DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 17, 19, and 20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the references of Park and Kim does not teach the limitations of “the substrate and the treatment liquid nozzle being located in an interior space of a housing”, and “an auto dispensing operation of regularly discharging the treatment liquid while the treatment liquid nozzle is in a waiting port, the auto dispensing operation being performed without the substrate treating operation being performed, wherein the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed during the auto dispensing operation”.
However, this argument is not persuasive. In this case, Park teaches a substrate processing method comprising a substrate treating operation of treating a substrate by supplying a treatment liquid from a treatment liquid supply nozzle to the substrate located in an interior space of a chamber (see figure 1 of Park) (reads on “housing”), and a negative pressure maintaining operation of maintaining the interior space at a negative pressure (see figure 1, and English translation [0025-0029] of Park).
The reference of Kim was presented to show a substrate treating method comprising the step of discharging a treatment liquid while the treatment liquid supply nozzle is waiting at a standby port located within the processing chamber (reads on “housing”) (see figure 2 and [0051] of Kim) (the substrate treatment apparatus (figure 2, #300 of Kim) is provided in the process chamber (figure 1, #260 of Kim)), without the substrate treating operation being performed, wherein the standby port can be provided in a flow rate measuring unit ([0065] of Kim). In addition, Kim teaches that a specific amount of the treatment liquid is discharged from the standby port before the treatment liquid is discharged onto the substrate, wherein the solidified treatment liquid that is adjacent to the discharge hole and the treatment liquid that may be mixed with foreign substances are removed from the treatment liquid nozzle ([0065] of Kim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Park with an auto dispensing operation of regularly discharging the treatment liquid while the treatment liquid nozzle is in a waiting port, wherein the auto dispensing operation being performed without the substrate treating operation being performed, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Kim teaches that it was known in the art to discharge a treatment liquid while the treatment liquid supply nozzle is waiting at a standby port located within the processing chamber, without the substrate treating operation being performed, wherein a specific amount of the treatment liquid is discharged from the standby port before the treatment liquid is discharged onto the substrate ([0065] of Kim).
Moreover, there are only three possibilities: a) the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed during the auto dispensing operation, b) the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed before the auto dispensing operation, and c) the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed after the auto dispensing operation, and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to try the Park/Kim method wherein the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed during the auto dispensing operation, with a reasonable expectation of success.
In addition, the applicant argues that the standby port disclosed by Kim is located outside the housing, and that the treatment liquid is regularly discharged to the standby port.
However, this argument is not persuasive. The reference of Kim teaches that the standby port is located within the processing chamber (reads on the limitation “housing”) (see figure 2 of [0051] Kim) (the substrate treatment apparatus (figure 2, #300 of Kim) is provided in the process chamber (figure 1, #260 of Kim)).
Moreover, the applicant argues that Kim does not disclose or suggest that the housing is maintained at negative pressure during the operation of discharging treatment to the standby port.
When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. In addition, the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under 103. Consult MPEP 2144.05.
In this case, it is noted that there are only three possibilities: a) the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed during the auto dispensing operation, b) the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed before the auto dispensing operation, and c) the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed after the auto dispensing operation, and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to try the Park/Kim method wherein the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed during the auto dispensing operation, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20210103866 to Park et al. (hereinafter “Park”) in view of US 2018/0185886 to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a substrate processing method comprising: a substrate treating operation of treating a substrate located in an interior space of a chamber (see figure 1 of Park) (reads on “housing”) by supplying a treatment liquid from a treatment liquid supply nozzle to the substrate located in the interior space of a chamber (see figure 1 of Park) (reads on “housing”), and a negative pressure maintaining operation of maintaining the interior space at a negative pressure (see figure 1, and English translation [0025-0029]).
Park does not teach an auto dispensing operation of regularly discharging the treatment liquid while the treatment liquid nozzle is in a waiting port, the auto dispensing operation being performed without the substrate treating operation being performed, wherein the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed during the auto dispensing operation.
