DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The claims filed on 12/04/2024 is entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. Claims 1-9 are currently pending in the instant application.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2019/033231 (filed on 08/26/2019). Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 08/27/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 12/04/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy accompanies this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12/04/2024 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2015059859 A1 (hereinafter Shirakawa) as evidence by an article to “Fractal dimension determination of sol-gel powders using transmission electron microscopy images” (hereinafter Dobrescu).
Claim Interpretation: the claimed invention is drawn to a spherical SiO powder doped with an element M (Li, Mg, Al, P, and B) and coated with a conductive carbon film (See claims 1, 4-6, and 8). The doped SiO powder having a fractal dimension of 1.03 to 1.50 determined and calculated by a fractal dimension analysis (See claim 1). It should be noted that the invention is drawn to the doped SiO powder product and not by the way the fractal dimension is determined and calculated.
Shirakawa discloses a powder for negative electrode for lithium ion secondary battery (See Abstract). The powder comprises a silicon oxide (SiO) powder doped with lithium and coated with carbon (See Abstract). Shirakawa discloses that the SiO powder having an adjusted median diameter D50 of 3.0-30 µm (See top of unlabeled page 5). The lithium dopant fulfills the claimed element M. Shirakawa also discloses a content ratio of 0.8g of lithium (LiH) to 8.8g of silicon oxide (SiO) powder (See middle of unlabeled page 5), equates to 0.8/8.8 = 0.09. This ratio is within and satisfy the claimed M/O ratio 0.05≤M/O≤1. The carbon coating of Shirakawa is a known electrical conductive material and forms a carbon film on the SiO power that fulfills the claimed electrically conductive carbon film. Shirakawa discloses that the carbon coating content is in a range of 6-10 mass% (See middle of unlabeled page 4).
Shirakawa discloses a carbon-coated lithium-doped SiO power having the same structure and particle diameter as the claimed spherical particular SiO power; therefore, the SiO powder of Shirakawa obviously have the same or substantially same properties as the claimed spherical particular SiO power, i.e., a fractal dimension analysis of 1.03 to 1.50. The USPTO is not equipped to perform laboratory testings and experimental benchworks to measure the properties of the resulting SiO power. The burden is on the applicant to prove otherwise.
Shirakawa does not explicitly disclose how the fractal dimension analysis was calculated and determined as recited in claim 1. However, it should be noted that the calculation and determination by fractal dimension analysis does not distinguish over the product.
Moreover, Dobrescu discloses a fractal dimension of silicon oxide (SiO2) power can be determine by fractal dimension analysis (See Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to determine the fractal dimension, as evident by Dobrescu, of silicon oxide powder of Shirakawa. Any minor modification necessary to meet the claimed limitations to determine the fractal dimension analysis of silicon oxide powder of Shirakawa would have been within the purview of the skilled artisan.
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
Conclusion
/KHANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761