DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2018/0233956 (Moussaoui).
Regarding claim 1, Moussaoui teaches a power transmitting device (Fig. 1 shows wireless power transmitting device 12) comprising:
a wireless power transfer coil (Fig. 1 shows coils 36 i.e. wireless power transfer coil) configured to transmit wireless power to a power receiving device (coils 36 configured to transmit wireless power to wireless power receiving device 10) [0036];
power transmitting circuitry (Fig. 1 shows wireless power transmitting circuitry 34) configured to receive an input voltage from a power adapter and to drive corresponding alternating-current (AC) signals through the wireless power transfer coil (wireless power transmitting circuitry 34 configured to receive an input voltage from AC power source 50 to switching circuit and to drive corresponding AC signals through coils 36) [0021-22]; and
control circuitry (Fig. 1 shows control circuitry 42) configured to: negotiate a target operating characteristic with the power receiving device (optimum operating settings are negotiated with wireless power receiving device 10) [0038]; and
direct the power adapter to adjust the input voltage based on the target operating characteristic (direct the switching circuitry and inverter 70 to adjust the input voltage from AC power source based on the target operating characteristics) [0028, 0039-40].
Regarding claim 2, Moussaoui teaches wherein the control circuitry (Fig. 1 shows control circuitry 42) is further configured to receive one or more messages from the power receiving device that indicate the target operating characteristic (wireless communication circuitry 58 in control circuitry 20 receive one or more messages from wireless power receiving device 10 that indicate the target operating characteristic) [0023-24, 0027].
Regarding claim 3, Moussaoui teaches wherein the power transmitting circuitry (Fig. 1 shows wireless power transmitting device 12) is configured to receive the input voltage adjusted based on the target operating characteristic and drive the AC signals through the wireless power transfer coil at the adjusted input voltage (wireless power transmitting device 12 configured to receive the input voltage adjusted based on the target operating characteristic and drive the AC signals through the coils 36 at the adjusted input voltage) [0023-26].
Regarding claim 4, Moussaoui teaches wherein: the target operating parameter comprises a target power mode selected from among a plurality of power modes (target operating parameter comprises a target wireless power modulation scheme among a plurality of power modulation schemes) [0037-0039];
a first power mode in the plurality of power modes comprises a power mode that is used when the power transmitting device begins transmitting wireless power to the power receiving device (a power scheme in the plurality of power schemes wherein the wireless power transmitting device begins transmitting wireless power to the wireless power receiving device) [0047]; and a second power mode in the plurality of power modes comprises a power mode that is negotiated by the power receiving device when a battery level at the power receiving device exceeds a first battery threshold (a power scheme in the plurality of power scheme comprise a power scheme that is negotiated by the wireless power receiving device when a battery level at the wireless power receiving device exceeds a first battery threshold) [0044, 0047].
Regarding claim 5, Moussaoui teaches wherein a third power mode in the plurality of power modes comprises a power mode that is negotiated by the power receiving device when the battery level at the power receiving device is below a second battery threshold (third power scheme in the plurality of power schemes comprises a power scheme that is negotiated by the wireless power receiving device when the battery level at the wireless power receiving device is below a second battery threshold) [0045-47, 0052-53].
Regarding claim 6, Moussaoui teaches further comprising: a rectifier coupled to the wireless power transfer coil (Fig. 2 shows rectifier circuitry 80 as part of circuitry 46 coupled to coils 36), wherein the target operating characteristic comprises a target rectifier voltage produced by the rectifier (target operating characteristics comprises a target rectifier voltage produced by rectifier 80) [0022, 0029] and wherein the control circuitry (Fig. 1 shows control circuitry 42) is further configured to adjust the input voltage to a first voltage level when the target rectifier voltage comprises a first value and adjust the input voltage to a second voltage level, different than the first voltage level, when the target rectifier voltage comprises a second value (control circuitry 42 adjusts the input voltage to a first value and adjust the input voltage to a second voltage level different than the first voltage level by changing the power transfer levels) [0022-23, 0028-30, 0037-38, 0052].
