This is in response to Applicant’s communication filed on 12/5/24, wherein:
Claims 1-22 have been cancelled;
Claims 23-40 have been added.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a perception module” (claims 1, 39); “a second perception module” (claim 29);
Double Patenting
Claims 23-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. (US 12,186,919). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims 23-40 of the copending and claims 1-23 of the US Patent (US 12,186,919) show for example: “a mobile base; a turntable operatively coupled to the mobile base, the turntable configured to rotate about a first axis; and a perception system operatively coupled to the turntable, the perception system including a first perception module configured to rotate around about a second axis parallel to the first axis, wherein the first axis is partially separate from the second axis”.
Although claims 1-23 of US Patent No. (US 12,186,919) have additional features. However, it has been held that deleting elements when the function of element is not desired is obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 Section II. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify or to omit the additional elements of claims 1-23 of the US Patent No. US 12,186,919 to arrive at the claims 23-40 of the copending because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. “Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before.” See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U. S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BECKER ET AL (US 2016/0327383). Herein after BECKER.
As for claim 23, BECKER discloses a mobile robot {figures 1A-1D, mobile platform 100} comprising: a mobile base {see at least figures 1A-1D, base 110}; a turntable operatively coupled to the mobile base, the turntable configured to rotate about a first axis {see at least figures 1B, 2A item 130 including joint 154 rotate about first axis 155 and pars. 0070-0071}}; and a perception system operatively coupled to the turntable, the perception system including a first perception module configured to rotate about a second axis parallel to the first axis {see at least figures 1A-1B, 2A, and pars. 0068, 0076 articulate arm 150 attached with scanner 210, configured to rotate a second axis 188, parallel with first axis 155}, wherein the first axis (155) is spatially separate from the second axis (188) {see at least figure 1B}.
As for claim 24, BECKER discloses control circuitry configured to control a rotation of the perception system based, at least in part, on a rotation of the turntable {see at least figures 1B, 2A}.
As for claim 25, BECKER discloses wherein the first perception module includes a two-dimensional (2D) camera, a depth sensor and at least one light source {see at least figures 3A-3C, par. 0085}.
As for claim 26, BECKER discloses wherein the depth sensor comprises a time-of-flight (TOF) camera {see at least figure 17C, pars. 0043, 0163, 0165}.
As for claim 27, BECKER discloses wherein the depth sensor comprises a stereoscopic camera {see at least pars. 0179, 0422}.
As for claim 28, BECKER discloses wherein the 2D camera comprises a red-green-blue (RGB) monocular camera {see at least pars. 0179, 0422}.
As for claim 29, BECKER discloses wherein the perception system further includes a second perception module configured to rotate about the second axis, and wherein a field of view of the first perception module and a field of view of the second perception module do not overlap {see at least figures 15, 17D, pars. 0046, 0163, 0165}.
As for claim 30, BECKER discloses a robotic arm operatively coupled to the turntable, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to control an operation of the robotic arm based, at least in part, on an output of the first perception module {see at least pars. 0006, 0240}.
As for claim 31, BECKER discloses wherein the perception system is operatively coupled to the turntable at an outer edge of the turntable {see at least figure 1B}.
As for claim 32, BECKER discloses control circuitry configured to simultaneously control rotation of the perception system and rotation of the turntable in opposite directions {see at least figure 1B}.
As for claim 33, BECKER discloses at least one antenna configured to receive signals from a system external to the mobile robot {see at last pars. 0185}.
As for claim 34, BECKER discloses a scanner configured to scan an identifier tag attached to an object in an environment of the mobile robot {se at least pars. 0153, 0215}.
As for claim 35, BECKER discloses control circuitry configured to control operation of the first perception module to capture one or more images as the mobile robot is in motion.
As for claim 36, BECKER discloses wherein the control circuitry is further configured to control an operation of the mobile robot based, at least in part, on the one or more images {see at least par. 0069}.
As for claim 37, BECKER discloses wherein the operation of the mobile robot includes a direction of travel of the mobile robot {see at least pars. 0006, 0069}.
As for claim 38, BECKER discloses control circuitry configured to control a rotation of the perception system independent of controlling a rotation of the turntable {see at least figure 1B, items 154, 157, 155-156, 187, 188}.
As for claims 39-40, the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejection above. They are therefore rejected for the same reason sets forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Morey (US 2021/0031361): A robotic device may include a spine that provides for mounting thereto of a plurality of components of the robotic device.
Troy et al (US 2019/0331620): A robotic NDI platform is equipped with an NDI sensor and a laser-based alignment system. The laser-based alignment system is operated in a manner to acquire surface profile information in an area of interest on a non-planar surface of the target object.
Zhou et al (US 2021/0206003): An autonomous solar module installation platform can be used for solar module installation onto a solar tracker.
Hance et al (US 10,071,856): a robotic device deployed in a warehouse environment including a plurality of inventory items. The system also includes a camera coupled to the robotic device, configured to capture image data. The system also includes a computing system configured to receive the captured image data. The computing system is configured to, based on the received image data, generate a navigation instruction for navigation of the robotic device.
Troy et al (US 2019/0311555): A ground-based visual-inspection system includes a ground-based visual-inspection apparatus and a control system. The ground-based visual-inspection apparatus includes a mobile base, an actuatable arm coupled to the mobile base, and an effector coupled to the actuatable arm.
Flessas (US 2022/0174220): The robotic camera has a robotic camera mount that moves an image capture device such as a camera and the robotic display has a robotic display mount that moves an image display device, such as a video display.
/KIRA NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656