DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 12/5/24.
Inventorship
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leonard (US20090121549).
Regarding Claim 1, Leonard discloses a method for controlling an inverter (Figure 1, inverter 10; Paragraphs 12-23), wherein the inverter comprises a plurality of boost circuits (Figure 1, each boost converter 26 comprising an inductor 32, a switch 28 and a diode 33; Paragraphs 12-23), a direct current bus and an inversion circuit (Figure 1, inversion circuit 37; Paragraphs 12-23), an output terminal of each of the plurality of boost circuits is connected to the direct current bus (Figure 1; Paragraphs 12-23), the inversion circuit obtains a direct current from the direct current bus and converts the direct current to an alternating current for output (Figure 1, the output of the inverter 10 is connected to the AC grid 14; Paragraphs 12-23), wherein the method comprises: determining a maximum voltage among voltages at input terminals of the plurality of boost circuits (Paragraph 44 discloses that the boost circuit having the greatest Vmpp is disabled. It is therefore implicit to consider that the method comprises determining a maximum voltage among voltages at input terminals of the plurality of boost circuits) and a minimum voltage for grid-connection required by the inverter for grid-connection (Paragraphs 47-48); stopping boosting a first boost circuit in the inverter in a case that the maximum voltage is greater than or equal to the minimum voltage for grid-connection (Paragraph 43); wherein a voltage at an input terminal of the first boost circuit is greater than or equal to the minimum voltage for grid-connection, and the first boost circuit comprises a boost circuit, among the plurality of boost circuits, which corresponds to the maximum voltage (Paragraph 43); and controlling a voltage at an output terminal of a second boost circuit to be increased to the maximum voltage, wherein the second boost circuit comprises the plurality of boost circuits in the inverter other than the first boost circuit (Paragraph 43).
Regarding Claim 2, Leonard discloses (fig. 1) controlling voltages of output terminals of the plurality of boost circuits comprised in the inverter to be increased to the minimum voltage for grid-connection, in a case that the maximum voltage is less than the minimum voltage for grid-connection (¶43 discloses that for those PV arrays having Vmpp below the reduced DC link voltage, their respective boost circuits continue to increase their voltage).
Regarding Claim 3, Leonard discloses (fig. 1) the first boost circuit is the boost circuit corresponding to the maximum voltage (¶43-44).
Regarding Claim 7, Leonard discloses (fig. 1) the stopping boosting the first boost circuit in the inverter comprises: controlling a switching device in the first boost circuit to be turned off; the controlling the voltage at the output terminal of the second boost circuit to be increased to the maximum voltage comprises: controlling a switching device in the second boost circuit to be turned on to increase the voltage at the output terminal of the second boost circuit to the maximum voltage (¶43).
Regarding Claim 8, Leonard discloses (fig. 1) An inverter (Figure 1, inverter 10; Paragraphs 12-23), comprising: a plurality of boost circuits (Figure 1, each boost converter 26 comprising an inductor 32, a switch 28 and a diode 33; Paragraphs 12-23), and input terminals of the plurality of the boost circuits are connected to direct current sources, output terminals of the plurality of boost circuits are connected to a direct current bus, an output terminal of the inverter is connected to a power grid (14) to operate in a gird-connected state, wherein the inverter implements a method for controlling the inverter, wherein the method comprises: determining a maximum voltage among voltages at input terminals of the plurality of boost circuits and a minimum voltage for grid-connection required by the inverter for grid-connection; stopping boosting a first boost circuit in the inverter in a case that the maximum voltage is greater than or equal to the minimum voltage for grid-connection (Paragraph 44 discloses that the boost circuit having the greatest Vmpp is disabled. It is therefore implicit to consider that the method comprises determining a maximum voltage among voltages at input terminals of the plurality of boost circuits); wherein a voltage at an input terminal of the first boost circuit is greater than or equal to the minimum voltage for grid-connection, and the first boost circuit comprises a boost circuit, among the plurality of boost circuits, which corresponds to the maximum voltage; and controlling a voltage at an output terminal of a second boost circuit to be increased to the maximum voltage, wherein the second boost circuit comprises the plurality of boost circuits in the inverter other than the first boost circuit (Paragraph 43).
Regarding Claim 10, Leonard discloses (fig. 1) the method further comprises: controlling voltages of output terminals of the plurality of boost circuits comprised in the inverter to be increased to the minimum voltage for grid-connection, in a case that the maximum voltage is less than the minimum voltage for grid-connection (¶43 discloses that for those PV arrays having Vmpp below the reduced DC link voltage, their respective boost circuits continue to increase their voltage).
Regarding Claim 14, Leonard discloses (fig. 1) the stopping boosting the first boost circuit in the inverter comprises: controlling a switching device in the first boost circuit to be turned off; the controlling the voltage at the output terminal of the second boost circuit to be increased to the maximum voltage comprises: controlling a switching device in the second boost circuit to be turned on to increase the voltage at the output terminal of the second boost circuit to the maximum voltage (¶43).
