DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because all diagrams and features in Figures 1-5 and 7-12 are required to be distinctly labeled to indicate contents or function with legends (37 C.F.R. 1.83(a), 1.84(o)) since they are necessary for understanding of the drawing. Correction is required.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of inclusion of legal phraseology such as “embodiment”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: inspection device to determine whether a component is normally inserted based on a shadow.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (CN 112560891).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Liu discloses the same inspection device for a target object 203 including a hole and a component 204 inserted into the hole, the device comprising a plurality of light sources 202 configured to illuminate an area including the hole in different directions in series (e.g. Fig. 2); a camera 201 configured to generate a plurality of digital images of the area illuminated by the light sources in series [0039]; and a controller 703 configured to determine whether the component is normally inserted into the hole based on a shadow (e.g. Fig. 7) included in each 702 of the digital images generated by the camera [0063]-[0070].
Claims 2 and 8. wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the component is normally inserted into the hole (e.g. Fig. 7) based on a length of a shadow of the component included in the digital images [0066].
Claims 3 and 9. wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the component is normally inserted into the hole by comparing a difference in a length of the shadow of the component (e.g. Fig. 7) included in at least two of the digital images with a threshold (e.g. offset [0067]).
Claims 5 and 11. wherein directions in which the respective light sources emit light 202 incline at a same angle with respect to a face 203 on which the hole is provided in the target object (e.g. Fig. 2).
Claims 6 and 12. wherein the target object has linearly arranged holes 204 including the hole, and directions in which the respective light sources emit light intersect with an array direction (e.g. Fig. 2) of the holes as seen in plan view (e.g. planar view).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Fujinawa et al (JP 8-178642).
Although Fig. 2 of Liu discloses determining whether the component is inserted into the hole based on the digital images, it is noted Liu differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose first and second portions of the component as specified in claims 4 and 10. Fujinawa et al however, in Figures 9 and 10, teaches the concept of such well-known component 3 includes first 3a and second 3b portions which can be separated from each other and are normally connected to each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having both the references of Liu and Fujinawa before him/her, to incorporate the inspection method of Fujinawa et al into the inspection device of Liu in order to inspect more than one portion of the component simultaneously.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20260025592 discloses LIGHTING ARRANGEMENTS FOR MATERIAL SORTING
20260011203 discloses MEANS FOR USING MICROSTRUCTURE OF MATERIALS SURFACE AS A UNIQUE IDENTIFIER
20260010996 discloses DEFECT INSPECTION SYSTEM AND DEFECT INSPECTION METHOD
/Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485