DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the initial filing dated October 18, 2022.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 12-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,256,295. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
As to claim 1, US Patent #12,256,295 claims a method of monitoring a foundation of a building, the method comprising:
placing a plurality of altimeters at a corresponding plurality of locations in the building;
measuring, using the plurality of altimeters, a corresponding plurality of altitude measurements; and
modeling, using the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements, a modeled position of the foundation (Claim 1).
As to claim 2, depending from the method of claim 1, US Patent #12,256,295 claims wherein modeling is performed only with the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements, and without reference to a benchmark height (Claim 2).
As to claim 3, depending from the method of claim 1, US Patent #12,256,295 claims wherein modeling comprises:
calculating a plurality of height differences among the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements; and
modeling a current position of the foundation using the plurality of height differences (Claim 3).
As to claim 4, depending from the method of claim 1, US Patent #12,256,295 claims wherein the modeled position comprises a map of the foundation marked with a plurality of altitude differences as measured by the plurality of altimeters (Claim 4).
As to claim 5, depending from the method of claim 1, US Patent #12,256,295 claims wherein placing the plurality of altimeters comprises placing the plurality of altimeters directly onto the foundation of the building (Claim 5).
As to claim 6, depending from the method of claim 1, US Patent #12,256,295 claims wherein placing the plurality of altimeters comprises placing the plurality of altimeters at different locations within the building (Claim 6).
As to claim 7, depending from the method of claim 6, US Patent #12,256,295 claims wherein at least some of the plurality of altimeters are placed on parts of the building other than on the foundation (Claim 7).
As to claim 8, depending from the method of claim 1, US Patent #12,256,295 claims wherein placing the plurality of altimeters comprises placing a first altimeter at a corner of the building or of the foundation, and placing a second altimeter within the building or within a perimeter of the foundation (Claim 8).
As to claim 9, depending from the method of claim 1, US Patent #12,256,295 claims wherein placing the plurality of altimeters comprises placing a first subset of the plurality of altimeters at each corner of the building or of the foundation, a second subset of the plurality of altimeters along a perimeter of the building or of the foundation, and a third subset of the plurality of altimeters inside the perimeter of the building or of the foundation (Claim 9).
As to claim 10, depending from the method of claim 1, US Patent #12,256,295 claims further comprising:
correcting, based on the modeled position of the foundation, a position of the foundation (Claim 1).
As to claim 11, depending from the method of claim 10, US Patent #12,256,295 claims wherein correcting comprises:
adjusting a position of at least a portion of the foundation, relative to another portion of the foundation (Claim 10).
As to claim 12, depending from the method of claim 1, US Patent #12,256,295 claims further comprising:
placing a second plurality of altimeters at the corresponding plurality of locations in the building;
measuring, using the second plurality of altimeters, a corresponding second plurality of altitude measurements; and
generating a corresponding combined plurality of altitude measurements by combining the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements with the corresponding second plurality of altitude measurements,
wherein modeling is further performed using the corresponding combined plurality of altitude measurements (Claim 12).
As to claim 13, depending from the method of claim 12, US Patent #12,256,295 claims wherein combining comprises averaging corresponding ones of the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements with the corresponding second plurality of altitude measurements (Claim 13).
As to claim 14, depending from the method of claim 12, US Patent #12,256,295 claims wherein combining comprises using both the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements and the corresponding second plurality of altitude measurements during modeling (Claim 14).
As to claim 15, US Patent #12,256,295 claims a method of monitoring a foundation of a building, the method comprising:
placing a plurality of altimeters at a corresponding plurality of locations in the building;
measuring a measurement history of the plurality of altimeters by repeatedly performing altitude measurements by the plurality of altimeters over a time period;
calculating, for each of the plurality of altimeters, a height history of a plurality of height differences among the plurality of altimeters by repeatedly calculating, over the time period, the plurality of height differences among the plurality of altimeters; and
modeling, using the height history of the plurality of height differences, a modeled movement of the foundation over the time period (Claim 15).
As to claim 16, depending from the method of claim 15, US Patent #12,256,295 claims further comprising:
correcting, based on the modeled movement of the foundation, a position of the foundation (Claim 15).
As to claim 17, US Patent #12,256,295 claims a system for monitoring a position of a foundation of a building, the system comprising:
a plurality of altimeters disposed at a corresponding plurality of locations in the building, wherein the plurality of altimeters further comprises a corresponding plurality of wireless transmitters;
a wireless receiver configured to receive a plurality of signals from the corresponding plurality of wireless transmitters, wherein the plurality of signals represent a plurality of corresponding height measurements for the plurality of altimeters; and
a processor configured to model, using the plurality of corresponding height measurements for the plurality of altimeters, a position of the foundation (Claim 16).