Regarding claim 7, Moussaoui teaches further comprising: a rectifier coupled to the wireless power transfer coil (Fig. 2 shows rectifier circuitry 80 as part of circuitry 46 coupled to coils 36), wherein the target operating characteristic comprises a target rectifier power produced by the rectifier (target operating characteristics comprises a target rectifier voltage produced by rectifier 80) [0022, 0029] and wherein the control circuitry (Fig. 1 shows control circuitry 42) is further configured to adjust the input voltage to a first voltage level when the target rectifier power comprises a first value and adjust the input voltage to a second voltage level, different than the first voltage level, when the target rectifier power comprises a second value (control circuitry 42 adjusts the input voltage to a first value and adjust the input voltage to a second voltage level different than the first voltage level by changing the power transfer levels) [0022-23, 0028-30, 0037-38, 0052].
Regarding claim 10, Moussaoui teaches a method of operating a power transmitting device (Fig. 1 shows wireless power transmitting device 12) coupled to a power adapter (Fig. 1 shows wireless power transmitting device 12 coupled to AC power source 50), the method comprising: negotiating a target operating characteristic with a power receiving device (negotiating a target operating characteristics with a wireless power receiving device 10) [0038];
directing the power adapter to deliver an input voltage having a voltage level that is based on the target operating characteristic (direct the switching circuitry and inverter 70 to adjust the input voltage from AC power source 50 based on the target operating characteristics) [0028, 0039-40], wherein the input voltage is delivered to one or more inputs of the power transmitting device (the input voltage is delivered to one or more inputs of the wireless power transmitting device 12) [0021]; and
with power transmitting circuitry (Fig. 1 shows wireless power transmitting circuitry34), transmitting wireless power to the power receiving device while the input voltage is being delivered to the one or more inputs of the power transmitting device (during operation of system 8, wireless power transmitting circuitry 34 transmitting wireless power to wireless power receiving device 10 while the input voltage is being delivered to the one or more inputs from AC power source 50 to wireless power transmitting device 12) [0021-23].
Regarding claim 11, Moussaoui teaches wherein negotiating the target operating characteristic with the power receiving device comprises receiving a packet from the power receiving device, the packet comprising the target operating characteristic [0027-0029].
Regarding claim 12, Moussaoui teaches wherein the target operating characteristic comprises one or more of: a target power mode, a target rectifier voltage, a target rectifier power, and a target rectifier current (target operating characteristics comprises a target rectifier voltage produced by rectifier 80) [0022, 0029].
Regarding claim 13, Moussaoui teaches wherein: the target power mode is selected from among a plurality of power modes (target operating parameter comprises a target wireless power modulation scheme among a plurality of power modulation schemes) [0037-0039]; a first power mode in the plurality of power modes comprises a power mode that is used when the power transmitting device begins transmitting wireless power to the power receiving device (a power scheme in the plurality of power schemes wherein the wireless power transmitting device begins transmitting wireless power to the wireless power receiving device) [0047]; and a second power mode in the plurality of power modes comprises a power mode that is negotiated by the power receiving device in response to detecting a first condition at the power receiving device (a power scheme in the plurality of power scheme comprise a power scheme that is negotiated by the wireless power receiving device when a battery level at the wireless power receiving device exceeds a first battery threshold) [0044, 0047].
Regarding claim 14, Moussaoui teaches wherein a third power mode in the plurality of power modes comprises a power mode that is negotiated by the power receiving device in response to detecting a second condition, different than the first condition, at the power receiving device (third power scheme in the plurality of power schemes comprises a power scheme that is negotiated by the wireless power receiving device when the battery level at the wireless power receiving device is below a second battery threshold) [0045-47, 0052-53].
Regarding claim 15, Moussaoui teaches further comprising: in response to determining that the target rectifier voltage has a first value, directing the power adapter to adjust the voltage level of the input voltage to a first voltage level (target operating characteristics comprises a target rectifier voltage produced by rectifier 80 having various voltage levels) [0022, 0029]; and in response to determining that the target rectifier voltage has a second value, directing the power adapter to adjust the voltage level of the input voltage to a second voltage level different than the first voltage level (control circuitry 42 adjusts the input voltage to a first value and adjust the input voltage to a second voltage level different than the first voltage level by changing the power transfer levels) [0022-23, 0028-30, 0037-38, 0052].
