DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2026 regarding the prior art rejections of Claims 1 - 20 have been fully considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishore (US 10656203 B1) in view of Shin (US 2005/0204233 A1) in view of Srinivasan (US 2019/0086474 A1).
In regards to claim 1, KISHORE teaches:
A test circuit comprising: a first input multiplexer configured to receive a first input data signal and a second input data signal; (abstract, an apparatus for processor core testing. The apparatus generally includes a high-speed input-output (HSIO) interface, a general purpose input-output (GPIO) interface, a multiplexer having a first input coupled to the GPIO interface, a test controller coupled between the HSIO interface and a second input of the multiplexer, and one or more processor cores coupled to the output of the multiplexer.) and output the received output data signal to at least one channel. (35, a 1 or 0 is generated at the corresponding channel. These channels may include test-data-in (TDI), test mode select (TMS), test reset negative asserted (TRSTN), test clock (TCK), scan input (SI), scan enable (SE), PLL test scan enable (PLL_TEST_SE), sleep clock (SLEEP_CLK), and mode select (MODE) channels for programming respective input of the SOC.)
KISHORE fails to teach:
a second input multiplexer configured to receive a first output signal of the first input multiplexer and a third input data signal; a third input multiplexer configured to receive a second output signal of the second input multiplexer and a fourth input data signal; a test block configured to generate an output data signal by performing a test operation based on an output of the third input multiplexer through multiplexing operations of the first input multiplexer, the second input multiplexer, and the third input multiplexer; and a gating circuit configured to receive the output data signal;
However, Shin teaches:
a second input multiplexer configured to receive a first output signal of the first input multiplexer and a third input data signal; a third input multiplexer configured to receive a second output signal of the second input multiplexer and a fourth input data signal; a test block configured to generate an output data signal by performing a test operation based on an output of the third input multiplexer through multiplexing operations of the first input multiplexer, the second input multiplexer, and the third input multiplexer; and a gating circuit configured to receive the output data signal (Fig. 5 & 0042, Each of the first selection circuits FS1 through FSK includes multiplexers M11 through M13. Because the structure and detailed operation of the first selection circuits FS1 through FSK are identical, the first selection circuit FS1 will be mainly discussed. The multiplexer M11 at the first selection circuit FS1 outputs one of the first normal selection signal FLEN1 and the third selection control signal TLEN to the multiplexer M12 in response to the test control signal TMREG0. In more detail, the multiplexer M11 outputs the first normal selection signal FLEN1 when the test control signal TMREG0 is disabled. Also, the multiplexer M11 outputs the third selection control signal TLEN when the test control signal TMREG0 is enabled. The multiplexer M12 outputs one of an output signal of the first storage cell FC1 and an output signal of the combinational circuit 132b in response to an output signal of the multiplexer M11. In more detail, the multiplexer M12 outputs the output signal of the first storage cell FC1 to the multiplexer M13 when the output signal of the multiplexer M11 is disabled. In addition, the multiplexer M12 outputs the output signal of the combinational circuit 132b to the multiplexer M13 when the output signal of the multiplexer M11 is enabled. The multiplexer M13 outputs one of the output signal of the multiplexer M12 and the test pattern data TP1 (or the normal data NDAT1) to the first storage cell FC1 in response to the first selection control signal FS_en1. In more detail, when the first selection control signal FS_en1 is disabled, the multiplexer M13 outputs the output signal of the multiplexer M12 to the first storage cell FC1. Also, when the first selection control signal FS_en1 is enabled, the multiplexer M13 outputs the test pattern data TP1 (or the normal data NDAT1) to the first storage cell FC1.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus for processor core testing of KISHORE with the teaching of Shin, which teaches system-on-chip BIST method in order to limit errors using the chip. (Shin: 0003, The final result of such a test is "pass" if the response signal of the SOC is within an acceptable error range, and "fail" if the response signal is outside the acceptable error range.)