As to claim 18, depending from the system of claim 17, US Patent #12,256,295 claims wherein the processor is further configured to:
measure, over a time period, a plurality of additional corresponding height measurements for the plurality of altimeters; and
model, using the plurality of corresponding height measurements and the plurality of additional corresponding height measurements, a modeled movement of the foundation over the time period (Claim 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 12-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hecht et al. (Hecht; US PG Pub #2006/0021447) in view of Vuyk, Jr. et al. (Vuyk; US PG Pub #2018/0100282).
As to claim 1, Hecht teaches a method of monitoring a foundation of a building (Paragraph [0007] teaches a method for monitoring concrete structures, such as buildings; Paragraph [0016] teaches a method of life-cycle monitoring for pilings and other concrete structural elements; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation), the method comprising:
placing a plurality of altimeters at a corresponding plurality of locations in the building (Paragraph [0141] teaches mounting an altimeter on a piling and at a known elevation; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation such that there are a plurality of altimeters at a plurality of pilings in the foundation of the building);
measuring, using the plurality of altimeters, a corresponding plurality of altitude measurements (Paragraph [0141] teaches receiving signals from two altimeters measuring altitude; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation); and
monitoring a position of the foundation (Paragraph [0135] teaches tracking displacement of a pile; Paragraph [0104] teaches logging information at the time of driving the piles; Paragraph [0106] teaches storing timestamped data in a database to monitor the lifecycle, QA/QC traceability, and accountability of the structure; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation).
However, Hecht does not explicitly teach modeling, using the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements, a modeled position of the foundation.
In the field of monitoring foundations (Paragraph [0002]), Vuyk teaches modeling, using the corresponding plurality of measurements, a modeled position of the foundation (Paragraph [0034] teaches mapping foundation topography based on X, Y, and Z positions of discrete locations inside of the foundation; Paragraph [0022] teaches generating a plurality of topographical data). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hecht with the mapping of Vuyk to model, using the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements, a modeled position of the foundation because Vuyk recognizes the need for determining if a foundation has moved relative to an initial position (Paragraph [0004]) and using this information to assist in the proper repair and maintenance of the foundation (see Abstract).
As to claim 3, depending from the method of claim 1, Hecht teaches wherein modeling comprises:
calculating a plurality of height differences among the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements (Paragraph [0141] teaches determining height differentials from multiple altimeters; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation); and
determining a current position of the foundation using the plurality of height differences (Paragraph [0135] teaches tracking displacement of a pile; Paragraph [0104] teaches logging information at the time of driving the piles; Paragraph [0106] teaches storing timestamped data in a database to monitor the lifecycle, QA/QC traceability, and accountability of the structure; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation).
Hecht does not explicitly teach modeling the foundation.
In the field of monitoring foundations (Paragraph [0002]), Vuyk teaches modeling a position of the foundation (Paragraph [0034] teaches mapping foundation topography based on X, Y, and Z positions of discrete locations inside of the foundation; Paragraph [0022] teaches generating a plurality of topographical data). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hecht with the mapping of Vuyk to model a current position of the foundation because Vuyk recognizes the need for determining if a foundation has moved relative to an initial position (Paragraph [0004]) and using this information to assist in the proper repair and maintenance of the foundation (see Abstract).
As to claim 4, depending from the method of claim 1, Hecht does not explicitly teach wherein the modeled position comprises a map of the foundation marked with a plurality of altitude differences as measured by the plurality of altimeters.
In the field of monitoring foundations (Paragraph [0002]), Vuyk teaches wherein the modeled position comprises a map of the foundation marked with a plurality of altitude differences as measured by the plurality of altimeters (Paragraphs [0038]-[0040] and Figures 7A-7C teach maps showing the relative changes in elevation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hecht with the mapping of Vuyk to map the foundation because Vuyk recognizes the need for determining if a foundation has moved relative to an initial position (Paragraph [0004]) and using this information to assist in the proper repair and maintenance of the foundation (see Abstract).
As to claim 5, depending from the method of claim 1, Hecht teaches wherein placing the plurality of altimeters comprises placing the plurality of altimeters directly onto the foundation of the building (Paragraph [0141] teaches mounting an altimeter on a piling; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation such that there are a plurality of altimeters at a plurality of pilings in the foundation of the building).
As to claim 6, depending from the method of claim 1, wherein placing the plurality of altimeters comprises placing the plurality of altimeters at different locations within the building (Paragraph [0141] teaches mounting an altimeter on a piling and another at a known elevation which can be located away from the pile; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation such that there are a plurality of altimeters at a plurality of pilings in the foundation of the building).
