DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 19/365,265 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because two applications are directed to working vehicles with a position detector supported by a support frame that is rotatably coupled to left and right pillars by coupling portions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2021-100392.
JP 2021-100392 discloses a working vehicle comprising a position detector (13) to detect a position of a vehicle body (3), as disclosed in paragraph [0012], a support frame (31) that supports the position detector (13) and extends over left and right pillars (41,42) of a cabin, and a coupling portion (38) that rotatably couples the support frame (31) to each of the left and right pillars (41,42), as shown in Figures 5 and 6 and disclosed in paragraph [0041].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanada (US 2020/0251809) in view of JP 2021-100392.
Hanada discloses a working vehicle comprising a position detector (50) to detect a position of a vehicle body, a support frame (100) that supports the position detector (50) and extends over left and right pillars (201) of a cabin, and a coupling portion (112,150) that couples the support frame (100) to each of the left and right pillars (201), as shown in Figures 1-15.
In reference to claim 2, both ends of the support frame (100) are located outside the left and right pillars (201), as shown in Figures 3 and 5.
In reference to claim 11, the support frame (100) includes a main body including a bar-shaped structure that is bent in A U-shape, as shown in Figure 5. The intended use “to avoid contact with a muffler” is given little patentable weight since the claimed structure is disclosed.
However, Hanada does not disclose the coupling portion rotatably couples the support frame to the left and right pillars.
JP 2021-100392 teaches forming a coupling portion (38) as a fastener fixed to each pillar (42) and a support attached to the fastener and rotatably supporting the support frame (31), as shown in Figures 5 and 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the coupling portion of Hanada as a rotatable coupling with a fastener and support, as taught by JP 2021-100392, with a reasonable expectation for success to allow the position detector to move from a raised, in-use position and a lowered, stored position to help protect the position detector when not in use.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hanada (US 2020/0251809) and JP 2021-100392, as applied to claim 1, in view of JP 2020-100233.
Hanada, as modified, discloses wiring (80) extending from the position detector and into the cabin, as shown in Figures 14 and 15 and disclosed in paragraph [0129].
However, Hanada, as modified, does not disclose the takeout port is located in the vicinity of a rotation shaft of the support frame.
JP 2020-100233 teaches providing a takeout port (12a) in the cabin for wiring (33) in a vicinity of the coupling portion of the support frame (23), as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claim 9, a cover (34) is provided on the support frame (23) to cover at least a portion of the wiring (33), as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claim 10, the support frame (23) has a left-right asymmetrical shape due to the inclusion of the cover (34), as shown in Figure 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a takeout port in a vicinity of the rotation shaft of the support frame and a cover on the support frame to cover the wiring of Hamada, as modified, as taught by JP 2020-100233, with a reasonable expectation for success to better protect the wiring and reduce the overall length of wiring while allowing the support frame to move while maintaining the connection between the position detector and the interior of cabin.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 4 is the second support hole having a larger inner diameter than the first support hole, which is not found in the prior art of record. The ends of the support frame of JP 2021-100233 are not inserted into holes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Horai et al. (US 2022/0097626) discloses a position detector supported by a support frame with ends that are located outside of left and right pillars (48), as shown in Figure 3.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 September 21, 2026