Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 8/5/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-21 is/are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 14-18, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardter (U.S. Patent App Pub 20210345101) in view of Perrufel (U.S. Patent App Pub 20160352751).
Regarding claim 1,
Hardter teaches mobile device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the mobile device to(See paragraphs 27-28, Hardter)
receive, via a light-sensitive device and from a light source in a physical environment of the mobile device, transmissions from the light source, wherein the Li-Fi transmissions are configured to transmit data by modulating a light intensity of the light source over a time period; and (See paragraphs 44-46, Hardter teaches transmit LiFi communications)
wherein the light source is configured to transmit, in accordance with a Li-Fi protocol and via the modulating the light intensity of the light source over the time period.; a plurality of different keys on a periodic basic; a plurality of keys (See paragraphs 44-46, Hardter teaches a plurality of keys being transmitted using LiFi)
receive, from the remote server and based a determination that the first key is associated with the physical environment, access to the content, and a plurality of keys; (See paragraphs 44-46, Hardter teaches a plurality of keys being transmitted using LiFi)
Hardter does not explicitly teach but Perrfel teaches transmit, to a remote server, a request for content, wherein the request for content comprises a first key. (See paragraphs 70, 29, claim 1, Perrufel)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Perrufel with Hardter because both deal with access authentication. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Perrufel into Hardter is that Perrufel provides security to access content, therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See paragraphs [0004] - [0006], Perrufel)
Regarding claim 2,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches the mobile device of claim 1, wherein the light-sensitive device comprises a Li-Fi receiver communicatively coupled to the mobile device. (See paragraphs 28, 30, 36, Fig 2, 4, Hardter)
Regarding claim 4,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches mobile device of claim 1, wherein the key is associated with a physical environment of the light source. (See paragraphs 44-46, Hardter)
Regarding claim 5,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches mobile device of claim 1,wherein the Li-Fi transmissions further comprise one or more of error correction codes or protocol details. (See paragraphs 30, 35, Hardter)
Regarding claim 6,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches mobile device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the mobile device to:receive, via a user interface, user authentication credentials, wherein the request for the content comprises the first key. (See paragraphs 44-46, Hardter)
Regarding claim 7,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches mobile device of claim 1.
Perrufel further teaches wherein the light source comprises a light bulb. (See paragraphs 56, 61, Perrufel) See motivation to combine for claim 1.
Regarding claim 8,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches mobile device of claim 1.
Perrufel further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the mobile device to transmit the request for the content by causing the mobile device to:transmit, via a wireless network protocol different from Li-Fi, the request for the content. (See paragraphs 55, 56, Perrufel) See motivation to combine for claim 1.
Regarding claim 9,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches mobile device of claim 1.
Perrufel further teaches wherein the light intensity of the light source further comprises modulating color of light emitted by the light source over the time period. (See paragraphs 30, 36, abstract, Perrufel) See motivation to combine for claim 1.
Regarding claim 10,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches mobile device of claim 1, wherein the first key is generated based on a location of the light source. (See paragraphs 35, 45, Hardter)
Regarding claim 11,
Hardter teaches a method comprising: (See paragraphs 27-28, Hardter)
receiving, by a mobile device, via a light-sensitive device, and from a light source in a physical environment of the mobile device, Li-Fi transmissions from the light source, wherein the Li-Fi transmissions are configured to transmit data by modulating intensity of the light source over a time period; (See paragraphs 44-46, Hardter teaches transmit LiFi communications)
wherein the light source is configured to transmit, in accordance with a Li-Fi protocol and via the modulating the intensity of the light source over the time period, a plurality of different keys on a periodic basis; (See paragraphs 44-46, Hardter teaches a plurality of keys being transmitted using LiFi)
receiving, from the remote server and based a determination that the key is associated with the physical environment, access to the content and access content ,and a plurality of keys (See paragraphs 44-46, Hardter teaches a plurality of keys being transmitted using LiFi)
Hardter does not explicitly teach but Perrufel teaches
modulating an intensity of a light source is modulating color of the light source(See paragraphs 30, 36, abstract, Perrufel)
transmitting, to a remote server, a request for content, wherein the request for content comprises a first key. (See paragraphs 70, 29, claim 1, Perrufel)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Perrufel with Hardter because both deal with access authentication. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Perrufel into Hardter is that Perrufel provides security to access content, therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See paragraphs [0004] - [0006], Perrufel)
Regarding claim 12,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the light-sensitive device comprises a Li-Fi receiver communicatively coupled to the mobile device. (See paragraphs 28, 30, 36, Fig 2, 4, Hardter)
Regarding claim 14,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the key associated with the physical environment of the light source. (See paragraphs 44-46, Hardter)
Regarding claim 15,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the Li-Fi transmission further comprise one or more of: error correction codes or protocol details. (See paragraphs 30, 35, Hardter)
Regarding claim 16,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the first key is generated based on a location of the light source(See paragraphs 35, 45, Hardter)
Regarding claim 17,
Hardter teaches the or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a mobile device, cause the mobile device to: (See paragraphs 27-28, Hardter)
receive, via a Li-Fi receiver and from a Li-Fi transmitter in a physical environment of the mobile device, Li-Fi transmissions from the Li-Fi transmitter, wherein the Li-Fi transmission are configured to transmit data by modulating light intensity of the Li-Fi transmitter over a time period; and wherein the Li-Fi transmitter is configured to transmit, in accordance with Li-Fi protocol and via a modulating the light intensity of the Li-Fi transmitter over the time period, a plurality of different keys on a periodic basis, (See paragraphs 44-46, Hardter teaches transmit LiFi communications)
receive, from the remote server and based a determination that the key is associated with the physical environment, access to the content, and a plurality of different keys. (See paragraphs 44-46, Hardter teaches a plurality of keys being transmitted using LiFi)
Hardter does not explicitly teach but Perrufel teaches transmit, to a remote server, a request for content, wherein the request for content comprises a first key; (See paragraphs 70, 29, claim 1, Perrufel)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Perrufel with Hardter because both deal with access authentication. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Perrufel into Hardter is that Perrufel provides security to access content, therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See paragraphs [0004] - [0006], Perrufel)
Regarding claim 18,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17.