As to claim 7, depending from the method of claim 6, wherein at least some of the plurality of altimeters are placed on parts of the building other than on the foundation (Paragraph [0141] teaches mounting an altimeter at a known elevation located away from the pile at the job site).
As to claim 8, depending from the method of claim 1, Hecht does not explicitly teach wherein placing the plurality of altimeters comprises placing a first altimeter at a corner of the building or of the foundation, and placing a second altimeter within the building or within a perimeter of the foundation.
In the field of monitoring foundations (Paragraph [0002]), Vuyk measuring at a corner of the building or of the foundation and within the building or within a perimeter of the foundation (Paragraph [0022] teaches generating a plurality of topographical data via a conduit placed within the perimeter of the foundation; Figures 1 and 6A-6D show a path whereby measurements are taken that include locations in a corner and within the perimeter of the foundation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor locations of Hecht with the conduit location of Vuyk such that placing the plurality of altimeters comprises placing a first altimeter at a corner of the building or of the foundation, and placing a second altimeter within the building or within a perimeter of the foundation because recognizes the need for determining if a foundation has moved relative to an initial position (Paragraph [0004]) and using this information to assist in the proper repair and maintenance of the foundation (see Abstract).
As to claim 9, depending from the method of claim 1, Hecht does not explicitly teach wherein placing the plurality of altimeters comprises placing a first subset of the plurality of altimeters at each corner of the building or of the foundation, a second subset of the plurality of altimeters along a perimeter of the building or of the foundation, and a third subset of the plurality of altimeters inside the perimeter of the building or of the foundation.
In the field of monitoring foundations (Paragraph [0002]), Vuyk measuring at a corner of the building or of the foundation, along a perimeter of the building or of the foundation, and inside the perimeter of the building or of the foundation (Paragraph [0022] teaches generating a plurality of topographical data via a conduit placed within the perimeter of the foundation; Figures 1 and 6A-6D show a path whereby measurements are taken that include locations in a corner, along the perimeter, and within the perimeter of the foundation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor locations of Hecht with the conduit location of Vuyk such that placing the plurality of altimeters comprises placing a first subset of the plurality of altimeters at each corner of the building or of the foundation, a second subset of the plurality of altimeters along a perimeter of the building or of the foundation, and a third subset of the plurality of altimeters inside the perimeter of the building or of the foundation because recognizes the need for determining if a foundation has moved relative to an initial position (Paragraph [0004]) and using this information to assist in the proper repair and maintenance of the foundation (see Abstract).
As to claim 12, depending from the method of claim 1, Hecht teaches the method further comprising:
placing a second plurality of altimeters at the corresponding plurality of locations in the building;
measuring, using the second plurality of altimeters, a corresponding second plurality of altitude measurements; and
generating a corresponding combined plurality of altitude measurements by combining the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements with the corresponding second plurality of altitude measurements, and
using the corresponding combined plurality of altitude measurements (Paragraph [0141] teaches receiving data from altimeters 342 mounted at a fixed reference elevation to determine a differential; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation).
Hecht does not explicitly teach modeling the foundation.
In the field of monitoring foundations (Paragraph [0002]), Vuyk teaches modeling a position of the foundation (Paragraph [0034] teaches mapping foundation topography based on X, Y, and Z positions of discrete locations inside of the foundation; Paragraph [0022] teaches generating a plurality of topographical data). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hecht with the mapping of Vuyk to model a current position of the foundation because Vuyk recognizes the need for determining if a foundation has moved relative to an initial position (Paragraph [0004]) and using this information to assist in the proper repair and maintenance of the foundation (see Abstract).
As to claim 13, depending from the method of claim 12, Hecht does not explicitly teach wherein combining comprises averaging corresponding ones of the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements with the corresponding second plurality of altitude measurements.
In the field of monitoring foundations (Paragraph [0002]), Vuyk teaches averaging corresponding ones of the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements with the corresponding second plurality of altitude measurements (Paragraph [0039] teaches averaging datum in the Z direction for an average elevation reading to account for tilt). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hecht with the averaging of Vuyk to average corresponding ones of the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements with the corresponding second plurality of altitude measurements because Vuyk recognizes the need for determining if a foundation has moved relative to an initial position (Paragraph [0004]) and using this information to assist in the proper repair and maintenance of the foundation (see Abstract).
As to claim 14, depending from the method of claim 12, Hecht teaches wherein combining comprises using both the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements and the corresponding second plurality of altitude measurements during modeling (Paragraph [0141] teaches a differential calculation using both measurements).
