal receiver bridge, enhancing the structural rigidity of the receiver.
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Motley (US 2015/0198397). See Figure below. See rejection of claim 1 regarding product-by-process limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown, Jr. (US 4,601,124) in view of Martini (US 2020/0256636). Brown, Jr. discloses the claimed invention with the exception of being fabricated via additive manufacturing. Martini teaches a firearm receiver being made via an additive manufacturing process (p. [0015]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to manufacture the receiver in Brown, Jr. using an additive manufacturing process. The motivation would simply be to use a commonly known and used method of manufacturing a rifle receiver. All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to a skilled artisan at the time the invention was made.
Conclusion
/REGINALD S TILLMAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641