DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-23 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Double Patenting rejection, no amendment is made to independent claims to overcome the rejection. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection, Applicant mainly argues that paragraphs [0040], [0043], [0044], [0049], and [0051]-[0053] and Figs. 1-3 demonstrate Applicant had possession of the a system in which a request for a particular datum of a set of data is evaluated against rules generated from the security context, and in which the requested data is returned or not furnished according to the result of that evaluation. However, the examiner disagrees. While the Specification provides support for evaluating application to determine if application complies with requirement, and output result of the evaluation (Specification: [0050]-[0055]), the Specification does not describe selectively returns or declines the requested datum in accordance with evaluating the requested datum with the set of rules. Specifically, the set of rules are generated for testing the application under test (AUT) by evaluating the generated rule as being true by identifying the source, use and sink of sensitive data (Specification: [0051]), it’s unclear how the security analysis component selectively return or decline the requested datum because its function is to evaluate output of the AUT (e.g. whether the AUT would return or decline the requested datum) instead of returning or declining the requested datum. Therefore, the rejection is maintained and further clarification regarding the claimed step is required.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the prior art of record are in the same field of endeavor of testing applications to ensure compliance by evaluating output generated by the applications. Although Ranjan does not explicitly disclose selectively return or decline requested datum by evaluating the requested datum with the set of rules, Farkash discloses privacy scanner tool to evaluate output based on rules implemented by applications to determine whether that application would leak sensitive data and violate privacy rules. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive in light of above explanation.
Regarding new claims 21-23, the claims are rejected based on the combination of Ranjan and Farkash as set forth below.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 19, it uses the phrases (i) means to access, (ii) means to generate, and (iii) means to configure each invoke 112(f) claim interpretation. Each of these phrases do not recite structure that can perform those functions. The specification defines a processor of a computing device and machine readable instructions as the equivalent structure and algorithm that performs these functions as represented in Fig. 4.
See also [0052] Fig. 4 depicts process 400 in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. In one embodiment, process 400 is embodied as machine-readable instructions that, when read by a machine, such as at least one processor of a computing device (e.g., rule generator 112 and/or security analysis component 116) causes the machine to perform the steps of process 400.
Thus, in the light of the specification, the means to access, generate, and configure are supported by the generic processor of computing device as embodied in paragraph 0052 and perform the algorithm depicted in Fig. 4. Therefore the limitations of claim 19 are fully supported by Applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 10 and 19 recite “in response to receiving a request for a requested datum of the set of data, the security analysis component selectively returns or declines the requested datum in accordance with evaluating the requested datum with the set of rules.” However, the Specification provides support for evaluating application to determine if application complies with requirement, and output result of the evaluation (Specification: [0050]-[0052]). The Specification does not describe selectively returns or declines the requested datum in accordance with evaluating the requested datum with the set of rules. Therefore, the claims will be examined based on providing result of evaluation based on the set of rules.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,259,983. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because present application and related patent both disclose system/method for automatically training a security analysis component to evaluate an application under test (AUT) for compliance with a security context. See comparison of exemplary claims below.
Instant Application
U.S. 12,259,983
1. A system for automatically training a security analysis component to evaluate an application under test (AUT) for compliance with a security context, comprising:
at least one processor of a number of processors that accesses instructions maintained in a non-transitory memory, that, when executed by the at least one processor of the number of processors, cause the at least one processor of the number of processors to:
access the security context defining protected data, the protected data comprising one or more datum of a set of data;
generate a set of rules defining risks to the protected data, wherein the risks comprise usages of the protected data;
configure the security analysis component with the set of rules for testing the AUT for compliance with the security context; and
in response to receiving a request for a requested datum of the set of data, the security analysis component selectively returns or declines the requested datum in accordance with evaluating the requested datum with the set of rules.
1. A system for automatically training a security analysis component to evaluate an application under test (AUT) for compliance with a security context, comprising:
at least one processor of a number of processors that accesses instructions maintained in a non-transitory memory, that, when executed by the at least one processor of the number of processors, cause the at least one processor of the number of processors to:
access the security context defining protected data, the protected data comprising one or more datum of a set of data;
generate a set of rules defining risks to the protected data, wherein the risks comprise usages of the protected data;
configure the security analysis component with the set of rules for testing the AUT for compliance with the security context; and
in response to receiving a request for a requested datum of the set of data, the security analysis component selectively returns or declines the requested datum in accordance with evaluating the requested datum with the set of rules; and
wherein the security analysis component performs tests on the AUT comprising identifying a call path utilizing the protected data, in accordance with the set of rules, and wherein the call path defines steps in the AUT and the AUT comprises source code; and
wherein the call path that accesses the protected data is marked with a taint flag and wherein the taint flag is assigned to all subsequent manipulations originating from the protected data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ranjan et al. US 2021/0334384 (hereinafter Ranjan) in view of Farkash et al. U.S. 2020/0320202 (hereinafter Farkash).
