Detailed Action
This office action is for US application number 18/969,046 evaluates the claims as filed on April 17, 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejections in this office action have been amended to address the amended claims. Examiner asserts that Lee, Briggs, Hoegerle, and Judet teach all the newly-amended limitations and are capable of performing the functions as claimed. Examiner directs Applicant to the rejection below for a more in-depth description of the limitations.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that Lee fails to disclose the claimed cannulated barrels and the office action relies on Hoegerle which fails to teach the slotted primary barrel (Remarks p. 6-7), Examiner notes that Hoegerle is relied upon to teach the cannulated barrels for the supplemental screws. With regards to the cannulated barrel for the primary fixation element, Lee discloses a primary hole (324, 321, Fig. 4) that receives the primary fixation element (44), which is also received by a corresponding plate hole (341, 344, Fig. 4, ¶s 20 and 21) on an opposing side of bone (Fig. 4, ¶s 20 and 21). Further, each of these holes receive an additional screw (36, ¶s 20 and 21) after the primary fixation element is removed (¶s 20 and 21) and so these holes have a cross-sectional shape of a circle with sharp notches (324, 344, Fig. 4, ¶s 20 and 21). Briggs teaches adding a barrel (17) to the plate hole to enclose a primary fixation element (16, col. 3 lines 6-10), effect a strong gripping action (col. 4 lines 13-16), and prevent rotation of a proximal bone fragment (col. 4 lines 42-57). Thus, the combination discloses a primary barrel (Briggs 17) that is slotted (Lee 324, 344) as part of its shape to match the fixation elements (Lee 441, 36) that are inserted therethrough (Lee Fig. 4, ¶s 20 and 21) as claimed.
In order to advance prosecution, Examiner suggests amending to claim the shape of the intended slot as shown in Fig. 2B.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a primary fixation element” in claim 1 line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 11 recites/recite the limitation "the primary fixation device" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “the primary fixation element” in line 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 9-12, 15, 19, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2013/0096630, hereinafter “Lee”) in view of Briggs (US 2,621,653) and Hoegerle et al. (US 2008/0119855, hereinafter Hoegerle”).
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a device (30, Fig. 4) capable of bone fracture fixation (¶s 8 and 21 discloses bone fracture fixation) comprising: a plate (32), a primary fixation element (44), at least one supplemental screw (upper 36s as shown in Fig. 4, Fig. 4, ¶21), and at least one positioning screw (lower 36s as shown in Fig. 4, Fig. 4, ¶21); wherein the plate tapers at an end (Fig. 4) and is further configured with at least one hole (321s) capable of receiving the at least one positioning screw (Fig. 4, ¶21); and wherein the plate is capable of conforming to a bone for fixation (Fig. 4, ¶16, 17, 20, and 21, i.e. shown in Fig. 2 for an alternate embodiment), capable of insertion without open exposure of a fracture site (in as much as Applicant’s, Fig. 4), and capable of receiving the primary fixation element and the at least one supplemental screw (Fig. 4, ¶21), wherein the plate comprises at least two threaded supplemental holes (321s/121s for 36s/16s shown having threads in Fig. 4, e.g. “first inner threads 122” of ¶18, Fig. 4, ¶s 18 and 20; where ¶20 discloses substantial similarity to the first embodiment, i.e. of Figs. 1-3) capable of receiving the at least one supplemental screw (Figs. 3 and 4, ¶s 18 and 20), the plate further comprising a primary hole (324, 321, Fig. 4) capable of receiving the primary fixation element (Fig. 4, ¶21), wherein the primary hole is inserted is of a larger diameter (Fig. 4) and positioned more centrally than the at least two threaded supplemental holes (Fig. 4), and wherein the primary hole is slotted (324s, Fig. 4, ¶21; where ¶21 discloses that 324s and 344s are sharp notches, where slotted has been interpreted as “a narrow opening or groove : slit, notch” (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/slotted) capable of matching an outer morphology of the primary fixation element (Fig. 4, ¶s 20 and 21) such that the primary fixation element is capable of translating freely along the axis of the primary hole without angulation or rotation (Fig. 4, ¶s 20 and 21); wherein the primary fixation element is capable of engaging a corresponding plate hole on an