DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits in response to communications filed by Applicant on December 5th, 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and examined below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2023-0177887, filed on 12/08/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) filed on 12/05/2024 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 3-7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0190006 A1 ("Choi") in view of US 2023/0027130 A1 ("Simard") in further view of US 12214491 B2 ("Byeon").
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a gas supply system comprising (Choi: Figure 2, Abstract, “A gas supply stage includes a gas supply cabinet and a fastening vehicle. The gas supply cabinet includes a cabinet frame including an inner space configured to house a gas container and a holding module including a connector holder configured to be detachably fastened to a valve nozzle. The fastening vehicle includes a traveling unit configured to travel in a facility space in which the gas supply cabinet is installed, a multi-axis robot attached to the traveling unit, and a module gripper mounted to the multi-axis robot and configured to detachably grip a valve manipulation module and the holding module.”, ¶ 0034, “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, the gas supply stage 17 may include one or more gas supply cabinets 300 and the fastening vehicle 400 that travels between the gas supply cabinets 300.”):
a cabinet in which a gas container is disposed (Choi: Figure 2 gas supply cabinet 300, ¶ 0035, “Each of the gas supply cabinets 300 may be equipped with one or more gas containers 50. The number of gas containers 50 mounted in one gas supply cabinet 300 may be appropriately adjusted according to the usage and replacement cycle of various gases required for a semiconductor process.”);
a connector fastenable to a valve of the gas container, the connector configured to supply a process gas in the gas container to a supply pipe while fastened to the valve (Choi: ¶ 0036, “The gas supply cabinet 300 may include a holding module 330 (see FIGS. 15 and 16) and a valve manipulation module 320 (see FIGS. 18 and 19). The holding module 330 may be configured to couple to a fitting, outlet, or connection of a gas container 50 (hereafter referred to as a valve nozzle) in accordance with standards set by the Compressed Gas Association (CGA) The holding module 330 and the valve manipulation module 320 may be fastened to each of the gas containers 50 or mounted on a holder ( e.g., first holder 391 or the second holder 392). In some embodiments, the valve manipulation module 320 may be omitted.”, ¶ 0038, “The gas supply cabinet 300 may be configured to supply gases to semiconductor manufacturing equipment (e.g., process chambers, such as a deposition chamber or an etching chamber) configured to perform a semiconductor process. The gas supply cabinet 300 may be connected to the semiconductor manufacturing equipment via a gas connection pipe. The gas connection pipe may be connected to the holding module 330. The gas discharged from the gas container 50 mounted in the gas supply cabinet 300 may be supplied to the semiconductor manufacturing equipment via the gas connection pipe. The gas container may be detachably connected to the gas connection pipe via the holding module 330.”. The cited passages clearly show that the system includes a connector fastenable to a valve of the gas container to supply gas to a supply pipe.); and
a mobile robot device disposed outside the cabinet and configured to automatically fasten the connector to the valve (Choi: Figure 2 fastening vehicle 400, ¶ 0039, “The fastening vehicle 400 may include a traveling unit 410 (see FIG. 3), the first multi-axis robot 420, and a module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3). The first multi-axis robot 420 and the module gripper 430 are attached to the traveling unit 410 of the fastening vehicle 400, and as the traveling unit 410 travels between the gas supply cabinets 300, the first multi-axis robot 420 and the module gripper 430 may move together.”. The mobile robot (i.e. the fastening vehicle) is clearly disposed outside of the cabinets.),
wherein the mobile robot device comprises: a body movable outside the cabinet (Choi: ¶ 0039, “The fastening vehicle 400 may include a traveling unit 410 (see FIG. 3), the first multi-axis robot 420, and a module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3). The first multi-axis robot 420 and the module gripper 430 are attached to the traveling unit 410 of the fastening vehicle 400, and as the traveling unit 410 travels between the gas supply cabinets 300, the first multi-axis robot 420 and the module gripper 430 may move together.”);
a first collaborative robot comprising a first multi-joint arm disposed on the body and having a multi-degree-of-freedom motion (Choi: ¶ 0039, “The fastening vehicle 400 may include a traveling unit 410 (see FIG. 3), the first multi-axis robot 420, and a module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3). The first multi-axis robot 420 and the module gripper 430 are attached to the traveling unit 410 of the fastening vehicle 400, and as the traveling unit 410 travels between the gas supply cabinets 300, the first multi-axis robot 420 and the module gripper 430 may move together.”, ¶ 0081, “The first multi-axis robot 420 may include a plurality of arms that are rotatable about a plurality of rotation axes R1 to R6 and connected to each other. The module gripper 430 for gripping the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18) may be mounted on a second end (e.g., a far end opposite to the first end) of the first multi-axis robot 420.”. The robot arm is described as multi-axis, which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize means that the robot has multiple degrees of freedom.),
the first collaborative robot configured to operate to fasten the connector to the valve (Choi: ¶ 0037, “The holding module 330 and the valve manipulation module 320 may be detachably gripped by a first multi-axis robot 420 of the fastening vehicle 400. The holding module 330 and the valve manipulation module 320 may be operated while being gripped by the first multi-axis robot 420 of the fastening vehicle 400. Specifically, the holding module 330 and the valve manipulation module 320 may be operated by a power transmission shaft of the first multi-axis robot 420.”. The first robot arm clearly fastens the connector to the valve.);
a second collaborative robot comprising a second multi-joint arm disposed on the body and having a multi-degree-of-freedom motion (Choi: ¶ 0079, “In some embodiments, the plurality of multi-axis robots may include a first multi-axis robot 420 and a second multi-axis robot 420a. The first multi-axis robot 420 and the second multi-axis robot 420a may rotate independently of each other. That is, the movement of the first multi-axis robot 420 may be independent of the movement of the second multi-axis robot 420a.”, ¶ 0082, “The second multi-axis robot 420a may include a plurality of arms that are rotatable about a plurality of rotation axes Ral to Ra6 and connected to each other in series.”),
a camera configured to collect an image (Choi: ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, ¶ 0104, “An alignment structure may be provided in the valve head 52. The alignment structure may include a strip, a groove, or a specific structure that is provided on the outer circumferential surface of the valve head 52. The alignment structure of the valve head 52 may be sensed by a vision sensor of an external device. The vision sensor may include a camera, an image sensor, and the like. On the basis of the information obtained by sensing the alignment structure of the valve head 52 with the vision sensor, the position and orientation of the valve structure 51 may be detected, and the external device and the valve structure 51 may be aligned with each other. The alignment structure may be sensed by another sensor other than the vision sensor. In addition, a QR code relating to information about the gas container 50 ( e.g., material properties of gas) may be attached to the valve head 52.”); and
a controller configured to control an operation of the first collaborative robot and an operation of the second collaborative robot based on the image collected by the camera (Choi: ¶ 0043, “The superordinate system is configured to control the overall process through the gas supply stage 17 and may be referred to as a main controller. Although not illustrated, a controller, such as the superordinate system, can include one or more of at least one central processing unit (CPU) configured to execute computer program instructions to perform various processes and methods, memory devices, such as read only memory (ROM) and random access memory (RAM) configured to access and store data and information and computer program instructions, computer program input/output (I/O) devices configured to provide input and/or output to the central processing unit (e.g., keyboard, mouse, display, speakers, printers, modems, network cards, etc.), and storage media or other suitable type of memory (e.g., such as, for example, RAM, ROM, programmable read-only memory (PROM), erasable programmable read-only memory (EPROM), electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM), magnetic disks, optical disks, floppy disks, hard disks, removable cartridges, flash drives, any type of tangible and non-transitory storage medium) where data and/or instructions can be stored, a power source that provides an appropriate alternating current (AC) or direct current (DC) to power one or more components of the controller, and a bus that allows communication among the various disclosed components of the controller.”, ¶ 0044, “In addition to the superordinate system, subordinate systems such as the gas supply cabinet 300, the fastening vehicle 400, and/or the transport vehicle may each include a controller for performing operations such as communicating with the superordinate system and controlling local operations.”, ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, ¶ 0104, “An alignment structure may be provided in the valve head 52. The alignment structure may include a strip, a groove, or a specific structure that is provided on the outer circumferential surface of the valve head 52. The alignment structure of the valve head 52 may be sensed by a vision sensor of an external device. The vision sensor may include a camera, an image sensor, and the like. On the basis of the information obtained by sensing the alignment structure of the valve head 52 with the vision sensor, the position and orientation of the valve structure 51 may be detected, and the external device and the valve structure 51 may be aligned with each other. The alignment structure may be sensed by another sensor other than the vision sensor. In addition, a QR code relating to information about the gas container 50 ( e.g., material properties of gas) may be attached to the valve head 52.”. The system clearly controls the robot arms based on the image data captured by a camera.).
Choi does not teach the second collaborative robot configured to operate to support the gas container;
a three-dimensional (3D) vision camera configured to collect an image; and
a controller configured to control an operation of the first collaborative robot and an operation of the second collaborative robot based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera.
Simard, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a three-dimensional (3D) vision camera configured to collect an image (Simard: ¶ 0038, “An imaging sensor 400 is also represented in FIG. 1A. The imaging sensor 400 generates imaging data of the object 20A, which are transmitted to the server 100. The server 100 processes the imaging data, to generate a geometric model of the object 20A. In the context of the present disclosure, the geometric model is a three-dimensional (3D) model of the object 20A.”, ¶ 0040, “The one or more imaging sensor 400 includes at least one of the following: a 2D camera (e.g. a standard Red Green Blue (RGB) camera), a 3D camera (e.g. a stereo camera), a depth sensor ( e.g. an infrared, Time of Flight or laser sensor), a combination thereof, etc. The 3D model of the object 20A is generated based on one of the following: imaging data transmitted by a 3D camera, the combination of imaging data transmitted by two 2D cameras, the combination of imaging data transmitted by a 2D camera and a depth sensor, etc.”); and
a controller configured to control an operation of the first collaborative robot and an operation of the second collaborative robot based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera (Simard: ¶ 0042, “The full 3D model of the object 20A allows the robot 300 to perform a task ( e.g. painting, welding, coating, etc.) on the target area of the object 20A, taking into consideration constraints imposed by the shape and geometry of the object 20A to the movements of the robot 300 when performing the task.”, ¶ 0128, “The method 600 comprises the step 615 of determining a three-dimensional (3D) model 122 of the object (e.g. 20B). Step 615 is performed by the 3D reconstruction software 112 (executed by the processing unit 110) using imaging data of the object received from the imaging sensor(s) 400 via the communication interface 130. Although not represented in FIG. 7 for simplification purposes, the 3D model 122 of the object is stored in the memory 120.”, ¶ 0131, “The method 600 comprises the step 620 of determining a toolpath 126 of the tool 330 for performing a task on a target area of the object (e.g. 20B).”, ¶ 0133, “The method 600 comprises the step 630 of generating commands for controlling actuation of the actuated joints (e.g. 310 to 315) of the articulated arm of the robot 300. The commands are generated according to the calculated trajectory 128. Step 630 is performed by the processing unit 110. The commands are transmitted to the robot controller 200 via the communication interface 130.”. The system is clearly controlled based on the images collected by the 3D vision camera.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the gas supply system taught in Choi with a three-dimensional (3D) vision camera configured to collect an image; and a controller configured to control an operation of the first collaborative robot and an operation of the second collaborative robot based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera taught in Simard with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have required the simple substitution of one known sensor for another. The gas supply system taught in Choi already teaches the use of a camera in the control of the robot arms, but does not specify the type of camera used. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been easily able to have modified the system taught in Choi with the 3D vision camera taught in Simard according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required.
