DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/05/2024 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 7 and 11 - 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KODAMA (US PgPub No. 2014/0210957).
Regarding claim 1, KODAMA teaches an electronic device (figure 1 item 10; stereo camera) comprising: a processor (figure 2 item 28 and/or item 27); and a memory storing a program which, when executed by the processor (paragraphs 0035, 0045, 0054, and 0058; instructions of the CPU 28 executed), causes the electronic device to: execute acquisition processing of acquiring a captured image having a plurality of image areas captured through a plurality of optical systems, respectively (figures 1 – 2 12L and 12R used to captures images 37 and 40 of figure 3), and execute display control processing of performing control to display the captured image (figures 3 and 5), wherein, in a case where focus adjustment is performed in autofocus (AF), control is performed in the display control processing such that an image to be displayed is switched from the captured image to an enlarged image obtained by enlarging an area in which the AF is performable in any one of the plurality of image areas (figure 5 displaying AF area 41a in image 41 selected and resized image (i.e. enlarged) as item 43 displayed; Note: paragraphs 0035, 0040 – 0062, AF).
Regarding claim 2, KODAMA teaches an electronic device (figure 1 item 10; stereo camera) comprising: a processor (figure 2 item 28 and/or item 27); and a memory storing a program which, when executed by the processor (paragraphs 0035, 0045, 0054, and 0058; instructions of the CPU 28 executed), causes the electronic device to execute acquisition processing of acquiring a captured image having a plurality of image areas captured through a plurality of optical systems, respectively (figures 1 – 2 12L and 12R used to captures images 37 and 40 of figure 3), and execute display control processing of performing control to display the captured image, wherein (figures 3 and 5), in a case where focus adjustment is performed in manual focus (MF), control is performed in the display control processing such that an image to be displayed is switched from the captured image to an enlarged image obtained by enlarging any one of the plurality of image areas (figure 5 displaying Focus area 41a in image 41 selected and resized image (i.e. enlarged) as item 43 displayed; Note: paragraphs 0005 and 0058 - 0059, Manual Focus; additionally, figure 6 item S10-S14).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KODAMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KODAMA teaches wherein in a case where focus adjustment is performed in manual focus (MF), control is performed in the display control processing such that an image to be displayed is switched from the captured image to a second enlarged image obtained by enlarging any one of the plurality of image areas (figure 5 displaying Focus area 41a in image 41 selected and resized image (i.e. enlarged) as item 43 displayed; Note: paragraphs 0005 and 0058 - 0059, Manual Focus; also paragraphs 0059, 0072 – 0078, 0080, and 0088 - 0089; additionally, figure 6 item S10-S14).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 3, KODAMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KODAMA teaches wherein in a case where the focus adjustment is performed in the MF only on any one of the plurality of optical systems, the second enlarged image is an enlarged image obtained by enlarging an image area captured through the optical system on which the focus adjustment is performed (figure 5 displaying Focus area 41a in image 41 selected and resized image (i.e. enlarged) as item 43 displayed; Note: paragraphs 0005 and 0058 - 0059, Manual Focus; also paragraphs 0059, 0072 – 0078, 0080, and 0088 - 0089; additionally, figure 6 item S10-S14).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KODAMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KODAMA teaches wherein control is performed in the display control processing such that an image to be displayed is switched between a plurality of enlarged images corresponding to the plurality of image areas, respectively, in response to a user operation (figures 15 and 16C and paragraphs 0074 – 0075 and 0080; move resized image area to avoid overlapping with focus area).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KODAMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KODAMA teaches wherein if an area to be displayed during focus is designated by a user adjustment, in a case where the focus adjustment is performed, control is performed in the display control processing such that an image to be displayed is switched from the captured image to a third enlarged image obtained by enlarging the area designated by the user (figure 5 displaying Focus area 41a in image 41 selected and resized image (i.e. enlarged) as item 43 displayed; Note: paragraphs 0005 and 0058 - 0059, Manual Focus; also paragraphs 0059, 0072 – 0078, 0080, and 0088 – 0089; additionally, figure 6 item S10-S14; third image being new area Focus area 41a selected to update item 43 display).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KODAMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KODAMA teaches wherein control is performed in the display control processing such that the enlarged image is displayed at a magnification designated by a user (figures 5 and 15 – 16).