As to claim 15, Hecht teaches a method of monitoring a foundation of a building (Paragraph [0007] teaches a method for monitoring concrete structures, such as buildings; Paragraph [0016] teaches a method of life-cycle monitoring for pilings and other concrete structural elements; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation), the method comprising:
placing a plurality of altimeters at a corresponding plurality of locations in the building (Paragraph [0141] teaches mounting an altimeter on a piling and at a known elevation; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation such that there are a plurality of altimeters at a plurality of pilings in the foundation of the building);
measuring a measurement history of the plurality of altimeters by repeatedly performing altitude measurements by the plurality of altimeters over a time period (Paragraph [0104] teaches logging information at the time of driving the pile; Paragraph [0106] teaches lifecycle/long term monitoring; Paragraph [0141] teaches receiving signals from two altimeters measuring altitude; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation);
calculating, for each of the plurality of altimeters, a height history of a plurality of height differences among the plurality of altimeters by repeatedly calculating, over the time period, the plurality of height differences among the plurality of altimeters (Paragraph [0092] teaches storing pile life history data; Paragraph [0116] teaches monitoring the entire history of the piling; Paragraph [0135] teaches tracking displacement of the pile; Paragraph [0141] teaches determining height differentials from multiple altimeters; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation); and
determining, using the height history of the plurality of height differences, a movement of the foundation over the time period (Paragraph [0135] teaches tracking displacement of a pile; Paragraph [0104] teaches logging information at the time of driving the piles; Paragraph [0106] teaches storing timestamped data in a database to monitor the lifecycle, QA/QC traceability, and accountability of the structure; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation).
However, Hecht does not explicitly teach modeling, using the height history of the plurality of height differences, a modeled movement of the foundation over the time period.
In the field of monitoring foundations (Paragraph [0002]), Vuyk teaches modeling, using the height history of the plurality of height differences, a modeled movement of the foundation over the time period (Paragraph [0034] teaches mapping foundation topography based on X, Y, and Z positions of discrete locations inside of the foundation; Paragraph [0022] teaches generating a plurality of topographical data). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hecht with the mapping of Vuyk to model, using the height history of the plurality of height differences, a modeled movement of the foundation over the time period because Vuyk recognizes the need for determining if a foundation has moved relative to an initial position (Paragraph [0004]) and using this information to assist in the proper repair and maintenance of the foundation (see Abstract).
As to claim 17, Hecht teaches a system for monitoring a position of a foundation of a building (Paragraph [0008] teaches a system for monitoring data related to the life cycle of concrete structures; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation), the system comprising:
a plurality of altimeters disposed at a corresponding plurality of locations in the building, wherein the plurality of altimeters further comprises a corresponding plurality of wireless transmitters (Paragraph [0141] teach multiple altimeters per pile communicating via wireless connections via a radio/antenna assembly for the pile; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation);
a wireless receiver configured to receive a plurality of signals from the corresponding plurality of wireless transmitters, wherein the plurality of signals represent a plurality of corresponding height measurements for the plurality of altimeters (Paragraph [0141] teaches a monitoring device or pile workstation SPW receiving multiple signals from the altimeters with altitude or height data); and
a processor configured to determine, using the plurality of corresponding height measurements for the plurality of altimeters, a position of the foundation (Paragraphs [0134]-[0135] teach a centralized system controller tracking displacement of a pile; Paragraph [0104] teaches logging information at the time of driving the piles; Paragraph [0106] teaches storing timestamped data in a database to monitor the lifecycle, QA/QC traceability, and accountability of the structure).
However, Hecht does not explicitly teach modeling, using the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements, a modeled position of the foundation.
In the field of monitoring foundations (Paragraph [0002]), Vuyk teaches modeling, using the corresponding plurality of measurements, a modeled position of the foundation (Paragraph [0034] teaches mapping foundation topography based on X, Y, and Z positions of discrete locations inside of the foundation; Paragraph [0022] teaches generating a plurality of topographical data). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hecht with the mapping of Vuyk to model, using the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements, a modeled position of the foundation because Vuyk recognizes the need for determining if a foundation has moved relative to an initial position (Paragraph [0004]) and using this information to assist in the proper repair and maintenance of the foundation (see Abstract).