In regards to claim 2, Kishore in view of Shin teaches the test circuit of claim 1. KISHORE fails to teach:
wherein the first input multiplexer receives a first control signal, the second input multiplexer receives a second control signal, and the third input multiplexer receives a third control signal, wherein each of the first input multiplexer, the second input multiplexer, and the third input multiplexer is configured to perform a multiplexing operation based on the first control signal, the second control signal, and the third control signal, respectively, and the first control signal, the second control signal, and the third control signal depend on an operation mode of the test circuit.
However, Shin teaches:
wherein the first input multiplexer receives a first control signal, the second input multiplexer receives a second control signal, and the third input multiplexer receives a third control signal, wherein each of the first input multiplexer, the second input multiplexer, and the third input multiplexer is configured to perform a multiplexing operation based on the first control signal, the second control signal, and the third control signal, respectively, and the first control signal, the second control signal, and the third control signal depend on an operation mode of the test circuit. (Fig. 5 & 0042, Each of the first selection circuits FS1 through FSK includes multiplexers M11 through M13. Because the structure and detailed operation of the first selection circuits FS1 through FSK are identical, the first selection circuit FS1 will be mainly discussed. The multiplexer M11 at the first selection circuit FS1 outputs one of the first normal selection signal FLEN1 and the third selection control signal TLEN to the multiplexer M12 in response to the test control signal TMREG0. In more detail, the multiplexer M11 outputs the first normal selection signal FLEN1 when the test control signal TMREG0 is disabled. Also, the multiplexer M11 outputs the third selection control signal TLEN when the test control signal TMREG0 is enabled. The multiplexer M12 outputs one of an output signal of the first storage cell FC1 and an output signal of the combinational circuit 132b in response to an output signal of the multiplexer M11. In more detail, the multiplexer M12 outputs the output signal of the first storage cell FC1 to the multiplexer M13 when the output signal of the multiplexer M11 is disabled. In addition, the multiplexer M12 outputs the output signal of the combinational circuit 132b to the multiplexer M13 when the output signal of the multiplexer M11 is enabled. The multiplexer M13 outputs one of the output signal of the multiplexer M12 and the test pattern data TP1 (or the normal data NDAT1) to the first storage cell FC1 in response to the first selection control signal FS_en1. In more detail, when the first selection control signal FS_en1 is disabled, the multiplexer M13 outputs the output signal of the multiplexer M12 to the first storage cell FC1. Also, when the first selection control signal FS_en1 is enabled, the multiplexer M13 outputs the test pattern data TP1 (or the normal data NDAT1) to the first storage cell FC1.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus for processor core testing of KISHORE with the teaching of Shin, which teaches system-on-chip BIST method in order to limit errors using the chip. (Shin: 0003, The final result of such a test is "pass" if the response signal of the SOC is within an acceptable error range, and "fail" if the response signal is outside the acceptable error range.)
In regards to claim 3, Kishore in view of Shin teaches the test circuit of claim 1. KISHORE fails to teach:
wherein each of the first input multiplexer, the second input multiplexer, and the third input multiplexer is configured to perform a multiplexing operation based on a control signal depending on an operation mode, wherein, when the operation mode is a first operation mode, the first input multiplexer outputs the first input data signal as the first output signal, the second input multiplexer outputs the first output signal as the second output signal, and the third input multiplexer outputs the second output signal as the output of the third input multiplexer.