Kim teaches a substrate treating method comprising the step of discharging a treatment liquid while the treatment liquid supply nozzle is waiting at a standby port located within the processing chamber (reads on “housing”) (see figure 2 of Kim) [0051] (the substrate treatment apparatus (figure 2, #300) is provided in the process chamber (figure 1, #260)), without the substrate treating operation being performed, wherein the standby port can be provided in a flow rate measuring unit [0065]. In addition, Kim teaches that a specific amount of the treatment liquid is discharged from the standby port before the treatment liquid is discharged onto the substrate, wherein the solidified treatment liquid that is adjacent to the discharge hole and the treatment liquid that may be mixed with foreign substances are removed from the treatment liquid nozzle [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Park with an auto dispensing operation of regularly discharging the treatment liquid while the treatment liquid nozzle is in a waiting port, wherein the auto dispensing operation being performed without the substrate treating operation being performed, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Kim teaches that it was known in the art to discharge a treatment liquid while the treatment liquid supply nozzle is waiting at a standby port located within the processing chamber, without the substrate treating operation being performed, wherein a specific amount of the treatment liquid is discharged from the standby port before the treatment liquid is discharged onto the substrate ([0065] of Kim).
Park/Kim does not teach that the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed during the auto dispensing operation.
Moreover, there are only three possibilities: a) the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed during the auto dispensing operation, b) the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed before the auto dispensing operation, and c) the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed after the auto dispensing operation, and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to try the Park/Kim method wherein the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed during the auto dispensing operation, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Park/Kim further teaches that the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed during the substrate treating operation (English translation [0025] of Park).
Regarding claim 6, Park/Kim does not teach a maintaining operation of opening the housing to maintain and repair an interior of the housing, wherein the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed before the maintaining operation is performed.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Park/Kim with a maintaining operation of opening the housing to maintain and repair an interior of the housing, wherein the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed before the maintaining operation is performed, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of ensuring optimal performance of the process chamber, extending the equipment lifespan and preventing or minimizing unexpected failures of the equipment, and for preventing the escape of particles or contaminants into the surrounding environment.
Claims 3-4, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20210103866 to Park et al. (hereinafter “Park”) in view of US 2018/0185886 to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”), and in further view of JP2003257925 to Kikuchi et al. (hereinafter “Kikuchi”).
Regarding claim 3, Park further teaches the use of a shutter, wherein the shutter provides a movement path for introducing the substate into the chamber, and for removing the substrate from the chamber (English translation [0042-0043] of Park).
Park/Kim does not teach that after the substrate treating operation is completed, a negative pressure removing operation of forming a pressure of the interior space and a pressure of an exterior space that is the outside of the housing to be the same, wherein a shutter that opens and closes a substrate loading path of the housing is opened after the negative pressure removing operation.
Kikuchi teaches a substrate processing method (English translation [0001]). Kikuchi teaches that by ensuring that the pressure inside the processing tank becomes approximately the atmospheric pressure when substrates are inserted into or removed from the processing tank by opening a shutter, it is possible to prevent gas from flowing out of the processing tank or gas from the outside from flowing into the processing tank (English translation [0018 and 0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Park/Kim wherein after the substrate treating operation is completed, a negative pressure removing operation of forming a pressure of the interior space and a pressure of an exterior space that is the outside of the housing to be the same, wherein the shutter that opens and closes the substrate loading path of the housing is opened after the negative pressure removing operation, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Kikuchi teaches that by ensuring that the pressure inside the processing tank becomes the approximately atmospheric pressure when substrates are inserted into or removed from the processing tank by opening the shutter, it is possible to prevent gas from flowing out of the processing tank or gas from the outside from flowing into the processing tank (English translation [0018 and 0060] of Kikuchi).
Regarding claim 4, Park/Kim/Kikuchi further teaches that in the negative pressure maintaining operation an air intake and a valve are operated to form the process space of the chamber at the negative pressure (English translation [0025] of Park), and that in the negative pressure removing operation, the control device adjusts the discharge amount from the exhaust pipe and the supply amount from the fan filter unit to maintain the pressure inside the treatment tank at atmospheric pressure (English translation [0060] of Kikuchi).
Park/Kim/Kikuchi does not teach that in the negative pressure removing operation, an amount of descending airflow supplied to the interior space is reduced than in the negative pressure maintaining operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Park/Kim/Kikuchi wherein, in the negative pressure removing operation, an amount of descending airflow supplied to the interior space is reduced than in the negative pressure maintaining operation, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Kikuchi teaches that it was known in the art to adjust the supply amount from the fan filter unit to maintain the pressure inside the treatment tank at atmospheric pressure (English translation [0060] of Kikuchi).
