Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/09/2026. The examiner notes that applicant has stated “Applicant believes that Claims 1-20 are readable on the elected species.” Upon further examination of applications specification, claims, and the elected figures it was noted that species E figures 7-8 could not read on claim 1. Claim 1 requires “an internal cross-sectional area of the interior cavity taken at any location along a central axis X-X of the nozzle portion is equal to a total open area of the plurality of exit orifices arranged downstream from that location.” Which is not possible in figures 7-8, as there are locations along the central axis x-x where the nozzle portion does not equal a total open area of the plurality of exit orifices, see below annotated figure.
The area between the top and bottom line in the annotated figure has the same cross0sectional area, however the total area of the plurality of exit orifices arranged in that area changes as one moves from the top line to the bottom line. Therefore, only claims 19 and 20 are believed to read on the elected species and will be examined.
Double Patenting
Claims 19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,186,606. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of claim 19 are found in claim 1 of the patent 12,186,606.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadzadegan (U.S. 20180272166) in view of Boretti (U.S. 6109387).
With respect to claim 19, Ahmadzadegan discloses a nozzle assembly for a fire suppression system (title, figure 6), comprising:
a body (body portion of 126, the body being at and above 124 towards 102) having an inlet end (inlet at 102) for receiving a flow of fire extinguishing agent from the fire suppression system at an inlet pressure (abstract);
a nozzle portion extending from the body (figure 6, the portion about 132), the nozzle portion having: an interior cavity (inside 128) having an outlet end (the end where 1342 is located); a center body (136) arranged within the interior cavity adjacent the outlet end (shown in figure 6); and a plurality of exit orifices (132) are formed in an outer wall of the nozzle portion (figure 6, the wall portion where 132 is formed), in communication with the interior cavity (128), for vectoring the flow of fire extinguishing agent exiting therefrom and to reduce a noise level of the nozzle assembly (as the fluid flows from 132 from 128, and noise reduction being the primary goal of the system, title and abstract); Ahmadzadegan fails to disclose at least one perforated filter member positioned upstream from the plurality of exit orifices formed in the nozzle portion, for reducing the inlet pressure of the flow of fire extinguishing agent.
Boretti, figures 6-7, discloses at least one perforated filter member (being the filters of 39) positioned upstream from the exit in the nozzle portion (being upstream of the outlet see figures 1-7, as 39 is before the nozzle portion extending after), for reducing the inlet pressure of the flow of gas (column 5 rows 25-35 and abstract) as the use of layers of the porous mesh allows for dissipation of energy within the gas which decreases the noise within the system (see background of the invention).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the at least one perorated filter member of Boretti into the system of Ahmadzadegan, allowing for further sound suppression to occur as well as the indicated decreasing pressure.
With respect to claim 20, Ahmadzadegan as modified discloses the at least one perforated filter member is a plurality of perforated filter members (Boretti, figure 6 discloses multiple mesh filters 39) and the plurality of perforated filter members decrease in a porosity from the inlet end to the nozzle portion (Boretti, column 7 rows 10-15, discloses that the stack of 39’s have either a larger or smaller mesh size within the stack from one another, the mesh size going from large to small would result in a decreasing porosity in the direction from inlet to outlet).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752