DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant has elected Group I with traverse, but fails to provide reasons for traversal. As such, the Requirement between Groups I and II is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/04/2024 and 09/25/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 requires the surface protective layer having a Martens hardness in a range of 5 or more and 142 or less. However, the claim fails to provide units with the claimed range. Therefore, the claim is rejected for failing to point out and distinctly claim the subject matter that is considered applicant’s invention. For the purposes of examination, the units associated with the Martens hardness are N/mm2 as described in the instant specification (PGPUB, Paragraph [0068]). Claims 2-5 are further rejected for depending from rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshima et al. (WO 2021/149480) with (US 2023/0041625) as an English language translation in view of Okumura et al. (JP 2016-008287).
Regarding claim 1, Oshima teaches a decorative sheet and a method of making a decorative sheet (Paragraph [0001]). The decorative sheet includes a primary film layer and a first surface protective layer on the primary film layer (Paragraph [0006]). The decorative sheets have a glossiness of 5 or less (Paragraph [0064]). The first surface protective layer has a core portion and ridge-like parts on the surface (Paragraph [0006]). The first surface protective layer is formed from an ionizing radiation curable resin (Paragraph [0042]).
Oshima is silent with respect to the ionizing radiation curable resin containing at least one of an alkylene repeating structure and an alkylene oxide repeating structure, and contains a resin obtained by polymerizing an acrylic monomer having 2 or more and 4 or less acryloyloxy groups, the alkylene oxide repeating structure is one of an ethylene oxide structure, a propylene oxide structure, and Ɛ-caprolactone structure, the acrylic monomer having 2 acryloyl groups, the acrylic monomer has an acryloyl group chain length of 10 or more and 28 or less, the acryloyl group chain length being a number of atoms connecting the acryloyl groups with a shortest distance.
Okumura teaches an active energy ray curable composition that can form a hard coat layer and may be used in decorative sheets (Paragraphs [0001]; [0012]). The composition contains an active energy ray curable compound (A), a fluorine-based surfactant (B), and a lithium salt (C) (Paragraph [0013]). The compound includes an alkylene-oxide modified (meth)acrylate which may be an ethylene or propylene oxide structure having 3 to 50 moles (Paragraph [0016]). The alkylene-oxide modified (meth)acrylate is further mixed with a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate having 2 or more (meth)acryloyl groups in one molecule (Paragraph [0020]). The resulting compositions ultimately have desired antistatic properties to prevent fogging in high temperature and high humidity environments (Paragraph [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the ionizing radiation curable resin of Oshima from the compositions of Okumura which are formed from an active energy ray curable compound (A) containing an alkylene-oxide modified (meth)acrylate which may be an ethylene or propylene oxide structure having 3 to 50 moles (“a chain length of 10 to 28”) and a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate having 2 or more (meth)acryloyl groups in one molecule (“2 acryloyl groups”) in order to have desired antistatic properties to prevent fogging in high temperature and high humidity environments.
Oshima and Okumura are silent with respect to the ridge-like portion having an RSm in a range of 10 or more and 310 or less, a Martens hardness in a range of 5 or more and 142 or less and the acrylic monomer having a viscosity of 100 mPa*s or less at 25°C.
However, these properties appear to be dependent on the materials and methods of forming the surface protective layers of claim 1. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that identical materials and methods would result in identical properties. MPEP 2112.0: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In the instant case, the sheets of claim 1 require the materials of a primary film layer and the surface protective layer as described above. The sheets of claim 1 are further formed from a first irradiation using light having a wavelength of light less than 200 nm and then a second irradiation using a wavelength of light longer than 200 nm (Paragraph [0057]).
The combination of Oshima and Okumura teaches each of the materials of claim 1 as discussed above. Furthermore, Oshima teaches the formation of the first surface protective layer by a first ionization by an excimer laser at 172 nm in order to form the ridge-like shape and subjected to a second ionization at a wavelength of 400 nm in order to cure the layer (Paragraphs [0071]-[0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the combination of Oshima and Okumura, having identical materials and methods and applicant’s invention, would result in identical properties as well, including the ridge-like portion having an RSm in a range of 10 or more and 310 or less, a Martens hardness in a range of 5 or more and 142 or less and the acrylic monomer having a viscosity of 100 mPa*s or less at 25°C.