As per claim 1, 10 and 19, Ranjan discloses a system/method for automatically training a security analysis component to evaluate an application under test (AUT) for compliance with a security context, comprising:
at least one processor of a number of processors that accesses instructions maintained in a non-transitory memory, that, when executed by the at least one processor of the number of processors, cause the at least one processor of the number of processors to (Ranjan: [0096]):
access the security context defining protected data, the protected data comprising one or more datum of a set of data (Ranjan: [0022]: analyze various pre-defined data sets/protected data to scan them for pre-defined security leak patterns, the predefined data sets can be service logs, call stack traces, or API responses based on different security contexts);
generate a set of rules defining risks to the protected data, wherein the risks comprise usages of the protected data (Ranjan: [0023]-[0029]: pre-defined rules to detect data leaks for different protected data; [0036]: risk associated with usage of data including data leakage);
configure the security analysis component with the set of rules for testing the AUT for compliance with the security context (Ranjan: [0023]-[0029]: determine compliance with security context); and
output result of the testing (Ranjan: [0072]).
Ranjan does not explicitly disclose in response to receiving a request for a requested datum of the set of data, the security analysis component selectively returns or declines the requested datum in accordance with evaluating the requested datum with the set of rules. However, Farkash, in the same field of endeavor, discloses testing privacy policy rules prior to deploying applications, wherein the application enforces rules to ensure compliance (Farkash: [0032]-[0033]: security leak detection system is deployed in the form of microservices to analyze data sets). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that applications that are subject to testing/evaluation based on pre-defined security rules will output compliant data (i.e. return or decline requested data) when deployed as well known in the art.
As per claim 2, 11 and 20, Ranjan as modified discloses the limitations of claims 1, 10 and 19 respectively. Ranjan further discloses wherein at least one rule of the set of rules defines a risk comprising one or more of reading, writing, or manipulating the protected data (Ranjan: [0023]-[0029]).
As per claim 3 and 12, Ranjan as modified discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10 respectively. Ranjan further discloses wherein the set of rules define risks to the protected data comprising less than all of the set of rules applicable to the protected data (Ranjan: [0022]-[0029]: pre-defined security rules are applied based on different datasets).
As per claim 4 and 13, Ranjan as modified discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10 respectively. Ranjan further discloses wherein the set of rules define risks to the protected data comprising less than all of the set of data (Ranjan: [0023]-[0028]: protected data could be associated with API, service logs or call stack traces).
As per claim 5 and 14, Ranjan as modified discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10 respectively. Ranjan further discloses wherein the set of rules defining risks to the protected data defines risks to the protected data comprising a first set of protected data, determined upon the security context having a first security context value, and the set of rules defining risks to the protected data defines risks to the protected data comprising a second set of protected data, determined upon the security context having a second security context value (Ranjan: [0043]-[0045]: apply different test cases using different input parameters based on context).
As per claim 6 and 15, Ranjan as modified discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10 respectively. Ranjan further discloses wherein the set of rules defining risks to the protected data is generated to comprise a first set of rules, determined upon the security context having a first security context value, and the set of rules defining risks to the protected data is generated to comprise a second set of rules, determined upon the security context having a second security context value (Ranjan: [0043]-[0045]: apply different test cases using different input parameters based on context).
As per claim 7 and 16, Ranjan as modified discloses the system of claim 1. Ranjan as modified further discloses wherein the security context comprises one or more requirements of the Health Information Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) (Farkash: [0032]-[0033]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to prevent sensitive/personal leakage to ensure compliance with privacy rules, such as HIPAA, as well known in the art.
As per claim 8 and 17, Ranjan discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10 respectively. Ranjan further discloses wherein the security context comprises one or more requirements associated with data records comprising both sensitive data and non-sensitive data (Ranjan: [0022]-[0029]; Farkash: [0032]-[0033]).
As per claim 9, Ranjan discloses the system of claim 1. Ranjan further discloses wherein the security analysis component performs tests on the AUT comprising testing the AUT, and wherein the AUT is embodied as executable machine code, for at least one of inputs or outputs of the protected data in accordance with the set of rules (Ranjan: [0022]-[0029]: microservices).
As per claim 21-23, Ranjan as modified discloses the limitations of claims 1, 10 and 19 respectively. Ranjan as modified further discloses wherein the set of rules defining the risks to the protected data is generated from the one or more datum and from operations that exist with the AUT (Ranjan: Fig. 1; [0039]-[0040]: the testing system include various databases and managers to define sets of data to be observed and customize security rules for different microservice/applications).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vidal et al. U.S. 2021/0073110 discloses method of using artificial intelligence (AI) to enable the rapid development of reliable test suites for web and mobile applications, wherein interactions between the AI agent and the AUT that define identified flows form the basis for the test suite.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIN-HON (ERIC) CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431