DETAILED ACTION
This application is a CON of 18/46028, which is a CON of 17/694,474 PAT 11790559, which is a CON of 17/462,901 PAT 11276204. Claims 2-21 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/09/2025, 08/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6, 13, and 19-21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, and 7-12, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bivolarsky et al. (US 2011/0206119, hereafter "Bivolarsky").
Regarding claim 1, Bivolarsy teaches: A computer-implemented method for compressing sparse multidimensional ordered series data, the method comprising:
identifying a plurality of local regions in a multidimensional ordered series data, wherein the data in each local region comprise one or more indexed data sets, each indexed data set comprising an index (n) within a given local region of the sparse multidimensional ordered series data and one or more variables that are indexed by the index (n); ([0073]; [0085], "At Step S2, each block b0 . . . b23 in the frequency domain is assigned an index value derived from one or more of its frequency domain coefficients. For example, the index value may represent the energy of the block. E.g. this may comprise an aggregate over the coefficients of the block, such as a number of zero coefficients, number of non-zero coefficients, or an average or total value of the moduli of the coefficients in each block.")
determining that a level of related content is present between current local region data of current multidimensional ordered series data and corresponding previous local region data of a previous multidimensional ordered series data is (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; [0074], "That is, one or more metrics of a current target block to be encoded are compared to the corresponding metrics of a plurality of other blocks, and a reference block is selected based on a measure of similarity of those metrics.")
wherein the level of related content is considered higher or equal to the threshold if a majority of one or more variables as a function of one or more subsets of the index (n) exist in both the current local region data and the previous local region data;selecting one or more predictors that calculate each of the one or more variables as a function of the one or more subsets of the index (n); (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; [0074], "That is, one or more metrics of a current target block to be encoded are compared to the corresponding metrics of a plurality of other blocks, and a reference block is selected based on a measure of similarity of those metrics.")
adjusting the current local region data by subtracting a scaled predicted related content data based on the previous local region data when the level of related content is higher or equal to the threshold ([0188], "That is, the encoder estimates a local prediction of the scaling to be applied to the selected reference block, subtracts the frequency domain coefficients of the scaled reference block from those of the target block so as to generate a residual (in practice this may just involve comparing the coefficients from shifted positions within the block)")
And encoding the adjusted current local region data, including one or more corresponding scale factors, into a compressed stream. ([0188], "In the case where an estimation of the scaling factor is used in the encoding, the residual will represent only the difference between the scaled prediction and the actual target block, and will be even smaller so require even fewer bits to encode. That is, the encoder estimates a local prediction of the scaling to be applied to the selected reference block, subtracts the frequency domain coefficients of the scaled reference block from those of the target block so as to generate a residual (in practice this may just involve comparing the coefficients from shifted positions within the block), and then encodes the target block in the form of the residual, an indication of the scaling parameter, and an indication of the reference block. The signalled scaling parameter enables the decoder to determine the shift or transition to apply to the frequency domain coefficients of the reference block in order to recreate the predicted version. Adding the frequency domain residual at the decoder then recreates the target block. Alternatively, in a non-lossless case the residual may be omitted from the encoding and decoding altogether.")
Bivolarsky does not expressly disclose deterring the level of correlation to be higher or equal to a threshold.
However, since the reference bloc is used for predicting the current block, ensuring the level of correlation is higher than a certain value would be obvious to someone ordinarily skilled in the art. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person in the art to yield the invention described in claim 2 from the teachings of Bivolarsky.
Regarding claim 3, Bivolarsky discloses the method of claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein the multidimensional ordered series data is spectrographic data.
However, it is quite obvious that Bivolarsky's method is generic in nature, hence can be used for compressing spectrographic data. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to yield the invention as described in claim 3 from the teachings of Bivolarsky.