Regarding Claim 15, Leonard discloses (fig. 1) A device for controlling an inverter (Figure 1, inverter 10; Paragraphs 12-23), wherein the inverter comprises a plurality of boost circuits (Figure 1, each boost converter 26 comprising an inductor 32, a switch 28 and a diode 33; Paragraphs 12-23), a direct current bus and an inversion circuit; output terminals of the plurality of boost circuits are connected to the direct current bus, and the inversion circuit obtains a direct current from the direct current bus and converts the direct current to an alternating current for output, the device comprises: a determination unit, configured to determine a maximum voltage among voltages at input terminals of the plurality of boost circuits and a minimum voltage for grid-connection required by the inverter for grid-connection (Paragraph 44 discloses that the boost circuit having the greatest Vmpp is disabled. It is therefore implicit to consider that the method comprises determining a maximum voltage among voltages at input terminals of the plurality of boost circuits); a regulation unit, configured to stop boosting a first boost circuit in the inverter in a case that the maximum voltage is greater than or equal to the minimum voltage for grid-connection; wherein a voltage at an input terminal of the first boost circuit is greater than or equal to the minimum voltage for grid-connection, and the first boost circuit comprises a boost circuit, among the plurality of boost circuits, which corresponds to the maximum voltage; and a processing unit, configured to control a voltage at an output terminal of a second boost circuit to be increased to the maximum voltage, wherein the second boost circuit comprises the plurality of boost circuits in the inverter other than the first boost circuit (¶43).
Regarding Claim 16, Leonard discloses a photovoltaic system (fig. 1), comprising: photovoltaic strings PV (12s); an inverter comprising boost circuits (19), an inversion circuit (37) and a direct current bus (36); wherein output terminals of the photovoltaic strings PVs are connected to input terminals of the boost circuits, output terminals of the boost circuits are connected to the direct current bus, an output terminal of the direct current bus is connected to the inversion circuit, an output terminal of the inversion circuit is connected to the power grid, and the power grid is connected to a load; the inverter implements the method for controlling the inverter according to claim 1 (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Leonard in view of Adest et al. (US20080164766, hereinafter Adest).
Regarding Claims 6, 9 and 13, Leonard does not disclose controlling a bypass circuit of the first boost circuit to be turned on to short-circuit the first boost circuit; wherein each of the plurality of boost circuits is connected to a bypass circuit in parallel, and the bypass circuit is conductive from the input terminal of the boost circuit to the output terminal of the boost circuit in a unidirectional direction; the controlling the voltage at the output terminal of the second boost circuit to be increased to the maximum voltage comprises: controlling a bypass circuit of the second boost circuit to be turned off to increase the voltage at the output terminal of the second boost circuit to the maximum voltage
Adest discloses controlling a bypass circuit of the first boost circuit to be turned on to short-circuit the first boost circuit; wherein each of the plurality of boost circuits is connected to a bypass circuit in parallel, and the bypass circuit is conductive from the input terminal of the boost circuit to the output terminal of the boost circuit in a unidirectional direction (fig. 7, ¶68).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Leonard to include boost bypass as disclosed in Adest to improve reliability of system due to isolated boost failure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the voltage at the input terminal is greater than or equal to a first threshold; wherein the first threshold is a larger one between the minimum voltage for grid-connection and the maximum voltage minus a first voltage difference, and the first voltage difference is the maximum voltage multiplied by a minimum boosting ratio minus the maximum voltage, wherein the minimum boosting ratio corresponds to the boost circuit corresponding to the maximum voltage.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the minimum voltage for grid-connection is obtained from multiplying a voltage of a power grid by 1.414 plus a first value, and the first value ranges from 0 to 20V.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the first boost circuit is a boost circuit, among the plurality of boost circuits, of which the voltage at the input terminal is greater than or equal to a first threshold; wherein the first threshold is a larger one between the minimum voltage for grid-connection and the maximum voltage minus a first voltage difference, and the first voltage difference is the maximum voltage multiplied by a minimum boosting ratio minus the maximum voltage, wherein the minimum boosting ratio corresponds to the boost circuit corresponding to the maximum voltage..” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the minimum voltage for grid-connection is obtained from multiplying a voltage of a power grid by 1.414 plus a first value, and the first value ranges from 0 to 20V.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10505437, Tsai; Tsung-Han et al. discloses a power converting device and ground impedance value detecting method.
US 11264947, Adest; Meir et al. discloses testing of a photovoltaic panel.
US 8018748, Leonard; John Andrew discloses a method and system to convert direct current (DC) to alternating current (AC) using a photovoltaic inverter.
/KYLE J MOODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838