DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Natarajan (Pub. No.: 2023/0128456 A1).
1) In regard to claim 1, Natarajan discloses the claimed driver assistance apparatus (fig. 1: 100) configured to assist a driver in driving a vehicle (¶0048 discloses the trust application may alter semi-autonomous or autonomous operation of one or more driving functions), the driver being a person who drives the vehicle (¶0048 discloses monitoring the driver of the vehicle), the driver assistance apparatus comprising:
one or more processors (fig. 1: 112, 122, 132 and 142); and
one or more memories communicably coupled to the one or more processors (fig. 1: 114, 124, 134 and 144),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
acquire information on a surrounding environment of the vehicle (¶0034 discloses a sensor receive sensor information with respect to the environment of the autonomous vehicle),
recognize the surrounding environment, based on the information on the surrounding environment (¶0034 discloses the sensor senses data based on scene context),
calculate a level of trust of the driver in the driver assistance apparatus (¶0047 discloses a trust model calculator),
display at least recognition result information on a result of recognizing the surrounding environment (¶0055 discloses a display cue),
change, when the recognition result information is displayed, a number of information items indicating a display area around the vehicle or a state of a detection object present around the vehicle, in accordance with the level of trust (¶0055 discloses a display alert, and ¶0056 discloses providing more driving inputs associated with under trust),
determine that the driver is in a standard trusting state with respect to the driver assistance apparatus when the level of trust thus calculated is less than or equal to a predetermined over-trust threshold based on which whether the driver is in an over-trusting state with respect to the driver assistance apparatus is determined and greater than or equal to a predetermined distrust threshold based on which whether the driver is in a distrusting state with respect to the driver assistance apparatus is determined (¶0056 discloses comparing to a baseline and adjusting a driving input ), and
set the display area to a first area when the driver is determined to be in the standard trusting state (¶0056 discloses adjusting driving input based on a comparison to a baseline).
2) In regard to claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Natarajan further disclose the driver assistance apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine that the driver is in the over-trusting state with respect to the driver assistance apparatus when the level of trust thus calculated is greater than the predetermined over-trust threshold, and change the display area to an area different from the first area when the driver is determined to be in the over-trusting state (¶0049-¶0050).
3) In regard to claim 3 (dependent on claim 2), Natarajan further disclose the driver assistance apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to narrow the display area as the level of trust of the driver in the driver assistance apparatus is higher (¶0051).
4) In regard to claim 4 (dependent on claim 1), Natarajan further disclose the driver assistance apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine that the driver is in the distrusting state with respect to the driver assistance apparatus when the level of trust thus calculated is less than the predetermined distrust threshold, and change the number of the information items when the driver is determined to be in the distrusting state (¶0050).
5) In regard to claim 5 (dependent on claim 4), Natarajan further disclose the driver assistance apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are configured to increase the number of the information items as the level of trust of the driver in the driver assistance apparatus is lower (¶0056).
6) In regard to claim 6, claim 6 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
7) In regard to claim 7, claim 7 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
Conclusion
/CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685