Choi in view of Simard does not teach the second collaborative robot configured to operate to support the gas container.
Byeon, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the second collaborative robot configured to operate to support the gas container (Byeon: Figure 4 gripping end effector 191, Column 17 lines 46-67, “Referring to FIGS. 7 and 8 together with FIGS. 2 to 6, the loading/unloading robot 170 may be in charge of an operation of transferring the gas container 50 between the cradle, 60 and the test buffer chamber 130, and an operation of fastening/separating the valve cap 80 to/from the gas container 50. The loading/unloading robot 170 may use end effectors suitable for performing different operations. The loading/unloading robot 170 may include an auto tool changer 172 for mounting and detaching an end effector suitable for each operation. When performing a transfer 55 operation of the gas container 50, the loading/unloading robot 170 may be equipped with a container gripping end effector 191 (shown in FIG. 4).”, Column 18 lines 28-42, “To take out the gas container 50 from the cradle 60, an operation of moving the loading/unloading robot 170 to the end effector table 180, an operation of mounting the container gripping end effector 191 to the loading/unloading robot 170 using the automatic tool changer 172, an operation of opening the door 65 of the cradle 60 by moving the container gripping end effector 191 based on the position information detected from the vision sensor 171 or preset position information, an operation of gripping the gas container with the container gripping end effector 191 after entering the bottom support structure 1911 of the container gripping end effector 191 into the opening provided at the bottom of the cradle 60, and an operation of taking out the gripped gas container 50 from the cradle 60 may be sequentially performed.”).
Choi in view of Simard teaches a gas supply system comprising: a cabinet in which a gas container is disposed; a connector fastenable to a valve of the gas container, the connector configured to supply a process gas in the gas container to a supply pipe while fastened to the valve; and a mobile robot device disposed outside the cabinet and configured to automatically fasten the connector to the valve, wherein the mobile robot device comprises: a body movable outside the cabinet; a first collaborative robot comprising a first multi-joint arm disposed on the body and having a multi-degree-of-freedom motion, the first collaborative robot configured to operate to fasten the connector to the valve; a second collaborative robot comprising a second multi-joint arm disposed on the body and having a multi-degree-of-freedom motion; a three-dimensional (3D) vision camera configured to collect an image; and a controller configured to control an operation of the first collaborative robot and an operation of the second collaborative robot based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera. Choi in view of Simard does not teach the second collaborative robot configured to operate to support the gas container. Byeon teaches the second collaborative robot configured to operate to support the gas container. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the system taught in Choi in view of Simard with the second collaborative robot configured to operate to support the gas container taught in Byeon. Furthermore, the system taught in Choi in view of Simard already teaches a first and second collaborative robot arm that are configured to interact with the gas container stored in a cabinet. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to have modified the end effector of the second collaborative robot art to grip the gas container in order to support said container as taught in Byeon. Substituting a known end effector for another would have been well within the technological capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a gas supply system comprising: the second collaborative robot configured to operate to support the gas container.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the gas supply system taught in Choi in view of Simard with the second collaborative robot configured to operate to support the gas container taught in Byeon with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Choi in view of Simard in further view of Byeon teaches wherein the first collaborative robot further comprises a first grip module installed at an end portion of the first multi-joint arm and configured to grip the connector (Choi: ¶ 0037, “The holding module 330 and the valve manipulation module 320 may be detachably gripped by a first multi-axis robot 420 of the fastening vehicle 400. The holding module 330 and the valve manipulation module 320 may be operated while being gripped by the first multi-axis robot 420 of the fastening vehicle 400. Specifically, the holding module 330 and the valve manipulation module 320 may be operated by a power transmission shaft of the first multi-axis robot 420.”. The cited passage clearly teaches a grip module coupled to the end of the first collaborative robot arm that is configured to grip the connector.), and
the first collaborative robot is configured to fasten the connector to the valve in a state in which the first grip module grips the connector (Choi: ¶ 0036, “The gas supply cabinet 300 may include a holding module 330 (see FIGS. 15 and 16) and a valve manipulation module 320 (see FIGS. 18 and 19). The holding module 330 may be configured to couple to a fitting, outlet, or connection of a gas container 50 (hereafter referred to as a valve nozzle) in accordance with standards set by the Compressed Gas Association (CGA) The holding module 330 and the valve manipulation module 320 may be fastened to each of the gas containers 50 or mounted on a holder ( e.g., first holder 391 or the second holder 392). In some embodiments, the valve manipulation module 320 may be omitted.”, ¶ 0038, “The gas supply cabinet 300 may be configured to supply gases to semiconductor manufacturing equipment (e.g., process chambers, such as a deposition chamber or an etching chamber) configured to perform a semiconductor process. The gas supply cabinet 300 may be connected to the semiconductor manufacturing equipment via a gas connection pipe. The gas connection pipe may be connected to the holding module 330. The gas discharged from the gas container 50 mounted in the gas supply cabinet 300 may be supplied to the semiconductor manufacturing equipment via the gas connection pipe. The gas container may be detachably connected to the gas connection pipe via the holding module 330.”, ¶ 0050, “Next, the fastening vehicle 400 grips the holding module 330 fastened to the gas container 50, and may then separate the valve nozzle 53 of the gas container 50 from the gas nozzle 3313 and mount the holding module 330 on a first holder 391. Specifically, the fastening vehicle 400 may grip the holding module 330 and provide power to a connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15). The connector holder 331 may be a threaded connector configured to be threaded with a threaded connector of the valve nozzle 53 or otherwise secured to the valve nozzle 53. The connector holder 331 may have a standard connector size as specified by the CGA. Similarly, the valve nozzle 53 may have a standard connector as specified by the CGA. The module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3) of the fastening vehicle 400 may provide power to the connector holder 331 and rotate the connector holder 331 to separate the valve nozzle 53 from the gas nozzle 3313.”, ¶ 0052, “Next, the fastening vehicle 400 may fasten the holding module 330 to the gas container 50. Specifically, the fastening vehicle 400 grips the holding module 330 mounted on the first holder 391, and may then move the holding module 330 to the gas container 50, fasten the gas container 50 to the holding module 330 via the connector holder 331, and release the holding module 330. For example, when the gas container 50 is fastened to the holding module 330, the module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3) of the fastening vehicle 400 provides power to the connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15). Accordingly, the connector holder 331 is rotated, and the gas container 50 may be fastened to the holding module 330.”. The cited passage clearly shows that the first collaborative robot arm is configured to fasten the connector to the valve using the first grip module.).
Regarding claim 4, Choi in view of Simard in further view of Byeon teaches wherein the controller is configured to: determine a valve fastening position in which the connector is aligned to be fastenable to the valve based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera (Choi: ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, ¶ 0104, “An alignment structure may be provided in the valve head 52. The alignment structure may include a strip, a groove, or a specific structure that is provided on the outer circumferential surface of the valve head 52. The alignment structure of the valve head 52 may be sensed by a vision sensor of an external device. The vision sensor may include a camera, an image sensor, and the like. On the basis of the information obtained by sensing the alignment structure of the valve head 52 with the vision sensor, the position and orientation of the valve structure 51 may be detected, and the external device and the valve structure 51 may be aligned with each other. The alignment structure may be sensed by another sensor other than the vision sensor. In addition, a QR code relating to information about the gas container 50 ( e.g., material properties of gas) may be attached to the valve head 52.”, Simard: ¶ 0040, “The one or more imaging sensor 400 includes at least one of the following: a 2D camera (e.g. a standard Red Green Blue (RGB) camera), a 3D camera (e.g. a stereo camera), a depth sensor ( e.g. an infrared, Time of Flight or laser sensor), a combination thereof, etc. The 3D model of the object 20A is generated based on one of the following: imaging data transmitted by a 3D camera, the combination of imaging data transmitted by two 2D cameras, the combination of imaging data transmitted by a 2D camera and a depth sensor, etc.”. The cited passage of Choi clearly shows that a camera is used to determine the position and orientation of the valve of the gas container in order to align the connector (referred to as the external device).), and
control the operation of the first collaborative robot so that the connector is placed in the valve fastening position (Choi: ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, ¶ 0104, “An alignment structure may be provided in the valve head 52. The alignment structure may include a strip, a groove, or a specific structure that is provided on the outer circumferential surface of the valve head 52. The alignment structure of the valve head 52 may be sensed by a vision sensor of an external device. The vision sensor may include a camera, an image sensor, and the like. On the basis of the information obtained by sensing the alignment structure of the valve head 52 with the vision sensor, the position and orientation of the valve structure 51 may be detected, and the external device and the valve structure 51 may be aligned with each other. The alignment structure may be sensed by another sensor other than the vision sensor. In addition, a QR code relating to information about the gas container 50 ( e.g., material properties of gas) may be attached to the valve head 52.”. The cited passage clearly shows that once the alignment position is determined, the external device is moved into the proper position.).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the second collaborative robot further comprises a second grip module installed at an end portion of the second multi-joint arm and configured to grip an object (Byeon: Figure 4 gripping end effector 191, Column 17 lines 46-67, “Referring to FIGS. 7 and 8 together with FIGS. 2 to 6, the loading/unloading robot 170 may be in charge of an operation of transferring the gas container 50 between the cradle, 60 and the test buffer chamber 130, and an operation of fastening/separating the valve cap 80 to/from the gas container 50. The loading/unloading robot 170 may use end effectors suitable for performing different operations. The loading/unloading robot 170 may include an auto tool changer 172 for mounting and detaching an end effector suitable for each operation. When performing a transfer 55 operation of the gas container 50, the loading/unloading robot 170 may be equipped with a container gripping end effector 191 (shown in FIG. 4).”, Column 18 lines 28-42, “To take out the gas container 50 from the cradle 60, an operation of moving the loading/unloading robot 170 to the end effector table 180, an operation of mounting the container gripping end effector 191 to the loading/unloading robot 170 using the automatic tool changer 172, an operation of opening the door 65 of the cradle 60 by moving the container gripping end effector 191 based on the position information detected from the vision sensor 171 or preset position information, an operation of gripping the gas container with the container gripping end effector 191 after entering the bottom support structure 1911 of the container gripping end effector 191 into the opening provided at the bottom of the cradle 60, and an operation of taking out the gripped gas container 50 from the cradle 60 may be sequentially performed.”).
