DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP 2011-194918A (cited on IDS filed on 01/06/2026) in view of JP 2009-280121A (cited on IDS filed on 01/06/2026).
Regarding claim 1, JP 2011-194918A discloses a sunroof device
(11 in paragraph [0012] shown in Figure 7), comprising: a pair of guide rails
(21 in paragraph [0012] shown in Figure 7), which extend along a front-rear direction of a vehicle and are respectively arranged on both sides of a sunroof opening (12 in paragraph [0013]) shown in Figure 7) in a vehicle width direction; a panel drainage component (main body 41 in paragraph [0017] shown in Figures 1 and 2), which extends in the vehicle width direction, and traverses the sunroof opening (12 in paragraph [0013] shown in Figure 7); and a pair of drainage members (connecting portion 42 in paragraph [0017] show in Figure 2), which are respectively mounted on the pair of guide rails (21 in paragraph [0012] shown in Figure 7), and are respectively located below two end portions of the panel drainage component (main body 41 in paragraph [0017] shown in Figures 1 and 2) in the vehicle width direction
However, JP 2011-194918A does not show wherein the panel drainage component is provided with a panel drainage groove extending in the vehicle width direction, and each of the guide rails is provided with only one guide rail drainage groove extending in the front-rear direction, and the drainage member is configured such that water flowing out of the panel drainage groove is guided into the guide rail drainage groove via the drainage member.
JP 2009-280121A teaches a pair of end portions (72 and 73 in paragraph [0022] shown in Figure 4) of the drain channel (7 in paragraph [0022] shown in Figure 4) is a separate body.
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the sunroof device of JP 2011-194918A with a pair of end portions of the drain channel, as taught by JP 2009-280121A, with a reasonable expectation of success which allows for reduced manufacturing costs of the drain channel
(in paragraph [0008] of JP 2009-280121A).
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2011-194918A (cited on IDS filed on 01/06/2026) in view of JP
2009-280121A (cited on IDS filed on 01/06/2026) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2018-154160A (cited on IDS filed on 01/06/2026).
Regarding claim 2, JP 2011-194918A, as modified, discloses the sunroof device (11 in paragraph [0012] shown in Figure 7 of JP 2011-194918A) according to claim 1, considering that the connecting structure of the connecting portion (connecting portion 42 in paragraph [0017] show in Figure 2).
However, JP 2011-194918A, as modified, does now show wherein the guide rail drainage groove is formed by a pair of drainage groove wall portions in the guide rail, the drainage groove wall portion close to an inner side in the vehicle width direction in the pair of drainage groove wall portions is provided with an opening or an indentation in a through manner, and the drainage member is inserted into the opening or the indentation.
JP 2018-154160A teaches engagement structure (in paragraphs [0035] and [0036] shown in Figure 4).
Regarding claim 2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the sunroof device of JP 2011-194918A, as modified, with engagement structure, as taught by JP 2018-154160A, with a reasonable expectation of success which is a configuration for attaching the rain channel to the guide rail (in paragraph [0035] of JP 2018-154160A).
Regarding claims 3-5, JP 2011-194918A, as twice modified, discloses the sunroof device (11 in paragraph [0012] shown in Figure 7 of JP 2011-194918A) according to claim 2, teaches engaging portion (48 shown in Figure 2) is cantilevered at the rear end of the through-hole (47 shown in Figure) on the outer side in the vehicle width direction, and is inclined so as to gradually protrude inward in the vehicle width direction as it moves forward from the rear end
(in paragraph [0020]).
However, JP 2011-194918A, as twice modified, does not show wherein a lower edge of the opening is inclined in a manner in which the lower edge of the opening is located downward as getting closer to the guide rail drainage groove side, and a bottom wall of the drainage member has a first portion and a second portion arranged sequentially from an outer side to an inner side in the vehicle width direction, and when the drainage member is installed on the guide rail, at least a top end of the first portion abuts against the lower edge of the opening, and the first portion is inclined in a manner in which the first portion is located downward as getting closer to the guide rail drainage groove side (claim 3);
wherein the second portion of the bottom wall is formed to be inclined in a manner in which the second portion is located downward as getting closer to the guide rail drainage groove side when the drainage member is installed on the guide rail (claim 4); and wherein an inclination angle of the first portion relative to a horizontal direction is greater than an inclination angle of the second portion relative to a horizontal direction (claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention making the inclined surface
like inclined surface of claims 3-5, with a reasonable expectation of success is a mere design matter.
