DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 07/20/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 12-18 are currently pending. Claims 1, 3, 8-9, 12, and 16 are amended.
Claims 4 and 10-11 are cancelled. Claims 17-18 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-2, filed 07/20/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 117 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of McCalib, JR. et al. U.S. Publication 2024/0326512.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashur et al. WO2024243131 (henceforth referred to as Ashur) in view of McCalib, JR. et al. U.S. Publication 2024/0326512 (henceforth referred to as McCalib).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended): Ashur teaches a surface cleaning device, comprising: a housing (FIGS. 17, 21 and 24 paragraphs [080], [0111]-[0113], [0145], [0147] protective cover 65, first cover shell 66, second cover shell 67, front wheel base 106, back wheel base 108, and frame 31 read on the claimed housing);
a spray bar assembly connected to the housing (FIG. 24 paragraphs [099]-[0100] first arm 52 and second arm 53 read on the claimed spray bar assembly. Figures 9 and 24 show that the arms 52 and 53 are connected to the protective cover 65), the spray bar assembly spraying a ground surface to be cleaned with a high pressure liquid (abstract: nozzles 56, 57 propels high pressure water onto the surface); and
a plurality of omni-directional wheels connected to the housing (paragraph [070] wheels 21).
Ashur differs from the instant claim in failing to teach each of the omni-directional wheels having two hubs connected together, each of the hubs having a plurality of rollers disposed around a perimeter of the hubs to move the surface cleaning device in multiple directions.
McCalib teaches a wheel with rollers (FIG. 3 paragraph [0025] omni-directional wheel). McCalib teaches each of the omni-directional wheels having two hubs connected together (Figure 3 shows at least two omindirectional wheels 200a connected together), each of the hubs having a plurality of rollers disposed around a perimeter of the hubs (FIG. 3 paragraph [0038] each cross roller sub-assembly 208 may be secured between two spokes of the overmolded wheel hub (i.e., the wheel hub 202 or outer wheel hub 220)) to move the surface cleaning device in multiple directions (paragraph [0043] the omnidirectional wheels 200a may roll in an in-line motion 302 and transverse motion 304).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surface cleaning device as taught by Ashur with an omniwheel as taught by McCalib as the omniwheels can be used to maneuver in tight spaces (paragraph [0044]).
As to claim 2, (Original): Ashur further teaches the spray bar assembly is positioned in a cavity defined by the housing (FIG. 24 paragraph [0174] rotary cleaning assembly 51 extends beneath a molded protective cover 65).
As to claim 3, (Currently Amended): Ashur further teaches each of the plurality of wheels is positioned within a width and length of the housing of the surface cleaning device (FIG. 20 the wheels 21 are positioned within a width of the surface cleaning device).
Ashur does not teach the plurality of wheels is within a length of the housing of the surface cleaning device. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed sizes/ proportions are considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a change in size/ proportion. It is old and well known to change sizes/ proportions, with no change in their respective functions, as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04, IV, A. Changes in Size/ Proportion.
As to claim 5, (Original): Ashur and McCalib do not teach each of the plurality of wheels has a diameter of about 50mm to about 150mm.
However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed sizes/proportions are considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a change in size/ proportion. It is old and well known to change sizes/ proportions, with no change in their respective functions, as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04, IV, A. Changes in Size/ Proportion.
As to claim 6, (Original): Ashur does not teach each of the plurality of wheels has a wheel diameter to roller quantity ration of about 9:1 to about 25:1.
Since the art recognizes that the wheel diameter to roller quantity ratio is a result effective variable, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to determine an optimal value for the wheel diameter to roller quantity ratio in Ashur, through routine experimentation, and that the claimed the wheel diameter to roller quantity ratio would have been found obvious through such routine experimentation, unless the applicant can demonstrate unexpected results.
As to claim 7, (Original): Ashur does not teach each of the plurality of wheels has a wheel diameter to roller diameter ratio of about 3:1 to about 7:1.
However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed sizes/proportions are considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a change in size/ proportion. It is old and well known to change sizes/ proportions, with no change in their respective functions, as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04, IV, A. Changes in Size/ Proportion.