Regarding claim 6, Choi in view of Simard in further view of Byeon teaches wherein the second collaborative robot is configured so that the second grip module grips and supports the gas container, during a process in which the first collaborative robot operates to fasten the connector to the valve (Choi: ¶ 0082, “The second multi-axis robot 420a may include a plurality of arms that are rotatable about a plurality of rotation axes Ral to Ra6 and connected to each other in series. A second end ( e.g., a far end opposite to the first end) of the second multi-axis robot 420a may be equipped with a fastening module 450 for applying external force to the holding module 330 when the connector holder 331 of the holding module 330 is fastened to or separated from the valve nozzle 53 (see FIG. 13). That is, the fastening module 450 may apply a high torque to the connector holder 331 when the connector holder 331 of the holding module 330 is fastened or separated. Preferably, the fastening module 450 may apply a torque of about 60 newton meters (Nm) to about 150 Nm to the connector holder 331.”, Byeon: Figure 4 gripping end effector 191, Column 17 lines 46-67, “Referring to FIGS. 7 and 8 together with FIGS. 2 to 6, the loading/unloading robot 170 may be in charge of an operation of transferring the gas container 50 between the cradle, 60 and the test buffer chamber 130, and an operation of fastening/separating the valve cap 80 to/from the gas container 50. The loading/unloading robot 170 may use end effectors suitable for performing different operations. The loading/unloading robot 170 may include an auto tool changer 172 for mounting and detaching an end effector suitable for each operation. When performing a transfer 55 operation of the gas container 50, the loading/unloading robot 170 may be equipped with a container gripping end effector 191 (shown in FIG. 4).”, Column 18 lines 28-42, “To take out the gas container 50 from the cradle 60, an operation of moving the loading/unloading robot 170 to the end effector table 180, an operation of mounting the container gripping end effector 191 to the loading/unloading robot 170 using the automatic tool changer 172, an operation of opening the door 65 of the cradle 60 by moving the container gripping end effector 191 based on the position information detected from the vision sensor 171 or preset position information, an operation of gripping the gas container with the container gripping end effector 191 after entering the bottom support structure 1911 of the container gripping end effector 191 into the opening provided at the bottom of the cradle 60, and an operation of taking out the gripped gas container 50 from the cradle 60 may be sequentially performed.”).
Choi in view of Simard teaches that a second collaborative robot arm is configured to interacts with a gas tank while the first collaborative arm is fastening the valve to said gas tank, but does not teach that this second collaborative grips the gas tank. Byeon teaches a robot arm with a gripper configured to grip a gas tank. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the second arm taught in Choi in view of Simard such that the second arm grips the gas tank as taught in Byeon. Such a modification would have required the simple substitution of one know end effector for another. Additionally such a modification would not change or introduce new functionality to the fastening process taught in Choi in view of Simard. No inventive effort would have been required. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that the combination of Cho in view of Simard in further view of Byeon teaches the limitations of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Choi in view of Simard in further view of Byeon teaches wherein the controller is configured to: determine a gripping position for the second grip module to grip the gas container, based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera (Byeon: Column 18 lines 28-42, “To take out the gas container 50 from the cradle 60, an operation of moving the loading/unloading robot 170 to the end effector table 180, an operation of mounting the container gripping end effector 191 to the loading/unloading robot 170 using the automatic tool changer 172, an operation of opening the door 65 of the cradle 60 by moving the container gripping end effector 191 based on the position information detected from the vision sensor 171 or preset position information, an operation of gripping the gas container with the container gripping end effector 191 after entering the bottom support structure 1911 of the container gripping end effector 191 into the opening provided at the bottom of the cradle 60, and an operation of taking out the gripped gas container 50 from the cradle 60 may be sequentially performed.”, Simard: ¶ 0040, “The one or more imaging sensor 400 includes at least one of the following: a 2D camera (e.g. a standard Red Green Blue (RGB) camera), a 3D camera (e.g. a stereo camera), a depth sensor ( e.g. an infrared, Time of Flight or laser sensor), a combination thereof, etc. The 3D model of the object 20A is generated based on one of the following: imaging data transmitted by a 3D camera, the combination of imaging data transmitted by two 2D cameras, the combination of imaging data transmitted by a 2D camera and a depth sensor, etc.”. The cited passage of Byon clearly teaches that the position of the gas container is determined using the images captured by a vision sensor in order to facilitate the robot gripping said container.), and
operate the second collaborative robot to move to the gripping position and then grip the gas container (Byeon: Column 18 lines 28-42, “To take out the gas container 50 from the cradle 60, an operation of moving the loading/unloading robot 170 to the end effector table 180, an operation of mounting the container gripping end effector 191 to the loading/unloading robot 170 using the automatic tool changer 172, an operation of opening the door 65 of the cradle 60 by moving the container gripping end effector 191 based on the position information detected from the vision sensor 171 or preset position information, an operation of gripping the gas container with the container gripping end effector 191 after entering the bottom support structure 1911 of the container gripping end effector 191 into the opening provided at the bottom of the cradle 60, and an operation of taking out the gripped gas container 50 from the cradle 60 may be sequentially performed.”. The cited passage clearly shows that the system is configured to operate the arm to grasp the container once the position is determined.).
Regarding claim 10, Choi in view of Simard in further view of Byeon teaches wherein one or more 3D vision cameras are provided, and disposed in at least one of the first multi-joint arm or the second multi-joint arm (Choi: ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, Byeon: Column 18 lines 21-26, “The vision sensor 171 of the loading/unloading robot 170 may detect the number of gas containers 50 stored in the cradle 60, position information of the gas containers 50, and position information of the cradle 60. The loading/unloading robot 170 may read the QR code provided to the valve cap 80 of the gas container 50 with the vision sensor 171 while moving along a designated path above the cradle 60.”, Simard: ¶ 0040, “The one or more imaging sensor 400 includes at least one of the following: a 2D camera (e.g. a standard Red Green Blue (RGB) camera), a 3D camera (e.g. a stereo camera), a depth sensor ( e.g. an infrared, Time of Flight or laser sensor), a combination thereof, etc. The 3D model of the object 20A is generated based on one of the following: imaging data transmitted by a 3D camera, the combination of imaging data transmitted by two 2D cameras, the combination of imaging data transmitted by a 2D camera and a depth sensor, etc.”).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0190006 A1 ("Choi") in view of US 2023/0027130 A1 ("Simard") in further view of US 12214491 B2 ("Byeon") in further view of KR 20220136257 A ("Moon").
Regarding claim 8, Choi in view of Simard in further view of Byeon teaches wherein the robot is configured to grip a gasket through the second grip module (Choi: ¶ 0060, “The module gripper 430 may include a clamping mechanism 431, a power transmission shaft 433, a gasket gripper 435, and a vision sensor 437. The module gripper 430 may grip the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18), insert the power transmission shaft 433 into the gripped module, and operate the gripped module.”, ¶ 0068, “The gasket gripper 435 may insert a gasket into or remove a gasket from the gas nozzle 3313 (see FIG. 15). The gasket gripper 435 may be configured to be moved by an actuator and grip the gasket. When the clamping mechanism 431 of the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15), the gasket gripper 435 may insert the gasket into an end of the gas nozzle 3313 of the connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15).”), and
the controller is configured to operate the grip module to detach and attach the gasket from and to the connector or the valve based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera (Choi: ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, ¶ 0068, “The gasket gripper 435 may insert a gasket into or remove a gasket from the gas nozzle 3313 (see FIG. 15). The gasket gripper 435 may be configured to be moved by an actuator and grip the gasket. When the clamping mechanism 431 of the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15), the gasket gripper 435 may insert the gasket into an end of the gas nozzle 3313 of the connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15).”. The cited passages clearly show that the gasket grip is controlled based on images captured by an image system.).
Choi in view of Simard in further view of Byeon does not teach wherein the second collaborative robot is configured to grip a gasket through the second grip module, and
the controller is configured to operate the second grip module to detach and attach the gasket from and to the connector or the valve based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera.
Moon, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the second collaborative robot is configured to grip a gasket through the second grip module (Moon: ¶ 0266, “The handler module 300 is a working tool having one or more gasket tools 322a that pick up a new gasket 2 and perform a gasket replacement operation that is directly or indirectly inserted into the end of the gas pipe part 30 It may include an articulated robot 320 including a module 322.”, ¶ 0269, “or example, the work tool module 322 is a gasket tool 322a that picks up a gasket 2 from a gasket supply unit 400 to be described later and performs a gasket replacement operation inserted into the end of the gas pipe unit 30. can be provided.”), and
the controller is configured to operate the second grip module to detach and attach the gasket from and to the connector or the valve based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera (Moon: ¶ 0269, “for example, the work tool module 322 is a gasket tool 322a that picks up a gasket 2 from a gasket supply unit 400 to be described later and performs a gasket replacement operation inserted into the end of the gas pipe unit 30. can be provided.”, ¶ 0276, “The vision inspection module 322d is installed in the work tool module 322 of the articulated robot 320, and is configured to perform external inspection such as contamination or defects on the exterior of the cylinder valve unit 12. Various configurations are possible.”, ¶ 0278, “In addition, the gas filling system through the vision inspection module 322d, in particular, may be utilized for vision alignment of the position of each module/tool with respect to the cylinder valve part 12 of the gas cylinder 10, of course.”).
Choi in view of Simard in further view of Byeon teaches a gas supply system wherein the robot is configured to grip a gasket through the second grip module, and the controller is configured to operate the grip module to detach and attach the gasket from and to the connector or the valve based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera. Cho in view of Simard in further view of Byeon does not teach wherein the second collaborative robot is configured to grip a gasket through the second grip module, and the controller is configured to operate the second grip module to detach and attach the gasket from and to the connector or the valve based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera. Moon teaches wherein the second collaborative robot is configured to grip a gasket through the second grip module, and the controller is configured to operate the second grip module to detach and attach the gasket from and to the connector or the valve based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the system taught in Choi in view of Simard in further view of Byeon with wherein the second collaborative robot is configured to grip a gasket through the second grip module, and the controller is configured to operate the second grip module to detach and attach the gasket from and to the connector or the valve based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera taught in Moon. Furthermore, the system taught in Choi in view of Simard in further view of Byeon teaches a first and second robot arm and a gasket gripper configured to replace gaskets coupled to the first arm. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the system such that the gasket gripper is own an arm sperate from the arm coupled to the fastening mechanism as taught in Moon. The modification would have required moving an already existing mechanism to an already existing arm according to methods taught in Moon. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a gas supply system wherein the second collaborative robot is configured to grip a gasket through the second grip module, and the controller is configured to operate the second grip module to detach and attach the gasket from and to the connector or the valve based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have combine the gas supply system taught in Choi in view of Simard in further view of Byeon with wherein the second collaborative robot is configured to grip a gasket through the second grip module, and the controller is configured to operate the second grip module to detach and attach the gasket from and to the connector or the valve based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera taught in Moon with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Claim(s) 11-13, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0190006 A1 ("Choi") in view of US 2023/0027130 A1 ("Simard").
