Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
cold compress portion in independent claim 1 and its dependents; structure found in e.g. instant Fig. 7; instant specification [0037]; [0057]; [0075];
heat dissipation mechanism in claim 4 and its dependents; structure found in e.g. instant Fig. 3-4; instant specification [0047]-[0048];
heat conductive element in claim 6, claim 12, and their dependents; structure found in e.g. instant Fig. 5; instant specification [0052].
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12414817. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim(s) is/are broader than the corresponding claim(s) in the reference patent and thus the corresponding claim(s) is/are a species of the more generic instant claim(s). It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furthermore, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim(s) overlap in scope with and are anticipated and/or obvious over the reference claim(s).
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches a portable depilation instrument (claim 1 “portable depilation instrument”), comprising:
a shell, defining an accommodating space (claim 1 “shell”);
a cold compress portion, exposed from the shell and configured to contact skin of a user (claim 10); and
an emitter, arranged in the accommodating space and located on a side of the cold compress portion facing away from the skin of the user, and the emitter being configured to emit light that irradiates the skin of the user (claim 8; claim 11);
wherein, the portable depilation instrument defines a first channel and a second channel inside the shell, allowing external cooling medium entering the shell to separately flow through the first channel to cool the emitter and flow through the second channel to cool the cold compress portion (claim 1 “at least two channels”; claim 8; claim 11).
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches wherein the first channel and the second channel are isolated (claim 1 “separately pass through different channels of the at least two channels”; claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches wherein the cold compress portion is made of a light-transmitting material and disposed on a light output path of the emitter, and the light emitted by the emitter passes through the cold compress portion (claims 10-11).
Regarding claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches a heat dissipation mechanism arranged in the accommodating space and thermally coupled to the cold compress portion for cooling the cold compress portion (claim 1 “a heat dissipation mechanism inside the shell”; claim 12).
Regarding claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches wherein at least part of the heat dissipation mechanism is located in the second channel (claims 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches a heat conductive element, one end of the heat conductive element being thermally coupled to the cold compress portion (claim 1; claim 12).
Regarding claim 7, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches wherein part of the heat conductive element is located in the second channel (claims 1-2; claim 12).
Regarding claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches wherein the emitter is located in the first channel (claim 8).
Regarding claim 9, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches a refrigeration element having a refrigeration surface and a heating surface (claim 12);
wherein the refrigeration surface is attached to the cold compress portion to cool the cold compress portion, and the heating surface is connected to the heat conductive element to dissipate heat (claim 12).
Regarding claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches wherein the heat dissipation mechanism further comprises:
a first heat dissipation fin disposed at another end of the heat conductive element (claims 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches wherein the shell is defined with an inlet (claim 1 “inlet”), the external cooling medium comprises air (claim 1 “air”; claim 8), and the heat dissipation mechanism further comprises:
a fan, defined with a fan air inlet facing the inlet of the shell (claim 1 “a fan is provided inside the shell, the fan is provided with a fan air inlet, and the fan is disposed such that one side of the fan air inlet of the fan faces the one inlet on the shell”);
wherein the first heat dissipation fin is disposed between the fan air inlet and the inlet of the shell (claim 1 “a first portion of the heat conductive element is disposed between the fan air inlet of the fan and the one inlet… the first portion of the heat conductive element is provided with a first heat dissipation fin”).
Regarding claim 12, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches the external cooling medium comprises air (claim 1 “air”; claim 8);
the shell is defined with an inlet, a first outlet communicated with the first channel, and a second outlet communicated with the second channel (claim 1 “inlet…outlets…at least two channels”);
the air entering the shell through the inlet is configured to separately flow through the first channel and leave the shell through the first outlet, and flow through the second channel and leave the shell through the second outlet (claim 1 “ guide an external cooling medium introduced from the one inlet to separately pass through different channels of the at least two channels and the external cooling medium is then discharged from a corresponding outlet of the at least two outlets”; claim 2).
