Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6, 8-10, 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanni et al. (US Pub No. 2011/0228486 A1 and Lanni hereinafter) in view of Song et al (US Pub No. 2025/0227858 A1 and Song hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, Lanni discloses (figs. 1-9) a housing for a power device, comprising: a rigid and thermally non-conductive casing ([0019] and 22, 24) comprising at least two outer surfaces, each of the at least two outer surfaces (40) including a plurality of surface features (46) that extend between opposing edges of a respective outer surface, wherein dimensions of the plurality of surface features prevent a user from touching of a plurality of recessed surfaces recessed (annotated fig.8 below) from the plurality of surface features when the user grips the casing by the at least two outer surfaces ([0026]).
Lanni does not explicitly disclose a plurality of surface features that are interconnected with one another and that extend between opposing edges of a respective outer surface. However, Song (see annotated fig. 1 below) teaches a plurality of surface
features that are interconnected with one another and that extend between opposing edges of a respective outer surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a plurality of surface features that are interconnected with one another of Song to device of Lanni in order to improve the heat dissipation (Song, [0060])
Regarding Claim 2, Lanni/Song discloses the housing of claim 1. Lanni further discloses (figs. 1-9) wherein the casing comprises: a first cover (22) including a first outer surface of the at least two outer surfaces; and a second cover (24) securable to the first cover to form an enclosed area for accommodating the power device, the second cover including a second outer surface of the at least two outer surfaces (fig.3).
Regarding Claim 3, Lanni/Song discloses the housing of claim 2. Lanni further discloses (figs. 1-9) wherein the first cover includes: a first end including a first notch for accommodating a cable of the power device (10); and a second end opposite the first end and including a second notch for accommodating a socket (12) of the power device.
Regarding Claim 4, Lanni/Song discloses the housing of claim 3. Lanni further discloses (figs. 1-9) wherein the second cover includes: a first end including a first notch that aligns with the first notch of the first cover when the first cover is secured to the second cover to thereby accommodate the cable in the first notches; and a second end opposite the first end of the second cover and including a second notch that aligns with the second notch of the first cover when the first cover is secured to the second cover to thereby accommodate the socket in the second notches (see annotated fig.3).
Regarding Claim 5, Lanni/Song discloses the housing of claim 1. Lanni further discloses (figs. 1-9) wherein the of the plurality of surface features covers more than 80% of the respective outer surface (figs. 2 and fig. 6 and [0016] and [0027]) and L/Lf>95%)
Regarding Claim 6, Lanni/Song discloses the housing of claim 1. Lanni further discloses (figs. 1-9) wherein the plurality of surface features (46) are linear ribs that extend between the opposing edges of the respective outer surface (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 8, Lanni/Song discloses the housing of claim 7. Lanni further discloses (figs. 1-9) wherein the plurality of surface features form a lattice pattern (fig.7).
Regarding Claim 9, Lanni/Song discloses the housing of claim 8. Lanni further discloses (figs. 1-9) wherein the lattice pattern comprises interconnected shapes (fig.8).
Regarding Claim 10, Lanni/Song discloses the housing of claim 9. Lanni further discloses (figs. 1-9) wherein the interconnected shapes comprise circles, rectangles, or hexagons.
Regarding claim 14, Lanni/Song discloses the housing of claim 1. Lanni further discloses (figs. 1-9) wherein a ratio of a maximum dimension of each recessed surface to a height of each surface feature is less than 4.7 (Wa/Lp is equal to less than 2.5, [0025-0027]).
Regarding Claim 16, Lanni discloses (figs. 1-9) a system, comprising: a power device to convert an input signal to an output signal ([0016] and [0017]); and a housing (22 and 24) that houses the power device, the housing comprising a rigid and thermally non-conductive casing comprising at least two outer surfaces (40), each of the at least two outer surfaces including a plurality of surface features (46) that extend between opposing edges of a respective outer surface, wherein dimensions of the plurality of surface features prevent a user from touching of a plurality of recessed surfaces (see annotated fig above) recessed from the plurality of surface features when the user grips the casing by the at least two outer surfaces (fig. 8 and [0026]). Lanni does not explicitly disclose a plurality of surface features that are interconnected with one another and that extend between opposing edges of a respective outer surface. However, Song
(see annotated fig. 1 below) teaches a plurality of surface features that are interconnected with one another and that extend between opposing edges of a respective outer surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a plurality of surface features that are interconnected with one another of Song to device of Lanni in order to improve the heat dissipation (Song, [0060])
Regarding Claim 17, Lanni/Song discloses the system of claim 16. Lanni further discloses (figs. 1-9) wherein the input signal is an alternating current (AC) signal ([0016]).