Regarding claim 11, Choi teaches a gas supply system comprising (Choi: Figure 2, Abstract, “A gas supply stage includes a gas supply cabinet and a fastening vehicle. The gas supply cabinet includes a cabinet frame including an inner space configured to house a gas container and a holding module including a connector holder configured to be detachably fastened to a valve nozzle. The fastening vehicle includes a traveling unit configured to travel in a facility space in which the gas supply cabinet is installed, a multi-axis robot attached to the traveling unit, and a module gripper mounted to the multi-axis robot and configured to detachably grip a valve manipulation module and the holding module.”, ¶ 0034, “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, the gas supply stage 17 may include one or more gas supply cabinets 300 and the fastening vehicle 400 that travels between the gas supply cabinets 300.”):
a cabinet in which a gas container is disposed (Choi: Figure 2 gas supply cabinet 300, ¶ 0035, “Each of the gas supply cabinets 300 may be equipped with one or more gas containers 50. The number of gas containers 50 mounted in one gas supply cabinet 300 may be appropriately adjusted according to the usage and replacement cycle of various gases required for a semiconductor process.”);
a fastening device configured to fasten a connector to a valve of the gas container while aligned with the valve (Choi: ¶ 0036, “The gas supply cabinet 300 may include a holding module 330 (see FIGS. 15 and 16) and a valve manipulation module 320 (see FIGS. 18 and 19). The holding module 330 may be configured to couple to a fitting, outlet, or connection of a gas container 50 (hereafter referred to as a valve nozzle) in accordance with standards set by the Compressed Gas Association (CGA) The holding module 330 and the valve manipulation module 320 may be fastened to each of the gas containers 50 or mounted on a holder ( e.g., first holder 391 or the second holder 392). In some embodiments, the valve manipulation module 320 may be omitted.”, ¶ 0038, “The gas supply cabinet 300 may be configured to supply gases to semiconductor manufacturing equipment (e.g., process chambers, such as a deposition chamber or an etching chamber) configured to perform a semiconductor process. The gas supply cabinet 300 may be connected to the semiconductor manufacturing equipment via a gas connection pipe. The gas connection pipe may be connected to the holding module 330. The gas discharged from the gas container 50 mounted in the gas supply cabinet 300 may be supplied to the semiconductor manufacturing equipment via the gas connection pipe. The gas container may be detachably connected to the gas connection pipe via the holding module 330.”, ¶ 0050, “Specifically, the fastening vehicle 400 may grip the holding module 330 and provide power to a connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15). The connector holder 331 may be a threaded connector configured to be threaded with a threaded connector of the valve nozzle 53 or otherwise secured to the valve nozzle 53. The connector holder 331 may have a standard connector size as specified by the CGA. Similarly, the valve nozzle 53 may have a standard connector as specified by the CGA. The module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3) of the fastening vehicle 400 may provide power to the connector holder 331 and rotate the connector holder 331 to separate the valve nozzle 53 from the gas nozzle 3313.”, ¶ 0052, “Next, the fastening vehicle 400 may fasten the holding module 330 to the gas container 50. Specifically, the fastening vehicle 400 grips the holding module 330 mounted on the first holder 391, and may then move the holding module 330 to the gas container 50, fasten the gas container 50 to the holding module 330 via the connector holder 331, and release the holding module 330. For example, when the gas container 50 is fastened to the holding module 330, the module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3) of the fastening vehicle 400 provides power to the connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15). Accordingly, the connector holder 331 is rotated, and the gas container 50 may be fastened to the holding module 330.”. The cited passages clearly show that the holding mechanism 330 comprises a fastening device (i.e. connector holder 331) that is used to fasten a connector to a valve of the gas container.); and
a mobile robot device configured to automatically align the fastening device to the gas container (Choi: ¶ 0050, “Specifically, the fastening vehicle 400 may grip the holding module 330 and provide power to a connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15). The connector holder 331 may be a threaded connector configured to be threaded with a threaded connector of the valve nozzle 53 or otherwise secured to the valve nozzle 53. The connector holder 331 may have a standard connector size as specified by the CGA. Similarly, the valve nozzle 53 may have a standard connector as specified by the CGA. The module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3) of the fastening vehicle 400 may provide power to the connector holder 331 and rotate the connector holder 331 to separate the valve nozzle 53 from the gas nozzle 3313.”, ¶ 0052, “Next, the fastening vehicle 400 may fasten the holding module 330 to the gas container 50. Specifically, the fastening vehicle 400 grips the holding module 330 mounted on the first holder 391, and may then move the holding module 330 to the gas container 50, fasten the gas container 50 to the holding module 330 via the connector holder 331, and release the holding module 330. For example, when the gas container 50 is fastened to the holding module 330, the module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3) of the fastening vehicle 400 provides power to the connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15). Accordingly, the connector holder 331 is rotated, and the gas container 50 may be fastened to the holding module 330.”, ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”. The cited passages clearly show that the system is configured to automatically align the fastening device.),
wherein the mobile robot device comprises: a body movable along a ground (Choi: ¶ 0039, “The fastening vehicle 400 may include a traveling unit 410 (see FIG. 3), the first multi-axis robot 420, and a module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3). The first multi-axis robot 420 and the module gripper 430 are attached to the traveling unit 410 of the fastening vehicle 400, and as the traveling unit 410 travels between the gas supply cabinets 300, the first multi-axis robot 420 and the module gripper 430 may move together.”);
a first collaborative robot disposed on the body, and comprising a first multi-joint arm (Choi: ¶ 0039, “The fastening vehicle 400 may include a traveling unit 410 (see FIG. 3), the first multi-axis robot 420, and a module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3). The first multi-axis robot 420 and the module gripper 430 are attached to the traveling unit 410 of the fastening vehicle 400, and as the traveling unit 410 travels between the gas supply cabinets 300, the first multi-axis robot 420 and the module gripper 430 may move together.”, ¶ 0081, “The first multi-axis robot 420 may include a plurality of arms that are rotatable about a plurality of rotation axes R1 to R6 and connected to each other. The module gripper 430 for gripping the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18) may be mounted on a second end (e.g., a far end opposite to the first end) of the first multi-axis robot 420.”);
a second collaborative robot disposed on the body, and comprising a second multi-joint arm (Choi: ¶ 0079, “In some embodiments, the plurality of multi-axis robots may include a first multi-axis robot 420 and a second multi-axis robot 420a. The first multi-axis robot 420 and the second multi-axis robot 420a may rotate independently of each other. That is, the movement of the first multi-axis robot 420 may be independent of the movement of the second multi-axis robot 420a.”, ¶ 0082, “The second multi-axis robot 420a may include a plurality of arms that are rotatable about a plurality of rotation axes Ral to Ra6 and connected to each other in series.”); and
a camera configured to collect an image (Choi: ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, ¶ 0104, “An alignment structure may be provided in the valve head 52. The alignment structure may include a strip, a groove, or a specific structure that is provided on the outer circumferential surface of the valve head 52. The alignment structure of the valve head 52 may be sensed by a vision sensor of an external device. The vision sensor may include a camera, an image sensor, and the like. On the basis of the information obtained by sensing the alignment structure of the valve head 52 with the vision sensor, the position and orientation of the valve structure 51 may be detected, and the external device and the valve structure 51 may be aligned with each other. The alignment structure may be sensed by another sensor other than the vision sensor. In addition, a QR code relating to information about the gas container 50 ( e.g., material properties of gas) may be attached to the valve head 52.”); and
a controller configured to control an operation of the first collaborative robot and an operation of the second collaborative robot based on the image collected by the camera (Choi: ¶ 0043, “The superordinate system is configured to control the overall process through the gas supply stage 17 and may be referred to as a main controller. Although not illustrated, a controller, such as the superordinate system, can include one or more of at least one central processing unit (CPU) configured to execute computer program instructions to perform various processes and methods, memory devices, such as read only memory (ROM) and random access memory (RAM) configured to access and store data and information and computer program instructions, computer program input/output (I/O) devices configured to provide input and/or output to the central processing unit (e.g., keyboard, mouse, display, speakers, printers, modems, network cards, etc.), and storage media or other suitable type of memory (e.g., such as, for example, RAM, ROM, programmable read-only memory (PROM), erasable programmable read-only memory (EPROM), electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM), magnetic disks, optical disks, floppy disks, hard disks, removable cartridges, flash drives, any type of tangible and non-transitory storage medium) where data and/or instructions can be stored, a power source that provides an appropriate alternating current (AC) or direct current (DC) to power one or more components of the controller, and a bus that allows communication among the various disclosed components of the controller.”, ¶ 0044, “In addition to the superordinate system, subordinate systems such as the gas supply cabinet 300, the fastening vehicle 400, and/or the transport vehicle may each include a controller for performing operations such as communicating with the superordinate system and controlling local operations.”, ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, ¶ 0104, “An alignment structure may be provided in the valve head 52. The alignment structure may include a strip, a groove, or a specific structure that is provided on the outer circumferential surface of the valve head 52. The alignment structure of the valve head 52 may be sensed by a vision sensor of an external device. The vision sensor may include a camera, an image sensor, and the like. On the basis of the information obtained by sensing the alignment structure of the valve head 52 with the vision sensor, the position and orientation of the valve structure 51 may be detected, and the external device and the valve structure 51 may be aligned with each other. The alignment structure may be sensed by another sensor other than the vision sensor. In addition, a QR code relating to information about the gas container 50 ( e.g., material properties of gas) may be attached to the valve head 52.”. The system clearly controls the robot arms based on the image data captured by a camera.), and
the first collaborative robot is detachably connected to the fastening device and configured to move the fastening device (Choi: ¶ 0060, “The module gripper 430 may include a clamping mechanism 431, a power transmission shaft 433, a gasket gripper 435, and a vision sensor 437. The module gripper 430 may grip the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18), insert the power transmission shaft 433 into the gripped module, and operate the gripped module.”, ¶ 0062, “The clamping mechanism 431 may grip and hold the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). The clamping mechanism 431 may include a clamping arm for holding the holding module 330 or the valve manipulation module 320 and an actuator connected to the clamping arm. During loading/ unloading of the gas container 50 or when starting the loading/unloading of the gas container 50, the first multi axis robot 420 may move the holding module 330 or the valve manipulation module 320 gripped by the clamping mechanism 431 to an appropriate position.”. The cited passages clearly show that the fastening device is detachably coupled to the first robot arm.).
Choi does not teach a three-dimensional (3D) vision camera configured to collect an image;
a controller configured to control an operation of the first collaborative robot and an operation of the second collaborative robot based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera.
Simard, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a three-dimensional (3D) vision camera configured to collect an image (Simard: ¶ 0038, “An imaging sensor 400 is also represented in FIG. 1A. The imaging sensor 400 generates imaging data of the object 20A, which are transmitted to the server 100. The server 100 processes the imaging data, to generate a geometric model of the object 20A. In the context of the present disclosure, the geometric model is a three-dimensional (3D) model of the object 20A.”, ¶ 0040, “The one or more imaging sensor 400 includes at least one of the following: a 2D camera (e.g. a standard Red Green Blue (RGB) camera), a 3D camera (e.g. a stereo camera), a depth sensor ( e.g. an infrared, Time of Flight or laser sensor), a combination thereof, etc. The 3D model of the object 20A is generated based on one of the following: imaging data transmitted by a 3D camera, the combination of imaging data transmitted by two 2D cameras, the combination of imaging data transmitted by a 2D camera and a depth sensor, etc.”);
a controller configured to control an operation of the first collaborative robot and an operation of the second collaborative robot based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera (Simard: ¶ 0042, “The full 3D model of the object 20A allows the robot 300 to perform a task ( e.g. painting, welding, coating, etc.) on the target area of the object 20A, taking into consideration constraints imposed by the shape and geometry of the object 20A to the movements of the robot 300 when performing the task.”, ¶ 0128, “The method 600 comprises the step 615 of determining a three-dimensional (3D) model 122 of the object (e.g. 20B). Step 615 is performed by the 3D reconstruction software 112 (executed by the processing unit 110) using imaging data of the object received from the imaging sensor(s) 400 via the communication interface 130. Although not represented in FIG. 7 for simplification purposes, the 3D model 122 of the object is stored in the memory 120.”, ¶ 0131, “The method 600 comprises the step 620 of determining a toolpath 126 of the tool 330 for performing a task on a target area of the object (e.g. 20B).”, ¶ 0133, “The method 600 comprises the step 630 of generating commands for controlling actuation of the actuated joints (e.g. 310 to 315) of the articulated arm of the robot 300. The commands are generated according to the calculated trajectory 128. Step 630 is performed by the processing unit 110. The commands are transmitted to the robot controller 200 via the communication interface 130.”. The system is clearly controlled based on the images collected by the 3D vision camera.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the gas supply system taught in Choi with a three-dimensional (3D) vision camera configured to collect an image; and a controller configured to control an operation of the first collaborative robot and an operation of the second collaborative robot based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera taught in Simard with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have required the simple substitution of one known sensor for another. The gas supply system taught in Choi already teaches the use of a camera in the control of the robot arms, but does not specify the type of camera used. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been easily able to have modified the system taught in Choi with the 3D vision camera taught in Simard according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required.
