DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-10, 13-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rubenchik et al. (US 2010/0276547; “Rubenchik”).
Regarding claim 1, Rubenchik teaches a system (figures 2, 5) for solar energy harvesting (para. [0056]), the system comprising:
a first light emitting device (first diode of the diode array 60 of laser system 30; para. [0035], [0056]) located on a space apparatus (see space apparatus in figure 2) that is capable of operating outside an atmosphere of Earth (38 in figure 2);
a second light emitting device (second diode of the diode array 60 of laser system 30; para. [0035], [0056]) located on the space apparatus; and
a controller (Para. [0041] teaches the laser system producing “a laser beam that is directed to the receiver stations on Earth.”) configured to cause the first and second light emitting devices (of diode array 60; para [0035], [0056]) to illuminate a multi-junction photovoltaic cell (Para. [0044] and [0056] teach photovoltaic panels receiving the laser beam from the space apparatus. Also, para. [0041] teaches “the receiver, which can be, … of the same type as discussed above. Earlier para. [0032]-[0033] teach the photovoltaic panels comprising multi-junction solar cell arrays.) located on Earth (38 in figure 2) when sunlight is at least partially prevented from reaching the multi-junction photovoltaic cell (Similar to the instant invention, Rubenchik utilizes lasers to transmit energy from a space apparatus to a multi-junction photovoltaic cell on Earth even when sunlight is at least partially prevented from reaching the multi-junction photovoltaic cell.), wherein each of the first and second light emitting devices shares an aperture (Laser system 30 in figure 2), and
wherein illumination of the multi-junction photovoltaic cell causes the multi- junction photovoltaic cell to produce electric power (As discussed above, para. [0032]-[0033] teach multi-junction PV cells. Para. [0044] and [0056] teach PV cells generating electricity from space-based lasers.).
As for claim 3, Rubenchik, teaches wherein the first light emitting device is configured to illuminate the multi-junction photovoltaic cell via reflection of sunlight (Para. [0030] and [0033] teach solar reflectors.).
As for claim 4, Rubenchik teaches wherein the first light emitting device is a laser (Para. [0035], [0056] teach diode arrays.).
Regarding claim 5, Rubenchik teaches wherein the laser is one of a solid-state laser, a gas laser, a liquid laser, a semiconductor laser (diode laser; para. [0035], [0056]), a krypton-argon laser, a gallium arsenide laser, an indium laser, a helium—neon laser, an argon laser, a krypton laser, a xenon ion laser, a nitrogen laser, a carbon dioxide laser, a carbon monoxide laser, an excimer laser, a hydrogen fluoride laser, a deuterium fluoride laser, a chemical oxygen-iodine laser, an all gas-phase iodine laser, or a strained quantum-well AlGaInP laser.
As for claims 6 and 7, Rubenchik teaches wherein the controller is further configured to select a first drive current for the first light emitting device that yields a first photon flux based at least in part on the first drive current (Para. [0041] teaches driving the laser system. A laser diode inherently generates a photon flux based on a drive current.).
Regarding claim 9, Rubenchik teaches a second multi-junction photovoltaic cell located on the space apparatus (para. [0032]-[0033]), wherein the second multi-junction photovoltaic cell is configured to generate second electric power from sunlight (para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 10, Rubenchik teaches wherein the first and second light emitting devices are configured to use the second electric power to emit light (para. [0041]).
As for claim 13, Rubenchik teaches wherein the multi-junction photovoltaic cell is a series-connected multi-junction photovoltaic cell such that each layer of the multi-junction photovoltaic cell is connected electrically in series (This is the definition of a multi-junction PV cell.).
Regarding claims 14 and 16-19, the methods as recited in the claims are inherently present in the structure discussed above in the rejection of claims 1, 3, 4, 9, and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubenchik in view of Sato (US 2020/0303964; reference of record).
Regarding claim 8, Rubenchik teaches the system of Claim 1, as detailed above, but fails to teach wherein the first and second light emitting devices are configured to emit light at different wavelengths.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to transmit power with a laser system comprising lasers with different wavelengths. For example, see figure 1 and para. [0025]-[0027] of Sato.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize lasers with different wavelengths in the system of Rubenchik because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known laser configuration for power transmission.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubenchik in view of Yap (US 10,824,049).
Regarding claim 11, Rubenchik teaches the system of Claim 1, as detailed above, but fails to teach wherein a beam of each of the first and second light emitting devices is combined using a grating combiner.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to combine outputs of a laser array with a grating combiner. For example, see lasers 124 and grating combiner 126 in figure 6 of Yap.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a grating combiner in the laser system of Rubenchik because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known laser combining configuration.
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubenchik in view of Gilliland et al. (US 6,108,114; “Gilliland”; reference of record).
Regarding claim 12, Sato teaches the system of Claim 1, as detailed above, but fails to teach wherein the controller is further configured to disable power to the first light emitting device based at least in part on a determination that the first light emitting device is not emitting light.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to disable a laser when a fault is detected in the laser. For example, see col. 1, lines 55-59 of Gilliland.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disable a laser of Rubenchik when a fault is detected in the laser because such a modification would have been merely exercising a well-known laser shut-down protocol.
Regarding claim 20, the method as recited in the claim is inherently present in the structure discussed above in the rejection of claim 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The best prior art reference of record, Rubenchik, fails to teach:
“wherein the controller is further configured to: determine an amount of sunlight received by the multi-junction photovoltaic cell is below a threshold amount; and selectively activate the first and second light emitting devices in response to the determination that the amount of sunlight received by the multi-junction photovoltaic cell is below the threshold amount.”, as set forth in claim 2; and
“wherein causing the first and second light emitting devices to illuminate a multi-junction photovoltaic cell further comprises: determining an amount of sunlight received by the multi-junction photovoltaic cell is below a threshold amount; and selectively activating the first and second light emitting devices in response to the determination that the amount of sunlight received by the multi-junction photovoltaic cell is below the threshold amount.”, as set forth in claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art references made of record and not relied upon teach solar energy harvesting systems, comprising: space apparatuses including photovoltaic cells and lasers outputting laser beams for power transmission; and Earth-based power receivers generating electricity from the laser beams.
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849 December 17, 2025