Regarding claim 13, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches a heat conductive component, configured to guide the external cooling medium to separately pass through the first channel and the second channel (claim 1 “the heat conductive component is configured to guide an external cooling medium introduced from the one inlet to separately pass through different channels of the at least two channels”).
Regarding claim 14, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches wherein the heat conductive component defines a part of the first channel, and the shell and one side of the heat conductive component facing the second outlet cooperatively define a part of the second channel (claim 2).
Regarding claim 15, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches the external cooling medium comprises air (claim 1 “air”; claim 8);
the heat conductive component is defined with a first vent and a second vent (claim 2);
the inlet, the first vent, and the first outlet are sequentially in communication with each other to form the first channel (claim 2); and
the inlet, the second vent, and the second outlet are sequentially in communication with each other to form the second channel (claim 2).
Regarding claim 16, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches wherein a surface of the heat conductive component facing the second outlet is provided with a second heat dissipation fin (claim 2).
Regarding claim 17, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches the first outlet is located at an end portion of the shell away from the emitter (claim 2; claim 9; claim 11; claim 14), to allow the air passed the first channel to further passes through the interior of the shell from one end to the other end, and carry heat out of the interior of the shell (claim 1);
the second outlet is located on one side of the inlet, and the second outlet and the inlet are both located on a side surface of the shell near one end of the heat conductive element (claim 1); and
an air inlet direction of the inlet is parallel to an air outlet direction of the second outlet, and the air inlet direction of the inlet is perpendicular to an air outlet direction of the first outlet (claim 9).
Regarding claim 18, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches wherein the shell is further defined with a third outlet (claim 3), and the third outlet is defined on a side surface of the shell or defined on a surface of the shell facing away from the second outlet (claim 4).
Regarding claim 19, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches wherein the shell comprises an upper shell and a lower shell, the upper shell is defined with a first groove, and the lower shell is defined with a second groove, an exhaust structure communicated with an interior of the shell is provided between the first groove and the second groove, and in a case that the upper shell and the lower shell are connected, a gap is formed between the first groove and the second groove, and the exhaust structure is disposed in the gap to cause a communication between interior cavity of the shell and an outside, to form the third outlet (claim 5).
Regarding claim 20, U.S. Patent No. 12414817 teaches wherein the heat conductive component is further defined with a third vent at the second heat dissipation fin, the third vent faces a heat guiding direction of the second heat dissipation fin, and the third vent is in communication with the first vent (claim 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beerwerth (US 20170367761 A1; 12/28/2017).
Regarding claim 1, Beerwerth teaches a portable depilation instrument (Fig. 1; [0001]; [0046] “small and light”), comprising:
a shell, defining an accommodating space (Fig. 1-2);
a cold compress portion, exposed from the shell and configured to contact skin of a user ([0036]-[0037] “skin contact window”; [0041]-[0044]); and
an emitter, arranged in the accommodating space and located on a side of the cold compress portion facing away from the skin of the user, and the emitter being configured to emit light that irradiates the skin of the user ([0034]-[0035]);
wherein, the portable depilation instrument defines a first channel and a second channel inside the shell, allowing external cooling medium entering the shell to separately flow through the first channel to cool the emitter and flow through the second channel to cool the cold compress portion ([0039] “at least one air channel”; [0040] “at least one air channel…A second channel…cooling air channels”; [0041]).
Regarding claim 2, Beerwerth teaches wherein the first channel and the second channel are isolated ([0039]-[0040] the reference is teaching that multiple air channels can be used and the Merriam-Webster definition of channel “a usually tubular enclosed passage” would entail that a channel is isolated or enclosed as part of its definition).