Perrfuel further teaches wherein the modulating the light intensity further comprises modulating color of light emitted by the Li-Fi transmitter. (See paragraphs 30, 36, abstract, Perrufel) See motivation to combine for claim 1.
Regarding claim 20,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17, the key is associated with the physical environment of the Li-Fi transmitter. (See paragraphs 44-46, Hardter)
Regarding claim 21,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17, wherein the first key is generated based on a location of the Li-Fi transmitter. (See paragraphs 35, 45, Hardter)
Claim(s) 3, 13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardter (U.S. Patent App Pub 20210345101) in view of Perrufel (U.S. Patent App Pub 20160352751) further in view of Valouch (U.S. Patent App Pub 20200259567).
Regarding claim 3,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches mobile device of claim 1.
Hardter and Perrufel do not explicitly teach but Valouch teaches wherein the modulating the light intensity of the light source comprises modulating ultraviolet light. (See paragraphs 5, 242, 192, Valouch teaches Li-Fi protocol which uses UV)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Valouch with Hardter and Perrufel because both deal with access authentication. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Valouch into Hardter and Perrufel is that Valouch includes organic fluorescent colorants have very high modulation bandwidth for LiFi applications comprising a transmitter for transmitting data and for emitting electromagnetic radiation in the visible spectral range having short excited-state lifetimes, in combination with a high fluorescence quantum yield, a high photostability, and a good color reproduction with data transmission and good correlated color temperature, therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See paragraphs [0004] - [0006], Valouch)
Regarding claim 13,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches the method of claim 11.
Hardter and Perrufel do not explicitly teach but Valouch teaches wherein the modulating the color of the light source comprising switching between two colors, wherein each of the two colors represents a binary value. (See paragraphs 5, 419, 193, Valouch teaches Li-Fi protocol which uses UV)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Valouch with Hardter and Perrufel because both deal with access authentication. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Valouch into Hardter and Perrufel is that Valouch includes organic fluorescent colorants have very high modulation bandwidth for LiFi applications comprising a transmitter for transmitting data and for emitting electromagnetic radiation in the visible spectral range having short excited-state lifetimes, in combination with a high fluorescence quantum yield, a high photostability, and a good color reproduction with data transmission and good correlated color temperature, therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See paragraphs [0004] - [0006], Valouch)
Regarding claim 19,
Hardter and Perrufel teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17.
Hardter and Perrufel do not explicitly teach but Valouch teaches wherein the modulating the light intensity further comprises modulating ultraviolet light emitted by the Li-Fi transmitter. (See paragraphs 5, 242, 192, Valouch teaches Li-Fi protocol which uses UV)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Valouch with Hardter and Perrufel because both deal with access authentication. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Valouch into Hardter and Perrufel is that Valouch includes organic fluorescent colorants have very high modulation bandwidth for LiFi applications comprising a transmitter for transmitting data and for emitting electromagnetic radiation in the visible spectral range having short excited-state lifetimes, in combination with a high fluorescence quantum yield, a high photostability, and a good color reproduction with data transmission and good correlated color temperature, therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See paragraphs [0004] - [0006], Valouch)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and located in the PTO-892 form.
1. Agarwal et al U.S. Patent app Pub 20190052638, Agarwal teaches methods and systems for identifying and connecting to field devices in an industrial plant. In an example embodiment, steps or operations can be implemented for providing credentials associated with a user through Li-Fi wireless communications, detecting a light pattern associated with the Li-Fi Wireless communications with a light sensor attached to a field device, transmitting a signal from the light sensor to a controller, which decodes the credentials associated with the user, and if the credentials are authorized, allowing the user to obtain device data associated with the field device wherein said data includes a location of said field device within said industrial plant. Such data can be obtained from a control room and/or a server through a wireless data communications network (e.g., wireless bidirectional communications).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NINOS DONABED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444