Regarding claim 16, Moussaoui teaches further comprising: in response to determining that the target rectifier power has a first value, directing the power adapter to adjust the voltage level of the input voltage to a first voltage level; and in response to determining that the target rectifier power has a second value, directing the power adapter to adjust the voltage level of the input voltage to a second voltage level different than the first voltage level (control circuitry 42 adjusts the input voltage to a first value and adjust the input voltage to a second voltage level different than the first voltage level by changing the power transfer levels) [0022-23, 0028-30, 0037-38, 0052].
Regarding claim 17, Moussaoui teaches a system (Fig. 1 shows system 8) comprising: a power receiving device (Fig. 1 shows wireless power receiving device 10); a power adapter (Fig. 1 shows AC power source 50); and a power transmitting device (Fig. 1 shows wireless power transmitting device 12) coupled to the power adapter (Fig. 1 shows AC power source 50), wherein the power transmitting device (Fig. 1 shows wireless power transmitting device 12) comprises: a wireless power transfer coil (Fig. 1 shows coils 36) configured to transmit wireless power to the power receiving device (Fig. 1 shows coil 36 configured to transmit wireless power to wireless power receiving device 10) [0021]; power transmitting circuitry (Fig. 1 shows wireless power transmitting circuitry 34) configured to receive an input voltage from the power adapter (Fig. 1 wireless power transmitting circuitry 34 receiving input voltage from AC power source 50) and to drive corresponding alternating-current (AC) signals through the wireless power transfer coil (wireless power transmitting circuitry 34 configured to receive an input voltage from switching circuit and to drive corresponding AC signals through coils 36) [0021-22]; and control circuitry (Fig. 1 shows control circuitry 42) configured to: receive information from the power receiving device [0024]; and direct the power adapter to adjust the input voltage based on the information received from the power receiving device (direct the switching circuitry and inverter 70 to adjust the input voltage from AC power source 50 based on the target operating characteristics) [0028, 0039-40].
Regarding claim 18, Moussaoui teaches wherein the information received from the power receiving device comprises a target operating characteristic selected from one or more of: a target power mode, a target rectifier voltage, a target rectifier power, and a target rectifier current (target operating characteristics comprises a target rectifier voltage produced by rectifier 80) [0022, 0029].
Regarding claim 19, Moussaoui teaches wherein: the target power mode is selected from among a plurality of power modes; a first power mode in the plurality of power modes comprises a power mode that is used when the power transmitting device begins transmitting wireless power to the power receiving device (a power scheme in the plurality of power schemes wherein the wireless power transmitting device begins transmitting wireless power to the wireless power receiving device) [0047]; a second power mode in the plurality of power modes comprises a power mode that is negotiated by the power receiving device in response to detecting a first condition at the power receiving device (a power scheme in the plurality of power scheme comprise a power scheme that is negotiated by the wireless power receiving device when a battery level at the wireless power receiving device exceeds a first battery threshold) [0044, 0047]; and a third power mode in the plurality of power modes comprises a power mode that is negotiated by the power receiving device in response to detecting a second condition, different than the first condition, at the power receiving device (control circuitry 42 adjusts the input voltage to a first value and adjust the input voltage to a second voltage level different than the first voltage level by changing the power transfer levels) [0022-23, 0028-30, 0037-38, 0052].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0233956 (Moussaoui) in view of US 12081046 (Rinaldi).
Regarding claim 8, Moussaoui does not teach further comprising: a boost converter coupled between the power adapter and the power transmitting circuitry and configured to boost the input voltage from the power adapter and to provide the boosted voltage to drive the corresponding alternating-current (AC) signals through the wireless power transfer coil.
