DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/5/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12/5/2024 are acceptable for examination by the examiner.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIKUNO (US 5,548,376) teaches, regarding claim 1, a method of determining whether a printing interruption time for each printing interruption exceeds a reference time based (column 2, lines 13-25; column 8, lines 7-27; measures the time of the jam condition, column 8, lines 46-65); a non-transitory recording medium storing a computer-readable program, the program causing the computer to execute: acquiring a log from an image forming apparatus; determining whether a printing interruption time for each printing interruption exceeds a reference time based on the log acquired in the acquiring (column 3, lines 4-15 and column 8, lines 7-27); creating display data in a display manner that allows recognition of a proportion of the printing interruption determined to exceed the reference time (column 8, lines 32-39) in the determining; and outputting the display data created in the creating (figures 1-3 and 7-8; column 2, lines 13-25, column 3, lines 4-15, column 8, lines 7-27 and 32-39).
Regarding claim 10, KIKUNO teaches a method comprising: acquiring a log from an image forming apparatus; determining whether a printing interruption time for each printing interruption exceeds a reference time based on the log acquired in the acquiring; creating display data in a display manner that allows recognition of a proportion of the printing interruption determined to exceed the reference time in the determining; and outputting the display data created in the creating (figures 1-3 and 7-8; column 2, lines 13-25, column 3, lines 4-15, column 8, lines 7-27 and 32-39).
Regarding claim 11, KIKUNO teaches an image forming system comprising an image forming apparatus; an information processing apparatus including a hardware processor that: acquires a log from an image forming apparatus; determines whether a printing interruption time for each printing interruption exceeds a reference time based on the log acquired; creates display data in a display manner that allows recognition of a proportion of the printing interruption determined to exceed the reference time; and outputs the display data created; and a display device that displays the display data output from the information processing apparatus (figures 1-3 and 7-8; column 2, lines 13-25, column 3, lines 4-15, column 8, lines 7-27 and 32-39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIKUNO (US 5,548,376 B2) in view of YAMAGUCHI et al. (US 2006/0291871 A1).
KIKUNO does not teach a listing.
YAMAGUCHI teaches regarding claim 2, the creating includes creating a list of the printing interruption time for each printing interruption, and, among the printing interruption time in the list, displaying data of the printing interruption time exceeding the reference time in a manner distinguishable from data of the printing interruption time not exceeding or equal to the reference time (figures 1, 6, and 8-10).
Regarding claim 3, the creating include highlighting the data of the printing interruption time exceeding the reference time [0071; the alarm is for the data that exceeded references].
Regarding claim 4, the creating include rearranging data in the list in a descending or ascending order of the printing interruption time (figure 9; [0082, managed by the host; also, bar chart 657]; [0130-0132; technique are not limited]).
KIKUNO does not teach a non-transitory recording medium acquiring a log.
YAMAGUCHI teaches a non-transitory recording medium acquiring a log [for example, paragraph 0138].
KIKUNO and YAMAGUCHI are concerned with image forming management systems.
The rationale for combining the teachings of YAMAGUCHI with the teachings of KIKUNO relates to the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the teaching of YAMAGUCHI with the teaching of KIKUNO to obtain increase monitoring of the image forming condition.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. TACHIBANA (US 2018/0091666 A1) teaches a messaging display format for an image forming apparatus.
Contact Information
/QUANA GRAINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
QG