Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi (US2019/0001014) in view of JP 2020-015640 (JP ‘640), Atomic (JP53-067694) and Waddon et al (CN 105378048 A).
Ohashi discloses porous silica doped with copper and aluminum as a deodorant (¶¶ 13, 36, 75, , 92, 197, 205, and claims 1, 4, 7, ). The solution is made in a mixture of water and organic solvent, such as ethanol (¶ 46). The ratio of silica to solvent can be about 0.001 to 0.05 mol relative to 1 mol of water (¶ 46). Coatings will form when the solution is applied and then dried, similar to the addition of perfume process (¶ 31). The composition may be used for any means to treat sulfur-containing or non-sulfur containing odors (¶¶ 32 and 33). The silica can be combined with resins which include various polymers (pargarph 41).
JP ‘640 appears to be the Japanese filing of US2019/0001014, and further teaches the composition may be used in spray form (¶¶ 30 and 32).
does not teach the addition of vinylpyrrolidone unit containing polymers or the use of a propellant for the spray.
Atomic teaches vinylpyrrolidone copolymers are used with silica in order to improve affinity with organic substances (claims, pg 1 right col, line 18 to pg 2, left col line 16).
Atomic does not teach vinylpyrrolidone and vinyl acetate copolymer.
Waddon et al teaches known formulations included doped particles with a matrix, where the doped particles may be silica with various metals, including copper and aluminum (description and claims 1, 7, and 8). The matrix may be copolymers of vinyl acetate and vinylpyrrolidone (description and claim 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the formulation of JP ‘640 by adding a vinylpyrrolidone copolymers to improve its affinity for organic substances, such as copolymers of vinyl acetate and vinylpyrrolidone which are disclosed by Waddon et al as suitable polymers with doped silicas. Additionally, it would have been obvious to vary the copolymer to optimize the properties of the formulation to adhere effectively but varying each monomer and the weight average molecular weight of the monomers.
Finally, it would have been obvious to vary the content of each component to provide the desired efficacy while optimizing delivery via a spray form. A propellant would be an obvious addition to the spray in order to aid in delivery.
With regards to the antiviral preamble, where the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP 2111.02. Here, the formulation is defined by the claims and the preamble simply recognizes a benefit from the formulation made obvious. As such, the formulation made obvious above reads on the claims.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,090,403 in view of JP 2020-015640 , Atomic (JP53-067694) and Waddon et al (CN 105378048 A). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US 2019/0001014 discussed above is the pregrant pub for ‘403 and the secondary references teach the missing subject matter as discussed above.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 17/792,801 (reference application) in view of US 2019/0001014, JP 2020-015640, Atomic (JP53-067694) and Waddon et al (CN 105378048 A). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘801 is directed to the porous silica per se, but the secondary references teach the use of doped silica with copolymers in spray form, as discussed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/969,961 (reference application) in view of US 2019/0001014, JP 2020-015640, Atomic (JP53-067694) and Waddon et al (CN 105378048 A). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘961 is directed to the porous silica with a vinylpyrrolidone unit containing polymer and a solvent, but the secondary references teach the use of doped silica with copolymers in spray form, as discussed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612