opposing side of bone (341, 344, Fig. 4, ¶s 20 and 21). As to claim 3, Lee discloses that the bone that the plate is capable of conforming to is a calcar of a femur (Fig. 4, ¶8) and the device is further capable of affixing in a pertrochanteric region (Fig. 4, ¶8). As to claim 5, Lee discloses that the primary fixation element is capable of terminating within a distance to an end of the bone (Fig. 4, ¶21). As to claim 7, Lee discloses that the primary fixation element is capable of preventing rotation (due to the triangular shape, Fig. 4, ¶21). As to claim 9, Lee discloses that the primary barrel, is further configured with a geometry to prevent rotation (due to the triangular shape, Fig. 4, ¶s 20 and 21). As to claim 10, Lee discloses that the device is capable of being positioned proximal to a calcar (Fig. 4, ¶8). As to claim 11, Lee discloses that the device is further capable of preventing caudal displacement of a femoral head and femoral neck after insertion of the primary fixation device (Fig. 4, ¶8). As to claim 12, Lee discloses that at least one of the at least one supplemental screws and the at least one positioning screws comprises a locking or nonlocking bone screw (as defined, Fig. 4, ¶21). As to claim 15, Lee discloses that the at least one supplemental screw are further capable of being angulated to be positioned capable of fixation across a fracture (Fig. 4). As to claim 19, Lee discloses that the device is configured so that a fracture cannot compress more than a set distance once the device is affixed (due to the screws connecting to both plate 32 and plate 34 as disclosed in ¶21, Fig. 4, ¶21). As to claim 23, Lee discloses that the primary fixation element is capable of coupling to a jig (due to the shape of 441, Fig. 4) capable of use for alignment and insertion (if one so chooses to use such a jig, Fig. 4).
Lee is silent to the primary hole and the at least two threaded supplemental holes configured with a plurality of cannulated barrels that extend distally and the plurality of cannulated barrels are configured to receive the primary fixation element and the at least one supplemental screw. As to claim 9, Lee is silent to the primary barrel is further configured with a geometry to prevent rotation. As to claim 10, Lee is silent to the primary barrel is further configured to be angulated. As to claim 15, Lee is silent to the at least two supplementary barrels are further configured to be angulated so that the at least one supplemental fixation screw is positioned for fixation across a fracture.
Briggs teaches a similar device (Figs. 3, 5, 7, and 8) capable of bone fracture fixation (Fig. 3, col. 3lines 39-43 and 59-61) comprising: a plate (19), a primary fixation element (16), at least one supplemental screw (upper 21s as shown in Fig. 3, Fig. 3), and at least one positioning screw (lower 21s as shown in Fig. 3, Fig. 3); wherein the plate is further configured with at least one hole (20s) capable of receiving the at least one positioning screw (Fig. 3); wherein the plate is capable of conforming to a bone for fixation (col. 3 lines 21-22), capable of insertion without open exposure of a fracture site (in as much as Applicant’s, Fig. 3), and capable of receiving the primary fixation element and the at least one supplemental screw (Fig. 3); wherein the plate is further configured with a cannulated barrel (17) that extends distally (Fig. 3) and the cannulated barrel is capable of receiving the primary fixation element (Fig. 3); and the cannulated barrel is a primary barrel (Fig. 3) that is capable of receiving the primary fixation element (Fig. 3), wherein the primary barrel is inserted is of a larger diameter than at least two of positioning screws (Figs. 3, 5, 7, and 8), and wherein the primary barrel is slotted (Fig. 7, col. 4 lines 40-46 discloses that the space between ribs 26/27 is adapted for the primary fixation element) capable of matching an outer morphology of the primary fixation element (Figs. 3, 5, 7, and 8) such that the primary fixation element is capable of translating freely along the axis of the primary barrel without angulation or rotation (Figs. 3, 5, 7, and 8). As to claim 9, Briggs teaches that the primary barrel is further configured with a geometry to prevent rotation (Fig. 7, col. 4 lines 42-57). As to claim 10, Briggs teaches that the primary barrel is further capable of being angulated (Fig. 3, col. 3 lines 60-65) and positioned proximal to a calcar (Fig. 3). As to claim 11, Briggs teaches that the primary barrel is further capable of preventing caudal displacement of a femoral head and femoral neck after insertion of the primary fixation element (Fig. 3).
