DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210120359 to Tatum et al. (“Tatum”).
As to claim 1, Tatum discloses a vehicle audio system based on drive channel multiplexing [Tatum Abstract, Figs. 1-5, pages 1-4], comprising: an audio obtaining module, configured to obtain audio source data and an audio mode instruction [Fig. 5: 40, paragraphs 0021-22]; a signal processing module, configured to process a corresponding audio mode for the audio source data according to the audio mode instruction [paragraph 0021-11, “the user interface device 34 generates a command signal 50 indicative of the stereo mode”, “The command signal 50 is communicated to the controller 40… the controller 40 generates a mapping command signal 52 that is communicated to the amplifier(s) 41”; and a power amplification module, configured to: receive a signal output by the signal processing module and amplify the signal to obtain an audio signal [Fig. 5:41, paragraphs 0022], wherein the power amplification module is connected to a channel switching module through a group of drive channels [paragraph 0022: “the amplifier(s) 41 includes a digital signal processor(s) (DSP) 54 that is configured for mapping and remapping input channels from the audio content device 42 with output channels to the sound producing devices..”], wherein the channel switching module is connected to a first audio device group [Fig. 5: 24a-24c] and a second audio device group [Fig. 5: 22a-22b] respectively through a first drive sub-channel group and a second drive sub-channel group to switch a first drive sub-channel and/or a second drive sub-channel corresponding to the audio mode to be opened according to the audio mode instruction, to cause the audio signal to drive a target audio device [paragraphs 0022-25]. As per, a digital signal processor(s) (DSP) 54 that is configured for mapping and remapping input channels from the audio content device 42 with output channels to the sound producing devices 22A-B and 24A-C. In an exemplary embodiment, in response to the mapping command signal 52, the DSP(s) 54 of the amplifier(s) 41, using an algorithm/logic, maps or remaps the input channels with the output channels based on which audio mode (either stereo or surround) is selected.
As to claim 2, Tatum discloses wherein the power amplification module is connected to a portion of first audio devices in the first audio device group and a portion of second audio devices in the second audio device group respectively through two groups of direct drive channels, wherein each direct drive channel is connected to a first audio device or a second audio device [Fig. 5: connection from 41 to 22a-b, 24a-c].
As to claim 3, Tatum discloses wherein the channel switching module is connected to all the first audio devices, except the portion of first audio devices, in the first audio device group through the first drive sub-channel group, and to all the second audio devices, except the portion of second audio devices, in the second audio device group through the second drive sub-channel group, wherein each first drive sub-channel in the first drive sub-channel group is connected to one first audio device, and each second drive sub-channel in the second drive sub-channel group is connected to one second audio device [Fig. 5: connection from 41 to 22a-b, 24a-c].
As to claim 4, Tatum discloses wherein the channel switching module is connected to all first audio devices in the first audio device group through the first drive sub-channel group, and to all second audio devices in the second audio device group through the second drive sub-channel group, wherein each first drive sub-channel is connected to one of the first audio devices, and each second drive sub-channel is connected to one of the second audio devices [Fig. 5: connection from 41 (which also contains DSP/switching module) to 22a-b, 24a-c].
As to claim 8, Tatum discloses an audio playing method, applied to the vehicle audio system based on drive channel multiplexing according to claim 1 [See rejection of claim 1] and comprising: obtaining audio source data and an audio mode instruction [paragraphs 0021-22], and processing a corresponding audio mode for the audio source data according to the audio mode instruction [paragraphs 0021-25]; amplifying the processed audio source data to obtain an audio signal; switching a first drive sub-channel and/or a second drive sub-channel corresponding to the audio mode to be opened according to the audio mode instruction, to cause the audio signal to drive a target audio device [paragraphs 0021-25]. As per, a digital signal processor(s) (DSP) 54 that is configured for mapping and remapping input channels from the audio content device 42 with output channels to the sound producing devices 22A-B and 24A-C. In an exemplary embodiment, in response to the mapping command signal 52, the DSP(s) 54 of the amplifier(s) 41, using an algorithm/logic, maps or remaps the input channels with the output channels based on which audio mode (either stereo or surround) is selected.
As to claim 9, Tatum discloses an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and, a memory communicably connected with the at least one processor, wherein the memory has instructions executable by the at least one processor; and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the hat least one processor to perform the method in claim 8 [See rejection of claim 8 and also paragraph 0022 for processor and algorithm].
As to claim 10, Tatum discloses a computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the program is run by a processor to implement the method according to claim 8 [See rejection of claim 8 and also paragraph 0022 for processor and algorithm].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatum (as applied above) in view of Foreign Patent No. CN218868353 to Chen et al. (“Chen”).
As to claim 5, Tatum discloses the vehicle audio system based on drive channel multiplexing according to claim 3 or 4 [see rejection of claim 3 or 4].