Regarding claim 12, Choi in view of Simard teaches wherein the first collaborative robot further comprises a docking module installed at an end portion of the first multi-joint arm and docked on the fastening device while aligned with the fastening device (Choi: ¶ 0060, “The module gripper 430 may include a clamping mechanism 431, a power transmission shaft 433, a gasket gripper 435, and a vision sensor 437. The module gripper 430 may grip the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18), insert the power transmission shaft 433 into the gripped module, and operate the gripped module.”, ¶ 0062, “The clamping mechanism 431 may grip and hold the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). The clamping mechanism 431 may include a clamping arm for holding the holding module 330 or the valve manipulation module 320 and an actuator connected to the clamping arm. During loading/ unloading of the gas container 50 or when starting the loading/unloading of the gas container 50, the first multi axis robot 420 may move the holding module 330 or the valve manipulation module 320 gripped by the clamping mechanism 431 to an appropriate position.”, ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, ¶ 0124, “The first vision mark 339 may be sensed by the vision sensor 437 of the module gripper 430 of the fastening vehicle 400. Specifically, before gripping the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, the fastening vehicle 400 may sense the first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 using the vision sensor 437, thereby detecting the position of the holding module 330.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the clamping mechanism and power transmission shaft clearly function as a docking mechanism. Additionally, the system clearly uses the vision system to align the docking mechanism with the fastening mechanism.), and
the docking module is configured to supply power to the fastening device while docked on the fastening device (Choi: ¶ 0060, “The module gripper 430 may include a clamping mechanism 431, a power transmission shaft 433, a gasket gripper 435, and a vision sensor 437. The module gripper 430 may grip the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18), insert the power transmission shaft 433 into the gripped module, and operate the gripped module.”, ¶ 0067, “The power transmission shaft 433 may be detachably inserted into the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). The power transmission shaft 433 may transmit power generated by an actuator inside the module gripper 430 to the holding module 330 or the valve manipulation module 320.”, ¶ 0125, “The power transmission shaft 433 of the module gripper 430 may be inserted into the first insertion portion 335 of the holding module 330. The power supplied from an actuator provided in the module gripper 430 may be transmitted to the connector holder 331 and the end cap holder 333 of the holding module 330 via the power transmission shaft 433. When the holding module 330 is gripped by the clamping mechanism 431, the module gripper 430 inserts the power transmission shaft 433 into the first insertion portion 335. Accordingly, the power for operating the connector holder 331 and the end cap holder 333 of the holding module 330 may be transmitted to the holding module 330.”).
Regarding claim 13, Choi in view of Simard teaches wherein the controller is configured to: determine a docking position in which the docking module is aligned to be fastenable to the fastening device based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera (Choi: ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, ¶ 0124, “The first vision mark 339 may be sensed by the vision sensor 437 of the module gripper 430 of the fastening vehicle 400. Specifically, before gripping the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, the fastening vehicle 400 may sense the first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 using the vision sensor 437, thereby detecting the position of the holding module 330.”. The cited passages clearly show that the docking module is aligned with the fastening device using the vision system. Simard: ¶ 0040, “The one or more imaging sensor 400 includes at least one of the following: a 2D camera (e.g. a standard Red Green Blue (RGB) camera), a 3D camera (e.g. a stereo camera), a depth sensor ( e.g. an infrared, Time of Flight or laser sensor), a combination thereof, etc. The 3D model of the object 20A is generated based on one of the following: imaging data transmitted by a 3D camera, the combination of imaging data transmitted by two 2D cameras, the combination of imaging data transmitted by a 2D camera and a depth sensor, etc.”), and
control the operation of the first collaborative robot so that the docking module is placed in the docking position (Choi: ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, ¶ 0124, “The first vision mark 339 may be sensed by the vision sensor 437 of the module gripper 430 of the fastening vehicle 400. Specifically, before gripping the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, the fastening vehicle 400 may sense the first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 using the vision sensor 437, thereby detecting the position of the holding module 330.”. The cited passages clearly show that the docking module is placed into the fastening module once aligned).
Regarding claim 17, Choi in view of Simard teaches wherein the connector is configured to rotate about a second rotation axis or translate along the second rotation axis (Choi: ¶ 0050, “Specifically, the fastening vehicle 400 may grip the holding module 330 and provide power to a connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15). The connector holder 331 may be a threaded connector configured to be threaded with a threaded connector of the valve nozzle 53 or otherwise secured to the valve nozzle 53. The connector holder 331 may have a standard connector size as specified by the CGA. Similarly, the valve nozzle 53 may have a standard connector as specified by the CGA. The module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3) of the fastening vehicle 400 may provide power to the connector holder 331 and rotate the connector holder 331 to separate the valve nozzle 53 from the gas nozzle 3313.”, ¶ 0052, “Next, the fastening vehicle 400 may fasten the holding module 330 to the gas container 50. Specifically, the fastening vehicle 400 grips the holding module 330 mounted on the first holder 391, and may then move the holding module 330 to the gas container 50, fasten the gas container 50 to the holding module 330 via the connector holder 331, and release the holding module 330. For example, when the gas container 50 is fastened to the holding module 330, the module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3) of the fastening vehicle 400 provides power to the connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15). Accordingly, the connector holder 331 is rotated, and the gas container 50 may be fastened to the holding module 330.”, ¶ 0062, “The clamping mechanism 431 may grip and hold the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). The clamping mechanism 431 may include a clamping arm for holding the holding module 330 or the valve manipulation module 320 and an actuator connected to the clamping arm. During loading/ unloading of the gas container 50 or when starting the loading/unloading of the gas container 50, the first multi axis robot 420 may move the holding module 330 or the valve manipulation module 320 gripped by the clamping mechanism 431 to an appropriate position.”), and
the second rotation axis coincides with a central axis of the valve in a state in which the fastening device is aligned in a second position (Choi: Figure 16, ¶ 0062, “The clamping mechanism 431 may grip and hold the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). The clamping mechanism 431 may include a clamping arm for holding the holding module 330 or the valve manipulation module 320 and an actuator connected to the clamping arm. During loading/ unloading of the gas container 50 or when starting the loading/unloading of the gas container 50, the first multi axis robot 420 may move the holding module 330 or the valve manipulation module 320 gripped by the clamping mechanism 431 to an appropriate position.”, ¶ 0122, “The connector holder 331 is designed to have a degree of freedom with respect to both a straight-line movement direction of the connector holder 331 to fasten the connector holder 331 to the valve nozzle 53 and a direction inclined to the straight-line movement direction, and thus, it is possible to correct positional misalignment between the connector holder 331 and the valve nozzle 53.”).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0190006 A1 ("Choi") in view of US 2023/0027130 A1 ("Simard") in further view of US 20230382660 A1 ("Song").
Regarding claim 16, Choi in view of Simard teaches wherein the fastening device further comprises an end cap detacher configured to remove an end cap from the valve of the gas container (Choi: Figure 14 end cap holder 333, ¶ 0114, “Referring to FIGS. 15 to 17 together with FIGS. 1, 2, 6, 12, 13, and 14, the holding module 330 may include the connector holder 331, an end cap holder 333, a first insertion portion 335, and a first vision mark 339.”, ¶ 0123, “The end cap holder 333 may fasten the end cap 59 to the valve nozzle 53 and separate the end cap 59 from the valve nozzle 53. The operation of fastening the end cap 59 may include fastening the end cap 59 to the valve nozzle 53 so that the outlet of the valve nozzle 53 is closed. The operation of separating the end cap 59 may include separating the end cap 59 from the valve nozzle 53 by rotating the end cap 59 in the opposite direction to the fastening direction so that the outlet of the valve nozzle 53 is opened.”),
wherein the end cap detacher is rotatable about a first rotation axis (Choi: ¶ 0123, “The end cap holder 333 may fasten the end cap 59 to the valve nozzle 53 and separate the end cap 59 from the valve nozzle 53. The operation of fastening the end cap 59 may include fastening the end cap 59 to the valve nozzle 53 so that the outlet of the valve nozzle 53 is closed. The operation of separating the end cap 59 may include separating the end cap 59 from the valve nozzle 53 by rotating the end cap 59 in the opposite direction to the fastening direction so that the outlet of the valve nozzle 53 is opened.”. The end cap detacher (i.e. the end cap holder) is clearly rotatable about a first rotation axis.),
the first rotation axis coincides with a central axis of the valve in a state in which the fastening device is aligned in a first position (Choi: Figure 16, ¶ 0123, “The end cap holder 333 may fasten the end cap 59 to the valve nozzle 53 and separate the end cap 59 from the valve nozzle 53. The operation of fastening the end cap 59 may include fastening the end cap 59 to the valve nozzle 53 so that the outlet of the valve nozzle 53 is closed. The operation of separating the end cap 59 may include separating the end cap 59 from the valve nozzle 53 by rotating the end cap 59 in the opposite direction to the fastening direction so that the outlet of the valve nozzle 53 is opened.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize from the cited figure and passage, that the central axis of the first rotation axis of the end cap detacher aligns with the central axis of the valve when the detacher and end cap are aligned.).
Choi in view of Simard does not teach the end cap detacher comprises an insertion recess formed in a shape corresponding to the end cap so that the end cap is insertable along the first rotation axis.
Song, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the end cap detacher comprises an insertion recess formed in a shape corresponding to the end cap so that the end cap is insertable along the first rotation axis (Song: ¶ 0029, “In addition, the gas cylinder l0A may further include a nut part 20N so that the cap 20A may be mounted by a nut runner 115 (see FIGS. 1 and 4). The nut part 20N may extend above the cap 20A. The nut part 20N may be fitted into a fitting part 115A of the nut runner 115 to be described later and rotate in conjunction with a rotational operation of the nut runner 115 to allow the cap 20A to be coupled to the neck ring 11A.”, ¶ 0030, “The nut part 20N may have a shape corresponding to a shape of the fitting part 115A so as to be stably coupled to the fitting part 115A. When the fitting part 115A has a hexagonal shape, the nut part 20N may have a hexagonal nut shape. However, shapes of the nut part 20N and the fitting part 115A are not limited to the hexagon shape, the nut part 20N may have a shape matching a shape of the fitting part 115A, and the fitting part 115A may have various shapes in which the nut part 20N does not run idle.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the gas supply system taught in Choi in view of Simard with the end cap detacher comprises an insertion recess formed in a shape corresponding to the end cap so that the end cap is insertable along the first rotation axis taught in Song with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because having end cap detacher correspond to the shape of the end cap allows for the end cap detacher to be more stably connected to the end cap and prevents the end cap from running idle when the detacher is rotated (Song: ¶ 0030, “The nut part 20N may have a shape corresponding to a shape of the fitting part 115A so as to be stably coupled to the fitting part 115A. When the fitting part 115A has a hexagonal shape, the nut part 20N may have a hexagonal nut shape. However, shapes of the nut part 20N and the fitting part 115A are not limited to the hexagon shape, the nut part 20N may have a shape matching a shape of the fitting part 115A, and the fitting part 115A may have various shapes in which the nut part 20N does not run idle.”).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0190006 A1 ("Choi") in view of US 2023/0027130 A1 ("Simard") in further view of US 12214491 B2 ("Byeon").
