DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, line 9, “primal” should be changed to “proximal”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzinger et al. (2009/0326541) in view of Durante et al. (2012/0303038).
Regarding claim 1, Metzinger et al. disclose a system (e.g., Figs. 1-3) for implanting an intramedullary nail 10 into a bone, the system comprising:
an intramedullary nail 10;
an aiming guide (Fig. 1) comprising a body 32 having an elongate proximal handle portion 46 and a generally arcuate distal implant alignment tip connector portion 36 having a distal implant alignment tip 37 (para. 0026 and Fig. 1) defining a tip axis extending substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the proximal handle portion 46 (Fig. 1);
a recon module 60 configured to releasably couple to a first attachment location at a proximal end of the handle portion 46 of the aiming guide (Fig. 1).
Metzinger et al. do not disclose an oblique module configured to releasably couple to a second attachment location positioned distally from the proximal end of the handle portion.
Durante et al. disclose an aiming guide comprising an oblique module 618 (Fig. 2) configured to releasably couple to a location positioned distally from a corresponding proximal end of a handle portion (i.e., a portion suitable for being gripped, e.g., because of its size) (Fig. 5). The oblique module allows the aiming guide to be attached to a support frame to provide support to the intramedullary nail.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the system of Metzinger et al. with an oblique module configured to releasably couple to a second attachment location positioned distally from the proximal end of the handle portion, in view of Durante et al., to allow the aiming guide to be attached to a support frame as desired to provide support to the intramedullary nail.
Regarding claim 2, the recon module 60 has an arcuate body (i.e., a body defined by arcuate portions, e.g., 62, 72 and the curved edge profile; Fig. 1) having a first recon portion 66 extending from a first side of the proximal handle portion 46 and a second recon portion 72 extending from a second side of the proximal handle portion, distal from the first side (cf. Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, the arcuate body (Fig. 1; supra) has a plurality of recon through holes, e.g., 73, 74, etc.) extending therethrough, each of the plurality of recon through holes extending along an axis intersecting the tip axis (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, the recon module 60 is configured to receive a bone screw to be inserted into the intramedullary nail 10 (paras. 0036-0037).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,751,096 in view of Durante et al. (2012/0303038).
Regarding independent application claim 1, issued patent claim 10 discloses a system for implanting an intramedullary nail into a bone, the system comprising:
an aiming guide (a “generally J-shaped aiming guide”) comprising a body having an elongate proximal handle portion and a generally arcuate distal implant alignment tip connector portion having a distal implant alignment tip defining a tip axis extending substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the proximal handle portion;
a recon module configured to releasably couple to a first attachment location at a proximal end of the handle portion of the aiming guide; and
an oblique module configured to releasably couple to a second attachment location positioned distally from the proximal end of the handle portion.
Issue patent claim 10 does not explicitly recite the intramedullary nail with which it is designed to be used.
However, Durante et al. show an intramedullary nail 602 used with an aiming guide assembly 98, to allow the aiming guide assembly to be utilized for its intended purpose and to facilitate the implantation of an intramedullary nail (see, e.g., paras. 0005 and 0039-0040; Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided and claimed an intramedullary nail, in view of Durante et al., to utilize the aiming guide for its intended purpose and facilitate the implantation of an intramedullary nail.
Except for dependent application claim 6, each of dependent claims 2-5 and 7 directly correspond to dependent issued patent claims, as set forth in the table at the end of this section.
Regarding dependent application claim 6, issued patent claim 10 discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly reciting the recon module being configured to receive a bone screw to be inserted in the intramedullary nail.
However, Durante et al. teach that bone screws can be inserted via openings 112 in an aiming guide assembly 98 and into an intramedullary nail 602 (Fig. 5 and para. 0039). This facilitates accurate alignment and guidance of the bone screws into the intramedullary nail (id.).
Therefore, it also would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have configured the openings of the recon module to receive bone screws to be inserted into the intramedullary nail, in view of Durante et al., to facilitate accurate alignment and guidance of the bone screws into the intramedullary nail.
Claims 8-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,489. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences amount to minor changes in the arrangement of the claim limitations. The claims of both the present application and the issued patent are directed to the substantially same invention.
Regarding independent application claim 8, independent patent claim 1 discloses a J-shaped aiming guide for inserting an intramedullary nail into a bone, the aiming guide comprising:
a collet configured to engage the intramedullary nail, the collet including internal threads;
a connection bolt configured to engage the internal threads of the collet to connect the collet with the intramedullary nail; and
a connection bolt driver configured to engage the connection bolt, wherein the J-shaped aiming guide comprises an elongate proximal handle portion and a distal implant alignment tip extending parallel to a longitudinal axis of the primal handle portion, and the connection bolt comprises a head containing a circlip, the circlip configured to splay open upon insertion of the connection bolt driver into the head and provide tension around the connection bolt driver to retain the connection bolt driver in the head of the connection bolt.
The dependent application claims directly correspond to the dependent issued patent claims, as set forth in the table below.
Appl. 18/969,771
Pat. 10,751,096
Pat. 12,178,489
1
10 v. Durante et al
N/A
2
11 (w/1)
N/A
3
12 (w/2/1)
N/A
4
13 (w/1)
N/A
5
14 (w/4/1)
N/A
6
10 v. Durante et al.
N/A
7
14 (w/1)
N/A
8
N/A
1
9
N/A
2
10
N/A
3
11
N/A
4
12
N/A
5
13
N/A
6
14
N/A
7
15
N/A
8
16
N/A
9
17
N/A
10
Allowable Subject Matter
No claims are currently allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
No claims are currently allowed. However, with regard to independent claims and claims dependent thereon, it is noted that claims 8-17 have not been rejected using prior art (apart from the double patenting rejection) because no references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest the claimed combination of limitations recited in independent claim 8. In particular, none of the cited references teach or suggest the claimed limitations in combination with a J-shaped aiming guide comprising an elongate proximal handle portion and a distal implant alignment tip extending parallel to a longitudinal axis of the proximal handle portion, as required by independent claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
DAVID C. COMSTOCK
Examiner
Art Unit 3773
/DAVID C COMSTOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3773
/EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773