Regarding claim 11, KODAMA teaches a control method (paragraphs 0002, 0011, and 0090) of an electronic device (figure 1 item 10; stereo camera), comprising: acquiring a captured image having a plurality of image areas captured through a plurality of optical systems, respectively (figures 1 – 2 12L and 12R used to captures images 37 and 40 of figure 3); and performing control to display the captured image (figures 3 and 5), wherein, in a case where focus adjustment is performed in autofocus (AF), control is performed such that an image to be displayed is switched from the captured image to an enlarged image obtained by enlarging an area in which the AF is performable in any one of the plurality of image areas (figure 5 displaying AF area 41a in image 41 selected and resized image (i.e. enlarged) as item 43 displayed; Note: paragraphs 0035, 0040 – 0062, AF).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, KODAMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KODAMA teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a program, wherein the program causes a computer to execute (figure 2 item 28 and/or item 27; also paragraphs 0035, 0045, 0054, and 0058; instructions of the CPU 28 executed) the control method according to claim 11 (please see claim 11 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KODAMA (US PgPub No. 2014/0210957) in view of Langlotz (US PgPub No. 2021/0044755).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KODAMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, KODAMA fails to teach wherein in a case where focus adjustment is performed in the AF, in the display control processing, if a lens capable of the AF is mounted, control is performed such that an image to be displayed is switched from the captured image to the enlarged image obtained by enlarging an area in which the AF is performable, and if the lens capable of the AF is not mounted, control is performed such that an image to be displayed is switched from the captured image to an enlarged image obtained by enlarging any one of the plurality of image areas. Langlotz, on the other hand teaches wherein in a case where focus adjustment is performed in the AF, in the display control processing, if a lens capable of the AF is mounted, control is performed such that an image to be displayed is switched from the captured image to the enlarged image obtained by enlarging an area in which the AF is performable, and if the lens capable of the AF is not mounted, control is performed such that an image to be displayed is switched from the captured image to an enlarged image obtained by enlarging any one of the plurality of image areas.
More specifically, Langlotz teaches wherein in a case where focus adjustment is performed in the AF, in the display control processing, if a lens capable of the AF is mounted, control is performed such that an image to be displayed is switched from the captured image to the enlarged image obtained by enlarging an area in which the AF is performable, and if the lens capable of the AF is not mounted, control is performed such that an image to be displayed is switched from the captured image to an enlarged image obtained by enlarging any one of the plurality of image areas (paragraphs 0035, auto focus vs digital focus lens detected; more specifically paragraphs 0063 – 0116 discusses digital focus lens mounted and camera system associated zoom, whereas paragraphs 0117 – 0135 discusses manual focus lens mounted and camera system associated zoom).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Langlotz with the teachings of KODAMA because in at least paragraph 0002 Langlotz notes that the invention will result in a system enhancing performance and capabilities with legacy and modern lenses, thereby improving system of KODAMA.
Claims 9 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KODAMA (US PgPub No. 2014/0210957) in view of PARK (US PgPub No. 2022/0060677).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KODAMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, KODAMA fails to teach wherein each of the plurality of optical systems includes a fish-eye lens, and each of the plurality of image areas is an area of a circular fish-eye image. PARK, on the other hand teaches wherein each of the plurality of optical systems includes a fish-eye lens, and each of the plurality of image areas is an area of a circular fish-eye image.
More specifically, PARK teaches wherein each of the plurality of optical systems includes a fish-eye lens, and each of the plurality of image areas is an area of a circular fish-eye image (paragraphs 0007, 0056 – 0063, 0068 – 0071, and 0090 - 0093).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of PARK with the teachings of KODAMA because in at least abstract and paragraphs 0007 and 0063 PARK notes that the invention will result in a system with wider viewing angle, thereby improving system of KODAMA.
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KODAMA teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, KODAMA teaches an enlarged image (figure 5 displaying AF area 41a in image 41 selected and resized image (i.e. enlarged) as item 43 displayed; Note: paragraphs 0035, 0040 – 0062, AF).
However, KODAMA fails to teach wherein the image is an equirectangular image. PARK, on the other hand teaches wherein the image is an equirectangular image.
More specifically, PARK teaches wherein the image is an equirectangular image (paragraphs 0056 – 0085 also figure 3; equirectangular image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of PARK with the teachings of KODAMA because in at least abstract and paragraphs 0007 and 0063 PARK notes that the invention will result in a system with wider viewing angle, thereby improving system of KODAMA.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MORI (US PgPub No. 20110013000) teaches a dual camera system with image capture at different enlargement levels.
SHOJI (US PgPub No. 20240236503) teaches a dual camera system with image capture at different enlargement levels.
TAKEICHI (US PgPub No. 20240348899) teaches a dual camera system with image capture at different enlargement levels.
KITSUNAI (US PgPub No. 20240414436) teaches a dual camera system with image capture at different enlargement levels.
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
02/25/2026