As to claim 9, (Currently Amended): Ashur teaches a surface cleaning device, comprising:
a housing defining an open cavity therein (FIGS. 17, 21 and 24 paragraphs [080], [0111]-[0113], [0145], [0147] protective cover 65, first cover shell 66, second cover shell 67, front wheel base 106, back wheel base 108, and frame 31 read on the claimed housing);
a spray bar assembly connected to the housing and disposed in the cavity (FIG. 24 paragraphs [099]-[0100] first arm 52 and second arm 53 read on the claimed spray bar assembly. Figures 9 and 24 show that the arms 52 and 53 are connected to the protective cover 65), the spray bar assembly spraying a ground surface to be cleaned with a high pressure liquid (abstract: nozzles 56, 57 propels high pressure water onto the surface); and
a plurality of omni-directional wheels connected to the housing (paragraph [070] wheels 21), wherein each of the omni-directional wheels is connected to the housing at a position within a width of the housing of the surface cleaning device (FIG. 20 the wheels 21 are positioned within a width of the surface cleaning device).
Ashur does not teach the plurality of wheels is within a length of the housing of the surface cleaning device. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed sizes/ proportions are considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a change in size/ proportion. It is old and well known to change sizes/ proportions, with no change in their respective functions, as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04, IV, A. Changes in Size/ Proportion.
Ashur differs from the instant claim in failing to teach each of the omni-directional wheels having a hub and a plurality of rollers disposed around a perimeter of the hub to move the surface cleaning device in multiple directions.
McCalib teaches a wheel with rollers (FIG. 3 paragraph [0025] omni-directional wheel). McCalib teaches each of the omni-directional wheels having a hub and a plurality of rollers disposed around a perimeter of the hub (FIG. 3 paragraph [0038] each cross roller sub-assembly 208 may be secured between two spokes of the overmolded wheel hub (i.e., the wheel hub 202 or outer wheel hub 220)) to move the surface cleaning device in multiple directions (paragraph [0043] the omnidirectional wheels 200a may roll in an in-line motion 302 and transverse motion 304).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surface cleaning device as taught by Ashur with an omniwheel as taught by McCalib as the omniwheels can be used to maneuver in tight spaces (paragraph [0044]).
As to claim 14, (Original): Ashur further teaches the spray bar assembly includes:
a connector extending through the housing to a top of the housing to connect to a pressurized water source (paragraph [0198] fluid input connector 63 which is a typically a hose connection allowing the rover to be connected to a high pressure hose 38);
a water inlet connected to the connector (FIG. 3 paragraph [0168] a hose 38 from an external power washer fees high-pressure fluid to rotary cleaning assembly 51);
a rotatable hub connected to the water inlet (FIG. 4 paragraph [0105] rotatable hub 58); and
at least one spray bar connected to the rotatable hub (FIG. 4 arms 52 and 53 are connected to rotatable hub 58 via manifold 44), the at least one spray bar rotating in the cavity when pressurized water is applied to the surface cleaning device (paragraph [0167] when high-pressure flow is turned on, the high-pressure flow causes rotary cleaning assembly 51 to rotate around the rotatable hub 58).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashur et al. WO2024243131 (henceforth referred to as Ashur) and McCalib, JR. et al. U.S. Publication 2024/0326512 (henceforth referred to as McCalib) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Parrott et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0151572 (henceforth referred to as Parrott).
As to claim 8, (Currently Amended): Ashur and McCalib differ from the instant claim in failing to teach each of the plurality of rollers includes a center roller, a first roller positioned on a first side of the center roller, and a second roller positioned on a second side of the center roller.
Parrott teaches a wheel with rollers (FIGS. 3A-3C paragraph [0060] omni-wheel 30). Parrott teaches each of the plurality of rollers includes a center roller (FIG. 3C paragraph [0060] roller segment 32b reads on the claimed center roller), a first roller positioned on a first side of the center roller, and a second roller positioned on a second side of the center roller (FIG. 3C paragraph [0060] roller segments 32a and 32c read on the claimed first and second rollers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surface cleaning device as taught by Ashur and McCalib with a set of three rollers as taught by Parrott as the three-segmented roller can eliminate bumps in the travel of the wheel (paragraph [0060]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashur et al. WO2024243131 (henceforth referred to as Ashur) and McCalib, JR. et al. U.S. Publication 2024/0326512 (henceforth referred to as McCalib) as applied to claim 9 above, in further view of Parrott et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0151572 (henceforth referred to as Parrott).
As to claim 12, (Currently Amended) Ashur and McCalib differ from the instant claim in failing to teach each of the plurality of rollers includes a center roller, a first roller positioned on a first side of the center roller, and a second roller positioned on a second side of the center roller, wherein the first roller, center roller, and second roller are axially aligned around the perimeter of the hub.