However, Shin teaches:
wherein each of the first input multiplexer, the second input multiplexer, and the third input multiplexer is configured to perform a multiplexing operation based on a control signal depending on an operation mode, wherein, when the operation mode is a first operation mode, the first input multiplexer outputs the first input data signal as the first output signal, the second input multiplexer outputs the first output signal as the second output signal, and the third input multiplexer outputs the second output signal as the output of the third input multiplexer. (Fig. 5 & 0042, Each of the first selection circuits FS1 through FSK includes multiplexers M11 through M13. Because the structure and detailed operation of the first selection circuits FS1 through FSK are identical, the first selection circuit FS1 will be mainly discussed. The multiplexer M11 at the first selection circuit FS1 outputs one of the first normal selection signal FLEN1 and the third selection control signal TLEN to the multiplexer M12 in response to the test control signal TMREG0. In more detail, the multiplexer M11 outputs the first normal selection signal FLEN1 when the test control signal TMREG0 is disabled. Also, the multiplexer M11 outputs the third selection control signal TLEN when the test control signal TMREG0 is enabled. The multiplexer M12 outputs one of an output signal of the first storage cell FC1 and an output signal of the combinational circuit 132b in response to an output signal of the multiplexer M11. In more detail, the multiplexer M12 outputs the output signal of the first storage cell FC1 to the multiplexer M13 when the output signal of the multiplexer M11 is disabled. In addition, the multiplexer M12 outputs the output signal of the combinational circuit 132b to the multiplexer M13 when the output signal of the multiplexer M11 is enabled. The multiplexer M13 outputs one of the output signal of the multiplexer M12 and the test pattern data TP1 (or the normal data NDAT1) to the first storage cell FC1 in response to the first selection control signal FS_en1. In more detail, when the first selection control signal FS_en1 is disabled, the multiplexer M13 outputs the output signal of the multiplexer M12 to the first storage cell FC1. Also, when the first selection control signal FS_en1 is enabled, the multiplexer M13 outputs the test pattern data TP1 (or the normal data NDAT1) to the first storage cell FC1.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus for processor core testing of KISHORE with the teaching of Shin, which teaches system-on-chip BIST method in order to limit errors using the chip. (Shin: 0003, The final result of such a test is "pass" if the response signal of the SOC is within an acceptable error range, and "fail" if the response signal is outside the acceptable error range.)
In regards to claim 4, Kishore in view of Shin teaches the test circuit of claim 1.
KISHORE fails to teach:
wherein each of the first input multiplexer, the second input multiplexer, and the third input multiplexer is configured to perform a multiplexing operation based on a control signal depending on an operation mode, wherein, when the operation mode is a second operation mode, the first input multiplexer outputs the second input data signal as the first output signal, the second input multiplexer outputs the first output signal as the second output signal, and the third input multiplexer outputs the second output signal as the output of the third input multiplexer.
However, Shin teaches:
wherein each of the first input multiplexer, the second input multiplexer, and the third input multiplexer is configured to perform a multiplexing operation based on a control signal depending on an operation mode, wherein, when the operation mode is a second operation mode, the first input multiplexer outputs the second input data signal as the first output signal, the second input multiplexer outputs the first output signal as the second output signal, and the third input multiplexer outputs the second output signal as the output of the third input multiplexer. (0006, When the SOC 10 is being tested, a test control signal SCAN_EN and a test signal SCAN_DATA are inputted to the IP block 50. When the test control signal SCAN_EN is enabled, the test signal SCAN_DATA is sequentially transferred along the scan chain formed by the multiplexers 54 through 56 and storage cells 57 through 59. In other words, the test signal SCAN_DATA is transferred in the order of the multiplexer 54, the storage cell 57, the multiplexer 55, the storage cell 58, the multiplexer 56, and the storage cell 59. Thus, scan test times using the conventional ATE 20 are long because the test signal SCAN_DATA must pass through all the elements of the scan chain In addition, the scan test method using the conventional ATE has a weakness in detecting a fault related to the operating time of the SOC 10 because it has difficulties testing at the speed which the SOC 10 operates. Furthermore, the scan test method using the ATE 20 can only be used before the SOC 10 is adopted in a particular system and installed on a circuit board.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus for processor core testing of KISHORE with the teaching of Shin, which teaches system-on-chip BIST method in order to limit errors using the chip. (Shin: 0003, The final result of such a test is "pass" if the response signal of the SOC is within an acceptable error range, and "fail" if the response signal is outside the acceptable error range.)
In regards to claim 5, Kishore in view of Shin teaches the test circuit of claim 1. KISHORE fails to teach:
wherein each of the first input multiplexer, the second input multiplexer, and the third input multiplexer is configured to perform a multiplexing operation based on a control signal depending on an operation mode, wherein, when the operation mode is a third operation mode, the second input multiplexer outputs the third input data signal as the second output signal, and the third input multiplexer outputs the second output signal as the output of the third input multiplexer.
