DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 12, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings have been considered and accepted by the examiner.
Specification
The title, abstract, and specification have been considered and accepted by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 7-11, and 15-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,182,420. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they would be anticipated by the claims of the ‘420 patent.
Present Application
US 12,182,420
1. A method comprising:
detecting a condition in an input/output (I/O) stream between a virtual machine and a backup system that stores a snapshot of the virtual machine, wherein the condition causes the backup system to become out-of-sync with the virtual machine;
activating, in accordance with detecting the condition, a resynchronization mode for the virtual machine;
updating, in accordance with the resynchronization mode, a bitmap that is configured to document changed data blocks resulting from writes to a virtual disk of the virtual machine;
transmitting, to a log receiver service of the backup system, the changed data blocks documented via the bitmap to support resynchronization of the backup system,
1. (…)
based at least in part on a condition of the intercepted I/O stream or the replicated I/O stream:
6. (…) wherein the condition comprises an interruption or discontinuity associated with the I/O stream, an interruption or discontinuity associated with the replicated I/O stream, or both…
7. (…) based at least in part on an I/O filter switching to a resynchronization mode from a synchronization mode.
2. (…) modifying, in response to a data block of the plurality of data blocks being changed, a corresponding bit within the at least one bitmap to indicate that the data block is changed.
3. (…) transmitting data of the changed data blocks to a log receiver service for resynchronization of the recoverable log chain.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein updating the bitmap comprises:
modifying, in response to a data block of a plurality of data blocks being changed, a corresponding bit within the bitmap to indicate that the data block is changed.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
(…)
modifying, in response to a data block of a plurality of data blocks being changed, a corresponding bit within the bitmap to indicate that the data block is changed.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
maintaining, based at least in part on activating the resynchronization mode, a buffer that is configured to read data of the changed data blocks of the virtual machine and transmit the data of the changed data blocks to the log receiver service for the resynchronization mode.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: (…)
Maintaining a second buffer that reads modified data of the modified data blocks of the computing object and transmits the modified data to a log receiver service for resynchronization of the recoverable log chain.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein detecting the condition comprises:
detecting an interruption or discontinuity associated with the I/O stream that results in the backup system becoming out-of-sync with the virtual machine, wherein the resynchronization mode is activated based at least in part on detecting the interruption or discontinuity.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the condition comprises an interruption or discontinuity with the I/O stream, an interruption or discontinuity associated with the replicated I/O stream, or both.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
filtering, using an I/O filter, the I/O stream to identify the changed data blocks in accordance with the resynchronization mode, wherein the bitmap is updated based at least in part the filtering.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the intercepted I/O stream is filtered to identify changed data blocks based at least in part on an I/O filter switching to a resynchronization mode from a synchronization mode.
Claims 9-11 and 15-17 are directed to an apparatus and non-transitory computer readable medium embodiments of the method of claims 1-3 and would thus be obvious over the same claims as well as corresponding apparatus and medium claims of the ‘420 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-11, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PGPub 2015/0007172 to Hudzia et al. (“Hudzia”).
Regarding claims 1, Hudzia discloses a method comprising:
detecting a condition in an input/output stream between a virtual machine and a backup system that stores a snapshot of the virtual machine (see fig. 1 and paragraphs 21-27, physical server 112 at a second location stores checkpoint copies of virtual machine 102), wherein the condition causes the backup system to become out-of-sync with the virtual machine (see paragraph 37, a checkpoint trigger monitor is configured to detect I/O operations as conditions for checkpointing);
activating, in accordance with detecting the condition, a resynchronization mode for the virtual machine (see paragraph 38, the checkpoint trigger causes a pause manager to pause the vCPUs to perform an incremental checkpoint);
updating, in accordance with the resynchronization mode, a bitmap that is configured to document changed data blocks resulting from active writes to a virtual disk of the virtual machine (see paragraph 41, during a checkpointing operation, a dirty bitmap is generated to indicate pages that have been altered since the last checkpoint); and
transmitting, to a log receiver service of the backup system, the changed data blocks documented via the bitmap to support resynchronization of the backup system (see paragraph 43, the transfer manager 136 commences transfer of identified dirtied memory pages).
Regarding claim 9, Hudzia discloses an apparatus comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operatable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to perform the method of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Hudzia discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to perform the method of claim 1.
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 16, Hudzia discloses the method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein updating the bitmap comprises modifying, in response to a data block of a plurality of data blocks being changed, a corresponding bit within the bitmap to indicate that the data block is changed (see paragraph 41, the dirty bit bitmap generator 130 generates a bitmap representation showing the modified pages).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 17, Hudzia discloses the method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer-readable medium, further comprising:
maintaining, based at least in part on activating the resynchronization mode, a buffer that is configured to read data of the changed data blocks of the virtual machine and transmit the data of the changed data blocks to the log receiver service for the resynchronization mode (see paragraph 47, buffer 134 is used to perform copy-on-write to transfer the dirty page that is about to be subsequently altered by an ongoing operation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 12-14, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose or suggest activating, in accordance with the bitmap indicating that no changed data blocks remain at the virtual machine, a data synchronization mode for the virtual machine and sending disk writes associated with the virtual machine to the log receiver service in accordance with the data synchronization mode.
Conclusion
/DANIEL D TSUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2132