DETAILED ACTION
Claim 13 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-12 & 14-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See Examiner’s response below.
With respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102, applicant appears to assert that Wu does not teach or suggest “generating a query interface that changes based on an interaction between a user and the user device”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wu illustrates [FIG. 6] the utilization of a user device to submit a request to the system. Wu further teaches [0069] information is projected onto the user device based on user input or user interaction. Thus, Wu does in fact teach “generating a query interface that changes based on an interaction between a user and the user device”.
With respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102, applicant appears to assert that Wu does not teach or suggest “a recommendation system having a machine learning model trained using historical conversational data relating to the at least one of the product or service”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wu teaches [0017-0019] past user input of conversational data for determining appropriate products to recommend to users. Thus, Wu does in fact teach “a recommendation system having a machine learning model trained using historical conversational data relating to the at least one of the product or service”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 & 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0189857 A1).
In respect to Claim 1, Wu teaches:
a query system comprising: a provider system comprising a processor and a memory device in communication with a user device over a network, the user device having one or more input systems and one or more output systems, (Wu teaches [0032] a user device with input and output.) the provider system configured to generate an interactive query interface, (Wu teaches [0018] a query interface.) the provider system receiving query input captured via the one or more input systems through interaction of a user with the interactive query interface that changes based on an interaction between a user and the user device, the provider system receiving user data from the user device; (Wu teaches [0018, 0027] reception of a query input from a user device.) (Wu illustrates [FIG. 6] the utilization of a user device to submit a request to the system. Wu further teaches [0069] information is projected onto the user device based on user input or user interaction.)
a natural language processing system configured to generate a query based on the query input, the query associated with at least one of a product or a service; (Wu teaches [0004] natural language processing of a query.)
and a recommendation system having a machine learning model trained using historical conversational data relating to the at least one of the product or service, (Wu teaches [0020-0021] recommendations with a machine learning model. Wu teaches [0017-0019] past user input of conversational data for determining appropriate products to recommend to users.) the recommendation system configured to generate a recommendation based on the user data and the query using the machine learning model, the provider system configured to send the recommendation to the user device to cause the recommendation to be presented with the interactive query interface using the one or more output system (Wu teaches [0004, 0021] providing recommendations associated with a query.)
As per Claim 2, Wu teaches:
wherein the interactive query interface includes an onboarding user interface configured to capture the user data (Wu teaches [0061] capturing data.)
As per Claim 3, Wu teaches:
wherein the interactive query interface is configured to capture a user selection using the one or more input systems, the user selection indicating at least one of the product or the service a user desires to purchase (Wu teaches [0036, 0061] capturing data for purchase.)
As per Claim 4, Wu teaches:
wherein the interactive query interface includes at least one of a plurality of selectable products or services, a price change compared to a current product or service, an input for an additional inquiry, a recommended additional product or service, a statement from a virtual employee, an explanation of at least one of the product or the service, a comparison with a product or a service used by users with similar characteristics, or an indication that a user selection is below a recommendation (Wu teaches [0036, 0061] capturing data for purchase.)
As per Claim 5, Wu teaches:
wherein the user data includes at least one of a name of a user, an address of the user, a birthdate of the user, or a desired coverage level (Wu teaches [0004, 0035] utilizing a user profile.)
As per Claim 6, Wu teaches:
wherein the one or more input systems and the one or more output systems are integrated into the user device (Wu [FIG. 1])
As per Claim 7, Wu teaches:
wherein the recommendation is processed by natural language processing system before being sent to the user device (Wu [0004])
Claims 8-12 are the method claims corresponding to system claims 1-5 respectively, therefore are rejected for the same reasons noted above.
As per Claim 14, Wu teaches:
wherein the one or more output systems form a part of a user device (Wu [FIG. 1])
Claims 15-16 are the media claims corresponding to system claims 1 & 4 respectively, therefore are rejected for the same reasons noted above.
As per Claim 17, Wu teaches:
wherein the machine learning model is trained using historical conversational data relating to the at least one of selling or explaining products or services to consumers (Wu [0016])
Claims 18-19 are the media claims corresponding to system claims 6 & 5 respectively, therefore are rejected for the same reasons noted above.
As per Claim 20, Wu teaches:
generating an onboarding user interface in response to receiving the query; and causing the interactive query interface to present the onboarding user interface, wherein the user data is captured using the onboarding user interface (Wu teaches [0061] capturing data.)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA BULLOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153 July 2, 2026