However, Shin teaches:
wherein each of the first input multiplexer, the second input multiplexer, and the third input multiplexer is configured to perform a multiplexing operation based on a control signal depending on an operation mode, wherein, when the operation mode is a third operation mode, the second input multiplexer outputs the third input data signal as the second output signal, and the third input multiplexer outputs the second output signal as the output of the third input multiplexer. (0006, When the SOC 10 is being tested, a test control signal SCAN_EN and a test signal SCAN_DATA are inputted to the IP block 50. When the test control signal SCAN_EN is enabled, the test signal SCAN_DATA is sequentially transferred along the scan chain formed by the multiplexers 54 through 56 and storage cells 57 through 59. In other words, the test signal SCAN_DATA is transferred in the order of the multiplexer 54, the storage cell 57, the multiplexer 55, the storage cell 58, the multiplexer 56, and the storage cell 59. Thus, scan test times using the conventional ATE 20 are long because the test signal SCAN_DATA must pass through all the elements of the scan chain In addition, the scan test method using the conventional ATE has a weakness in detecting a fault related to the operating time of the SOC 10 because it has difficulties testing at the speed which the SOC 10 operates. Furthermore, the scan test method using the ATE 20 can only be used before the SOC 10 is adopted in a particular system and installed on a circuit board.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus for processor core testing of KISHORE with the teaching of Shin, which teaches system-on-chip BIST method in order to limit errors using the chip. (Shin: 0003, The final result of such a test is "pass" if the response signal of the SOC is within an acceptable error range, and "fail" if the response signal is outside the acceptable error range.)
In regards to claim 6, Kishore teaches the test circuit of claim 1.
KISHORE in view of Shin fails to teach:
wherein each of the first input multiplexer, the second input multiplexer, and the third input multiplexer is configured to perform a multiplexing operation based on a control signal depending on an operation mode, and wherein, when the operation mode is a fourth operation mode, the third input multiplexer outputs the fourth input data signal as the output of the third input multiplexer.
However, SRINIVASAN teaches:
wherein each of the first input multiplexer, the second input multiplexer, and the third input multiplexer is configured to perform a multiplexing operation based on a control signal depending on an operation mode, and wherein, when the operation mode is a fourth operation mode, the third input multiplexer outputs the fourth input data signal as the output of the third input multiplexer. (0019 & Claim 19, In a normal operation mode, a test mode select signal that controls the multiplexer 66 is at the second logic level, and a test mode signal 85 that controls the multiplexer 60 is at the second logic level. a third multiplexer having inputs coupled to output of the OR gate and to the output of the voltage monitor)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus for processor core testing of KISHORE with the teaching of SRINIVASAN, which teaches operating an electronic device during test mode operation in order to monitor voltage signals. (SRINIVASAN: 0005, during test mode operation of a duplicated voltage monitor by sensing a functional supply voltage with a voltage monitor)
In regards to claim 7, Kishore in view of Shin teaches the test circuit of claim 1. KISHORE in view of Shin fails to teach:
wherein the gating circuit is connected to a first channel, a second channel, a third channel, and a fourth channel, and is configured to receive the output data signal and output the output data signal to one of the first channel to the fourth channel.