Tatum does not expressly disclose wherein the channel switching module is configured to route and branch the group of drive channels into the first drive sub-channel group and the second drive sub-channel group, wherein each drive channel in the group of drive channels is routed to one of the first drive sub-channels and one of the second drive sub-channels; and a number of the first drive sub-channels in the first drive sub-channel group is the same as a number of the second drive sub-channels in the second drive sub-channel group.
In the same or similar field of invention, Chen discloses wherein the channel switching module is configured to route and branch the group of drive channels into the first drive sub-channel group and the second drive sub-channel group, wherein each drive channel in the group of drive channels is routed to one of the first drive sub-channels and one of the second drive sub-channels; and a number of the first drive sub-channels in the first drive sub-channel group is the same as a number of the second drive sub-channels in the second drive sub-channel group [Chen Fig. 1: 501/502 and 511/512 connects to same number of first drive sub-channels and second drive sub-channels].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tatum to have feature of wherein the channel switching module is configured to route and branch the group of drive channels into the first drive sub-channel group and the second drive sub-channel group, wherein each drive channel in the group of drive channels is routed to one of the first drive sub-channels and one of the second drive sub-channels; and a number of the first drive sub-channels in the first drive sub-channel group is the same as a number of the second drive sub-channels in the second drive sub-channel group as taught by Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide vehicle sound system, which is good for the satisfying sound using requirement of the driver and the passenger with different requirements [Chen page 2 liens 5-10].
As to claim 6, Tatum discloses the vehicle audio system based on drive channel multiplexing according to claim 3 or 4 [see rejection of claim 3 or 4].
Tatum does not expressly disclose wherein the channel switching module is configured to branch the group of drive channels to the first drive sub-channel group and the second drive sub-channel group, wherein each drive channel in the group of drive channels is respectively routed to one of the first drive sub-channels and at least one of the second drive sub-channels; and a number of the first drive sub-channels in the first drive sub-channel group is different from a number of the second drive sub-channels in the second drive sub-channel group.
In the same or similar field of invention, Chen discloses wherein the channel switching module is configured to branch the group of drive channels to the first drive sub-channel group and the second drive sub-channel group, wherein each drive channel in the group of drive channels is respectively routed to one of the first drive sub-channels and at least one of the second drive sub-channels; and a number of the first drive sub-channels in the first drive sub-channel group is different from a number of the second drive sub-channels in the second drive sub-channel group [Chen Fig. 1: 6 and 501/502 or 511/512 connects to different number of first drive sub-channels (part of headrest 6 group) and second drive sub-channels (part of front and rear speakers group].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tatum to have feature of wherein the channel switching module is configured to branch the group of drive channels to the first drive sub-channel group and the second drive sub-channel group, wherein each drive channel in the group of drive channels is respectively routed to one of the first drive sub-channels and at least one of the second drive sub-channels; and a number of the first drive sub-channels in the first drive sub-channel group is different from a number of the second drive sub-channels in the second drive sub-channel group as taught by Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide vehicle sound system, which is good for the satisfying sound using requirement of the driver and the passenger with different requirements [Chen page 2 liens 5-10].
As to claim 7, Tatum discloses the vehicle audio system based on drive channel multiplexing according to claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1].
Tatum does not expressly disclose wherein the second audio device group is any one of a headrest loudspeaker group, an A/B-pillar loudspeaker group, a ceiling loudspeaker group, a loudspeaker array, and a seat vibrator group; and the first audio device group includes audio devices except the second audio device group among the audio devices of entire vehicle.
In the same or similar field of invention, Chen discloses wherein the second audio device group is any one of a headrest loudspeaker group [Chen Fig. 1: 6, Abstract, page 3: under “Description of the drawings” lines 5-7]], an A/B-pillar loudspeaker group, a ceiling loudspeaker group, a loudspeaker array, and a seat vibrator group; and the first audio device group includes audio devices except the second audio device group among the audio devices of entire vehicle [Chen Fig. 1: 71-74, Abstract, page 3: under “Description of the drawings” lines 6-7].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tatum to have features of wherein the second audio device group is any one of a headrest loudspeaker group, an A/B-pillar loudspeaker group, a ceiling loudspeaker group, a loudspeaker array, and a seat vibrator group; and the first audio device group includes audio devices except the second audio device group among the audio devices of entire vehicle as taught by Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide vehicle sound system, which is good for the satisfying sound using requirement of the driver and the passenger with different requirements [Chen page 2 liens 5-10].
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20030103634 to Ito (Figs. 1-5 and corresponding paragraphs).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20080226101 to Silber (Figs. 2, 9 and corresponding paragraphs).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20100041443 to Yokota (Figs. 12, 13, 15-16, 21, 33-34 and corresponding paragraphs).
/ANTIM G SHAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693