Regarding claim 18, Choi teaches a gas supply system comprising (Choi: Figure 2, Abstract, “A gas supply stage includes a gas supply cabinet and a fastening vehicle. The gas supply cabinet includes a cabinet frame including an inner space configured to house a gas container and a holding module including a connector holder configured to be detachably fastened to a valve nozzle. The fastening vehicle includes a traveling unit configured to travel in a facility space in which the gas supply cabinet is installed, a multi-axis robot attached to the traveling unit, and a module gripper mounted to the multi-axis robot and configured to detachably grip a valve manipulation module and the holding module.”, ¶ 0034, “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, the gas supply stage 17 may include one or more gas supply cabinets 300 and the fastening vehicle 400 that travels between the gas supply cabinets 300.”):
a cabinet in which a gas container is disposed (Choi: Figure 2 gas supply cabinet 300, ¶ 0035, “Each of the gas supply cabinets 300 may be equipped with one or more gas containers 50. The number of gas containers 50 mounted in one gas supply cabinet 300 may be appropriately adjusted according to the usage and replacement cycle of various gases required for a semiconductor process.”);
a fastening device movably installed in the cabinet and fastened to a valve of the gas container through a connector while aligned with the valve (Choi: ¶ 0036, “The gas supply cabinet 300 may include a holding module 330 (see FIGS. 15 and 16) and a valve manipulation module 320 (see FIGS. 18 and 19). The holding module 330 may be configured to couple to a fitting, outlet, or connection of a gas container 50 (hereafter referred to as a valve nozzle) in accordance with standards set by the Compressed Gas Association (CGA) The holding module 330 and the valve manipulation module 320 may be fastened to each of the gas containers 50 or mounted on a holder ( e.g., first holder 391 or the second holder 392). In some embodiments, the valve manipulation module 320 may be omitted.”, ¶ 0038, “The gas supply cabinet 300 may be configured to supply gases to semiconductor manufacturing equipment (e.g., process chambers, such as a deposition chamber or an etching chamber) configured to perform a semiconductor process. The gas supply cabinet 300 may be connected to the semiconductor manufacturing equipment via a gas connection pipe. The gas connection pipe may be connected to the holding module 330. The gas discharged from the gas container 50 mounted in the gas supply cabinet 300 may be supplied to the semiconductor manufacturing equipment via the gas connection pipe. The gas container may be detachably connected to the gas connection pipe via the holding module 330.”, ¶ 0050, “Specifically, the fastening vehicle 400 may grip the holding module 330 and provide power to a connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15). The connector holder 331 may be a threaded connector configured to be threaded with a threaded connector of the valve nozzle 53 or otherwise secured to the valve nozzle 53. The connector holder 331 may have a standard connector size as specified by the CGA. Similarly, the valve nozzle 53 may have a standard connector as specified by the CGA. The module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3) of the fastening vehicle 400 may provide power to the connector holder 331 and rotate the connector holder 331 to separate the valve nozzle 53 from the gas nozzle 3313.”, ¶ 0052, “Next, the fastening vehicle 400 may fasten the holding module 330 to the gas container 50. Specifically, the fastening vehicle 400 grips the holding module 330 mounted on the first holder 391, and may then move the holding module 330 to the gas container 50, fasten the gas container 50 to the holding module 330 via the connector holder 331, and release the holding module 330. For example, when the gas container 50 is fastened to the holding module 330, the module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3) of the fastening vehicle 400 provides power to the connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15). Accordingly, the connector holder 331 is rotated, and the gas container 50 may be fastened to the holding module 330.”. The cited passages clearly show that the holding mechanism 330 comprises a fastening device (i.e. connector holder 331) that is used to fasten a connector to a valve of the gas container.); and
a mobile robot device disposed outside the cabinet and configured to automatically align the fastening device with the gas container (Choi: ¶ 0050, “Specifically, the fastening vehicle 400 may grip the holding module 330 and provide power to a connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15). The connector holder 331 may be a threaded connector configured to be threaded with a threaded connector of the valve nozzle 53 or otherwise secured to the valve nozzle 53. The connector holder 331 may have a standard connector size as specified by the CGA. Similarly, the valve nozzle 53 may have a standard connector as specified by the CGA. The module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3) of the fastening vehicle 400 may provide power to the connector holder 331 and rotate the connector holder 331 to separate the valve nozzle 53 from the gas nozzle 3313.”, ¶ 0052, “Next, the fastening vehicle 400 may fasten the holding module 330 to the gas container 50. Specifically, the fastening vehicle 400 grips the holding module 330 mounted on the first holder 391, and may then move the holding module 330 to the gas container 50, fasten the gas container 50 to the holding module 330 via the connector holder 331, and release the holding module 330. For example, when the gas container 50 is fastened to the holding module 330, the module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3) of the fastening vehicle 400 provides power to the connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15). Accordingly, the connector holder 331 is rotated, and the gas container 50 may be fastened to the holding module 330.”, ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”. The cited passages clearly show that the system is configured to automatically align the fastening device.),
wherein the fastening device comprises a docking portion configured to receive power from an outside (Choi: ¶ 0060, “The module gripper 430 may include a clamping mechanism 431, a power transmission shaft 433, a gasket gripper 435, and a vision sensor 437. The module gripper 430 may grip the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18), insert the power transmission shaft 433 into the gripped module, and operate the gripped module.”, ¶ 0067, “The power transmission shaft 433 may be detachably inserted into the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). The power transmission shaft 433 may transmit power generated by an actuator inside the module gripper 430 to the holding module 330 or the valve manipulation module 320.”, ¶ 0125, “The power transmission shaft 433 of the module gripper 430 may be inserted into the first insertion portion 335 of the holding module 330. The power supplied from an actuator provided in the module gripper 430 may be transmitted to the connector holder 331 and the end cap holder 333 of the holding module 330 via the power transmission shaft 433. When the holding module 330 is gripped by the clamping mechanism 431, the module gripper 430 inserts the power transmission shaft 433 into the first insertion portion 335. Accordingly, the power for operating the connector holder 331 and the end cap holder 333 of the holding module 330 may be transmitted to the holding module 330.”),
the mobile robot device comprises: a body movable along a ground (Choi: ¶ 0039, “The fastening vehicle 400 may include a traveling unit 410 (see FIG. 3), the first multi-axis robot 420, and a module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3). The first multi-axis robot 420 and the module gripper 430 are attached to the traveling unit 410 of the fastening vehicle 400, and as the traveling unit 410 travels between the gas supply cabinets 300, the first multi-axis robot 420 and the module gripper 430 may move together.”);
a first collaborative robot disposed on the body, and comprising a first multi-joint arm (Choi: ¶ 0039, “The fastening vehicle 400 may include a traveling unit 410 (see FIG. 3), the first multi-axis robot 420, and a module gripper 430 (see FIG. 3). The first multi-axis robot 420 and the module gripper 430 are attached to the traveling unit 410 of the fastening vehicle 400, and as the traveling unit 410 travels between the gas supply cabinets 300, the first multi-axis robot 420 and the module gripper 430 may move together.”, ¶ 0081, “The first multi-axis robot 420 may include a plurality of arms that are rotatable about a plurality of rotation axes R1 to R6 and connected to each other. The module gripper 430 for gripping the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18) may be mounted on a second end (e.g., a far end opposite to the first end) of the first multi-axis robot 420.”);
a second collaborative robot disposed on the body, and comprising a second multi-joint arm (Choi: ¶ 0079, “In some embodiments, the plurality of multi-axis robots may include a first multi-axis robot 420 and a second multi-axis robot 420a. The first multi-axis robot 420 and the second multi-axis robot 420a may rotate independently of each other. That is, the movement of the first multi-axis robot 420 may be independent of the movement of the second multi-axis robot 420a.”, ¶ 0082, “The second multi-axis robot 420a may include a plurality of arms that are rotatable about a plurality of rotation axes Ral to Ra6 and connected to each other in series.”);
a camera configured to collect an image (Choi: ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, ¶ 0104, “An alignment structure may be provided in the valve head 52. The alignment structure may include a strip, a groove, or a specific structure that is provided on the outer circumferential surface of the valve head 52. The alignment structure of the valve head 52 may be sensed by a vision sensor of an external device. The vision sensor may include a camera, an image sensor, and the like. On the basis of the information obtained by sensing the alignment structure of the valve head 52 with the vision sensor, the position and orientation of the valve structure 51 may be detected, and the external device and the valve structure 51 may be aligned with each other. The alignment structure may be sensed by another sensor other than the vision sensor. In addition, a QR code relating to information about the gas container 50 ( e.g., material properties of gas) may be attached to the valve head 52.”); and
a controller configured to control an operation of the first collaborative robot and an operation of the second collaborative robot based on the image collected by the camera (Choi: ¶ 0043, “The superordinate system is configured to control the overall process through the gas supply stage 17 and may be referred to as a main controller. Although not illustrated, a controller, such as the superordinate system, can include one or more of at least one central processing unit (CPU) configured to execute computer program instructions to perform various processes and methods, memory devices, such as read only memory (ROM) and random access memory (RAM) configured to access and store data and information and computer program instructions, computer program input/output (I/O) devices configured to provide input and/or output to the central processing unit (e.g., keyboard, mouse, display, speakers, printers, modems, network cards, etc.), and storage media or other suitable type of memory (e.g., such as, for example, RAM, ROM, programmable read-only memory (PROM), erasable programmable read-only memory (EPROM), electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM), magnetic disks, optical disks, floppy disks, hard disks, removable cartridges, flash drives, any type of tangible and non-transitory storage medium) where data and/or instructions can be stored, a power source that provides an appropriate alternating current (AC) or direct current (DC) to power one or more components of the controller, and a bus that allows communication among the various disclosed components of the controller.”, ¶ 0044, “In addition to the superordinate system, subordinate systems such as the gas supply cabinet 300, the fastening vehicle 400, and/or the transport vehicle may each include a controller for performing operations such as communicating with the superordinate system and controlling local operations.”, ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, ¶ 0104, “An alignment structure may be provided in the valve head 52. The alignment structure may include a strip, a groove, or a specific structure that is provided on the outer circumferential surface of the valve head 52. The alignment structure of the valve head 52 may be sensed by a vision sensor of an external device. The vision sensor may include a camera, an image sensor, and the like. On the basis of the information obtained by sensing the alignment structure of the valve head 52 with the vision sensor, the position and orientation of the valve structure 51 may be detected, and the external device and the valve structure 51 may be aligned with each other. The alignment structure may be sensed by another sensor other than the vision sensor. In addition, a QR code relating to information about the gas container 50 ( e.g., material properties of gas) may be attached to the valve head 52.”. The system clearly controls the robot arms based on the image data captured by a camera.),
the first collaborative robot comprises a docking module installed at an end portion of the first multi-joint arm, connected to the fastening device while aligned with the fastening device, and configured to operate the fastening device (Choi: ¶ 0060, “The module gripper 430 may include a clamping mechanism 431, a power transmission shaft 433, a gasket gripper 435, and a vision sensor 437. The module gripper 430 may grip the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18), insert the power transmission shaft 433 into the gripped module, and operate the gripped module.”, ¶ 0062, “The clamping mechanism 431 may grip and hold the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). The clamping mechanism 431 may include a clamping arm for holding the holding module 330 or the valve manipulation module 320 and an actuator connected to the clamping arm. During loading/ unloading of the gas container 50 or when starting the loading/unloading of the gas container 50, the first multi axis robot 420 may move the holding module 330 or the valve manipulation module 320 gripped by the clamping mechanism 431 to an appropriate position.”, ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, ¶ 0124, “The first vision mark 339 may be sensed by the vision sensor 437 of the module gripper 430 of the fastening vehicle 400. Specifically, before gripping the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, the fastening vehicle 400 may sense the first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 using the vision sensor 437, thereby detecting the position of the holding module 330.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the clamping mechanism and power transmission shaft clearly function as a docking mechanism. Additionally, the system clearly uses the vision system to align the docking mechanism with the fastening mechanism.).
