DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuyuzaki et al. (US 20210221436)
Regarding claim 1, Tsuyuzaki discloses a vehicle lower part structure comprising: a battery pack (28) including a battery cell inside and disposed on a vehicle lower side with respect to a vehicle cabin of a vehicle ([0368]); a rocker (14) disposed on an outer side of the battery pack in a vehicle width direction and extending in a vehicle front-rear direction (fig 5); a pair of support portions (107) disposed at least partially between the battery pack and the rocker in the vehicle width direction when viewed in a vehicle up-down direction (fig 5), and spaced away from each other in the vehicle front-rear direction (figs 4-5); and a central framework (131) extending in the vehicle width direction (figs 4-5), positioned between the support portions in the vehicle front-rear direction (figs 4-5), and including an end positioned on an inner side in the vehicle width direction with respect to the support portions (figs 4-5).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuyuzaki further discloses that a support framework (35) extending in the vehicle width direction on an inner side of the support portion in the vehicle width direction (figs 4-5), and disposed to overlap the support portion when viewed in the vehicle width direction (figs 4-5).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuyuzaki further discloses that the central framework is a battery cross member (131) provided inside the battery pack ([0270]).
Regarding claim 7, Tsuyuzaki further discloses a load transmitting member (56a) disposed inside the rocker and configured to transmit a load in the vehicle width direction to the support portion ([0349]-[0350], figs 16-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuyuzaki et al. (US 20210221436) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mori (US 20130140854).
Regarding claim 5, Tsuyuzaki is silent regarding the fact that the rocker includes a weakened portion provided at a part positioned between the support portions in the vehicle front-rear direction, and having a lower rigidity against a load in the vehicle width direction than another part of the rocker.
Mori teaches the rocker (40) includes a weakened portion (joint portion between rocker and 100) provided at a part positioned between the support portions (100) in the vehicle front-rear direction ([0063], fig 4), and having a lower rigidity against a load in the vehicle width direction than another part of the rocker ([0063]).
Before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tsuyuzaki and Mori before him or her, to modify the apparatus/method disclosed by Tsuyuzaki to include a weakened portion as taught by Mori in order to improve the strength to a load in a vehicle body backward-forward direction and the rigidity to a load in a vehicle width direction while executing simplification and reducing a weight ([0069]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANY E AKAKPO/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
09/30/2026