Parrott teaches a wheel with rollers (FIGS. 3A-3C paragraph [0060] omni-wheel 30). Parrott teaches each of the plurality of rollers includes a center roller (FIG. 3C paragraph [0060] roller segment 32b reads on the claimed center roller), a first roller positioned on a first side of the center roller, and a second roller positioned on a second side of the center roller (FIG. 3C paragraph [0060] roller segments 32a and 32c read on the claimed first and second rollers), wherein the first roller, center roller, and second roller are axially aligned around the perimeter of the hub (Figure 3C shows that first roller, center roller, and second roller are axially aligned around the perimeter of the hub).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surface cleaning device as taught by Ashur and McCalib with a set of three rollers as taught by Parrott as the three-segmented roller can eliminate bumps in the travel of the wheel (paragraph [0060]).
As to claim 13, (Original): Parrott further teaches the first and second rollers have a conical shape (FIGS. 3A-3C roller segments 32a and 32c have a conical shape).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashur et al. WO2024243131 (henceforth referred to as Ashur) and McCalib, JR. et al. U.S. Publication 2024/0326512 (henceforth referred to as McCalib) as applied to claim 14 above, in further view of Johnson et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0337513 (henceforth referred to as Johnson).
As to claim 15, (Original): Ashur and McCalib differ from the instant claim in failing to teach each of the plurality of wheels is connected to the housing by a bracket.
Johnson teaches a surface cleaning device (paragraph [0033] floor cleaning robot 10). Johnson teaches each of the plurality of wheels is connected to the housing by a bracket (FIGS. 6-8 paragraph [0079] wheel housing 76 reads on the claimed bracket).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surface cleaning device as taught by Ashur and McCalib with a bracket as taught by Johnson as it is known in the art to use brackets to mount the wheels to the housing.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashur et al. WO2024243131 (henceforth referred to as Ashur) in view of Parrott et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0151572 (henceforth referred to as Parrott).
As to claim 17, (New): Ashur teaches a surface cleaning device, comprising:
a housing having a top and a side extending downwardly from the top (paragraphs [0112]-[0113] shells 66 and 67 extend downwardly), the top and side collectively defining an open cavity of the housing (FIGS. 17, 21 and 24 paragraphs [080], [0111]-[0113], [0145], [0147] protective cover 65, first cover shell 66, second cover shell 67, front wheel base 106, back wheel base 108, and frame 31 read on the claimed housing);
a spray bar assembly connected to the housing and disposed in the cavity (FIG. 24 paragraphs [099]-[0100] first arm 52 and second arm 53 read on the claimed spray bar assembly. Figures 9 and 24 show that the arms 52 and 53 are connected to the protective cover 65), the spray bar assembly spraying a ground surface to be cleaned with a high pressure liquid (abstract: nozzles 56, 57 propels high pressure water onto the surface); and
a plurality of wheels pivotally connected to the housing (paragraph [018] the front wheel base may be pivotably attached to the base), each of the wheels having a hub (FIG. 2 paragraph [072] hub 23) and a plurality of rollers to move the surface cleaning device in multiple directions (FIG. 2 paragraph [073] rollers 24) wherein each of the wheels is connected to the housing at a position within a width of the housing of the surface cleaning device (FIG. 20 the wheels 21 are positioned within a width of the surface cleaning device).
Ashur does not teach the plurality of wheels is within a length of the housing of the surface cleaning device. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed sizes/ proportions are considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a change in size/ proportion. It is old and well known to change sizes/ proportions, with no change in their respective functions, as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04, IV, A. Changes in Size/ Proportion.
Ashur differs from the instant claim in failing to teach each of the plurality of rollers includes a center roller, a first roller positioned on a first side of the center roller, and a second roller positioned on a second side of the center roller such that the first roller, center roller, and second roller are axially aligned.
Parrott teaches a wheel with rollers (FIGS. 3A-3C paragraph [0060] omni-wheel 30). Parrott teaches each of the plurality of rollers includes a center roller (FIG. 3C paragraph [0060] roller segment 32b reads on the claimed center roller), a first roller positioned on a first side of the center roller, and a second roller positioned on a second side of the center roller (FIG. 3C paragraph [0060] roller segments 32a and 32c read on the claimed first and second rollers) such that the first roller, center roller, and second roller are axially aligned (Figure 3C shows that first roller, center roller, and second roller are axially aligned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surface cleaning device as taught by Ashur with a set of three rollers as taught by Parrott as the three-segmented roller can eliminate bumps in the travel of the wheel (paragraph [0060]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: there is no motivation to combine Ashur with a reference regarding a bracket that pivots to allow each of the plurality of wheels to move in and out relative to a side of the housing.
Conclusion
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711