Choi does not teach a three-dimensional (3D) vision camera configured to collect an image;
a controller configured to control an operation of the first collaborative robot and an operation of the second collaborative robot based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera,
the second collaborative robot comprises a gasket gripper installed at an end portion of the second multi-joint arm and configured to grip a gasket.
Simard, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a three-dimensional (3D) vision camera configured to collect an image (Simard: ¶ 0038, “An imaging sensor 400 is also represented in FIG. 1A. The imaging sensor 400 generates imaging data of the object 20A, which are transmitted to the server 100. The server 100 processes the imaging data, to generate a geometric model of the object 20A. In the context of the present disclosure, the geometric model is a three-dimensional (3D) model of the object 20A.”, ¶ 0040, “The one or more imaging sensor 400 includes at least one of the following: a 2D camera (e.g. a standard Red Green Blue (RGB) camera), a 3D camera (e.g. a stereo camera), a depth sensor ( e.g. an infrared, Time of Flight or laser sensor), a combination thereof, etc. The 3D model of the object 20A is generated based on one of the following: imaging data transmitted by a 3D camera, the combination of imaging data transmitted by two 2D cameras, the combination of imaging data transmitted by a 2D camera and a depth sensor, etc.”);
a controller configured to control an operation of the first collaborative robot and an operation of the second collaborative robot based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera (Simard: ¶ 0042, “The full 3D model of the object 20A allows the robot 300 to perform a task ( e.g. painting, welding, coating, etc.) on the target area of the object 20A, taking into consideration constraints imposed by the shape and geometry of the object 20A to the movements of the robot 300 when performing the task.”, ¶ 0128, “The method 600 comprises the step 615 of determining a three-dimensional (3D) model 122 of the object (e.g. 20B). Step 615 is performed by the 3D reconstruction software 112 (executed by the processing unit 110) using imaging data of the object received from the imaging sensor(s) 400 via the communication interface 130. Although not represented in FIG. 7 for simplification purposes, the 3D model 122 of the object is stored in the memory 120.”, ¶ 0131, “The method 600 comprises the step 620 of determining a toolpath 126 of the tool 330 for performing a task on a target area of the object (e.g. 20B).”, ¶ 0133, “The method 600 comprises the step 630 of generating commands for controlling actuation of the actuated joints (e.g. 310 to 315) of the articulated arm of the robot 300. The commands are generated according to the calculated trajectory 128. Step 630 is performed by the processing unit 110. The commands are transmitted to the robot controller 200 via the communication interface 130.”. The system is clearly controlled based on the images collected by the 3D vision camera.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the gas supply system taught in Choi with a three-dimensional (3D) vision camera configured to collect an image; and a controller configured to control an operation of the first collaborative robot and an operation of the second collaborative robot based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera taught in Simard with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have required the simple substitution of one known sensor for another. The gas supply system taught in Choi already teaches the use of a camera in the control of the robot arms, but does not specify the type of camera used. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been easily able to have modified the system taught in Choi with the 3D vision camera taught in Simard according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required.
Choi in view of Simard does not teach the second collaborative robot comprises a gasket gripper installed at an end portion of the second multi-joint arm and configured to grip a gasket.
Moon, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the second collaborative robot comprises a gasket gripper installed at an end portion of the second multi-joint arm and configured to grip a gasket (Moon: ¶ 0266, “The handler module 300 is a working tool having one or more gasket tools 322a that pick up a new gasket 2 and perform a gasket replacement operation that is directly or indirectly inserted into the end of the gas pipe part 30 It may include an articulated robot 320 including a module 322.”, ¶ 0269, “For example, the work tool module 322 is a gasket tool 322a that picks up a gasket 2 from a gasket supply unit 400 to be described later and performs a gasket replacement operation inserted into the end of the gas pipe unit 30. can be provided.”, ¶ 0276, “The vision inspection module 322d is installed in the work tool module 322 of the articulated robot 320, and is configured to perform external inspection such as contamination or defects on the exterior of the cylinder valve unit 12. Various configurations are possible.”, ¶ 0278, “In addition, the gas filling system through the vision inspection module 322d, in particular, may be utilized for vision alignment of the position of each module/tool with respect to the cylinder valve part 12 of the gas cylinder 10, of course.”).
Choi in view of Simard teaches a gas supply system comprising a first multi axis arm and a second multi axis arm. Choi in view of Simard does not teach the second collaborative robot comprises a gasket gripper installed at an end portion of the second multi-joint arm and configured to grip a gasket. Moon teaches the second collaborative robot comprises a gasket gripper installed at an end portion of the second multi-joint arm and configured to grip a gasket. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the gas supply system taught in Choi in view of Simard with the second collaborative robot comprises a gasket gripper installed at an end portion of the second multi-joint arm and configured to grip a gasket taught in Moon. Furthermore, Choi in view of Simard already teaches a manipulator configured to grip a gasket (Choi: ¶ 0060, “The module gripper 430 may include a clamping mechanism 431, a power transmission shaft 433, a gasket gripper 435, and a vision sensor 437. The module gripper 430 may grip the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18), insert the power transmission shaft 433 into the gripped module, and operate the gripped module.”, ¶ 0068, “The gasket gripper 435 may insert a gasket into or remove a gasket from the gas nozzle 3313 (see FIG. 15). The gasket gripper 435 may be configured to be moved by an actuator and grip the gasket. When the clamping mechanism 431 of the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15), the gasket gripper 435 may insert the gasket into an end of the gas nozzle 3313 of the connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15).”) and teaches a second multi axis robot arm robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the system such that the gasket gripper is on an arm sperate from the arm coupled to the fastening mechanism as taught in Moon. The modification would have required moving an already existing mechanism to an already existing arm according to methods taught in Moon. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a gas supply system wherein the second collaborative robot comprises a gasket gripper installed at an end portion of the second multi-joint arm and configured to grip a gasket.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the gas supply system taught in Choi in view of Simard with the second collaborative robot comprises a gasket gripper installed at an end portion of the second multi-joint arm and configured to grip a gasket taught in Moon with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 19, Choi in view of Simard in further view of Moon teaches wherein the mobile robot device further comprises a gasket storage disposed in the body and configured to store the gasket (Choi: ¶ 0072, “The gasket feeder 440 may supply new gaskets to the gasket gripper 435 of the module gripper 430 and store used waste gaskets. The gasket feeder 440 is attached to the traveling unit 410 and may move together with the traveling unit 410.”, ¶ 0073, “The module gripper 430 may be moved, by the rotation of the first multi-axis robot 420, to a position at which the module gripper 430 interfaces with the gasket feeder 440. The gasket feeder 440 may include a gasket loading box 441 and a gasket disposal box 443. The gasket loading box 441 may store one or more gaskets and supply the gaskets to the gasket gripper 435. The gasket loading box 441 may be detachably mounted at a mounting position of the gasket feeder 440. An operator or a robot may detach the gasket loading box 441 in which the gaskets have been used up from the mounting position of the gasket feeder 440 and mount a new gasket loading box 441 in which new gaskets are stored to the mounting position of the gasket feeder 440.”).
Regarding claim 20, Choi in view of Simard in further view of Moon teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine a gasket replacement position to replace the gasket based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera (Choi: ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, ¶ 0068, “The gasket gripper 435 may insert a gasket into or remove a gasket from the gas nozzle 3313 (see FIG. 15). The gasket gripper 435 may be configured to be moved by an actuator and grip the gasket. When the clamping mechanism 431 of the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15), the gasket gripper 435 may insert the gasket into an end of the gas nozzle 3313 of the connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15).”. The cited passages clearly show that the gasket grip is controlled based on images captured by an image system.),
and control the operation of the second collaborative robot to move the gasket gripper to the determined gasket replacement position (Choi: ¶ 0066, “The vision sensor 437 may detect the position of the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15) or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 (see FIG. 18). Before the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 with the clamping mechanism 431, a first vision mark 339 attached to the holding module 330 or a second vision mark 329 attached to the valve manipulation module 320 may be sensed using the vision sensor 437. Accordingly, it is possible to detect the position of the holding module 330 or the position of the valve manipulation module 320 using the vision sensor 437.”, ¶ 0068, “The gasket gripper 435 may insert a gasket into or remove a gasket from the gas nozzle 3313 (see FIG. 15). The gasket gripper 435 may be configured to be moved by an actuator and grip the gasket. When the clamping mechanism 431 of the module gripper 430 grips the holding module 330 (see FIG. 15), the gasket gripper 435 may insert the gasket into an end of the gas nozzle 3313 of the connector holder 331 (see FIG. 15).”).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 and 10 of copending Application No. 18/969278 (reference application).