Regarding claim 17, Park teaches a substrate processing method, the method comprising: a substrate treating operation of treating a substrate by supplying a treatment liquid including hydrochloric acid (reads on “toxic liquid”) to a substrate located in an interior space of a chamber (see figure 1 of Park) (reads on “housing”) (see figure 1, and English translation [0001, and 0029]), a negative pressure maintaining operation of maintaining the interior space at a negative pressure, wherein the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed during the substate processing process (English translation [0025]).
Park does not explicitly teach that the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed simultaneously with the substrate treating operation.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Park wherein the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed simultaneously with the substrate treating operation, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Park teaches that the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed during the substate processing process (English translation [0025]).
Moreover, it is noted that there are only three possibilities: a) the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed simultaneously with the substrate treating operation, b) the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed before the substrate treating operation, and c) the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed after the substrate treating operation, and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to try the Park method wherein the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed simultaneously with the substrate treating operation, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Park does not teach an auto dispensing operation of regularly discharging the treatment liquid while the treatment liquid nozzle is in a waiting port, the auto dispensing operation being performed without the substrate treating operation being performed, wherein the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed during the auto dispensing operation.
Kim teaches a substrate treating method comprising the step of discharging a treatment liquid while the treatment liquid supply nozzle is waiting at a standby port located within the processing chamber (reads on “housing”) (see figure 2 of Kim) [0051] (the substrate treatment apparatus (figure 2, #300) is provided in the process chamber (figure 1, #260)), without the substrate treating operation being performed, wherein the standby port can be provided in a flow rate measuring unit [0065]. In addition, Kim teaches that a specific amount of the treatment liquid is discharged from the standby port before the treatment liquid is discharged onto the substrate, wherein the solidified treatment liquid that is adjacent to the discharge hole and the treatment liquid that may be mixed with foreign substances are removed from the treatment liquid nozzle [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Park with an auto dispensing operation of regularly discharging the treatment liquid while the treatment liquid nozzle is in a waiting port, wherein the auto dispensing operation being performed without the substrate treating operation being performed, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Kim teaches that it was known in the art to discharge a treatment liquid while the treatment liquid supply nozzle is waiting at a standby port located within the processing chamber, without the substrate treating operation being performed, wherein a specific amount of the treatment liquid is discharged from the standby port before the treatment liquid is discharged onto the substrate ([0065] of Kim).
Park/Kim does no teach that the negative pressure maintaining operation is simultaneously performed with the auto dispensing operation.
However, there are only three possibilities: a) the negative pressure maintaining operation is simultaneously performed with the auto dispensing operation, b) the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed before the auto dispensing operation, and c) the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed after the auto dispensing operation, and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to try the Park/Kim method wherein the negative pressure maintaining operation is simultaneously performed with the auto dispensing operation, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Park does not teach a negative pressure removing operation of forming a pressure of the interior space and a pressure of an exterior space to be the same, the exterior space being outside the housing.
Kikuchi teaches a substrate processing method (English translation [0001]). Kikuchi teaches that by ensuring that the pressure inside the processing tank becomes approximately the atmospheric pressure when substrates are inserted into or removed from the processing tank, it is possible to prevent gas from flowing out of the processing tank or gas from the outside from flowing into the processing tank (English translation [0018 and 0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Park/Kim with a negative pressure removing operation of forming a pressure of the interior space and a pressure of an exterior space to be the same, the exterior space being outside the housing, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Kikuchi teaches that by ensuring that the pressure inside the processing tank becomes approximately the atmospheric pressure when substrates are inserted into or removed from the processing tank, it is possible to prevent gas from flowing out of the processing tank or gas from the outside from flowing into the processing tank (English translation [0018 and 0060] of Kikuchi).
Regarding claim 19, Park/Kim/Kikuchi does not teach a maintaining operation of opening the housing to maintain the interior of the housing, wherein the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed before the maintaining operation is performed.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Park/Kim/Kikuchi with a maintaining operation of opening the housing to maintain the interior of the housing, wherein the negative pressure maintaining operation is performed before the maintaining operation is performed, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of ensuring optimal performance of the process chamber, extending the equipment lifespan and preventing or minimizing unexpected failures of the equipment, and for preventing the escape of particles or contaminants into the surrounding environment.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20210103866 to Park et al. (hereinafter “Park”) in view of US 2018/0185886 to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”), and in further view of KR20100059460 to Kang et al. (hereinafter “Kang”).