However, SRINIVASAN teaches:
wherein the gating circuit is connected to a first channel, a second channel, a third channel, and a fourth channel, and is configured to receive the output data signal and output the output data signal to one of the first channel to the fourth channel. (0012, A logic gate has inputs coupled to the outputs of the first and second multiplexers and performing a logical operation on signals received therefrom.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus for processor core testing of KISHORE with the teaching of SRINIVASAN, which teaches operating an electronic device during test mode operation in order to monitor voltage signals. (SRINIVASAN: 0005, during test mode operation of a duplicated voltage monitor by sensing a functional supply voltage with a voltage monitor)
In regards to claim 8, Kishore in view of Shin in view of Srinivasan teaches:
The test circuit of claim 7, wherein the gating circuit further comprises a first AND gate corresponding to the first channel and configured to receive a first enable signal, a second AND gate corresponding to the second channel and configured to receive a second enable signal, a third AND gate corresponding to the third channel and configured to receive a third enable signal, and a fourth AND gate corresponding to the fourth channel and configured to receive a fourth enable signal, and one of the first enable signal to the fourth enable signal is activated and remaining ones of the first enable signal to the fourth enable signal are deactivated. (38, Each of the AND gates 420, 422, 424 have an input coupled to a valid signal from the FIFOCTL module 304, indicating whether an input scan signal is valid, as will be described in more detail herein, as well as one or more enable signals (e.g., EN[0], EN[18:1], EN[19]), as illustrated.)
In regards to claim 9, Kishore in view of Shin in view of Srinivasan teaches the test circuit and corresponds to claim 1 as analyzed accordingly.
In regards to claim 10, Kishore in view of Shin in view of Srinivasan teaches:
The test circuit of claim 9, wherein each of the first input multiplexer, the second input multiplexer, the third input multiplexer, and the fourth input multiplexer is configured to perform the selections based on the first input enable signal, the second input enable signal, the third input enable signal, and the fourth input enable signal, respectively. (32, Each of the AND gates 420, 422, 424 have an input coupled to a valid signal from the FIFOCTL module 304, indicating whether an input scan signal is valid, as will be described in more detail herein, as well as one or more enable signals (e.g., EN[0], EN[18:1], EN[19]), as illustrated.)
In regards to claim 11, Kishore in view of Shin in view of Srinivasan teaches:
The test circuit of claim 10, wherein one of the first input enable signal to the fourth input enable signal is activated and remaining ones of the first input enable signal to the fourth input enable signal are deactivated. (33, each bit of DIN from bit 0 to bit 62 may be set to enable or disable a separate testing operation.)
In regards to claim 12, Kishore in view of Shin in view of Srinivasan teaches:
The test circuit of claim 9, wherein the gating circuit is connected to a first channel, a second channel, a third channel, and a fourth channel, and is configured to receive the output data signal and output the output data signal to one of the first channel to the fourth channel. (34, a pulse may be generated on the corresponding clock channel via the clock generation module 310.)
In regards to claim 13, Kishore in view of Shin in view of Srinivasan teaches:
The test circuit of claim 12, wherein the gating circuit further comprises a first output multiplexer corresponding to the first channel; a second output multiplexer corresponding to the second channel; a third output multiplexer corresponding to the third channel; and a fourth output multiplexer corresponding to the fourth channel. (38, The clock gate circuits 408, 410, 412 provide respective input clocks to respective PDLs 402, 404, 406 if the output of respective AND gates 420, 422, 424 are logic high.)
In regards to claim 14, Kishore in view of Shin in view of Srinivasan teaches the test circuit of claim 13.
KISHORE fails to teach:
wherein the first output multiplexer is configured to gate the output data signal based on a first output enable signal, the second output multiplexer is configured to gate the output data signal based on a second output enable signal, the third output multiplexer is configured to gate the output data signal based on a third output enable signal, and the fourth output multiplexer is configured to gate the output data signal based on a fourth output enable signal.