Regarding claim 3, Beerwerth teaches wherein the cold compress portion is made of a light-transmitting material and disposed on a light output path of the emitter, and the light emitted by the emitter passes through the cold compress portion ([0034]; [0036]-[0037]; [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Beerwerth teaches a heat dissipation mechanism arranged in the accommodating space and thermally coupled to the cold compress portion for cooling the cold compress portion ([0035]-[0037]; [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 5, Beerwerth teaches wherein at least part of the heat dissipation mechanism is located in the second channel ([0037]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 6, Beerwerth teaches wherein the heat dissipation mechanism comprises:
a heat conductive element, one end of the heat conductive element being thermally coupled to the cold compress portion ([0035]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 7, Beerwerth teaches wherein part of the heat conductive element is located in the second channel ([0035]-[0037]; [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 8, Beerwerth teaches wherein the emitter is located in the first channel ([0034]-[0035]; [0040]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 9, Beerwerth teaches a refrigeration element having a refrigeration surface and a heating surface ([0037] “Peltier”);
wherein the refrigeration surface is attached to the cold compress portion to cool the cold compress portion, and the heating surface is connected to the heat conductive element to dissipate heat ([0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 10, Beerwerth teaches wherein the heat dissipation mechanism further comprises:
a first heat dissipation fin disposed at another end of the heat conductive element ([0036] “cooling fins”; [0038]).
Regarding claim 11, Beerwerth teaches wherein the shell is defined with an inlet, the external cooling medium comprises air ([0039]-[0040]), and the heat dissipation mechanism further comprises:
a fan, defined with a fan air inlet facing the inlet of the shell ([0039]-[0041]);
wherein the first heat dissipation fin is disposed between the fan air inlet and the inlet of the shell ([0038]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Beerwerth teaches the external cooling medium comprises air ([0039]-[0040]);
the shell is defined with an inlet, a first outlet communicated with the first channel, and a second outlet communicated with the second channel ([0039]-[0040]);
the air entering the shell through the inlet is configured to separately flow through the first channel and leave the shell through the first outlet, and flow through the second channel and leave the shell through the second outlet ([0039]-[0040] “at least one inlet opening…at least one outlet opening”).
Regarding claim 13, Beerwerth teaches a heat conductive component, configured to guide the external cooling medium to separately pass through the first channel and the second channel ([0040] “air guiding walls…pipe channels”).
Regarding claim 15, Beerwerth teaches the external cooling medium comprises air ([0039]-[0040]);
the heat conductive component is defined with a first vent and a second vent ([0040]);
the inlet, the first vent, and the first outlet are sequentially in communication with each other to form the first channel ([0039]-[0040] “at least one inlet opening…at least one outlet opening”); and
the inlet, the second vent, and the second outlet are sequentially in communication with each other to form the second channel ([0039]-[0040] “at least one inlet opening…at least one outlet opening”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beerwerth as applied to claim(s) 13, 15 above.
Regarding claim 14, Beerwerth does not teach wherein the heat conductive component defines a part of the first channel, and the shell and one side of the heat conductive component facing the second outlet cooperatively define a part of the second channel. However, Beerwerth teaches multiple channels with heat conductive component (as explained above regarding claim 13; [0040]) and embodiments of different channels through device with different shapes/inlet and outlets; (Fig. 1-2). It would have been obvious to have wherein the heat conductive component defines a part of the first channel, and the shell and one side of the heat conductive component facing the second outlet cooperatively define a part of the second channel as recited because this would be an obvious change in shape and/or rearrangement of parts; MPEP 2144.04; especially in light of [0040] which teaches having multiple cooling channels in device as needed to cool.