Regarding claims 6-7, JP 2011-194918A, as thrice modified, discloses the sunroof device (11 in paragraph [0012] shown in Figure 7 of JP 2011-194918A) according to claim 4, but does not show wherein a notch portion into which the drainage member is embedded is formed in a wall portion that is located on the inner side in the vehicle width direction relative to the pair of drainage groove wall portions in the guide rail (claim 6); and wherein the drainage member has a pair of side walls extending in the vehicle width direction and standing upward from the bottom wall on both sides in the front-rear direction, and protrusions are respectively provided on the pair of side walls, when the drainage member is installed on the guide rail, the pair of side walls abut against the drainage groove wall portion provided with the opening or the indentation from the inner side in the vehicle width direction, and the protrusion engages with the wall portion in the guide rail in which the notch portion is formed from the outer side in the vehicle width direction, so that the drainage member is fixed to the guide rail (claim 7).
JP 2009-280121A teaches a drain slider (16 in paragraph [0021] shown in Figure 2).
JP 2018-154160A teaches engagement structure (in paragraphs [0035] and [0036] shown in Figure 4).
Regarding claims 6-7, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the engagement structure of JP 2018-154160A with drain slider, as taught by
JP 2009-280121A, with a reasonable expectation of success that works in conjunction with the roof panel and moves in the fore-and-aft direction of the vehicle (in paragraph [0090] of JP 2009-280121A).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2011-194918A (cited on IDS filed on 01/06/2026) in view of JP
2009-280121A (cited on IDS filed on 01/06/2026) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2018-135456A (cited on IDS filed on 01/06/2026).
Regarding claim 9, JP 2011-194918A, as modified, discloses the sunroof device (11 in paragraph [0012] shown in Figure 7 of JP 2011-194918A) according to claim 1, wherein the sunroof device (11 in paragraph [0012] shown in Figure 7 of JP 2011-194918A) has a sunroof panel, the sunroof panel (movable panel 13 in paragraph [0013] in Figure 7) covers the sunroof opening (12 in paragraph [0013]) shown in Figure 7); and a panel drainage component (main body 41 in paragraph [0017] shown in Figures 1 and 2), which extends in the vehicle width direction, and traverses the sunroof opening (12 in paragraph [0013] shown in Figure 7).
However, JP 2011-194918A does not show comprises a front panel and a rear panel arranged in the front-rear direction, and at least one of the front panel and the rear panel can slide by guiding by the pair of guide rails, and the panel drainage component is located between the front panel and the rear panel.
JP 2018-135456A teaches sunroof (10) includes a front windshield (11), a rear windshield (12), a main frame (13), and a drainage member (14) (in paragraph [0020] as shown in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the sunroof device of JP 2011-194918A, as modified, with front and rear panels, as taught by JP 2018-135456A, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to completely transmit light, selectively transmit a portion of light, or have the function of blocking ultraviolet rays.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, wherein on an inner side of the second portion of the bottom wall in the vehicle width direction, there is a base end side wall extending in the front-rear direction and standing upward from the second portion, and when the drainage member is installed on the guide rail, the base end side wall is located on the inner side in the vehicle width direction relative to the two end portions in the vehicle width direction of the panel drainage component is not taught nor is fairly suggested by the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 10, wherein the guide rail drainage groove also serves as a sliding groove for a sliding of a slider of at least one of the front panel and the rear panel is not taught nor is fairly suggested by the prior art of record.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Communication
571-272-6658. The Examiner can normally be reached from 8:30 a.m. to
4:30 p.m. EST Monday through Friday.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Vivek Koppikar can be reached at 571-272-5109.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (in USA or Canada) or 571-272-1000.
/Lori Lyjak/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B