DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application no. 18/969,690, for a WIRE SUPPORT BRACKET, filed on 12/5/2024. Claim 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 4 (Figs. 13-14) in the reply filed on 7/15/2026 is acknowledged. The argument is deemed proper and therefore the requirement is WITHDRAWN.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 contains the term “a of the clip” which appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Witherbee et al. (U.S. Pat. 11,585,486).
Regarding claim 8, Witherbee teaches a bracket for connecting an elongated member to an electrical box comprising: a bracket body having a planar portion with a proximal end configured to connect to an electrical box and a distal end spaced from the electrical box, the distal end including a plurality of openings; a flange extending from the distal end of the bracket body; and a clip connected to at least one of the plurality of openings, the clip configured to support a conduit extending into the electrical box.
[AltContent: textbox (conduit)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (clip)][AltContent: textbox (Distal end)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Plurality of openings)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (flange)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Proximal end)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Planar portion)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Electrical box)]
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Witherbee teaches the bracket of claim 8, wherein the opening includes a slot for releasably receiving a portion of the clip (member 312 contains a variety of sizes and shapes of openings to allow for many types and locations of clamps, see slots shown in Figs. 10A-D).
Claim(s ) 12, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korcz et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0077689).
Regarding claim 12, Korcz teaches an electrical box and support bracket assembly comprising: an electrical box having a rear surface and a plurality of sides defining an interior; a first bracket connected to the electrical box and configured to support a conductor extending into the electrical box, wherein the first bracket includes a first portion secured to the electrical box, a second portion movably connected to the first portion, and a plurality of tabs movably connected to the second portion; and a second bracket connected to the electrical box and configured to support an elongated member.
[AltContent: textbox (tabs)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (conductor)]
[AltContent: textbox (2nd portion)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st bracket)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (1st portion)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Electrical box)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (2nd bracket)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Elongated member)]
[AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 19, Korcz teaches the electrical box and support bracket assembly of claim 12, wherein the first bracket is positioned on a first side of the electrical box and the second bracket is positioned on a second side of the electrical box.
Although claim 20 contains purely functional limitations, it is nonetheless rejected because Korcz teaches the electrical box and support bracket assembly of claim 12, wherein the second bracket is configured to support an elongated member extending substantially perpendicular to the electrical conductor (holes allow second bracket to support an elongated member extending substantially perpendicular to the electrical conductor since the holes are compatible with elongated members that can extend in horizontal orientations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korcz et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0077689) in view of Witherbee et al. (U.S. Pat. 11,585,486).
Regarding claim 14, Korcz teaches the electrical box and support bracket assembly of claim 12, but does not teach that the second bracket includes, a bracket body having a planar portion with a proximal end configured to connect to an electrical box and a distal end spaced from the electrical box, the distal end including a plurality of openings; a flange extending from the distal end of the bracket body; and a clip connected to at least one of the plurality of openings, the clip configured to support a conduit extending into the electrical box. Witherbee, however, teaches a bracket (see figure above) for connecting an elongated member to an electrical box comprising: a bracket body having a planar portion with a proximal end configured to connect to an electrical box and a distal end spaced from the electrical box, the distal end including a plurality of openings; a flange extending from the distal end of the bracket body; and a clip connected to at least one of the plurality of openings, the clip configured to support a conduit extending into the electrical box. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to substitute the second bracket comprising a bracket body having a planar portion with a proximal end configured to connect to an electrical box and a distal end spaced from the electrical box, the distal end including a plurality of openings; a flange extending from the distal end of the bracket body; and a clip connected to at least one of the plurality of openings, the clip configured to support a conduit extending into the electrical box in order to accommodate supporting various accessories attached to the electrical box, in view of Witherbee.
Regarding claim 17, Korcz and Witherbee teach the electrical box and support bracket assembly of claim 14, wherein Witherbee teaches that the opening includes a slot for releasably receiving a portion a of the clip (member 312 contains a variety of sizes and shapes of openings to allow for many types and locations of clamps, see slots shown in Figs. 10A-D).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 allowed.
Claims 9, 10, 13, 15, 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 11581718, 11837859, 10851937, 9825446 (supporting bracket).
/NKEISHA SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 September 15, 2026