Regarding claim 16, Beerwerth does not teach wherein a surface of the heat conductive component facing the second outlet is provided with a second heat dissipation fin. However, Beerwerth does teach multiple fins for multiple channels with inlet(s)/outlet(s) ([0038] “cooling fins”; [0039] “Further or as an alternative…at least one air channel”; [0040] “at least one inlet opening…at least one outlet opening”). It would have been obvious to have the surface of the heat conductive component facing the second outlet is provided with a second heat dissipation fin as recited because this would be an obvious change in shape and/or rearrangement of parts; MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 17, Beerwerth does not teach the first outlet is located at an end portion of the shell away from the emitter, to allow the air passed the first channel to further passes through the interior of the shell from one end to the other end, and carry heat out of the interior of the shell;
the second outlet is located on one side of the inlet, and the second outlet and the inlet are both located on a side surface of the shell near one end of the heat conductive element; and
an air inlet direction of the inlet is parallel to an air outlet direction of the second outlet, and the air inlet direction of the inlet is perpendicular to an air outlet direction of the first outlet.
However, Beerwerth teaches various positions for inlet(s)/outlet(s) for channels in the shell to carry heat out (Fig. 1-2; [0040] “at least one inlet opening…at least one outlet opening”). It would have been obvious to arrange the various parts as recited because recited because this would be an obvious change in shape and/or rearrangement of parts; MPEP 2144.04; especially in light of [0040] which teaches having multiple cooling channels and inlet(s)/outlet(s) in device as needed to cool.
Regarding claim 18, Beerwerth does not teach wherein the shell is further defined with a third outlet, and the third outlet is defined on a side surface of the shell or defined on a surface of the shell facing away from the second outlet. However, Beerwerth teaches multiple outlets which can include a third one ([0040]) and teaches in an embodiment an inlet on the side of the shell (Fig. 1, 8). It would have been obvious to have the shell is further defined with a third outlet, and the third outlet is defined on a side surface of the shell or defined on a surface of the shell facing away from the second outlet as recited because this would be an obvious change in shape and/or rearrangement of parts; MPEP 2144.04; especially in light of [0040] which teaches having multiple cooling channels and inlet(s)/outlet(s) in device as needed to cool.
Regarding claim 19, Beerwerth does not teach wherein the shell comprises an upper shell and a lower shell, the upper shell is defined with a first groove, and the lower shell is defined with a second groove, an exhaust structure communicated with an interior of the shell is provided between the first groove and the second groove, and in a case that the upper shell and the lower shell are connected, a gap is formed between the first groove and the second groove, and the exhaust structure is disposed in the gap to cause a communication between interior cavity of the shell and an outside, to form the third outlet. However, Beerwerth teaches handle that comprises shell that houses components (Fig. 1-2) and has outlet(s) (Fig. 1-2; [0040]). It would have been obvious to have shell with upper shell and lower shell with a first groove and second groove since this would be an obvious modification of making separable; MPEP 2144.04. Further, it would have been obvious to have in a case that the upper shell and the lower shell are connected, a gap is formed between the first groove and the second groove, and the exhaust structure is disposed in the gap to cause a communication between interior cavity of the shell and an outside, to form the third outlet as recited because this would be an obvious change in shape and/or rearrangement of parts; MPEP 2144.04; especially in light of [0040] which teaches having multiple cooling channels and inlet(s)/outlet(s) in device as needed to cool.
Regarding claim 20, Beerwerth does not teach wherein the heat conductive component is further defined with a third vent at the second heat dissipation fin, the third vent faces a heat guiding direction of the second heat dissipation fin, and the third vent is in communication with the first vent. However, Beerwerth does teach multiple fins for multiple channels with inlet(s)/outlet(s) ([0038] “cooling fins”; [0039] “Further or as an alternative…at least one air channel”; [0040] “at least one inlet opening…at least one outlet opening”) and inlet/outlet/vent in different positions (Fig. 1-2). It would have been obvious to have the heat conductive component is further defined with a third vent at the second heat dissipation fin, the third vent faces a heat guiding direction of the second heat dissipation fin, and the third vent is in communication with the first vent as recited because this would be an obvious change in shape and/or rearrangement of parts; MPEP 2144.04; especially in light of [0040] which teaches having multiple cooling channels and inlet(s)/outlet(s) in device as needed to cool.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN T KUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792