However, Rinaldi teaches further comprising: a boost converter coupled between the power adapter and the power transmitting circuitry and configured to boost the input voltage from the power adapter and to provide the boosted voltage to drive the corresponding alternating-current (AC) signals through the wireless power transfer coil (boost converter coupled between the power input 302 i.e. power adapter and the TX coil 308 power transmitting circuitry and configured to boost the input voltage from the power adapter and to provide boosted voltage to drive the corresponding AC signals through the wireless power transfer coil) [Col 5 lines 25-35, 47-55].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising: a boost converter coupled between the power adapter and the power transmitting circuitry and configured to boost the input voltage from the power adapter and to provide the boosted voltage to drive the corresponding alternating-current (AC) signals through the wireless power transfer coil as taught by Rinaldi to ensure the power output from the coil to be optimized for versatility over a range of input voltages.
Claim(s) 9, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0233956 (Moussaoui) in view of US 12081046 (Rinaldi) further in view of US 2023/0305615 (Natarajan).
Regarding claim 9, Moussaoui does not teach wherein the power adapter comprises a Universal Serial Bus (USB) adapter configured to convert alternating-current (AC) mains electricity to the input voltage, wherein the input voltage comprises direct-current (DC) electricity, and wherein the power transmitting device is configured to send a USB Power Delivery compliant message to the power adapter for directing the power adapter to adjust the input voltage based on the target operating characteristic.
However, Rinaldi teaches wherein the power adapter comprises a Universal Serial Bus (USB) adapter [Col 1 lines 57-60], and wherein the power transmitting device is configured to send a USB Power Delivery compliant message to the power adapter for directing the power adapter to adjust the input voltage based on the target operating characteristic [Col 6 lines 15-20].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the power adapter comprises a Universal Serial Bus (USB) adapter and wherein the power transmitting device is configured to send a USB Power Delivery compliant message to the power adapter for directing the power adapter to adjust the input voltage based on the target operating characteristic as taught by Rinaldi in order to use the USB as a supported protocol to negotiate an extended range of supply power.
However, Natarajan teaches USB adapter configured to convert alternating-current (AC) mains electricity to the input voltage, wherein the input voltage comprises direct-current (DC) electricity (Fig. 8 shows USB type-C adapter 810 connected to wireless charging device 820) [0020, 0078-80].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have USB adapter configured to convert alternating-current (AC) mains electricity to the input voltage, wherein the input voltage comprises direct-current (DC) electricity as taught by Natarajan in order to support an adjustable delivery of power in a wireless charging environment.
Regarding claim 20, Moussaoui does not teach wherein the power adapter comprises a Universal Serial Bus (USB) adapter configured to convert alternating-current (AC) mains electricity to the input voltage, wherein the input voltage comprises direct-current (DC) electricity, and wherein the power transmitting device is configured to send a USB Power Delivery compliant message to the power adapter for directing the power adapter to adjust the input voltage based on the information received from the power receiving device.
However, Rinaldi teaches wherein the power adapter comprises a Universal Serial Bus (USB) adapter [Col 1 lines 57-60], and wherein the power transmitting device is configured to send a USB Power Delivery compliant message to the power adapter for directing the power adapter to adjust the input voltage based on the target operating characteristic [Col 6 lines 15-20].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the power adapter comprises a Universal Serial Bus (USB) adapter and wherein the power transmitting device is configured to send a USB Power Delivery compliant message to the power adapter for directing the power adapter to adjust the input voltage based on the target operating characteristic as taught by Rinaldi in order to use the USB as a supported protocol to negotiate an extended range of supply power.
However, Natarajan teaches USB adapter configured to convert alternating-current (AC) mains electricity to the input voltage, wherein the input voltage comprises direct-current (DC) electricity (Fig. 8 shows USB type-C adapter 810 connected to wireless charging device 820) [0020, 0078-80].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have USB adapter configured to convert alternating-current (AC) mains electricity to the input voltage, wherein the input voltage comprises direct-current (DC) electricity as taught by Natarajan in order to support an adjustable delivery of power in a wireless charging environment.
Conclusion
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836