Regarding claim 2, Oshima teaches the sheets as discussed above with respect to claim 1. Oshima further teaches the first protective layer being from 1 to 50 microns (Paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 5, Oshima teaches the sheets as discussed above with respect to claim 1. The primary film layer may be a paper or polypropylene material (Paragraphs [0025]-[0029]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshima et al. (WO 2021/149480) with (US 2023/0041625) as an English language translation in view of Okumura et al. (JP 2016-008287) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kwon et al. (KR 10-2020-0031282).
Regarding claims 3-4, Oshima teaches the decorative sheets as discussed above with respect to claim 1. Oshima teaches the first surface protective layer further inorganic particles (Paragraph [0060]).
Oshima is silent with respect to the particles having an average particle size of 10 microns or less.
Kwon teaches low gloss decorative sheets with excellent tactile properties wherein the gloss of the sheets is less than 6 (Paragraphs [0001]; [0053]). The sheets include a surface having a cured layer of an acrylic resin composition (Paragraph [0013]). The composition further includes high hardness particles with a size of 1 to 10 microns in an amount of 8 parts by weight or less in order to not impair the gloss while improving durability (Paragraphs [0090]-[0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the first surface protective layer of Oshima to further include high hardness particles with a size of 1 to 10 microns in an amount of 8 parts by weight or less in order to not impair the gloss while improving durability as taught by Kwon.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/952,313 in view of Oshima et al. (WO 2021/149480) and Okumura et al. (JP 2016-008287).
Claim 1 of application ‘313 requires each of the features of claim 1 of the instant application with the exception of the surface protection layer having an RSm in the range of 10 to 310, a Martens hardness of 5 to 142, a chain length of 10 to 28, and a viscosity of 100 mP*s or less at 25°C.
Claim 2 of application ‘313 teaches the RSm being 300 or less.
Okumura teaches the active energy ray curable compound (A) containing an alkylene-oxide modified (meth)acrylate which may be an ethylene or propylene oxide structure having 3 to 50 moles (“a chain length of 10 to 28”) and a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate having 2 or more (meth)acryloyl groups in one molecule (“2 acryloyl groups”) in order to have desired antistatic properties to prevent fogging in high temperature and high humidity environments as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
Oshima teaches the methods of the formation of the first surface protective layer by a first ionization by an excimer laser at 172 nm in order to form the ridge-like shape and subjected to a second ionization at a wavelength of 400 nm in order to cure the layer as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
Therefore, the combination of application ‘313, Okumura and Oshima would teach substantially identical materials and methods resulting in identical properties such as a Martens hardness of 5 to 142 and a viscosity of 100 mP*s or less at 25°C.
Claims 2-5 are further taught by claims 1-4 of application ‘313 in view of Okumura and Oshima as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/899,425 in view of Oshima et al. (WO 2021/149480) and Okumura et al. (JP 2016-008287).
Claim 1 of application ‘425 requires each of the features of claim 1 of the instant application with the exception of the ionizing radiation curable resin having 2 acryloyl groups, a chain length of 10 to 28, and a viscosity of 100 mP*s or less at 25°C.
Okumura teaches the active energy ray curable compound (A) containing an alkylene-oxide modified (meth)acrylate which may be an ethylene or propylene oxide structure having 3 to 50 moles (“a chain length of 10 to 28”) and a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate having 2 or more (meth)acryloyl groups in one molecule (“2 acryloyl groups”) in order to have desired antistatic properties to prevent fogging in high temperature and high humidity environments as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
Oshima teaches the methods of the formation of the first surface protective layer by a first ionization by an excimer laser at 172 nm in order to form the ridge-like shape and subjected to a second ionization at a wavelength of 400 nm in order to cure the layer as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
Therefore, the combination of application ‘425, Okumura and Oshima would teach substantially identical materials and methods resulting in identical properties such as a viscosity of 100 mP*s or less at 25°C.
