DETAILED ACTION
The Art Unit location of your application in the PTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 2691.
This communication is responsive to the claims filed 12/04/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shiragami (WO 2019/187410 A1) in view of the Related Art (~RA hereafter) in specification of the application (18/969,194).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Shiragami discloses a UTG diaphragm speaker, comprising: a diaphragm (3), wherein a thickness of said diaphragm is between 0.01-0.1 mm (DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS: The diaphragm 3 is composed of a flexible ultra-thin glass plate. The thickness of the diaphragm 3 is preferably 1 to 500 μm, more preferably 4 to 50 μm. As the ultra-thin glass having flexibility, “G-Leaf” (registered trademark) manufactured by Nippon Electric Glass Co., Ltd. is preferably used) as claimed. But Shiragami may not specially teach a magnetic component for generating magnetic field; a voice coil configured corresponding to a diaphragm and said magnetic component to vibrate said diaphragm as claimed. ~RA disclose a similar structured speaker, comprising a magnetic component for generating magnetic field; a voice coil configured corresponding to a diaphragm and said magnetic component to vibrate said diaphragm ([0003-0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable and essential elements, such as a magnetic component for generating magnetic field; a voice coil configured corresponding to a diaphragm and said magnetic component to vibrate said diaphragm, for the diaphragm speaker taught by Shiragami, in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the speaker.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, based on the rejection above (Shiragami in view of ~RA), ~RA further discloses the UTG diaphragm speaker, comprising a suspension connected between said diaphragm with a frame ([0003-0004]).
Regarding claim 3, based on the rejection above, Shiragami further discloses the speaker,
wherein said diaphragm (3) at least includes an upper layer or a lower layer (Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, based on the rejection above, Shiragami further discloses the speaker, wherein a thickness of said upper layer is greater than or equal to 1 micron and less than or equal to 15 microns (DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS: The diaphragm 3 is composed of a flexible ultra-thin glass plate. The thickness of the diaphragm 3 is preferably 1 to 500 μm, more preferably 4 to 50 μm.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, based on the rejection above, Shiragami further discloses the speaker, wherein a thickness of said lower layer is greater than or equal to 1 micron and less than or equal to 15 microns (see above).
Regarding claims 6-7 and 16-17, Shiragami may not specially teach that said upper/lower layer includes aluminum, nickel, copper, diamond, resin or polymer as claimed. Since providing suitable material for a UTG diaphragm of a speaker is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable material, such as resin or polymer, for the upper layer and/or lower layer of the diaphragm of the speaker taught by Shiragami, in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the speaker.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, based on the rejection above, Shiragami further discloses the speaker, wherein said diaphragm includes planar rectangular, planar circular (Fig. 5), planar oval, or planar oblong shape.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Shiragami may not specially teach that said diaphragm includes cone, dome, cup, bowl, or pyramid shape as claimed. Since providing suitable shaped diaphragm for a UTG diaphragm of a speaker is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable shaped diaphragm, such as cone, dome, cup, bowl, or pyramid shaped diaphragm, for the UTG diaphragm speaker taught by Shiragami, in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the speaker, especially for certain application.
Regarding claims 10-11 and 20, Shiragami may not specially teach that said diaphragm is employed for headphones, mobile phones, laptops, tablets, and televisions as claimed. Since utilizing a UTG diaphragm speaker for a suitable application is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable applications, such as headphones, mobile phones, laptops, tablets, and televisions for the UTG diaphragm speaker taught by Shiragami, in order to effectively and efficiently utilize the UTG diaphragm speaker.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SUHAN NI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691