DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses the prohibited term “discloses” and additionally is over the 150 word limit. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiramatsu (US 9,248,728).
Regarding Claim 1, Hiramatsu discloses a deflector device 12 for a sunroof device on a vehicle roof, comprised of an upper body 24, wherein the upper body extends in a vehicle width direction (Fig. 3); a pair of deflector arms 26, wherein the pair of deflector arms respectively extend from two ends of the upper body in the vehicle width direction toward the rear of the vehicle (Fig. 3), and the upper body moves up and down as the pair of deflector arms rotate around rear end portions of the pair of deflector arms; a lower body 20, wherein the lower body is mounted on a front housing of the sunroof device (Fig. 4) and extends in the vehicle width direction; and a mesh component 29, where the mesh component is integrally formed with the upper body, the mesh component is separately formed from the lower body, and a lower side edge of the mesh component is connected to the lower body by sewing or welding (mesh component is heat welded – molded to the lower; column 3, line 32-40).
Regarding Claim 2, a plurality of protrusions are provided on the front housing (see annotated Fig. 4 below), a plurality of holes are provided on the lower body, and the lower body is fixed to the front housing by respectively inserting the plurality of protrusions into the plurality of holes.
Regarding Claim 5, the lower body 20 is integral (single combined piece).
Regarding Claim 7, Hiramatsu includes a pair of guide rails 14, wherein the pair of guide rails extend in a front-rear direction of the vehicle, and are arranged on both side edges of a roof opening (Fig. 2) in the vehicle width direction, and the rear end portions of the pair of deflector arms are respectively pivotally supported on the pair of guide rails.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Van Oirschot (US 2021/0078392).
Regarding Claim 3, Hiramatsu discloses that the upper body and mesh are formed of a resin, but does not specifically disclose the type of resin used for the lower body. Van Oirschot discloses a deflector device for a sunroof of a vehicle (Fig. 1) wherein the plastic/resin components of the device are formed from a PET material (paragraph 0010 and Claim 5). Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the PET material, as taught by Van Oirschot, for the resin of Hiramatsu to have a cost effective, well-known and well-used material as the base resin for the device.
Regarding Claim 4, it unclear if Hiramatsu or Van Oirschot disclose separate members. One having ordinary skill in the art would easily recognize that using separate member for the lower portion of Hiramatsu in between the openings (holes) would make an easier part to form as the secondary operation of forming holes would be avoided.
Regarding Claim 6, Hiramatsu discloses push type fitting between the lower and the housing, and Van Oirschot discloses many different types of connections (Figs. 4-7B). The use of a snap fitting between the lower and the housing is merely an obvious matter of design choice for one having ordinary skill in the art. Use of multiple style connecting between parts is taught between the refences, and a snap style fitting is but one of many known and used connections in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art relates to wind deflector devices for sunroof openings.
/JASON S DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612