Claims 2-5 are further taught by claims 1-5 of application ‘425 in view of Okumura and Oshima as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/984,361 in view of Oshima et al. (WO 2021/149480) and Okumura et al. (JP 2016-008287).
Claim 1 of application ‘361 requires each of the features of claim 1 of the instant application with the exception of the materials of the ionizing radiation curable resin, an RSm in the range of 10 to 310, a Martens hardness of 5 to 142, and a viscosity of 100 mP*s or less at 25°C.
Okumura teaches the active energy ray curable compound (A) containing an alkylene-oxide modified (meth)acrylate which may be an ethylene or propylene oxide structure having 3 to 50 moles (“a chain length of 10 to 28”) and a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate having 2 or more (meth)acryloyl groups in one molecule (“2 acryloyl groups”) in order to have desired antistatic properties to prevent fogging in high temperature and high humidity environments as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
Oshima teaches the methods of the formation of the first surface protective layer by a first ionization by an excimer laser at 172 nm in order to form the ridge-like shape and subjected to a second ionization at a wavelength of 400 nm in order to cure the layer as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
Therefore, the combination of application ‘361, Okumura and Oshima would teach substantially identical materials and methods resulting in identical properties such as an RSm in the range of 10 to 310, a Martens hardness of 5 to 142, and a viscosity of 100 mP*s or less at 25°C.
Claims 2-5 are further taught by claims 1-5 of application ‘361 in view of Okumura and Oshima as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/984,330 in view of Oshima et al. (WO 2021/149480) and Okumura et al. (JP 2016-008287).
Claim 1 of application ‘330 requires each of the features of claim 1 of the instant application with the exception of the materials of the ionizing radiation curable resin, an RSm in the range of 10 to 310, a Martens hardness of 5 to 142, and a viscosity of 100 mP*s or less at 25°C.
Okumura teaches the active energy ray curable compound (A) containing an alkylene-oxide modified (meth)acrylate which may be an ethylene or propylene oxide structure having 3 to 50 moles (“a chain length of 10 to 28”) and a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate having 2 or more (meth)acryloyl groups in one molecule (“2 acryloyl groups”) in order to have desired antistatic properties to prevent fogging in high temperature and high humidity environments as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
Oshima teaches the methods of the formation of the first surface protective layer by a first ionization by an excimer laser at 172 nm in order to form the ridge-like shape and subjected to a second ionization at a wavelength of 400 nm in order to cure the layer as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
Therefore, the combination of application ‘330, Okumura and Oshima would teach substantially identical materials and methods resulting in identical properties such as an RSm in the range of 10 to 310, a Martens hardness of 5 to 142, and a viscosity of 100 mP*s or less at 25°C.
Claims 2-5 are further taught by claims 1-5 of application ‘330 in view of Okumura and Oshima as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 8-10 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,629,719 in view of Oshima et al. (WO 2021/149480) and Okumura et al. (JP 2016-008287).
Claim 1 of ‘719 requires each of the features of claim 1 of the instant application with the exception of the ionizing radiation curable resin having 2 acryloyl groups, a chain length of 10 to 28, and a viscosity of 100 mP*s or less at 25°C.
Okumura teaches the active energy ray curable compound (A) containing an alkylene-oxide modified (meth)acrylate which may be an ethylene or propylene oxide structure having 3 to 50 moles (“a chain length of 10 to 28”) and a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate having 2 or more (meth)acryloyl groups in one molecule (“2 acryloyl groups”) in order to have desired antistatic properties to prevent fogging in high temperature and high humidity environments as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
Oshima teaches the methods of the formation of the first surface protective layer by a first ionization by an excimer laser at 172 nm in order to form the ridge-like shape and subjected to a second ionization at a wavelength of 400 nm in order to cure the layer as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
Therefore, the combination of ‘719, Okumura and Oshima would teach substantially identical materials and methods resulting in identical properties such as a viscosity of 100 mP*s or less at 25°C.
Claims 2-5 are further taught by claims 1, 3, 8-10 and 13 of ‘719 in view of Okumura and Oshima as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P DILLON/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783