DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 12/4/24 and 6/17/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show lifting device as described in the specification (paragraph [0037]). Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are also objected to because figures 6 and 7 appear to be duplicates of one another. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “32” has been used to designate both a removing device and an unknown element. Element “32” in the figures points to two different areas of the figures Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 1, as written, it us unclear how the claimed lifting device, “dips” the nozzle surface. What is causing the lifting device to lift or lower the dipping vessel or the inkjet head? How is it determined whether to lift or lower the dipping vessel or lift or lower the inkjet head? Either one of the two alternatives happens, not both. Also, “a removing device which is provided in the dipping vessel “and removes adhered material from the nozzle surface” [emphasis added] is awkwardly worded. It is noted that applicant is using functional language to describe what the removing device does, and not what it is. The same is true regarding the lifting device.
With regard to Claim 2, it is noted that applicant is using functional language to describe what the removing device does, and not what it is. There is also lack of antecedent basis with regard to the claimed “the liquid surface,” and “the liquid.”
With regard to Claim 5, there is a lack of antecedent basis with regard to the claimed “the image formation.” What is causing the lifting device to lift or lower the dipping vessel or the inkjet head? How is it determined whether to lift or lower the dipping vessel or lift or lower the inkjet head? This is the same discussion of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 , 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0152033 to Wakabayashi.
With regard to Claim 1, as best understood, Wakabayashi teaches (fig. 1) an inkjet recording apparatus [0037] comprising:
an inkjet head (3 – recording head);
a dipping vessel (52 – cleaning tank) which stores a cleaning liquid (51 – cleaning liquid) [0041];
a lifting device (57 – cleaning device moving mechanism) which dips a nozzle surface (33 – nozzle surface) of the inkjet head (3) in the cleaning liquid (51) by lifting or lowering the dipping vessel (52) or the inkjet head (3) [0060]; and
a removing device (54) which is provided in the dipping vessel (52) (fig. 6) and removes adhered material from the nozzle surface (33) [0057].
With regard to Claim 2, as best understood, Wakabayashi teaches comprising: a driving device (55 – sheet feeding device) which drives the removing device (54), wherein the driving device (55) is provided at a position higher than a maximum height of the liquid surface of the liquid that can be stored in the dipping vessel (52).
With regard to Claim 4, as best understood, Wakabayashi teaches wherein the lifting device (57) maintains a state in which the nozzle surface (33) is dipped in the cleaning liquid (51) during a period in which an image formation by the inkjet head (3) is not performed [0060].
With regard to Claim 5, as best understood, Wakabayashi teaches wherein the lifting device (57) lifts and lowers the dipping vessel or the inkjet head (3) to a position where the nozzle surface (33) is not dipped in the cleaning liquid (51) when the image formation by the inkjet head (3) is performed [0061].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi as modified by US 2017/0100937 to Ohnishi.
With regard to Claim 3, as best understood, Wakabayashi teaches the claimed invention, except for a cleaning liquid supply device which supplies the cleaning liquid to the dipping vessel, wherein the cleaning liquid supply device supplies the cleaning liquid so that a liquid surface is positioned within a predetermined range above the nozzle surface.
However, Ohnishi teaches (fig. 3) a cleaning liquid supply device which supplies the cleaning liquid to the dipping vessel, wherein the cleaning liquid supply device supplies the cleaning liquid so that a liquid surface is positioned within a predetermined range above the nozzle surface [0064]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wakabayashi with the teachings of Ohnishi to prevent that dirt and/or ink stain removed from the ink discharging surface is entrapped in the ink discharge ports of the ink discharging surface [0008].
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi as modified by CN 108454238 B to Hirata et al. “Hirata.”
With regard to Claim 6, as best understood, Wakabayashi teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the removing device is provided with a blade which removes adhered material by sliding in one direction along the nozzle surface, the driving device is provided with a driving source which generates a driving force, and the driving source is provided closer to a slide start position than a slide end position of the blade.
However, Hirata teaches (fig. 2) wherein the removing device is provided with a blade which removes adhered material by sliding in one direction along the nozzle surface, the driving device is provided with a driving source which generates a driving force, and the driving source is provided closer to a slide start position than a slide end position of the blade [0071-0373]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wakabayashi with the teachings of Hirata to provide a liquid ejecting device and a maintaining device capable of well maintaining the liquid ejecting head even if the using condition of the liquid ejecting head is changed [0006].
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi as modified by CN 114851713 A to Yang et al. “Yang.”
With regard to Claim 7, as best understood, Wakabayashi teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the dipping vessel is provided with a heater which heats the cleaning liquid.
However, Yang teaches (fig. 1) wherein the dipping vessel (2) is provided with a heater (21) which heats the cleaning liquid [0008]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wakabayashi with the teachings of Yang to ensure that the cleaning liquid is maintained at an optimal working temperature [0035].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20240359471 A1 discloses an inkjet recording apparatus includes an inkjet head, a supply path, a blade, and a cleaning liquid supply member. The inkjet head is provided with a nozzle surface on which ink ejection ports of a plurality of nozzles are opened downward. Through the supply path, a cleaning liquid is supplied. The blade is movable in contact with the nozzle surface. The cleaning liquid supply member supplies the cleaning liquid supplied through the supply path to at least one of the nozzle surface and the blade. The cleaning liquid supply member has at least one supply hole through which the cleaning liquid is supplied, and the supply path has a supply part inserted into the supply hole.
JP 2012176544 A discloses a cleaning liquid tank 210 is previously filled with a cleaning liquid. Here, the nozzle surface 102 of the head 100 is immersed in the cleaning liquid as shown in FIG. 2A by lowering the head 100 relative to the cleaning liquid tank 210 by the lifting mechanism. position). At this time, since the nozzle formation region of the nozzle surface 102 is immersed (contacted) in the cleaning liquid, the entire inclined surface (liquid film guiding member 104) protruding with respect to the nozzle surface 102 is immersed in the cleaning liquid. Further, the nozzle formation region of the nozzle surface 102 is kept substantially parallel to the cleaning liquid surface of the cleaning liquid tank 210.
JP 2007163751 A discloses a wiping device which reduces consumables to the utmost and maintains high wiping performance, a liquid droplet discharging device equipped with the wiping device, and also to provide a manufacturing method of an electrooptical device, an electrooptical device, and an electronic device. The wiping device comprises: a wiping blade 81 for wiping a nozzle face 53 of a functional fluid discharging head 1; a washing means 82 for washing the wiping blade 81; and a rotation mechanism 84 for rotating the wiping blade 81 between a wiping region for wiping and a washing region for washing.
JP 2006272097 A discloses a nozzle washer for washing the functional liquid ejection port of a functional liquid ejection head which ejects the functional liquid is provided with a washing liquid tank which is to be filled with a washing liquid for dissolving fixed material attached to the functional liquid ejection port, a washing liquid tank elevation means which immerses the nozzle surface of the functional liquid ejection head into the washing liquid and a wiping means which removes the fixed material on the functional liquid ejection port.
Communications with the PTO
SHARON A. POLK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/Sharon Polk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853