However, Shin teaches:
wherein the first output multiplexer is configured to gate the output data signal based on a first output enable signal, the second output multiplexer is configured to gate the output data signal based on a second output enable signal, the third output multiplexer is configured to gate the output data signal based on a third output enable signal, and the fourth output multiplexer is configured to gate the output data signal based on a fourth output enable signal. (Fig. 5 & 0042, Each of the first selection circuits FS1 through FSK includes multiplexers M11 through M13. Because the structure and detailed operation of the first selection circuits FS1 through FSK are identical, the first selection circuit FS1 will be mainly discussed. The multiplexer M11 at the first selection circuit FS1 outputs one of the first normal selection signal FLEN1 and the third selection control signal TLEN to the multiplexer M12 in response to the test control signal TMREG0. In more detail, the multiplexer M11 outputs the first normal selection signal FLEN1 when the test control signal TMREG0 is disabled. Also, the multiplexer M11 outputs the third selection control signal TLEN when the test control signal TMREG0 is enabled. The multiplexer M12 outputs one of an output signal of the first storage cell FC1 and an output signal of the combinational circuit 132b in response to an output signal of the multiplexer M11. In more detail, the multiplexer M12 outputs the output signal of the first storage cell FC1 to the multiplexer M13 when the output signal of the multiplexer M11 is disabled. In addition, the multiplexer M12 outputs the output signal of the combinational circuit 132b to the multiplexer M13 when the output signal of the multiplexer M11 is enabled. The multiplexer M13 outputs one of the output signal of the multiplexer M12 and the test pattern data TP1 (or the normal data NDAT1) to the first storage cell FC1 in response to the first selection control signal FS_en1. In more detail, when the first selection control signal FS_en1 is disabled, the multiplexer M13 outputs the output signal of the multiplexer M12 to the first storage cell FC1. Also, when the first selection control signal FS_en1 is enabled, the multiplexer M13 outputs the test pattern data TP1 (or the normal data NDAT1) to the first storage cell FC1.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus for processor core testing of KISHORE with the teaching of Shin, which teaches system-on-chip BIST method in order to limit errors using the chip. (Shin: 0003, The final result of such a test is "pass" if the response signal of the SOC is within an acceptable error range, and "fail" if the response signal is outside the acceptable error range.)
In regards to claim 15, Kishore in view of Shin in view of Srinivasan teaches the test circuit of claim 14.
KISHORE in view of Shin fails to teach:
wherein each of the first output multiplexer to the fourth output multiplexer is configured to select a signal based on the first output enable signal to the fourth output enable signal, respectively.
However, SRINIVASAN teaches:
wherein each of the first output multiplexer to the fourth output multiplexer is configured to select a signal based on the first output enable signal to the fourth output enable signal, respectively. (0012, The first multiplexer is controlled as a function of a first test selection signal. The second multiplexer is controlled as a function of a second test selection signal.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus for processor core testing of KISHORE with the teaching of SRINIVASAN, which teaches operating an electronic device during test mode operation in order to monitor voltage signals. (SRINIVASAN: 0005, during test mode operation of a duplicated voltage monitor by sensing a functional supply voltage with a voltage monitor)
In regards to claim 16, Kishore in view of Shin in view of Srinivasan teaches:
The test circuit of claim 15, wherein one of the first output enable signal to the fourth output enable signal is activated and remaining ones of the first output enable signal to the fourth output enable signal are deactivated. (38, The PDLs 402, 404, 406 may be coupled to outputs of clock gate (CG) circuits 408, 410, 412, as illustrated. The clock gate circuits 408, 410, 412 provide respective input clocks to respective PDLs 402, 404, 406 if the output of respective AND gates 420, 422, 424 are logic high;)
In regards to claim 17, KISHORE teaches:
An integrated circuit comprising: a plurality of channels; (14 & 34, The SoC 100 may include system components and resources 110 for managing sensor data, analog-to-digital conversions, and/or wireless data transmissions, and for performing other specialized operations (e.g., decoding high-definition video, video processing, etc.). If DATA[63] indicates that that DIN is a DATA packet, DATA[62:0] are used as access to test-channels.) an input gating circuit including a plurality of input terminals including a first input terminal, each input terminal of the plurality of input terminals connected to a different channel among the plurality of channels, and configured to output a signal received through the first input terminal as an input data signal, (38, The test voltage supply 54 is applied to the test input pad 51 during test operations.) and an output gating circuit including a plurality of output terminals including a first output terminal, each output terminal of the plurality of output terminals connected to a different channel among the plurality of channels, and configured to output the output data signal through the first output terminal. (35, a 1 or 0 is generated at the corresponding channel. These channels may include test-data-in (TDI), test mode select (TMS), test reset negative asserted (TRSTN), test clock (TCK), scan input (SI), scan enable (SE), PLL test scan enable (PLL_TEST_SE), sleep clock (SLEEP_CLK), and mode select (MODE) channels for programming respective input of the SOC.)