Hoegerle teaches a similar device (Figs. 1-3) capable of bone fracture fixation (Fig. 1) comprising: a plate (3), a primary fixation element (7 of the lower right 5 as shown in Fig. 2, Fig. 2, ¶22), at least one supplemental screw (7s, Figs. 1-3, ¶22), and at least one positioning screw (4s, Fig. 1, ¶22); wherein the plate tapers at an end (Fig. 2) and is further configured with at least one hole (Figs. 1 and 2, ¶30) capable of receiving the at least one positioning screw (Figs. 1 and 2, ¶30); wherein the plate is capable of conforming to a bone for fixation (Fig. 1), capable of insertion without open exposure of a fracture site (in as much as Applicant’s, Fig. 1), and capable of receiving the primary fixation element and the at least one supplemental screw (Fig. 1); wherein the plate is further configured with a plurality of cannulated barrels (6s, Figs. 1 and 2, ¶s 22 and 23) that extend distally (Fig. 1) and the plurality of cannulated barrels are capable of receiving the primary fixation element (Figs. 1 and 2, ¶s 22 and 23) and the at least one supplemental screw (Figs. 1 and 2, ¶s 22 and 23); and a primary barrel of the plurality of cannulated barrels (Fig. 1, ¶s 22 and 23) capable of receiving the primary fixation element (Fig. 1, ¶s 22 and 23), wherein the primary barrel is positioned more centrally than at least two of the plurality of cannulated barrels (as defined, Figs. 1 and 2); wherein the plate comprises at least two threaded supplemental holes (upper 5s and lower left 5 as shown in Fig. 2, Fig. 2, ¶22) capable of receiving the at least one supplemental screw (Figs. 1 and 2, ¶s 22 and 23), the plate further comprising a primary hole (324, 321, Fig. 4) capable of receiving the primary fixation element (lower right 5 as shown in Fig. 2, Fig. 2, ¶22). As to claim 15, Hoegerle teaches that the at least two supplementary barrels are further capable of being angulated (Figs. 1 and 2) so that the at least one supplemental fixation screw is positioned for fixation across a fracture (Fig. 1). As to claim 19, Hoegerle teaches that that the device is configured so that a fracture cannot compress more than a set distance once the device is affixed (due annular step 11 and thread 15 as disclosed in ¶25, Figs. 1 and 2, ¶25).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the plate portion of the primary hole as disclosed by Lee by adding a primary barrel configured to receive the primary fixation element as taught by Briggs in order to enclose a portion of the primary fixation element (col. 3 lines 6-10), effect a strong gripping action (col. 4 lines 13-16), and prevent rotation of a proximal bone fragment (col. 4 lines 42-57) to aid in accurate alignment of the primary hole and a corresponding plate hole on an opposing side of bone (Lee Fig. 4, ¶20 and 21). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the at least two threaded supplemental holes as disclosed by Lee with by adding a plurality of cannulated barrels configured to receive the at least one supplemental screw as taught by Hoegerle in order to secure two bone fragments relative to one another (¶s 30 and 31) while permitting a first bone fragment to be moved slightly in the direction towards a second bone fragment when the bone is stressed so that growth of the bone can be stimulated as a result of this slight movement and the additional stressing connected therewith in the contact area of the two bone fragments (Hoegerle ¶31).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Briggs, and Hoegerle in view of Judet et al. (US 5,591,168, hereinafter “Judet”).
As to claim 16, the combination of Lee, Briggs, and Hoegerle discloses invention of claim 1 as well as the tapered end of the plate is capable of being contoured to match the bone (Figs. 2-4, ¶20 discloses substantially similar construction with the first embodiment of Figs. 1-3).
The combination of Lee, Briggs, and Hoegerle is silent to the plate is malleable, the plate is silent to material properties of the plate.
