DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the suction means” in line 7 of claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Although “a suction means” is recited in line 4 of claim 1, it is recited in the phrase “adapted to have a suction means” which does not positively recite the suction means. Therefore, “a suction means” has not been positively recited in the claim prior to its referral back to itself in line 7/
This application includes one or more claim limitations that uses the word “means,” and is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “suction means” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fynbo (US20200178716A1) and further in view of Armstrong (US20240400258A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fynbo teaches a bowl assembly for hair product comprising (see annotated fig.2A below for the bowl assembly),
(a) a flexible receptacle adapted to receive hair product (see annotated fig.2A below for the flexible receptacle capable of receiving hair product; it is noted that “adapted to” is a configured to language and the prior art has to be capable of performing that function); and
(b) a flexible support structure having a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the proximal end is adapted to have a suction means (see annotated fig.2A below for the flexible support structure with proximal and distal end and the proximal end is capable of having a suction means see fig.2C for the suction cups 212A at the distal end)
wherein the proximal end of the flexible support structure engages a support surface, and the suction means engages the support surface with a sufficient force to support the flexible receptacle (see annotated fig.2A and fig.2C wherein the proximal end of the flexible support structure and the suction cups 212A can engage a support surface and the section cups engages with the surface with a sufficient force to the support the receptacle). Fynbo does not teach wherein the distal end further comprises an opening that is adapted to receive the flexible receptacle.
Armstrong teaches wherein the distal end further comprises an opening that is adapted to receive the flexible receptacle (fig.1 shows the distal end of the tray 110 with opening 116A that is adapted to receive the receptacle 119). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flexible support structure and receptacle disclosed by Fynbo by adding the teaching of opening with a removable receptacle as disclosed by Armstrong in order to make the receptacle easily removable from the entire assembly to wash the compartment after using or prepare as need. “In order to address these concerns, the present invention includes a modular food storage container having a removable compartment that may be easily separated from the primary container, microwaved or otherwise prepared on its own, and then reattached to the primary container so that all of the stored food is easily accessible and preparable as needed.” (0004, Armstrong)
Annotated fig.2C of Fynbo
Regarding claim 2, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Fynbo as modified in claim 1 further teaches wherein the proximal end of the flexible support structure moves relative to the distal end from a range 00 to 3600 (annotated fig.2A above the flexible support structure can move relative to the distal end form 0 degree to 360 similar to as shown in fig.8A).
Regarding claim 3, the references as applied to claim 2 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Fynbo as modified in claim 2 further teaches wherein the proximal end of the flexible support structure engages the support surface at an angle having a range from 00 to 1800 (annotated fig.2A above the flexible support structure can move relative to the distal end form 0 degree to 180 similar to as shown in fig.8A and stop the support surface once it hits 180).
Regarding claim 4, the references as applied to claim 3 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Fynbo as modified in claim 3 further teaches wherein the flexible receptacle further comprises a top rim and tapered sides (fig.1 shows the receptable 119 with the top rim 119c with tapered sides).
Regarding claim 5, the references as applied to claim 4 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Fynbo as modified in claim 4 further teaches wherein the opening of the distal end of the flexible support structure further comprises a top edge and bottom edge whereby the bottom edge is defined by the tapered sides of the flexible receptacle (fig.1 shows the opening 116A of the distal end of the tray that comprises a top and bottom edge and the bottom edge id defined by the tapered sides of the receptable 119).
Regarding claim 6, the references as applied to claim 5 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Fynbo as modified in claim 5 further teaches wherein flexible receptacle is friction fit into the opening of the distal end of the flexible support structure (fig.1 the receptable 119 is friction fit into the opening 116A).
Regarding claim 7, the references as applied to claim 6 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Fynbo as modified in claim 6 further teaches wherein be flexible support structure comprises a topside and a bottom side (fig.2A above shows the topside and bottom side is on the opposite of it).
Regarding claim 8, the references as applied to claim 7 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Fynbo as modified in claim 7 further teaches wherein the suction means is a series of suction cups positioned on the bottom side of the flexible support structure (fig.2C shows suction cups 212A at the bottom side).
Regarding claim 9, the references as applied to claim 8 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Fynbo as modified in claim 8 further teaches wherein the suction cups are deformable and engage an uneven support surface (fig.2C the suction cups 212A are deformable and engage uneven support surface as seen in fig.8A).
Regarding claim 10, the references as applied to claim 9 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Fynbo as modified in claim 9 further teaches wherein the flexible receptacle and the flexible support structure are integral to one another (fig.2A as modified above the receptable and the support structure are integral to one another).
Conclusion
See PTO-892 for the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PRINCE PAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3735