KISHORE fails to teach:
at least one intellectual property (IP) block; the input data signal selected through multiplexing operations of the input gating circuit; a test block configured to generate an output data signal by testing the at least one IP block based on the input data signal;
However, SRINIVASAN teaches:
at least one intellectual property (IP) block; (0016, which is illustratively coupled to receive a test voltage 73 from a test voltage supply 54. The test voltage supply 54 is applied to the test input pad 51 during test operations.) the input data signal selected through multiplexing operations of the input gating circuit; a test block configured to generate an output data signal by testing the at least one IP block based on the input data signal; (0018, The output signal 83 from the OR gate 64 is coupled to a second input of a multiplexer 66. The output signal 81 from the voltage monitor 62 is also coupled to a first input of the multiplexer 66.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus for processor core testing of KISHORE with the teaching of SRINIVASAN, which teaches operating an electronic device during test mode operation in order to monitor voltage signals. (SRINIVASAN: 0005, during test mode operation of a duplicated voltage monitor by sensing a functional supply voltage with a voltage monitor)
In regards to claim 18, Kishore in view of Srinivasan teaches:
The integrated circuit of claim 17, wherein the input gating circuit receives a signal through an input terminal other than the first input terminal among the plurality of input terminals based on an input control signal. (34 & 38, a pulse may be generated on the corresponding clock channel via the clock generation module 310. The clock gate circuits 408, 410, 412 provide respective input clocks to respective PDLs 402, 404, 406 if the output of respective AND gates 420, 422, 424 are logic high.)
In regards to claim 19, Kishore in view of Srinivasan teaches:
The integrated circuit of claim 17, wherein the output gating circuit outputs a signal through an output terminal other than the first output terminal among the plurality of output terminals based on an output control signal. (35, a 1 or 0 is generated at the corresponding channel. These channels may include test-data-in (TDI), test mode select (TMS), test reset negative asserted (TRSTN), test clock (TCK), scan input (SI), scan enable (SE), PLL test scan enable (PLL_TEST_SE), sleep clock (SLEEP_CLK), and mode select (MODE) channels for programming respective input of the SOC.)
In regards to claim 20, Kishore in view of Srinivasan teaches:
The integrated circuit of claim 17, wherein, among the plurality of input terminals, input terminals other than the first input terminal are disabled, among the plurality of output terminals, at least one output terminal other than the first output terminal is disabled. (33, each bit of DIN from bit 0 to bit 62 may be set to enable or disable a separate testing operation.)
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art mode of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
Beal (US 8258811 B2): An enhanced performance field programmable gate array integrated circuit comprises a field programmable gate array and other functional circuitry such as a mask-programmable gate array in the same integrated circuit. A circuit interface provides communication between the field programmable gate array, the mask-programmable gate array and the integrated circuit I/O.
• Walker (US 8081532 B2): semiconductor device includes a first temperature sensing circuit, a multiplexer, and an output circuit. The first temperature sensing circuit can be configured to provide a first temperature indication based on a first temperature threshold value. The first temperature indication can include a first temperature indication logic level. The multiplexer can include a first multiplexer input configured to receive the first temperature indication, a second multiplexer input configured to receive a data signal, and a third multiplexer input configured to receive a temperature read enable signal. The multiplexer can be configured to provide a first multiplexer output. The output circuit can include a first output terminal. The output circuit can be configured to receive the first multiplexer output. The multiplexer and the output circuit can be configured to provide the first temperature indication to the first output terminal when the temperature read enable is enabled.
Conclusion
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2026 regarding the prior art rejections of Claims 1 - 20 have been fully considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to VICTOR PERRY whose telephone number is (571)272-6319. The examiner can
normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 - 5:00.
Mark Featherstone can be reached on (571) 270-3750. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2111
/GUERRIER MERANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111 9/16/2026