Judet teaches a similar device (Figs. 1-5) capable of bone fracture fixation (Fig. 3, abstract) comprising: a plate (1a), a primary fixation element (lower 3 as shown in Fig. 3, Fig. 3), at least one supplemental screw (upper 3 as shown in Fig. 3, Fig. 3), and at least one positioning screw (“screw” of col. 3 line 9 for positioning within 1b as shown in Fig. 3, Fig. 3, col. 2 lines 3-4, col. 3 lines 7-10); wherein the plate tapers at an end (Fig. 3) and is further configured with at least one hole (1bs) capable of receiving the at least one positioning screw (Fig. 3, col. 2 lines 3-4, col. 3 lines 7-10); and wherein the plate is capable of conforming to a bone for fixation (Fig. 3, col. 2 lines 5-8), capable of use for insertion without open exposure of a fracture site (in as much as Applicant’s, Fig. 3), and capable of receiving the primary fixation element and the at least one supplemental screw (Fig. 3); wherein the plate is further configured with a plurality of cannulated barrels (1ds, Figs. 1-3, col. 2 lines 9-11) that extend distally (Figs. 1-3) and the plurality of cannulated barrels are capable of receiving the primary fixation element and the at least one supplemental screw (Fig. 3), wherein the primary barrel is positioned more centrally than at least one of the plurality of cannulated barrels (as defined, Fig. 3); wherein the bone that the plate is capable of conforming to is a calcar of a femur (Fig. 3) and the device is further capable of affixing in a pertrochanteric region (Fig. 3); the primary fixation element is capable of terminating within a distance to an end of the bone (Fig. 3); the plurality of cannulated barrels is capable of receiving the primary fixation element (Fig. 3) and is further capable of being angulated and positioned proximal to a calcar (Fig. 3); the plurality of cannulated barrels capable of receiving the supplemental screw (Fig. 3) and is further capable of being angulated so that the supplemental fixation screw is positioned capable of fixation across a fracture (Fig. 3); wherein the plate is malleable (col. 3 lines 20-22 disclose construction of stainless steel or any other bio-compatible material performing a perfect function and safety) and the tapered end of the plate is capable of being contoured to match the bone (Fig. 3, col. 3 lines 20-22).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to specify the material of the plate as disclosed by the combination of Lee, Briggs, and Hoegerle to be malleable as taught by Judet in order to select a known material construction of stainless steel or any other bio-compatible material performing a perfect function and safety (Judet col. 3 lines 20-22) so that appropriate plate portions are correctly located on the bone epiphysis (Lee Figs. 2-4, ¶s 16 and 20; where ¶20 discloses substantially similar construction with the first embodiment of Figs. 1-3).
As to claim 17, the combination of Lee, Briggs, and Hoegerle discloses invention of claim 1 as well as the plate is capable of angulation of the plurality of cannulated barrels (Lee Figs. 2-4, ¶20 discloses substantially similar construction with the first embodiment of Figs. 1-3; Briggs Figs. 3; Hoegerle Figs. 1 and 2).
The combination of Lee, Briggs, and Hoegerle is silent to the plate is malleable, the plate is silent to material properties of the plate.
Judet teaches a similar device (Figs. 1-5) capable of bone fracture fixation (Fig. 3, abstract) comprising: a plate (1a), a primary fixation element (lower 3 as shown in Fig. 3, Fig. 3), at least one supplemental screw (upper 3 as shown in Fig. 3, Fig. 3), and at least one positioning screw (“screw” of col. 3 line 9 for positioning within 1b as shown in Fig. 3, Fig. 3, col. 2 lines 3-4, col. 3 lines 7-10); wherein the plate tapers at an end (Fig. 3) and is further configured with at least one hole (1bs) capable of receiving the at least one positioning screw (Fig. 3, col. 2 lines 3-4, col. 3 lines 7-10); and wherein the plate is capable of conforming to a bone for fixation (Fig. 3, col. 2 lines 5-8), capable of use for insertion without open exposure of a fracture site (in as much as Applicant’s, Fig. 3), and capable of receiving the primary fixation element and the at least one supplemental screw (Fig. 3); wherein the plate is further configured with a plurality of cannulated barrels (1ds, Figs. 1-3, col. 2 lines 9-11) that extend distally (Figs. 1-3) and the plurality of cannulated barrels are capable of receiving the primary fixation element and the at least one supplemental screw (Fig. 3), wherein the primary barrel is positioned more centrally than at least one of the plurality of cannulated barrels (as defined, Fig. 3); wherein the bone that the plate is capable of conforming to is a calcar of a femur (Fig. 3) and the device is further capable of affixing in a pertrochanteric region (Fig. 3); the primary fixation element is capable of terminating within a distance to an end of the bone (Fig. 3); the plurality of cannulated barrels is capable of receiving the primary fixation element (Fig. 3) and is further capable of being angulated and positioned proximal to a calcar (Fig. 3); the plurality of cannulated barrels capable of receiving the supplemental screw (Fig. 3) and is further capable of being angulated so that the supplemental fixation screw is positioned capable of fixation across a fracture (Fig. 3); wherein the plate is malleable (col. 3 lines 20-22 disclose construction of stainless steel or any other bio-compatible material performing a perfect function and safety) and capable of angulation of the plurality of cannulated barrels (Fig. 3).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to specify the material of the plate as disclosed by the combination of Lee, Briggs, and Hoegerle to be malleable as taught by Judet in order to select a known material construction of stainless steel or any other bio-compatible material performing a perfect function and safety (Judet col. 3 lines 20-22) so that appropriate plate portions are correctly located on the bone epiphysis (Lee Figs. 2-4, ¶s 16 and 20; where ¶20 discloses substantially similar construction with the first embodiment of Figs. 1-3).
Conclusion
/AMY R SIPP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775