DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura et al. (US 2012/0194749).
Regarding claim 1, Kimura discloses a light emitting diode display device (see figures 11A-11B, for instance) comprising: a light emitting diode (including elements 1114 and 1110 at least) over a substrate (1101); an optical element (1306) including a liquid crystal molecule (1322) randomly distributed (see figure 11B) therein and configured to change a path of light emitted from the light emitting diode (1110); a first planarization layer (1109) including a groove (contact hole accommodating 1111c to connect to 1117c); the light emitting diode (including portion of element 1111c in the contact hole) in the groove (see fig. 11A); and a second planarization layer (1108) over the first planarization layer (1109), wherein the second planarization layer (1108) covers a side surface and an upper surface of the light emitting diode (see 1108 covering top and sides of 1110).
Regarding claim 3, Kimura discloses the light emitting diode display device according to claim 1, further comprising a bank (1103) provided on (with intervening layers provided therebetween) the first planarization layer (1109).
Regarding claim 4, Kimura discloses the light emitting diode display device according to claim 3, wherein the bank (1103) includes an opening area (including 1104) corresponding to a light emitting area through which light emitted from the light emitting diode (1110) is emitted to outside.
Regarding claim 5, Kimura discloses the light emitting diode display device according to claim 4, wherein the optical element (1306) has an area equal to or larger than that of the light emitting area (1104) and is disposed to at least partially overlap the light emitting area (see figure 11A).
Regarding claim 6, Kimura discloses the light emitting diode display device according to claim 3, further comprising a third planarization layer (see intervening layer between 1105 and 1103 in figure 11A) provided on the bank (1103).
Regarding claim 7, Kimura discloses the light emitting diode display device according to claim 6, wherein the light emitting diode comprises: a first semiconductor layer (1117c); an active layer (1116b) over one side of the first semiconductor layer; a second semiconductor layer (1117d) over the active layer; a first electrode (1111c) over the second semiconductor layer; and a second electrode (1111d) over the other side of the first semiconductor layer; and light emitting diode display device further comprises: a first connection electrode (1122) over the second planarization layer and configured to electrically connect the first electrode, and a second connection electrode (portion of 1111d between top surface of 1109 and 1117d) over the second planarization layer and configured to electrically connect the second electrode (see figure 11A).
Regarding claim 8, Kimura discloses the light emitting diode display device according to claim 7, wherein the third planarization layer (intervening layer between 1103 and 1105, see fig. 11A) is on the first connection electrode and the second connection electrode (since the layer overlaps in plan view both elements).
Regarding claim 17, Kimura discloses the light emitting diode display device according to claim 3, wherein the bank (1103) includes a light absorbing material ([0081]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 9-16 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NATHANAEL R BRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 9/24/2026