Regarding claim 4, Bivolarsky discloses the method of claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein the multidimensional ordered series data is mass spectrometry data
However, it is quite obvious that Bivolarsky's method is generic in nature, hence can be used for compressing spectrographic data. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to yield the invention as described in claim 3 from the teachings of Bivolarsky.
Regarding claim 5, Bivorlarsky teaches: The method of claim 4, wherein the level of related content is computed from a subset of related peaks present in the current local region data and at least one previous local region data. ([0151], "Further, the sort index need not necessarily be a measure of block energy. Another possibility would be a metric relating to the structure of the block, such as the structural similarity index (SSIM). In other embodiments, multiple metrics could be combined in order to determine the index used for sorting. Furthermore, once the list is sorted, aspects of the invention need not necessarily be limited to finding the best match from amongst the candidates based on bitrate contribution. Other second metrics could be used for this purpose, e.g. a more conventional motion based matching as used in H.264.")
Regarding claim 7, Bivorlarsky teaches: The method of claim 2, wherein an encoder encodes an identifier identifying at least one previous local region data. ([0104], "The identity of the reference block may be represented in the encoded bitstream as an absolute block location within a frame")
Regarding claim 8, Bivorlarsky teaches: The method of claim 2, further comprising processing the plurality of local regions in an order, wherein the steps of selecting the one or more predictors, adjusting the current local region data and encoding the adjusted current local region data are repeated for each local region in the order. ([0120], "Start e.g. with the first block in the current frame/slice in the raster-scan order…")
Regarding claim 9, Bivorlarsky teaches: The method of claim 8, wherein the order is a scan order or raster-scan order. ([0120], "Start e.g. with the first block in the current frame/slice in the raster-scan order…")
Regarding claim 10, Bivorlarsky teaches: The method of claim 8, wherein the order is selected from an order having a highest related content level. ([0119], "The search for the optimal predictor can be made computationally more efficient by pre-ordering the candidates such that potential good candidates are located in the proximity of a specific position in an ordered array")
Regarding claim 11, Bivorlarsky teaches: The method of claim 2, wherein the multidimensional ordered series data is image data. (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 12, Bivorlarsky teaches: The method of claim 11, wherein the level of related content is computed from a subset of related image features present in the current local region data and the at least one previous local region data. ([0151], "Further, the sort index need not necessarily be a measure of block energy. Another possibility would be a metric relating to the structure of the block, such as the structural similarity index (SSIM). In other embodiments, multiple metrics could be combined in order to determine the index used for sorting. Furthermore, once the list is sorted, aspects of the invention need not necessarily be limited to finding the best match from amongst the candidates based on bitrate contribution. Other second metrics could be used for this purpose, e.g. a more conventional motion based matching as used in H.264.")
Claims 14-16 have been analyzed and are rejected for the reasons outlined above regarding claims 2-5 respectively.
Regarding claim 17, Bivorlarsky teaches: The system of claim 14, further comprising dividing the multidimensional ordered series data into the plurality of local regions, wherein the plurality of local regions are overlapping local regions. (Fig. 14(a); [0212], “Say now that the pixel grid is offset right by approximately half a pixel and down by approximately half a pixel, either because the camera moves slightly or because the scene or object being captured moves relative to the camera. If this movement is known or can be estimated, then it is possible to reconstruct a higher resolution image by superimposing the values captured from the two offset grids. In the example of FIG. 14a this results in four "super-resolution" pixels A, B, C and D for each actual physical pixel of the camera's sensor array. Each super-resolution pixel value may be determined for example by interpolating between the two overlapping real pixel values which contribute to it.”)
Regarding claim 18, Bivorlarsky teaches: The system of claim 14, further comprising dividing the multidimensional ordered series data into the plurality of local regions, wherein the plurality of local regions are non-overlapping local regions. (Fig. 1)
Double Patenting
Claim 2-3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 2024/0070923 A1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The patent claims 8 include all of the instant applications claims 2-3. The instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and therefore not patentably distinct.
Conclusion
/JINSU HWANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2667 /MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667