Regarding claim 7, Park/Kim does not teach an abnormality responding operation, wherein the abnormality responding operation includes, when a pressure of the interior space is higher than a pressure of the exterior space during the substrate treating operation, reducing the amount of descending airflow supplied to the interior space or blocking the descending airflow.
Kang teaches a method for adjusting the amount of airflow supplied to a process chamber (English translation, page 2, lines 9-10). Kang teaches that when the air flow is supplied to the chamber, it is checked whether the pressure in the chamber is changed through a sensor such as a differential pressure sensor, wherein when the pressure in the chamber changes, the sensor collects environmental information in the chamber as data and transmits the data to the main controller which transmits a control signal to the air volume control unit to minimize the pressure change in the chamber (English translation page 6, lines 15-21). Kang further teaches that according to the control signal the air volume adjusting unit varies the open area of the shutter and adjusts the amount of air flow supply to the chamber to minimize the pressure change in the chamber during the substrate treating process (English translation page 6, lines 22-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Park/Kim with an abnormality responding operation, wherein the abnormality responding operation includes, when a pressure of the interior space is higher than a pressure of the exterior space during the substrate treating operation, reducing the amount of descending airflow supplied to the interior space or blocking the descending airflow, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of maintaining the pressure inside the process chamber during the substrate treating operation, since Kang teaches that it was known in the art to adjust the supply amount of the airflow to the chamber according to a pressure change in the chamber to minimize an environment change in the chamber during a substrate processing method (English translation, page 6, lines 12-29 of Kang).
Regarding claim 8, Park/Kim/Kang further teaches that in the substrate treating operation, the treatment liquid is hydrochloric acid (reads on “toxic liquid”) (English translation [0029] of Park).
Regarding claim 9, Park/Kim/Kang further teaches that the airflow can be adjusted by blocking a path through which the descending airflow is introduced (English translation, page 3, lines 12-17, and page 5, lines 26-30 of Kang).
Regarding claim 10, Park/Kim/Kang further teaches that in the substrate treating operation, the substrate is treated with hydrochloric acid (English translation [0029] of Park).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20210103866 to Park et al. (hereinafter “Park”) in view of US 2018/0185886 to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”), and JP2003257925 to Kikuchi et al. (hereinafter “Kikuchi”), and in further view of KR20100059460 to Kang et al. (hereinafter “Kang”).
Regarding claim 20, Park/Kim/Kikuchi does not teach an abnormality responding operation of forming the pressure of the interior space to be lower than the pressure of the exterior space when a difference between the pressure of the interior space and the pressure of the exterior space is greater than 0 during the substrate treating operation, wherein the abnormality responding operation includes forming the pressure of the interior space to be low by blocking a path of airflow toward the interior space.
Kang teaches a method for adjusting the amount of airflow supplied to a process chamber (English translation, page 2, lines 9-10). Kang teaches that when the air flow is supplied to the chamber, it is checked whether the pressure in the chamber is changed through a sensor such as a differential pressure sensor, wherein when the pressure in the chamber changes, the sensor collects environmental information in the chamber as data and transmits the data to the main controller which transmits a control signal to the air volume control unit to minimize the pressure change in the chamber (English translation page 6, lines 15-21). Kang further teaches that according to the control signal the air volume adjusting unit varies the open area of the shutter and adjusts the amount of air flow supply to the chamber to minimize the pressure change in the chamber during the substrate treating process (English translation page 6, lines 22-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Park/Kim/Kikuchi with an abnormality responding operation of forming the pressure of the interior space to be lower than the pressure of the exterior space when a difference between the pressure of the interior space and the pressure of the exterior space is greater than 0 during the substrate treating operation, wherein the abnormality responding operation includes forming the pressure of the interior space to be low by blocking a path of airflow toward the interior space, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of maintaining the pressure inside the process chamber during the substrate treating operation, since Kang teaches that it was known in the art to adjust the supply amount of the airflow to the chamber according to a pressure change in the chamber to minimize an environment change in the chamber during a substrate processing method (English translation, page 6, lines 12-29 of Kang).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.I.R/Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714