Application 18969270
Reference Application 18969278
Claim 1
Claim 1
a gas supply system comprising:
A gas supply system comprising:
a cabinet in which a gas container is disposed;
a cabinet in which a gas container is disposed;
a connector fastenable to a valve of the gas container, the connector configured to supply a process gas in the gas container to a supply pipe while fastened to the valve; and
a fastening device configured to detach an end cap from a valve of the gas container or fasten a valve connector to the valve of the container;
a mobile robot device disposed outside the cabinet and configured to automatically fasten the connector to the valve,
and a mobile robot device disposed outside the cabinet and connected to the fastening device to operate the fastening device
wherein the mobile robot device comprises:
wherein the mobile robot device comprises:
a body movable outside the cabinet;
a body movable along a ground;
a first collaborative robot comprising a first multi-joint arm disposed on the body and having a multi-degree-of-freedom motion,
a first robot arm installed on the body, the first robot arm having a multi-degree-of-freedom motion;
the first collaborative robot configured to operate to fasten the connector to the valve;
a second collaborative robot comprising a second multi-joint arm disposed on the body and having a multi-degree-of-freedom motion,
Claim 10: wherein the mobile robot device further comprises: a second robot arm installed on the body, the second robot arm having a multi-degree-of-freedom motion, wherein the 3D vision camera is disposed on the second robot arm.
the second collaborative robot configured to operate to support the gas container;
a three-dimensional (3D) vision camera configured to collect an image; and
a three-dimensional (3D) vision camera configured to collect an image;
a controller configured to control an operation of the first collaborative robot and an operation of the second collaborative robot based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera.
and a controller configured to control an operation of the first robot arm based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application are narrow in scope than the claims of the examined application. Additional difference are merely related to the wording of each claim. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the system of claim 1 with the second arm of dependent claim 10 to produce the obvious result of the a second collaborative robot comprising a second multi-joint arm disposed on the body and having a multi-degree-of-freedom motion, the second collaborative robot configured to operate to support the gas container disclosed in claim 1 of the examined application. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a first robot arm and a fastening device configured to a fastening device configured to detach an end cap from a valve of the gas container or fasten a valve connector to the valve of the container, would produce the limitation the first collaborative robot configured to operate to fasten the connector to the valve and the limitation a connector fastenable to a valve of the gas container, the connector configured to supply a process gas in the gas container to a supply pipe while fastened to the valve of the examined application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 15 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 2 of copending Application No. 18/969278 (reference application).
Application 18969270
US Patent (Application) 18969278
Claim 15
Claim 2
wherein the docking position is determined according to a set algorithm, and
wherein the controller is configured to determine one or more alignment positions of the docking module according to a set algorithm,
and control an operation of the first robot arm so that the docking module is positioned at the determined one or more alignment positions,
the set algorithm is configured to generate in real time a 3D model for a virtual space through the 3D vision camera,
and the set algorithm is configured to generate in real time a 3D model of the gas supply system in a virtual space based on the image collected through the 3D vision camera,
determine an image similarity by comparing the generated 3D model with a set reference model,
determine an image similarity by comparing the generated 3D model of the gas supply system with a set reference model,
and determine a predicted position of the docking module in which the image similarity is greater than or equal to a set value to be the docking position.
and determine a predicted position of the docking module at which the image similarity is greater than or equal to a set value to be an alignment position of the docking module.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application are narrow in scope than the claims of the examined application. Additional difference are merely related to the wording of each claim. Furthermore, while claim 2 of the reference application contains an additional limitation not in claim 15 of the examined application, all other limitations of claim 2 of the reference application are substantially similar to those of claim 15.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 11 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 and 10 of copending Application No. 18/969278 (reference application).
Claim 11
Claim 1
A gas supply system comprising:
A gas supply system comprising:
a cabinet in which a gas container is disposed;
a cabinet in which a gas container is disposed;
a fastening device configured to fasten a connector to a valve of the gas container while aligned with the valve; and
a fastening device configured to detach an end cap from a valve of the gas container or fasten a valve connector to the valve of the container;
a mobile robot device configured to automatically align the fastening device to the gas container,
and a mobile robot device disposed outside the cabinet and connected to the fastening device to operate the fastening device
wherein the mobile robot device comprises:
wherein the mobile robot device comprises:
a body movable along a ground;
a body movable along a ground;
a first collaborative robot disposed on the body, and comprising a first multi-joint arm;
a first robot arm installed on the body, the first robot arm having a multi-degree-of-freedom motion;
a second collaborative robot disposed on the body, and comprising a second multi-joint arm; and
Claim 10: wherein the mobile robot device further comprises: a second robot arm installed on the body, the second robot arm having a multi-degree-of-freedom motion, wherein the 3D vision camera is disposed on the second robot arm.
a three-dimensional (3D) vision camera configured to collect an image; and
a three-dimensional (3D) vision camera configured to collect an image;
a controller configured to control an operation of the first collaborative robot and an operation of the second collaborative robot based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera, and
and a controller configured to control an operation of the first robot arm based on the image collected by the 3D vision camera.
the first collaborative robot is detachably connected to the fastening device and configured to move the fastening device.
a docking module disposed at an end portion of the first robot arm and detachably fastened to the fastening device;
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application are narrow in scope than the claims of the examined application. Additional difference are merely related to the wording of each claim. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the claims of the reference application are substantially similar to those in the examined application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 9, and 14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter for reciting the limitations “determine an image similarity by comparing the generated 3D model with a set reference model, and operate the first collaborative robot to place the connector in a predicted position of the connector in which the image similarity is greater than or equal to a set value.”. The primary reference (US 2024/0190006 A1 (“Choi”)) teaches a gas supply system comprising a gas supply cabinet and a fastening vehicle, wherein the fastening vehicle is controlled using a vision system mounted on the robot arms. Choi does not teach or suggest generating a 3D model using the images captured by the vision system, determining the similarity between the generated 3D model and a reference model, and controlling the robot to move to a predicted position determined when the similarity between the models is greater than a threshold. The secondary reference (US 20230027130 A1 (“Simard”)) a method of generating a 3D model of an object based on images captured from a camera, and the determining control of the robot based on the generated 3D model. Simard does not teach or suggest determining the similarity between the generated 3D model and a reference model and controlling the robot to move to a predicted position determined when the similarity between the models is greater than a threshold. The secondary reference (US 12214491 B2 (“Byeon”)) teaches a gas supply system comprising a gas supply robot and a transfer robot, wherein the supply robot is controlled using a vision system. Byeon does not teach or suggest generating a 3D model using the images captured by the vision system, determining the similarity between the generated 3D model and a reference model, and controlling the robot to move to a predicted position determined when the similarity between the models is greater than a threshold. The secondary reference (US 20230382660 A1 (“Song”)) teaches a robot configure to place and/or remove the end cap of a canister, wherein the robot is controlled using a vision system. Song does not teach or suggest generating a 3D model using the images captured by the vision system, determining the similarity between the generated 3D model and a reference model, and controlling the robot to move to a predicted position determined when the similarity between the models is greater than a threshold. The secondary reference (KR 20220136257 A (“Moon”)) teaches a method of charging and aligning a gas container using a vision system. Moon does not teach or suggest generating a 3D model using the images captured by the vision system, determining the similarity between the generated 3D model and a reference model, and controlling the robot to move to a predicted position determined when the similarity between the models is greater than a threshold. The closest prior art (US 2022/0203136 A1 (“Vojan”)) teaches a radiotherapy control method and corresponding graphical user interface, wherein the system is configured to generate a three-dimensional model of the patient and equipment, compare this model to a stored reference model, and based on the comparison notify a user of patient movement, determine the movement is merely the patient breathing, or stop the equipment to prevent a collision with the patient. Vojan does not directly teach determining the similarity between the two models, though one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that determining the difference between two models in order to quantify movement is a form of determining similarity, and does not teach controlling the system to move to a predicted position when the similarity between the two models is greater than a threshold. No reference individually or in any combination teaches the limitations “determine an image similarity by comparing the generated 3D model with a set reference model, and operate the first collaborative robot to place the connector in a predicted position of the connector in which the image similarity is greater than or equal to a set value.”. Therefore, for the reasons stated herein, claim 3 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Claim 9 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter for reciting the limitations “wherein the cabinet comprises a support chain to surround the gas container, and the first collaborative robot or the second collaborative robot is configured to adjust a position of the support chain in the cabinet.”. The primary reference (US 2024/0190006 A1 (“Choi”)) teaches a gas supply system comprising a gas supply cabinet and a fastening vehicle, wherein the gas supply closet includes a pair of grippers with rollers couple to the ends that grab and support the gas container. Choi clearly does not teach a support chain that surrounds the gas canister or that the robot arm is configured to adjust a position of the support chain. The secondary reference (US 20230027130 A1 (“Simard”)) a method of generating a 3D model of an object based on images captured from a camera, and the determining control of the robot based on the generated 3D model. Simard is silent as to any matters pertaining to a support chain and a robot configured to adjust the position of said support chain. The secondary reference (US 12214491 B2 (“Byeon”)) teaches a gas supply system comprising a gas supply robot and a transfer robot, wherein the gas supply closet includes a pair of grippers with rollers couple to the ends that grab and support the gas container. Byeon clearly does not teach a support chain that surrounds the gas canister or that the robot arm is configured to adjust a position of the support chain. The secondary reference (US 20230382660 A1 (“Song”)) teaches a robot configure to place and/or remove the end cap of a canister and teaches a storage module for storing gas containers. The storage module is further configured with grippers that grab and support the gas container. Song clearly does not teach a support chain that surrounds the gas canister or that the robot arm is configured to adjust a position of the support chain. The secondary reference (KR 20220136257 A (“Moon”)) teaches a method of charging and aligning a gas container. Moon does not teach or suggest a cabinet in which the gas containers are disposed, a support chain in the cabinet that supports the gas containers, or that the robot is configured to adjust a position of the support chain. No reference individually or in any combination teaches the limitations “wherein the cabinet comprises a support chain to surround the gas container, and the first collaborative robot or the second collaborative robot is configured to adjust a position of the support chain in the cabinet.”. Therefore, for the reasons stated herein, claim 9 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Claim 14 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter for reciting the limitation “the fastening device comprises: one or more support clamps detachably coupled to the docking member”. The primary reference (US 2024/0190006 A1 (“Choi”)) teaches a gas supply system comprising a gas supply cabinet and a fastening vehicle, wherein the gas supply cabinet contains a fastening device and a docking mechanism is coupled to the distal end of a robot arm of the fastening vehicle. The docking mechanism is configured to grasp the fastening device and insert a transmission shaft into the fastening device to transfer mechanical power from the robot to the fastening device. As is clear from the specifications of Choi, the docking mechanism comprises a support clamp to grasp the fastening device and the fastening device has not such mechanism. As such, Choi clearly fails to teach or suggest the limitation “the fastening device comprises: one or more support clamps detachably coupled to the docking member”. The secondary reference (US 20230027130 A1 (“Simard”)) a method of generating a 3D model of an object based on images captured from a camera, and the determining control of the robot based on the generated 3D model. Simard is silent as to any matters pertaining to a docking mechanism or a fastening device. The secondary reference (US 12214491 B2 (“Byeon”)) teaches a gas supply system comprising a gas supply robot and a transfer robot, wherein the gas supply closet includes a fastening device. Byeon, however does not teach or suggest a docking mechanism coupled to a distal end of a robot arm or that the fastening device includes support clamps detachably coupled to the docking member. The secondary reference (US 20230382660 A1 (“Song”)) teaches a robot configure to place and/or remove the end cap of a canister and teaches a storage module for storing gas containers. Song does not teach or suggest a fastening device or a docking mechanism and therefore does not teach or suggest the limitation “the fastening device comprises: one or more support clamps detachably coupled to the docking member”. The secondary reference (KR 20220136257 A (“Moon”)) teaches a method of charging and aligning a gas container. Moon does not teach or suggest a fastening device or a docking mechanism and therefore does not teach or suggest the limitation “the fastening device comprises: one or more support clamps detachably coupled to the docking member”. No reference individually or in any combination teaches the limitation “the fastening device comprises: one or more support clamps detachably coupled to the docking member”. Therefore, for the reasons stated herein, claim 14 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/N.W.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658