Regarding Claim 18, Lanni/Song discloses the system of claim 17. Lanni further discloses (figs. 1-9) wherein the output signal is a direct current (DC) signal ([0016]).
Regarding Claim 19, Lanni discloses (figs. 1-9) a housing for a power device, comprising: a rigid first cover (22) including a first outer surface having a first plurality of surface features (46) that extend between opposing edges of the first outer surface; a rigid second cover (24) securable to the first cover to form an enclosed area for accommodating the power device, the second cover including a second outer surface having a second plurality of surface features (46) that extend between opposing edges of the second outer surface, wherein dimensions of the first and second pluralities of surface features prevent a user from touching of a plurality of recessed surfaces (see annotated fig above) recessed from the first and second pluralities of surface features when the user grips the housing by the first and second surfaces (fig. 8 and [0026]).
Lanni does not explicitly disclose a plurality of surface features that are interconnected with one another and that extend between opposing edges of a respective outer surface. However, Song (see annotated fig. 1 below) teaches a plurality of surface
features that are interconnected with one another and that extend between opposing edges of a respective outer surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a plurality of surface features that are interconnected with one another of Song to device of Lanni in order to improve the heat dissipation (Song, [0060])
Regarding Claim 20, Lanni/Song discloses the system of claim 19. Lanni further discloses (figs. 1-9) wherein the first cover and the second cover each include: a first notch for accommodating a cable of the power device; and a second notch for accommodating a socket of the power device (see annotated fig above).
Claims 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanni et al in view of Song et al in view of MATTHEWS et al (US Pub No. 2024/0373599 A1 and MATTHEWS hereinafter)
Regarding claims 11-13, Lanni/Song discloses the housing of claim 1. Lanni teaches wherein a maximum dimension each recessed surface Hp which is (0.5mm to 2 mm) which is smaller than the claimed limitation 7mm; wherein a height of each surface feature is (Hp and Tf) is 1mm which is smaller than the claimed limitation about 1.5mm; wherein a width of each surface feature is Wa is 1mm which is within the range of claimed limitations 1mm about 2.0 mm ([0026-0028]). However, MATTHEWS teaches (fig.10A) wherein a maximum dimension each recessed surface UU is 4 mm and wherein a height of each surface feature is 2 mm ([0122-0124]).
MPEP §2144.05-I states a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%).
Referring to MPEP § 2144.05, “…the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results over the prior art range.” (See also MPEP § 716.02 for a discussion of criticality and unexpected results.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of MATTHEWS with Lanni/Song to decrease or minimize the surface area that a user contacts during use of the housing may decrease or otherwise reduce a user's perceived sensation of high surface temperature and improves the user experience and/or the user's perception of the product (MATTHEWS, [0004]).
Regarding Claim 15, Lanni/Song discloses the housing of claim 1. Lanni teaches wherein a temperature difference between the plurality of recessed surfaces and the plurality of surface features is greater ([0024]) but fails to disclose that is 4.1%. However, MATTHEWS teaches ([0005]) that is hot temperature 45 degrees Celsius reduces to less than about 15-18 degrees Celsius on the touch surface which temperature difference is 3%.
MPEP §2144.05-I states a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%).
Referring to MPEP § 2144.05, “…the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results over the prior art range.” (See also MPEP § 716.02 for a discussion of criticality and unexpected results.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of MATTHEWS with Lanni/Song to decrease or minimize the surface area that a user contacts during use of the housing may decrease or otherwise reduce a user's perceived sensation of high surface temperature and improves the user experience and/or the user's perception of the product (MATTHEWS, [0004]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MATTHEWS et al (US 20240373599 A1) (figs. 4A-B) a plurality of surfaces features 404a
Shingai et al (US 11252307 B2) (figs. 3A-B) a plurality of surfaces features 210
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841