As to claim 18, depending from the system of claim 17, Hecht teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
measure, over a time period, a plurality of additional corresponding height measurements for the plurality of altimeters (Paragraph [0104] teaches logging information at the time of driving the pile; Paragraph [0106] teaches lifecycle/long term monitoring; Paragraph [0141] teaches receiving signals from two altimeters measuring altitude; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation); and
determine, the plurality of corresponding height measurements and the plurality of additional corresponding height measurements, a movement of the foundation over the time period (Paragraph [0135] teaches tracking displacement of a pile; Paragraph [0104] teaches logging information at the time of driving the piles; Paragraph [0106] teaches storing timestamped data in a database to monitor the lifecycle, QA/QC traceability, and accountability of the structure; Paragraph [0121] teaches monitoring piling nodes that make up a building foundation).
However, Hecht does not explicitly teach modeling a modeled movement of the foundation over the time period.
In the field of monitoring foundations (Paragraph [0002]), Vuyk teaches modeling a modeled movement of the foundation over the time period (Paragraph [0034] teaches mapping foundation topography based on X, Y, and Z positions of discrete locations inside of the foundation; Paragraph [0022] teaches generating a plurality of topographical data). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hecht with the mapping of Vuyk to model, using the height history of the plurality of height differences, a modeled movement of the foundation over the time period because Vuyk recognizes the need for determining if a foundation has moved relative to an initial position (Paragraph [0004]) and using this information to assist in the proper repair and maintenance of the foundation (see Abstract).
.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hecht et al. (Hecht; US PG Pub #2006/0021447) in view of Vuyk, Jr. et al. (Vuyk; US PG Pub #2018/0100282) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gottschalk et al. (Gottschalk; US PG Pub #2015/0327010).
As to claim 2, depending from the method of claim 1, Hecht does not explicitly teach wherein modeling is performed only with the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements, and without reference to a benchmark height.
In the field of building management, Gottschalk teaches wherein modeling is performed only with the corresponding plurality of altitude measurements, and without reference to a benchmark height (Paragraph [0054] teaches altimeters providing information to a building management system controller to determine a three-dimensional location of the building equipment; Paragraph [0035] teaches applying three-dimensional location data to a three-dimensional model for the building to map the building). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hecht with the modeling without benchmark height of Gottschalk because this yields the predictable result of providing reliable three-dimensional data while simplifying operation of the system and method by reducing the need for benchmark measurement devices and computations.
Claims 10-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hecht et al. (Hecht; US PG Pub #2006/0021447) in view of Vuyk, Jr. et al. (Vuyk; US PG Pub #2018/0100282) as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Conner et al. (Conner; US PG Pub #2016/0340856).
As to claim 10, depending from the method of claim 1, Hecht does not explicitly teach the method further comprising: correcting, based on the modeled position of the foundation, a position of the foundation.
In the field of foundation monitoring, Conner teaches correcting, based on the modeled position of the foundation, a position of the foundation (Paragraphs [0083]-[0090] teach sensing tilt of the foundation and controlling means to raise the foundation based on the sensed readings). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hecht with the foundation correction of Conner because Conner recognizes the problems that arise when a foundation settles unevenly (Paragraph [0010]) and takes corrective action to offset any changes (Paragraphs [0049] and [0082]).
As to claim 11, depending from the method of claim 10, Hecht does not explicitly teach wherein correcting comprises: adjusting a position of at least a portion of the foundation, relative to another portion of the foundation.
In the field of foundation monitoring, Conner teaches wherein correcting comprises: adjusting a position of at least a portion of the foundation, relative to another portion of the foundation (Paragraphs [0083]-[0090] teach sensing tilt of the foundation and controlling means to raise the foundation based on the sensed readings). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hecht with the foundation correction of Conner because Conner recognizes the problems that arise when a foundation settles unevenly (Paragraph [0010]) and takes corrective action to offset any changes (Paragraphs [0049] and [0082]).
As to claim 16, depending from the method of claim 15, Hecht does not explicitly teach the method further comprising: correcting, based on the modeled movement of the foundation, a position of the foundation.
In the field of foundation monitoring, Conner teaches correcting, based on the modeled position of the foundation, a position of the foundation (Paragraphs [0083]-[0090] teach sensing tilt of the foundation and controlling means to raise the foundation based on the sensed readings). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hecht with the foundation correction of Conner because Conner recognizes the problems that arise when a foundation settles unevenly (Paragraph [0010]) and takes corrective action to offset any changes (Paragraphs [0049] and [0082]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nurminen et al. (US PG Pub #2022/0124456) teach an altimeter sensing its position and/or location (Paragraph [0068]) to update, build, and/or generate a building or venue map (Paragraph [0070]).
Fleming (US PG Pub #2018/0003494) teaches a system for obtaining a plurality of indoor pressure measurement values to determine an altitude (Paragraphs [0034]-[0036]).
Contact Information
/RYAN W SHERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688